GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G

Average Customer Rating:
6.35
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
4
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
7
29 out of 4072%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Review 21 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
You get what you pay for.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
SymSen
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I purchased two of these for gifts for family members
Both of which are not extremely tech savvy, so I figure i'd power them up, download basic needs and assure they have a full charge. The initial film that covers the surface makes the touch capabilities a little off on the first one I set up but since removed did not cause any issues.
Finished with the first one, I let it charge while I set up the second one. The second one had a couple of notable non responsive area's on the screen, tried working around it as best as possible with no results so I returned it to receive a replacement.
With the replacement, it's been working great the only issue i've noticed with this one is I have one stuck pixel that been able to troubleshoot.
for an $80 tablet it's bound to have it's issues but so long as you're able to resolve minor things yourself, i'd take the good with the bad or if you can't replace it til it works or pay for the performance YOU want..
I have the Nexus 7 personally and I have no regrets with that purchase.. but I have no interest in spending $200-$250 for family who will never know the difference in capabilities.
***Side note, there are no real accessories for the Sophix TAB-730G as of now and with the camera being on the height of the tablet rather than the length it makes it more interested to find a snug case that will allow the camera to be exposed, the width is just off enough to make it tricky to determine if a snap case would properly contain it and the menu button is a different shape so while you can still get a screen protector you'll probably have to do some DIY resizing***
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 22 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
k tablet
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
bhgftdcyu
Location: pasadena texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is a ok tablet I have had better. You get what you paid for I think the price fits great with the tablet I give it a 6.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 23 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
here's a thing guys
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
JagWar92
Location: atlanta
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i read the reviews and noticed that people whose buying this were expecting the google nexus performance or gaming tablets. well if ur expecting those u should get those instead of $80 tablet. in my opinion, this does serve the minimum purpose as a tablet. it has decent speed of web browsing, youtube, facebook, mp3,mp4. i mean.... what more do you expect? i bought this product just b/c i want to do web surfing when i get lazy woking up in the moring in bed, and so far it serves the purpose. this is probably one of the cheapest tablet you can buy, if it serves the minimum purpose, than its good. people always complain when they buy the cheap product: FACT. although i agree that netflix crashes while playing movies.... and i hope theres atleast microsoft office on it....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Everything you could expect for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
AverageGamestopEmployee
Location: Albuquerque
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Honestly, it did everything I needed it to. Thinking about it realistically, of course it's not going to perform like a $500 tablet. It is the best tablet you can get in the price range in my opinion. I'm very happy I bought this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Play Tablet
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
BiosError
Location: Springfield, IL
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I've looked at a lot of cheap tablets trying to find one for my kids and I have to say this is one of the better ones. I bought 3 of them.
PROS:
- 1GB of RAM and HDMI is better than most generic tablets
- Charges over USB (most generics charge with a separate AC adapter)
- Front Camera works with skype, etc.
- Works with Google Play and Amazon Market stores (some do not)
- Preloaded with a WORKING version of Netflix (see below)
- Tablet body has a non-slip coating (better than my Galaxy Tab)
CONS:
- Camera is 0.3 Megapixel which is very low resolution
- Battery life is short. Maybe 3-4 hours of constant use.
- No Bluetooth
- Cannot update Netflix. New version 2.0.2 does not work. Had to uninstall to downgrade back to the preloaded version, but that one seems to work fine.
- Appears to have some "pressure points" under the LCD. As I use it, I'm seeing discoloration like the LCD is pressing against something inside the unit. It hasn't caused a problem yet, but too much abuse might cause the LCD to crack at one of these points.
