GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G

Average Customer Rating:
6.35
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
4
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
29 out of 4072%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Review 1 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Nice overall but ONE BIG FLAW
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
TheConductor
Location: Everett
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Dont get me wrong I like this little guy! I snagged one while working Black Friday at my store, Took it home and was about to open it up to load some files onto it but froze mid pose when my eyes went over the specifications. What halted my overzealous destruction of perfectly good cardboard was the discovery that this device has no BLUETOOTH RADIO! Which renders it useless for my purposes from then on. Overall, it is a nice little tablet within a small budget, lots of features, a micro sd expansion slot (necessary) HDMI output to bring movies and music with you as your on the go, at friends, parties, or just traveling, and many more. If it had Bluetooth This little guy would be hard to beat in the "bang for the buck" category. Also screen itself is nice and responsive but is a little fuzzy resolution wise, only found out when we opened one up to show customers in store but not a deal breaker. I still got one After seeing it :D Now to debate if I need to return and splurge on something more advanced with a higher price tag for use with my Bluetooth headphones. $__$
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Play Tablet
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
BiosError
Location: Springfield, IL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I've looked at a lot of cheap tablets trying to find one for my kids and I have to say this is one of the better ones. I bought 3 of them.
PROS:
- 1GB of RAM and HDMI is better than most generic tablets
- Charges over USB (most generics charge with a separate AC adapter)
- Front Camera works with skype, etc.
- Works with Google Play and Amazon Market stores (some do not)
- Preloaded with a WORKING version of Netflix (see below)
- Tablet body has a non-slip coating (better than my Galaxy Tab)
CONS:
- Camera is 0.3 Megapixel which is very low resolution
- Battery life is short. Maybe 3-4 hours of constant use.
- No Bluetooth
- Cannot update Netflix. New version 2.0.2 does not work. Had to uninstall to downgrade back to the preloaded version, but that one seems to work fine.
- Appears to have some "pressure points" under the LCD. As I use it, I'm seeing discoloration like the LCD is pressing against something inside the unit. It hasn't caused a problem yet, but too much abuse might cause the LCD to crack at one of these points.
I don't have any dead spots on any of the 3 I bought. They all run skype, netflix, play music and games. I've got Lookout Antivirus and Kaspersky Parental Controls running. I am confident these will work great for my kids' first tablets.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Best for fundamental use.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
RamModule
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this tablet as part of the black-friday deal with no knowledge as to the manufacturer, Sophix. I wasn't looking for a high-end gaming tablet for the price and I got what I pretty much expected. It's a decent media-player and web-browser but even with it's 1.2Ghz processor and 1gb of RAM, it's not entirely great for gaming. I'm assuming it's a single core processor. Upon first booting it up, there were some irregularities with some of the functions. For instance, half the buttons send you straight to the desktop and the volume buttons are in the GUI rather than having independent buttons. The most alarming thing that I came across, straight out of the box is that upon grabbing Google Chrome from the Play Store, Google Chrome immediately crashes. I've done some trouble-shooting but to no success. I'd really only recommend this tablet for simple or fundamental use. Gaming is nearly out of the question, depending on the strain of the game and Google Chrome just flat out doesn't work.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
It's not a iPad or Nexus people.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
TechChase
Location: Ferndale, MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am a 24 year old college student. I purchased this tablet mainly because I'm on the go a lot and my laptop is a 17.3'' screen so it's kind of large. I wanted something that could give me basic tablet functionality and I got just that. For those of you who are expecting something comparable to a high end tablet, you will be disappointed. That's not what this is for. It's a basic tablet. It should be named "My First Tablet" actually. This is my first one and I wanted to play around and see if it added any functionality to my daily routine. It does that pretty well. It's easy to carry around and does what I need it to do. There is delay on my Gmail when new messages come in. It's negligible. I had to use the default Netflix it came as well because the new version will not work at all on this. Skype works just fine as does Facebook (although its not optimized for tablet usage) , Twitter and all of the other basic, commonly used free apps. And it's not lightning fast. But its pretty useful for what I use it for. I can play games like Sector Strike (which has respectable 3D graphics) with no issues so that's a plus. And all of the issues like dead touchscreen, and freezing have been nonexistent on mine and I use it several hours per day on average. I think some of you just got unlucky. Granted, this device has a lot to be desired. It's not nearly as fast as others, it has low internal memory and a weaker processor than the high end ones and it does not have Bluetooth enabled. But overall I'm happy with it. At some point, I will upgrade now that I enjoy having a tablet with me but for now I can live with this. If you're someone older who wants to experiment or getting this for a teenager who really wants a tablet and you don't want to break the bank, I would say this is a fine choice. It's a good value honestly. If you're a tech savvy person looking for the best hardware at the lowest price then this is not what you are looking for. It's relatively simple. The specifications are on the box and you can see firsthand what those mean.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
32 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
nice tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
drd00my
Location: santa barbara
