GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Retro Classic Controller

Finally! By popular demand. A Hardcore controller for the Wii and Wii U. Universally compatible with both the Wii and Wii U. Use the controller as a Wii Remote!
Average Customer Rating:
5.087
5.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
5
9 out of 2339%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Retro Classic Controller
Review 1 for Retro Classic Controller
Waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
LieutenantLucario
Location: State Road, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I got this controller for the nice nostalgic feeling of playing on something that looks and feels like something I grew up with, the SNES controller. I could barely wait the 4 or 5 hours it took to do the initial charge (which is reasonable for a controller), but I managed to sit through the excitement. I went to boot up my Wii U, paired the controller with it, and went to Wii Mode to play. Loaded up Smash Bros Brawl and bad news, the controller not only looses sync, but it will not do anything. The only light that comes on is the charge light. After an hour of searching the manual and online for answers, I stumbled upon the reset button and got it working again. Why do I have to hit the tiny reset button everytime for a wii game? I have no clue. But that's not the only problem. I wake up the next morning to play some Super Mario World on the virtual console and well.... the controller died while not even being on. Am I going to wait through another charging period every time I want to use it? No. I am just going to get a 1st party classic controller for the Wii and use my 1st party Wii U pro controller to play my games. I should have known better from a third party controller.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Retro Classic Controller
This controller breaks soon and easily.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
Torpedo
Location: Athens, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
While the controller felt great to hold and in fact did emulate three different controllers when it connected with my Wii U system and the Wii emulation mode, the controller started showing buggy activity within a week of use. First the left analog stick started sticking up (not physically, but digitally), and I tried resetting it. At first resetting it seemed to work, but as I used it and my dormmates used it more, it consistently and quickly became too buggy to use. Buttons and the analog sticks would register their inputs by themselves, and when you did move the analog sticks, they would only register in one direction. So what does this do? It makes your Super Smash Bros. Brawl character have spasms. It makes Donkey Kong in his SNES titles have spasms. It makes your Mario Kart character drive mad and wreck constantly. I've noticed that the price on this controller has dropped from $40 to $30, but I would recommend that you do not buy this product at all, and instead buy an official controller from Nintendo.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Retro Classic Controller
Read this before you spend your money
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/13
Scotty360
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Alright so I just bought this controller and I want to love it, but unfortunately there are some key things holding it back. I do agree to an extent what other reviewers have written but there are a couple key things that some of you might want to know. Even though the description is very careful to avoid saying as much - there are some things that are implied about the compatibility that are technically true but functionally problematic. I'll break it down into the 3 systems it supposedly is "compatible" with. Android: It is technically compatible with android devices but you wont be pairing this unless you have a rooted phone. You will have to plug this controller into your android device using USB. The pairing system through bluetooth is literally the same as a wiimote and therefore you run into the same problem: it can't be directly paired with android. Wii U: This is basically a wireless classic controller. Although it says it is compatible with Wii U - it only is as far as a Wii classic controller is. You wont be using this as a replacement for a Wii U PRO controller. It will read as a wiimote or a classic controller only. Wii: I did want to end on a somewhat positive note. It works great for all virtual console content as well as for some Wii games. The one thing you will need to keep note of though is that the sensor cannot be turned off. So games like Super Paper Mario and Metroid Other M (to name but a few) that change game modes by pointing the wiimote to the tv will take getting used to. We had an alright time with it by pointing this controller to the ground until we needed to use it as a pointer. A little awkward but entirely possible to manage. I hope this helps those of you that might be thinking of using this as a Wii U pro controller or a wireless solution to your android gaming. This controller will NOT do either of those.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SpareChnge
Westbrook, ME
 