I don't have any dead spots on any of the 3 I bought. They all run skype, netflix, play music and games. I've got Lookout Antivirus and Kaspersky Parental Controls running. I am confident these will work great for my kids' first tablets.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great for the price that's offered!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
Ace20
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I saw this tablet for 80 bucks so I gave it a shot and I have to say that it was well worth the price. For 80 bucks, I didn't expect the best but it is a pretty good tablet. I used my Android phone memory unit and I have all of my files there. The music sounds great, the HD is as is, HD. It's great and the only thing that didn't make me give this awesome tablet a 10 was the camera. C'mon, my cheap Android has a better camera but again, I can't complain for it is offered for a very reasonable price. If you don't want to pay the full 80, trade in your old games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 27 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great tablet for kids
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
eld3150
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought this for my 8 year old son. I have owned better tablets so in comparison to most others id say its better fit for kids. Has the google play market which is a plus
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
A very basic tablet.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
kaiko
Location: Oregon
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
We were trying to decide to get a tablet or another portable DVD player for our daughter. With this tablet we thought we would take a chance and try it out. I set up the tablet. I was amazed the touch screen worked just fine. A bit slower than our higher end tablet but this is an inexpensive tablet so I cant expect a lot. Netflix worked fine as long as you dont run the update. Once I ran Netlix a few times it worked smoothly , the picture starts a bit pix elated but does catch up and looks good. Internet works fine and so does the wireless. Came with a cute draw program I know my daughter will enjoy. Google play works well . I downloaded minecraft and it works. I also downloaded her jumpstart game. All works well. Just curious to see how long it lasts. Hoping for 6 months to a year. But maybe it will surprise me. But the size and function are ok , don't expect anything outstanding just basic. My only other thing was it had some scratches on the base of the screen didn't effect anything but did make me ponder if it had been refurbished. Here's hoping it lasts long enough for my daughter to enjoy it !!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Excellent Tablet for the price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
GaryGamer
Location: Connecticut
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this tablet for black friday and didn't expect it to do much for the price. I was amazed when I used it to make a video call from skype and even more amazed when I showed off my latest app to my friends. I'm sure there are a few defective ones at this price but that shouldn't stop you from trying one. They are excellent, when they are in working condition.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
A perfect tablet for my use.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
Satisfied2012
Location: Indianapolis, In
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This tablet meets all my needs. I wanted it for surfing the web, checking e-mails and facebook, writing documents. Glad somebody came up with a tablet that is reasonable priced and yet meets my needs.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
What you pay for.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/12
DrizzintahL
Location: my Thrive
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
We got this for just $80 on black Friday and so far so good. The display while browsing / reading hurts your eyes depending on if it gets to you or not, but media woks great. Netflix was working as good as you can expect it to work. YouTube was amazing, very fast transition and browsing considering this thing's hardware. You could always get someones old cellphone for cheaper with a smaller screen, but if you're looking for a nighttime bedtime reader or road trip media player, you can't beat this things price, performance and screen size. Considering the price, and hardware, expect delays when trying to multitask, and stutter if you're getting into bigger games. Great gift for anybody in the family that isn't tech savvy and isn't going to stress it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 32 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
bizz
Location: lancaster, ohio
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
my father is 84 years old, & can use it to make video for his grand kids & we went back to get one more for my son too. I like the quick upload & the cool cord, witch has two functions!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 33 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Don't bother buying it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
MMarie
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Despite the serious lack of info and reviews online about this tablet, I thought I'd give it a try. I figured $80 for a tablet was too good to be true but thought I'd give it a go...not the best choice. It was to be a gift for my 10yr old, so I wanted to turn it on, add any apps/games I thought he might like, etc. And I also wanted to put it through the paces to see how it held up. It failed miserably. I let it charge, turned it on and after only a few minutes I got a blank screen, which wouldn't go away. I shut it down and restarted it. I was able to add Hill Climb Racing to it this time, but after downloading and installing the game, I was only able to play about 5 seconds before I got a blank yellow screen. Shut down, restart...let it charge over night for about 6-7 hours (first charge was 30 minutes). Turned it on this morning and played Hill Climb Racing. I was able to get through one level but the touchscreen didn't work 100%...pretty frustrating. Soon after got a blank screen. Shut down, restart. I was able to update Netflix, which it then refused to open. Started to update some other apps that were already on it but needed updating, blank screen again. It has proven itself to be a piece of junk. So the lesson to be learned here...I was right, $80 for a tablet is too good to be true (although technically I did get a tablet for $80...it just doesn't work!).