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My ipod just got bricked by itunes 11 and instead of wasting another 10 hours of hard work restoring it like I did with my iphone 2 days ago I went out and bought one of these tablets and I am much happier. This tablet works great and I dont have any complaints with it except chrome browser force closes. Angry Birds games work fine with nice speed and overall I am very happy with this tablet. I just got tired of all the "unexpected error" messages on itunes and want to spend my time having fun instead of constantly restoring and fixing apple products. This is great for reading downloaded comic books.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
here's a thing guys
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
JagWar92
Location: atlanta
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i read the reviews and noticed that people whose buying this were expecting the google nexus performance or gaming tablets. well if ur expecting those u should get those instead of $80 tablet. in my opinion, this does serve the minimum purpose as a tablet. it has decent speed of web browsing, youtube, facebook, mp3,mp4. i mean.... what more do you expect? i bought this product just b/c i want to do web surfing when i get lazy woking up in the moring in bed, and so far it serves the purpose. this is probably one of the cheapest tablet you can buy, if it serves the minimum purpose, than its good. people always complain when they buy the cheap product: FACT. although i agree that netflix crashes while playing movies.... and i hope theres atleast microsoft office on it....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Value
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
kdaesung
Location: Spokane
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I just bought this for my wife, it was on sale and definitely worth the money. The Netflix app doesnt seem to work if you install the update, but if you just bypass the update then it works just fine. It's not the fastest tablet in the world, but absolutely amazing for the price. The touch screen is responsive and works great with games like Fruit Ninja. I recommended it to all of my friends.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
Emdirb
Location: San Diego
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought this tablet for my yound daughter. I have tested it for two weeks and I am very happy with its performance for the price. Clean web browsing, email and movie viewing. Camera is OK but that was totally expected. For this price i am buying one for ma and my sister.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good for the price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
Bearbear24
Location: MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this tablet for my girlfriend as a Christmas gift. I knew right away that it wasn't going to be an Ipad or anything as expensive, but I was looking for something basic that would allow her to browse the web, play games, read books, and watch Netflix. I was surprised at how well it does almost all of that. Our screen works fine and there are no "dead spots", but the clock is never right. We have to reset it every time we get on it, but that's what phones are for. I would say that the only bad thing about it is the Netflix. For some reason it won't work on the tablet. I've tried updating and resetting and nothing works. I will get about two minutes of streaming before it starts to buffer and once that happens it never finishes. I was impressed with the pre-loaded Angry Birds game. I'm pretty sure it is the full version. And I love the fact that it has Google Play unlike other cheap tablets I was looking at. If the Netflix worked I would rate this a ten and I would recommend it to a friend looking for a cheaper tablet.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good price, but unreliable product
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/12
Lylus
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this tablet on Black Friday because I wanted a music player for on the go. Sometimes works, but has a dead spot on the screen, frequently gives me "Program Not Responding" notifications, and can't keep time (I set the time when I got it and it says the time is 4:35 when it's actually 6:02 when I write this). Based on other reviews and the comments of my peers who bought one, this is not uncommon. I wouldn't mind if the tablet was just slow overall, but when it can't even perform basic functions, it's not worth any amount of money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bookiesgrl
 
Please wait while more information about bookiesgrl is loaded.
Additional information about bookiesgrl could not be loaded.
response on time issue
Posted 6/26/13
I had this issue and easily fixed if u r bright enough to know that u have to go in and set the time to your time zone. Then set the time showing on the tablet. Then it works just fine
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Best Entry-Level 7" tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
PlayBass
Location: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are in the market for an entry-level Android tablet, the Sophix TAB-730G is hard to beat. There are many single-core Allwinner A10-based Android tablets in the market place at this price point (Polaroid and others) but most of them have limited RAM (512M) and don't come pre-loaded with the Google Play store. Some have HDMI ports, some don't. This tablet has 1GB RAM, comes pre-loaded with Google Play and has an HDMI port. My tablet came pre-loaded with Android 4.0.4 and a decent assortment of "standard" Android apps such as web browser, email, and Google Maps. The tablet is manufactured by Digix Media and has a 1-year warranty. The Digix website has a customer support section with instructions for upgrading the tablet to the latest version of Ice Cream Sandwich.
The tablet is more than adequate for routine tasks. The tablet is responsive, but as other reviewers have noted, you should not expect Google Nexus 7 performance. I found that Dolphin and K-9 perform better than the included stock browser and email clients, respectively. The tablet to provides an excellent e-reader experience through the pre-loaded Kindle app. The single front-facing camera is of limited resolution (0.3 megapixels) but totally adequate for Skype and scanning merchandise bar codes. The tablet has a strong Wi-Fi section. I have no trouble using Wi-Fi hot spots while out and about (Chick-Fil-A, Panera, Dunkin' Donuts) or in a hotel room (Wingate). I estimate the battery supports about 3.5 - 4 hours of constant activity (web browsing, reading emails and the like). The tablet doesn't consume much battery power while in standby mode. The tablet screen is responsive to the touch. I have not experienced the screen dead spot issue reported by some other reviewers. One minor complaint I have with this tablet and two other entry-level tablets I tried is the screen does not appear to be very responsive to the "pinch" gesture for zooming in and out.
