GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G

Average Customer Rating:
6.35
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
4
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
29 out of 4072%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Review 1 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
iAmBlitz
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
It's not bad but don't expect a $300 tablet like most people do. I recommend buying this for a first time user but for us the experienced users it's not enough
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Poorly constructed, broken in less than a week!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
ScarletPanda
Location: Pensacola, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this gift for a Christmas present and in less than a week it has a crack in its inner glass. It hs not been dropped or mishandled but apparently is made so fragile that it can be broken without much use. I could overlook some of the performance issues, but being that fragile is simply unacceptable.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Bargin!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
Froggymama3
Location: Troy, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I purchased these as an impulse buy after standing in line black Friday for some other items. I had planned to buy my 9yr old and 11yr old tablets for christmas but had planned to do a bit more research than what I had. Was a little scared for Christmas morning after reading the other reviews but was thrilled when the day came. I had none of the issues that others were complaining about. It plays games and Netflix movies no problems, can be a bit slow at loading with some stuff but other than that this is a great tablet. Games, reading books, and watching movies is really all we use them for. I bought TWO and they both work great. Camera does need alot of light though, it can be a little dark. But for an $80 tablet this is the poo!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
this tablet is a disaster waiting to happen
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
tommboy666
Location: newyork,ny
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought the tablet it runs slow the browser does not work and its a piece of poo i don't know why thisthey sell this tablet plus unknown brand
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Best Entry-Level 7" tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
PlayBass
Location: Virginia
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are in the market for an entry-level Android tablet, the Sophix TAB-730G is hard to beat. There are many single-core Allwinner A10-based Android tablets in the market place at this price point (Polaroid and others) but most of them have limited RAM (512M) and don't come pre-loaded with the Google Play store. Some have HDMI ports, some don't. This tablet has 1GB RAM, comes pre-loaded with Google Play and has an HDMI port. My tablet came pre-loaded with Android 4.0.4 and a decent assortment of "standard" Android apps such as web browser, email, and Google Maps. The tablet is manufactured by Digix Media and has a 1-year warranty. The Digix website has a customer support section with instructions for upgrading the tablet to the latest version of Ice Cream Sandwich.
The tablet is more than adequate for routine tasks. The tablet is responsive, but as other reviewers have noted, you should not expect Google Nexus 7 performance. I found that Dolphin and K-9 perform better than the included stock browser and email clients, respectively. The tablet to provides an excellent e-reader experience through the pre-loaded Kindle app. The single front-facing camera is of limited resolution (0.3 megapixels) but totally adequate for Skype and scanning merchandise bar codes. The tablet has a strong Wi-Fi section. I have no trouble using Wi-Fi hot spots while out and about (Chick-Fil-A, Panera, Dunkin' Donuts) or in a hotel room (Wingate). I estimate the battery supports about 3.5 - 4 hours of constant activity (web browsing, reading emails and the like). The tablet doesn't consume much battery power while in standby mode. The tablet screen is responsive to the touch. I have not experienced the screen dead spot issue reported by some other reviewers. One minor complaint I have with this tablet and two other entry-level tablets I tried is the screen does not appear to be very responsive to the "pinch" gesture for zooming in and out.
This tablet comes with a USB wall charger and a standard USB-to-micro USB male-male cable. Accessories you should buy included micro USB male-to-standard USB female adapter (for use with a USB thumb drive or keyboard) and a mini HDMI male-to-standard HDMI female adapter (for use with standard HDMI display cables). A high quality cover that fits this tablet is the Werx 7" Universal Stand Case sold at Radio Shack.
