GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

The War Z - Survivor Edition

The War Z is a Survival Horror MMO that immerses players in a zombie-infested, post-apocalyptic world in which a viral outbreak has decimated the human population leaving, in its wake, a nightmare of epic proportion. Being one of the remaining, uninfected survivors, players must navigate the desolate countryside, exploring cities and scavenging items along the way that will improve their skills and help them to survive as long as possible. As they explore the terrain, players will not only face flocks of zombies, but also fellow players that may either be friendly or hostile. The decision to trust can be fatal, as other players may pose an even greater threat than the undead hordes that roam the decimated landscape.
Average Customer Rating:
2.688
2.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
7 out of 1644%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Review 1 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Horrible, Game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Archangel187
Location: Monroe Mi
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I've been on the Bata for this game since the begining, this games horrible, you have alot of people playing just to kill other people, they dont work as teams at all zombie clusters are horrible as well you rarely see any zombies out side of towns, not to mention it takes you forever to get any where on foot and vehicles wont help much because the average play time is 10 min then someone will shoot you even if you are trying to be friendly they will kill you just to do it, you loose all your stuff and have to wait an hour in real time to play that character again, trust me save your money on this one.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SleezyMotel
Utica, MI
 
Please wait while more information about SleezyMotel is loaded.
Additional information about SleezyMotel could not be loaded.
Uhh....
Posted 11/10/12
It's supposed to be realistic. Do you think this is Call of Duty Zombies or something? I'm sure if there was a zombie apocalypse in real-life, other people would kill others to get supplies and money. Sounds completely realistic to me so your point is invalid there. It takes forever to get places? Okay, well again it's supposed to be realistic so I don't really see a problem; another point invalid. This is also a strategy based game. If you don't survive within 10 minutes, then you obviously aren't trying to accomplish anything but your own personal desires. Think of a strategy and you might actually survive. This whole game is supposed to be realistic so your whole review is invalid.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Great game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/12
Eske
The thing people need to understand about this game before writing all the negative reviews is that it is still very much in beta. Yes it does take a very long time to get places, however there are plans to implement vehicles. If you are the kind of person that gets attached to items then just don't play the game, guns aren't hard to find but the likelihood that you'll find much ammo for anything more powerful than a handgun are slim. Also if you are afraid of PvP stay away. But what I can say is that if you and at least one other friend are playing together it is much more fun and substantially easier to survive because most people are soloing and will stay away from groups of people, it is also much easier to take on packs of zombies. Put shortly if you get attached to items, are afraid of PvP, or just don't have any friends don't play the game however if you do have somebody to play with and don't care about loosing all your gear every few hours or so then this game is amazingly fun.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
PVP/Bloodbath - cash - grab.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
Elrath
Location: Tennessee
Let there be no illusion. This is a PVP/ bloodbath. Think hunger games when everyone is set loose to kill each other. Most of the features on thier website are not in the game yet. Including the skill tree There are NO PVE or RP servers and the option to rent servers are not in the game yet either. As of right now if you die, you can either delete your character and start over. Wait for 4 hours and revive your character to resume playing or pay them money with real life cash to revive yourself. If you buy anything with real life cash in thier cash shop, if you die it's lost. If you are looking for a good pve zombie survival game this is not the game for you. THIS IS A PVP DEATHMATCH!! Zombies are just filler. PLEASE RESEARCH THE GAME FURTHER BEFORE SPENDING YOUR MONEY ON THIS!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
A Really Bad Game- Hackers are Rampant
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
nuclear7
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is so much wrong with WarZ that it is hard to know where to begin. I suppose that the worst problem right now is that the game has no functioning anti-cheat system even though the developers claim it does. There is rampant hacking and since this is a full loot PVP game its a major issue. Every onlne game has some level of cheating but WarZ takes this to a new level. A legitimate player has no chance. Aside from hacking, the game has very bad animations and is visually unappealing when looking at things up close. The gameplay consists of looting, killing zombies and killing or being killed by other players. There is literally nothing else to do. Lastly, there are many missing features that show this game was simply thrown together on short notice. The title was recently kicked off Steam as the developers were advertising these missing features as if they were already in the game. Save yourself some money and aggravation- avoid this game. There is one positive if you already made the mistake of buying WarZ- you can still get a refund.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