This tablet comes with a USB wall charger and a standard USB-to-micro USB male-male cable. Accessories you should buy included micro USB male-to-standard USB female adapter (for use with a USB thumb drive or keyboard) and a mini HDMI male-to-standard HDMI female adapter (for use with standard HDMI display cables). A high quality cover that fits this tablet is the Werx 7" Universal Stand Case sold at Radio Shack.
Conclusion: You won't find a better 7” tablet in this price range.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
A very basic tablet.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
kaiko
Location: Oregon
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
We were trying to decide to get a tablet or another portable DVD player for our daughter. With this tablet we thought we would take a chance and try it out. I set up the tablet. I was amazed the touch screen worked just fine. A bit slower than our higher end tablet but this is an inexpensive tablet so I cant expect a lot. Netflix worked fine as long as you dont run the update. Once I ran Netlix a few times it worked smoothly , the picture starts a bit pix elated but does catch up and looks good. Internet works fine and so does the wireless. Came with a cute draw program I know my daughter will enjoy. Google play works well . I downloaded minecraft and it works. I also downloaded her jumpstart game. All works well. Just curious to see how long it lasts. Hoping for 6 months to a year. But maybe it will surprise me. But the size and function are ok , don't expect anything outstanding just basic. My only other thing was it had some scratches on the base of the screen didn't effect anything but did make me ponder if it had been refurbished. Here's hoping it lasts long enough for my daughter to enjoy it !!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
iAmBlitz
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
It's not bad but don't expect a $300 tablet like most people do. I recommend buying this for a first time user but for us the experienced users it's not enough
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great tablet for kids
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
eld3150
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought this for my 8 year old son. I have owned better tablets so in comparison to most others id say its better fit for kids. Has the google play market which is a plus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Loving it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
Maddygirl4932
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I received this item for Christmas and so far, I have been enjoying it very much! It can play videos, browse the internet, and responds sensitively to touch- all of which I was looking for in a tablet. No, it's not a Nexus 7 of Kindle HD, but it holds itself up well for the price. Totally enjoying myself!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
surprise better than expected worth $79.99 easy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
bblack
Location: westville, NJ
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It has better features than my wifes nook tablet! Its 1080p HD 1.2 Ghz with more Ram at 1 gig its compareable to any 7 inch android. But for the money unbeatable! My only downside small ones at that are low resolution webcam and it a single processor though you really can't notice. A+ to gamestop great product.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
A perfect tablet for my use.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
Satisfied2012
Location: Indianapolis, In
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This tablet meets all my needs. I wanted it for surfing the web, checking e-mails and facebook, writing documents. Glad somebody came up with a tablet that is reasonable priced and yet meets my needs.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Very Bad Quality and Funtionality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
Steven96
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Most of the preinstalled Apps do not work. The ones that do cause the unit to lock up. Camera is horrible. The touch screen has a lot of dead spots.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
supershawn30
 
Please wait while more information about supershawn30 is loaded.
Additional information about supershawn30 could not be loaded.
HI
Posted 11/26/12
can somebody post a video review of this tablet i dont even see the brand name on any websites so why gamestop saling this???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
I expected better.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
dreadeddrex
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well first of all there is a dead spot close to the camera. To find the spot, go to settings/display/brightness and try to click on ok. Or you can try to drag a icon around that area and it just drops when you get to that spot. I returned the first one and the second tablet I got is doing the same thing. And the update date with netflix keeps crashing. Also the resolution isn't so great either, some apps you cant even read the words, but yet on my cell phone which is smaller can easily see.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Don't bother buying it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
MMarie
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Despite the serious lack of info and reviews online about this tablet, I thought I'd give it a try. I figured $80 for a tablet was too good to be true but thought I'd give it a go...not the best choice. It was to be a gift for my 10yr old, so I wanted to turn it on, add any apps/games I thought he might like, etc. And I also wanted to put it through the paces to see how it held up. It failed miserably. I let it charge, turned it on and after only a few minutes I got a blank screen, which wouldn't go away. I shut it down and restarted it. I was able to add Hill Climb Racing to it this time, but after downloading and installing the game, I was only able to play about 5 seconds before I got a blank yellow screen. Shut down, restart...let it charge over night for about 6-7 hours (first charge was 30 minutes). Turned it on this morning and played Hill Climb Racing. I was able to get through one level but the touchscreen didn't work 100%...pretty frustrating. Soon after got a blank screen. Shut down, restart. I was able to update Netflix, which it then refused to open. Started to update some other apps that were already on it but needed updating, blank screen again. It has proven itself to be a piece of junk. So the lesson to be learned here...I was right, $80 for a tablet is too good to be true (although technically I did get a tablet for $80...it just doesn't work!).
My recommendation? Don't buy it. I've heard good things about the Nexus 7, maybe give that a try instead. I know I will.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>