Conclusion: You won't find a better 7” tablet in this price range.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
"okay" tablet
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
Honestengine
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got the tablet for Christmas. It works pretty well for the price, however I do see that this tablet has some of the same issues as the others who have already posted. I thought it was just an issue with the "back" arrow, but about on half inch from the left, nothing on that side of the screen will work, occasionally. Sometimes when you re-start it, you get back the responsiveness. It also has dead spots periodically on the whole screen, making some of the game playing a little tricky. But it's okay overall. If I continue to have the "non responsive" back button issues, I'll have to take it back.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great little tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
jme919
Location: Hampton VA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought for my 10 yr old for Christmas. I had bought 2 Ematic 10" tablets, hated them and returned them. This one is so easy to use, very easy to set up, glides from screen to screen the way you expect a tablet to do, loads apps, games, & movies pretty quickly. Netflix works great for us but after reading reviews I heeded the suggestion not to download the update, so I can neither confirm nor deny that Netflix will work with the update. Hubby LOVES this and wants one for himself now.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
BAD BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
naruto1
Location: Buffalo NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Just opened it from my mom and i have to say what a big let down. i charged witch took me 6 hours when my sister got the same one and hers only took 4 hours. and then it hooked up my wifi and it was working for an all of two mins. wont let me do anything taking it back to get a new one tomorrow. i would have to say if you buy this watch out they dont want to work. i would not recommend this to anyone
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Loving it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
Maddygirl4932
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I received this item for Christmas and so far, I have been enjoying it very much! It can play videos, browse the internet, and responds sensitively to touch- all of which I was looking for in a tablet. No, it's not a Nexus 7 of Kindle HD, but it holds itself up well for the price. Totally enjoying myself!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good Tablet for the Price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
Farside93
Location: North Carolina
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This is a nice little tablet for a reasonable price. It is good at playing netflix(don't update it). It comes with a preinstalled netflix use that don't update or it will have issues. It links up to wireless internet well too. I like that straight out of the box you don't have to set up accounts its pretty much ready to use. It has HDMI capability to hook to the tv and can use a mouse. Skype works and can play a good range of games. It has limited memory but can hold a 32g sd card. Its not the fastest of tablets but it does run at a decent speed. Its case is a little flimsy and probably can't handle a great deal of abuse but that is to be expected for the price. I think that it is a good tablet to have for entertainment around the house and away. It is probably not the best choice if you use it constantly for work and home and like to run different programs continuously switching in between. It would probably have a freeze problem not because of the design but the processor just wouldn't be big enough to keep up. This tablet is a decent tablet for people who aren't going to rely on it as their computer and smart phone. Its better suited for people who just want it for entertainment and maybe a couple of small apps for writing reports, facebooking, and skyping. The camera on it isn't the best but it does work and the tablet is priced decently.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jenn31
 
Please wait while more information about Jenn31 is loaded.
Additional information about Jenn31 could not be loaded.
Bad Tablet, Essentially Came DoA
Posted 12/26/12
We bought this tablet on black friday, opened this tablet on Christmas and come to find out the tablet came DOA. We booted the system up to begin the set-up process, the tablet then started flashing colors and did not work.
We weren't expecting a Nexus, but we expected a working tablet :(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good for the price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/12
Bearbear24
Location: MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this tablet for my girlfriend as a Christmas gift. I knew right away that it wasn't going to be an Ipad or anything as expensive, but I was looking for something basic that would allow her to browse the web, play games, read books, and watch Netflix. I was surprised at how well it does almost all of that. Our screen works fine and there are no "dead spots", but the clock is never right. We have to reset it every time we get on it, but that's what phones are for. I would say that the only bad thing about it is the Netflix. For some reason it won't work on the tablet. I've tried updating and resetting and nothing works. I will get about two minutes of streaming before it starts to buffer and once that happens it never finishes. I was impressed with the pre-loaded Angry Birds game. I'm pretty sure it is the full version. And I love the fact that it has Google Play unlike other cheap tablets I was looking at. If the Netflix worked I would rate this a ten and I would recommend it to a friend looking for a cheaper tablet.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Not an Ipad or Nexus!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Dextrain
Location: Alabama
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's an $80 tablet that does very well for its price! Only complaint i have is the short battery life. It is NOT an ipad or nexus! If you expect an $80 ipad or nexus here then why will you not just go out and buy an ipad or nexus! Stop complaining!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Tablet Worth 80 Dollars