The WarZ Is HORRIBLE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/12
Darkstar01
Location: USA
This is by far the worst game I've ever played, the 2nd worst is kingdom's of Amalur: Reckoning. The main reason why War Z receives the VERY WORST RATING, is because the developers are using paying customers as beta testers, when I paid 15$ for this game the game barely worked, plus there is ABSOLUTELY no anti-cheat protection, that combined with 1 hour lockouts when you die, and a maximum of 5 characters can leave you locked out of the game for up to 5 hours at a time... due to hackers, to top THAT all off throw in lots of bad coding, poor zombie AI and a complete serious lack of weapons, food, and water in game... I KNOW its a zombie game, but dang, you usually die from players or from lack of food/water before you die from Zombies. Now they released a new patch and the game is worse than ever... same supply issues with hordes of zombies you don't have bloody chance against the hordes. So right now I would personally avoid this game until it either sucks less or some other company buys it out and makes it not SUCK. If this game could receive a negative score it would.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Superb Survivor for Co-op
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
Izoli
Location: Manhattan, KS
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is an extremely tough game if you try to venture on your own, the zombies can be scary but are generally not a problem as long as you are careful. The real problem are the bandits(PKers) that often run in groups and will kill you on sight to take anything you may have. If you enjoy games where you start with nothing and work hard to get enough just to survive and the rush of possibly losing everything you worked for at any moment then this game is perfect. I do wish that there was more reason to work together and more negative factors for killing citizens, but overall this is the survivor game I have been looking for. Best chance for survival is to group up with friends on skype/Vent/TS and travel together...... My major complaint are the 'ambient' sounds such as the birds and crickets can be just plain annoying at times.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Better than people say it is
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
Larrythelama
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game really isn't as bad as people say it is. People get angry that there are no npc's but thats ok because the game is supposed to be run by the players. If you want something, you have to barter for it. Yes players can be jerks and kill you, but it's not without good reason. When you die you lose all your stuff. This creates a sense of self preservation. Unless people really trust you, they will shoot to save themselves. Plus, if you were given the chance to shoot someone that has their back to you, you probably will. The game tries to help players differentiate friend from foe by the use of the player list. If people have killed many players, they have "bandit" next to their name. So if you talk to some one and get killed and they are bandit, its your own fault. Basically this game is a better skinned, less glitchy DayZ. You know what kind of game it is when you buy it so you cant get mad when you die. Yes there is a 1 hour respawn time your character, but you get 5 characters. Unless you jumping of cliffs, there is hardly any way for you not to have any characters available to play on. In all, it is a good game. You have to learn the game to be really good at it, but it doesn't take long. Good buy
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Go into it knowing some things...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/12
CGLaxBro3
Location: Cary, IL
Ok. This is in Alpha stage. Not Beta. Not Demo. Alpha. It's buggy but it's a blast! It is so much fun to play. It is not a rip off of DayZ at all. it's not made by the same people. The WarZ is awesome and it isn't even released yet. It's in alpha and I would buy it as it sits for $60, but instead you basically get unlimited free upgrades and DLC for $30.
There's so much to do and so much they plan on adding that makes it so much fun. Go into this game expecting PvP. Everyone kills everyone it's part of the game. Go into it knowing what to expect and you won't be disappointed. PvP actually ends up being really fun.
Now for a few honest negatives. The graphics look good from far away but the textures aren't the best. They look flat and fake from close up. This isn't a big deal to me but it's noticable. The buildings are empty and undecorated for the most part. Empty houses get old but again it isn't a game breaker. Sound is good but not near simulation level (DayZ).
All in all it's an excellent game and my advice is anyone debating getting this should. It's so much fun I cannot begin to express my opinion over a short review. I'd write more but I'm sure you guys are tired of reading if you made it this far!