Please wait while more information about SpareChnge is loaded.
Additional information about SpareChnge could not be loaded.
Posted 4/14/14
I have an android phone, not rooted, and I can connect my Wiimote to it no problem. It is based on your phone type I think. Moto Electrify M is what i have, and I use my wiimote/classic controller pro for the GBA/NES/SNES/N64 emulators on my phone.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Retro Classic Controller
Terrible functionality
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
ShanDroyd
Location: Hartland, WI
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As many stated on the reviews, "I wanted to love this controller"...
so it's nice that it has an IR port for WII-mote functions. and it stops there.
the controller is comfortable, and looks awesome. I love the retro SNES design. unfortunately, 9 times out of 10 it will not turn on. I frequently have to use a paperclip to press the reset button and then have to re-pair the controller to the WII U system. Brand new, and the battery dies over night.
This controller will not replace the Wii-mote/nunchacku combo on regular wii games.
if your a collector, buy it too look at, but never bother use it. They are going for high dollar on ebay/amazon right now if it has the purple buttons, not the multi-colored.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Retro Classic Controller
Poor build quality ruins it's great potential.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
OddJohnny
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
All the issues other customers have written about this product are all true, but what has not been mentioned is the poor build quality that plagues this controller.
I have been through the original purchased controller, and a replacement, (Thank you for the good customer service Gamestop) only to have the same issue with the left analog stick. The first controller caused whatever character you were using to stop short several times while running as if the connection to whatever input is inside the controller was faulty. The second controller would make your character run to the right when pressing up on the analog stick. This basically means you would run in circles instead of in a straight line. Despite trying to use the reset button on the controller the issue has persisted.
As much as I would like to recommend this cool retro-designed controller to people it simply is a rushed effort that I regret sinking money into.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Retro Classic Controller
Fun design, but too flawed to be of use
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
JRokujuushi
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I grabbed this with the intention of using it as a controller for my Galaxy S3. After downloading the Wii Remote software, I was able to sync the controller to my phone. It worked in Wii Remote mode, but that meant it didn't recognize the analog sticks or shoulder buttons. If I switched it to Classic Controller mode, the phone wouldn't recognize any input from it.
Both modes worked on my Wii, but using it in Wii Remote mode was a bit awkward since 1 and 2 are mapped to Y and X. There's also the issue of the IR sensor always facing forward, which makes games like Metroid: Other M and Super Paper Mario awkward to play.
It's comfortable to hold and operate, and I really would have liked it if everything worked on Android, but the limited functionality on Android and the awkwardness of the Wii Remote mode on Wii turned me off. I ended up returning it and plan to look for other Android control options.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Retro Classic Controller
Don't buy!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
XNoDyno4
Location: Springfield, IL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is straight garbage. Besides the cool looks this controller offers nothing good. The d-pad is complete trash anytime I hit up it registers as left. Next there's the gameplay in the middle of game the controller just froze on me. I did what anyone would do try turning off the controller but the buttons were not working. I clicked all the buttons nothing registered, so I turned off my Wii U and guess what the controller is still on. It remained to stay on all night claiming it was player one to a console that was shut off. I plan on returning this controller today (I bought it for the new smash bros. and bought brawl in the process with the controller.) Looks like I will be returning both today because one is useless without the other for me.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Retro Classic Controller
Bricked in Ten
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/13
Anonymous
Location: Sherman Oaks, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this for the Pro U capabilities but it, in fact, only works as a Wii Classic Controller Pro + Wiimote or JUST as a Wiimote. The description is very misleading. It felt like a great design in the hands and seemed to behave well as a CCP+W but that's not what I wanted. I attempted to use it on Black Ops II and it was recognized as a CCP but when I returned to the Wii U menu and opened up the Wii dashboard to play my VC games the thing bricked. I attempted to charge it but nothing seemed to respond. Blue lights didn't flash and in spite of my efforts it didn't show any signs of life. There was even a small reset button hole on the back that I attempted to press only to discover that there was no button in that button hole. Stay way, RUN DARE I SAY!!! PS: GameStop handled my return well. Yay for a good customer service experience!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Retro Classic Controller
Excellent Variety, for a great price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
Hikaroo
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is the most amazing controller that could have been made for the WiiU/Wii.
In comparison to the Pro controller from Nintendo, this one offers a much better variety of options as of what it can do, and I personally think that the material it is made from feels much nicer when you're holding it.
Works as a WiiRemote, the Classic Controller, or you can obviously hold it as the retro controller. It has the speakers in it, like a wii remote, and it also has android/tablet compatibility. This controller is also compatible with the Wii!
Nintendo just got beaten on an accessory for their own system.
Now I can just hope that the Super Famicom one comes stateside as well.
This controller is a great find, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to any WiiU user.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gordonn
NY
 
Please wait while more information about gordonn is loaded.
Additional information about gordonn could not be loaded.
excellent
Posted 3/20/13
its awsome even though the reset button is hard to get i still mange to fix it i thought my controller was dead but the reset button saved it. the controlls are all decesent and awsome it feels good as well
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Retro Classic Controller
Excellent for a modern/retro upgrade
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
supernintendosp
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For those of you who don't mind a minor control sacrifice for a nostalgiac and solid wireless controller, this is your best bet. However, you cannot count on it being a regular Wii Remote as it claims. This reduces this controller's rating by one point.
The only problem I have with this controller is that the control pad is a little sensitive on the vertical d-pad movements. You'd barely touch the up or down on the D-Pad and it gets triggered. However, this sensitivity subsides over time as you use it more intensely, and your mind actually manages to integrate the more-dodgy control into it's strategy and instincts. It's kind-of like the Turbo Touch 360 you may have used on the original SNES - a minor touch and it works it's wonders. It's awesome.
I can - and will - tell you this: to have a Wii U classic controller useable on the original Wii makes this controller worth the money in itself. And then there's the switch on the back that changes it between a Wii Remote (really, it's just a regular Classic Controller mode) and the "Controller" (a Wii U Classic Controller Pro.) This feature makes it awesome, as you could use it for both systems. Don't mind the D-Pad flaw as it eventually dies out. It is highly controllable.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Retro Classic Controller
Not Worth It
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
CMannn
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Poorly constructed. Had to press the reset button under the controller to turn it on because the power button didn't work for some reason. The D-pad was either unresponsive or overly responsive or wouldn't respond correctly (if I pressed the left direction it would often register that I pressed the up direction). The Triggers feel good but don't push in far enough and it feels like I'm going to break them. I love the retro SNES design but it just doesn't function that well. Pass this one up and get a better controller.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Retro Classic Controller
DO NOT PURCHASE FOR THE WII U
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/13
OMGWEEGEE2
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you are like me, you purchased the controller in hopes of finally getting a wireless Classic Controller, Wii Mote, and Wii U Pro Controller. Well you'd be mistaken, it's ONLY the Classic Controller and Wii Mote. No Pro Controller part. We're just scratching the iceberg here.
Not 5 minutes in and already the controller has malfunctioned. I ordered 2 for me and my bro to use, and they both malfunctioned once I reached the home menu. Later I found out you were supposed to reach for the reset button. A really hard to reach reset button that not even a toothpick can get to, I had to get a wire just to find a way to hit the reset button on both.
The WiiMote controls are confusing, where the D-Pad is laid out as if you were already rotating the WiiMote, thus making it useless in games where you have to hold it vertically.
But however the design is awesome. I actually got the gold one, and it looks great. The other design is cool too, looks just like the SNES controller.
Overall, just buy the regular classic controller and have to deal with wires. Plus, you have to let it charge for 5 HOURS. FIVE. HOURS. I don't have the patient of a god, so I said screw it and played it with it charging. It took 7 hours to fully charge then.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
buffer
canal winchester ohio
 