My recommendation? Don't buy it. I've heard good things about the Nexus 7, maybe give that a try instead. I know I will.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
I expected better.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
dreadeddrex
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well first of all there is a dead spot close to the camera. To find the spot, go to settings/display/brightness and try to click on ok. Or you can try to drag a icon around that area and it just drops when you get to that spot. I returned the first one and the second tablet I got is doing the same thing. And the update date with netflix keeps crashing. Also the resolution isn't so great either, some apps you cant even read the words, but yet on my cell phone which is smaller can easily see.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Best for fundamental use.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
RamModule
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this tablet as part of the black-friday deal with no knowledge as to the manufacturer, Sophix. I wasn't looking for a high-end gaming tablet for the price and I got what I pretty much expected. It's a decent media-player and web-browser but even with it's 1.2Ghz processor and 1gb of RAM, it's not entirely great for gaming. I'm assuming it's a single core processor. Upon first booting it up, there were some irregularities with some of the functions. For instance, half the buttons send you straight to the desktop and the volume buttons are in the GUI rather than having independent buttons. The most alarming thing that I came across, straight out of the box is that upon grabbing Google Chrome from the Play Store, Google Chrome immediately crashes. I've done some trouble-shooting but to no success. I'd really only recommend this tablet for simple or fundamental use. Gaming is nearly out of the question, depending on the strain of the game and Google Chrome just flat out doesn't work.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 36 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
surprise better than expected worth $79.99 easy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
bblack
Location: westville, NJ
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It has better features than my wifes nook tablet! Its 1080p HD 1.2 Ghz with more Ram at 1 gig its compareable to any 7 inch android. But for the money unbeatable! My only downside small ones at that are low resolution webcam and it a single processor though you really can't notice. A+ to gamestop great product.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Nice overall but ONE BIG FLAW
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
TheConductor
Location: Everett
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Dont get me wrong I like this little guy! I snagged one while working Black Friday at my store, Took it home and was about to open it up to load some files onto it but froze mid pose when my eyes went over the specifications. What halted my overzealous destruction of perfectly good cardboard was the discovery that this device has no BLUETOOTH RADIO! Which renders it useless for my purposes from then on. Overall, it is a nice little tablet within a small budget, lots of features, a micro sd expansion slot (necessary) HDMI output to bring movies and music with you as your on the go, at friends, parties, or just traveling, and many more. If it had Bluetooth This little guy would be hard to beat in the "bang for the buck" category. Also screen itself is nice and responsive but is a little fuzzy resolution wise, only found out when we opened one up to show customers in store but not a deal breaker. I still got one After seeing it :D Now to debate if I need to return and splurge on something more advanced with a higher price tag for use with my Bluetooth headphones. $__$
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Great Value
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
kdaesung
Location: Spokane
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I just bought this for my wife, it was on sale and definitely worth the money. The Netflix app doesnt seem to work if you install the update, but if you just bypass the update then it works just fine. It's not the fastest tablet in the world, but absolutely amazing for the price. The touch screen is responsive and works great with games like Fruit Ninja. I recommended it to all of my friends.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
do not buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
player32
Location: arkansas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Just bought on black Friday Product will not download app netflix freeze up not a good buy at all waste of money spend the money n get a real tablet
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-730G
Very Bad Quality and Funtionality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
Steven96
Location: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Most of the preinstalled Apps do not work. The ones that do cause the unit to lock up. Camera is horrible. The touch screen has a lot of dead spots.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
supershawn30
 
Please wait while more information about supershawn30 is loaded.
Additional information about supershawn30 could not be loaded.
HI
Posted 11/26/12
can somebody post a video review of this tablet i dont even see the brand name on any websites so why gamestop saling this???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
<<prev 1 2