Bottom line: It deserves waaaay more than a 5... it's in alpha and already I'm in love with it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
BigDaddy1234567890
Location: US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It takes ten minutes of walking to get anywhere, and other people kill you instantly. Got to a safe zone, just to find out there is nothing there. There are no NPC's, just other players who kill you on site. There is no tutorial, and you start in the middle of nowhere with no explanation and no weapons. PVE needs to be optional, and customization is non-existent, basically just 3 people to pick from with mild differences between the alternates to pick from.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
This game is not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/12
Erebus427
Location: Milwaukee
After downloading and installing and finally getting by the server problems I was able to play. This is basically how the game works, you start off with bandages, soda, and a granola bar, after you get the option to not really change your looks. There is only 3 or 4 options and one person to choose from. You then enter the game, you have no weaons, and start your journey of killing zombies. It lasts only a short time, unless you can get weapons, and then next thing you know you start getting the hang of it and boom someone shoots you. This is in normal not hardcore. I could understand if it was in hardcore but no in this game it is everyone killing each other. It is only a First person shooter with zombies. Dont waste the money, it will upset you very fast. Though the game would be fun if they made it where other people could shoot you in hardcore, however it is not. This game is a huge waste of money for people to just shoot you several minutes after you spawn your charecter. For example I madea total of 8 people, 2 of which were actually killed by zombies. Oh you lose everything you have in possession as well, so if you spend more money and buy things, its gone. From the 6 people that I made had a life lasting 10 minutes before approaching a city to scavange, before being shot. Dont say I didnt warn you. P.S. you cannot attack with your hands and no starting weapons. Only the graphics are the positive in this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Best Alpha game I have EVER played
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
MrMann
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As of this review 12/17/12. The game is still in alpha phase. I have alpha and beta tested numerous games and this one beats them all. There are daily patches and upgrades. It is a PVP game. It is relatively easy to get gear but it is also relatively easy to lose it. I tried solo and it can be tough. I now have a couple of friends join me and it is MUCH better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Save your money..
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
Akbob
Location: The Compound,UT
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is just another unfinished game that a company plans on cashing in with using concept art for screenshots and promising amazing gameplay. The graphics are terrible maxed out, the zombies all sound like a little kid with a snot filled nose, you are killed by other players non stop. They camp safe zones so good luck getting in or leaving, this game is hacked and glitched easily. Trust me, don't waste your time and money on this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RGarone421
N.Massapequa
 
Please wait while more information about RGarone421 is loaded.
Additional information about RGarone421 could not be loaded.
Awesome, how could you say otherwise?
Posted 12/17/12
This game is simply amazing. I don't know how I see comments on here saying that the game is bad for whatever reason they believe. This game is as real as it gets, putting your survival skills to the true test, against the AI zombies or another player in the same server as you. Everything that you do in this game really effects the outcome of your life. Moving the wrong way, making to much noise, or even just simply beating a zombie to death can greatly decrease your life span all depending on who heard you. This game is just amazing, I have no other words. To just think, this is only in its "Alpha Stage", this isn't even the full game yet. Lets wait and see what War Z really brings to the table. They have succeeded GREATLY with this "Alpha", now we wait. . . . .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
A failed zombie game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
NashSu
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game had everything I was dying for in a zombie game. You start out on your own with little stuff and try to survive. Yes all of that is in there. The only problem with this game is that other players have a strong urge to kill you.
You create a new guy, walk around for a bit, then get killed by another player with hacks or jumped servers to get weapons. It doesn't matter if you have anything they want or was going after their goal, they just want to ruin your day. Plus, you get two choices once you die, First is to wait an hour or so before playing that guy again, second delete that guy (you loose all of your stuff and gear) and create another guy (that will start with nothing).
One thing that is bad about this game is that they do not take the time to teach you how to do things. You have to learn all of the controls and tricks yourself. I have yet to kill a zombie without it killing me in three hits. Now I have seen other people kill zombies with poor weapons so I know there is a way, just don't know how they do it.
Safe zones: Has nothing in it. Zombies can still attack you but yet you cannot attack them. PVPers are waiting outside for people to walk out. In short terms, safe zones are death traps.
Well if you want to take the time to get use to the controls and gather as much weapons as possible while avoiding other players, than go for it. But if you have something else better to do and spend that money on, than go for that. This game isn't worth buying because it is a pvp game that starts you out with nothing. Yes, you have nothing while other players with guns are looking for you to shoot you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Absolutely Amazing
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
AwesomeGuy21
Location: Modesto,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Wow.. Just Wow!!!!!!!!! Ive Been Waiting for a zombie survival sandbox game FOREVER!!! Amazing Game :)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
Dont get this game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
Infom3r
this game is awful i bought it and i laughed at how bad it was its a wast of money i quit the game within a hour i wish i hadn't bought it. Trust me if you want a good zombie survival game wait for the standalone of the Dayz mod.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 16 for The War Z - Survivor Edition
A New Experience!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Bunso
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has so much potential. It gets a rating of 9 because its still in beta and needs improvment
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.