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
JRG1
Location: MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this tablet a few days ago and didn't know how well it would work for such a cheap price. And it works great no problems at all does what you need it to do. I don't see why there is such negative reviews on this tablet i think its great. Yes it might not be the highest notch tablet but it does what you want it to do.I think some people are just picky on gadgets. I recommend this to anyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Bought this for smart glass...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
turkish
Location: battle creek, mi
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this with the hope of using Microsofts smartglass, does not work. I can't even find it on Androids page. So that means no support. The time keeps lagging behind on its clock. A simple feature that does not even work right. I am pretty disappointed in the touch screen as well because there is a half inch section that just refuses to work.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 15 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
Emdirb
Location: San Diego
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought this tablet for my yound daughter. I have tested it for two weeks and I am very happy with its performance for the price. Clean web browsing, email and movie viewing. Camera is OK but that was totally expected. For this price i am buying one for ma and my sister.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
It's not a iPad or Nexus people.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
TechChase
Location: Ferndale, MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am a 24 year old college student. I purchased this tablet mainly because I'm on the go a lot and my laptop is a 17.3'' screen so it's kind of large. I wanted something that could give me basic tablet functionality and I got just that. For those of you who are expecting something comparable to a high end tablet, you will be disappointed. That's not what this is for. It's a basic tablet. It should be named "My First Tablet" actually. This is my first one and I wanted to play around and see if it added any functionality to my daily routine. It does that pretty well. It's easy to carry around and does what I need it to do. There is delay on my Gmail when new messages come in. It's negligible. I had to use the default Netflix it came as well because the new version will not work at all on this. Skype works just fine as does Facebook (although its not optimized for tablet usage) , Twitter and all of the other basic, commonly used free apps. And it's not lightning fast. But its pretty useful for what I use it for. I can play games like Sector Strike (which has respectable 3D graphics) with no issues so that's a plus. And all of the issues like dead touchscreen, and freezing have been nonexistent on mine and I use it several hours per day on average. I think some of you just got unlucky. Granted, this device has a lot to be desired. It's not nearly as fast as others, it has low internal memory and a weaker processor than the high end ones and it does not have Bluetooth enabled. But overall I'm happy with it. At some point, I will upgrade now that I enjoy having a tablet with me but for now I can live with this. If you're someone older who wants to experiment or getting this for a teenager who really wants a tablet and you don't want to break the bank, I would say this is a fine choice. It's a good value honestly. If you're a tech savvy person looking for the best hardware at the lowest price then this is not what you are looking for. It's relatively simple. The specifications are on the box and you can see firsthand what those mean.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
32 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
nice tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
drd00my
Location: santa barbara
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My ipod just got bricked by itunes 11 and instead of wasting another 10 hours of hard work restoring it like I did with my iphone 2 days ago I went out and bought one of these tablets and I am much happier. This tablet works great and I dont have any complaints with it except chrome browser force closes. Angry Birds games work fine with nice speed and overall I am very happy with this tablet. I just got tired of all the "unexpected error" messages on itunes and want to spend my time having fun instead of constantly restoring and fixing apple products. This is great for reading downloaded comic books.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Good price, but unreliable product
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/12
Lylus
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Bought this tablet on Black Friday because I wanted a music player for on the go. Sometimes works, but has a dead spot on the screen, frequently gives me "Program Not Responding" notifications, and can't keep time (I set the time when I got it and it says the time is 4:35 when it's actually 6:02 when I write this). Based on other reviews and the comments of my peers who bought one, this is not uncommon. I wouldn't mind if the tablet was just slow overall, but when it can't even perform basic functions, it's not worth any amount of money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bookiesgrl
 
Please wait while more information about bookiesgrl is loaded.
Additional information about bookiesgrl could not be loaded.
response on time issue
Posted 6/26/13
I had this issue and easily fixed if u r bright enough to know that u have to go in and set the time to your time zone. Then set the time showing on the tablet. Then it works just fine
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
really like it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
MSLADY40
Location: dayton oh
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this on 11/24/12 and i can say so far its a good tablet the nexflex movies work well browsing is good for 80 dollars you cant beat it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Doesn't work
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
ny1234
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My mom got this tablet for the family & we left it charging for a long time & then it doesn't turn back on
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 2 next>>