Please wait while more information about buffer is loaded.
Additional information about buffer could not be loaded.
wi/wii u offbrand retro classic controller
Posted 3/26/13
hi when i think about the new wii u retro classic controller an face of the fact that when i bout it first time was at the canalwinchester on waterlo street next to walmart at gamestop this aint the first time i bout it on ever i bout it on saturday the 23 of march an tuesday the 26 of march an both controller inclods the ones the that i had to buy to play on my to games that i tested the one i tested was my an that was my first system i tested on was my wii an the controler whent an the baterry whent dead
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Retro Classic Controller
READ! WORST CONTROLLER EVER!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/13
thegreatgatsby
Location: Omaha, NB
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After purchasing the Wii U and excitedly realizing that you still have access to the original Wii shop for virtual console games, I downloaded Super Mario 64. I was halted soon after with the lack of a classic controller and made my way to GameStop to solve this problem.......only to now be faced with some of the most frustrating, ridiculous predicaments.
Even though the advertising for this controller is highly misleading, I knew it would only service as a classic controller and Wii remote and was a-okay with that considering all I wanted to do was play some classic games with it. I was lured in by the nostalgic SNES coloring and made the $40.00 buy. Soon after I returned home to play some Mario, I was immediately finding myself upset with the purchase. It apparently has this great auto-walk feature where the joystick stays in the upright position indefinitely! It makes gameplay near impossible with the amount of sheer frustration it causes. I also came to find that after several hours of charging, it only keeps the charge for about an hour to an hour and a half and dies completely without warning which caused slight confusion, not knowing if it had died or simply stopped working mid-play. It also loses sync unexpectedly and then you are sent into a search for an item small and long enough to reset the controller....every time. The triggers aren't equally weighted - one has a distinct clicking sound while the other just laxly smushes into the controller for lack of better terms.
I bought this controller wanting to love it and play endless hours of games with it but now I just want a regular ol' first-party classic controller. If you want something done right, buy from the system manufacturer. Buy Nintendo. I'm done with this third-party nonsense. DO. NOT. BUY.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
supernintendosp
Waterloo, NY
 
Please wait while more information about supernintendosp is loaded.
Additional information about supernintendosp could not be loaded.
Wow. Thank you.
Posted 4/13/13
And I was about to buy this thing elsewhere...thank you so much for putting it in great detail. I won't be buying this thing AT ALL. Not on Amazon, not on Ebay, not here on Game Stop. I wonder how many people were duped by this cheap thing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Retro Classic Controller
Complete Junk
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
UprootedPuppet
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this and after about 20 minutes of use it stopped working completely. It will charge all day long but the red charging light will never change to green. The reset button on the back did absolutely nothing. I cannot for the life of me get it to turn on, let alone synch to the Wii.
Don't be deceived by the nostalgic look of the controller. By the look of the other reviews, you'd be lucky to get one working properly for more than a day.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 15 for Retro Classic Controller
good and bad at the same time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
bronie56
Location: MI
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
at first i had a great time with it! util it started acting like junk, i had to reset it like 10 times after i got it.i took it back so i could get a wiiu.dont buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Retro Classic Controller
Super Hybrid Controller.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/13
RandB3
Location: Newberg, OR
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first opened the box, I didn't know what to expect. I mean, how would this controller be able to know to talk to the sensor bar, or to talk to the Bluetooth wireless. The controller, working its own magic, is actually a hybrid, meaning, it is talking to both the sensor bar and the bluetooth at the same time. Now, understand what that means, while in game you can tilt, shake, and point to your location. At the same time you are playing the game with all the action buttons. Essentially its the WiiMote and the Nunchuck combined together in a Weapon X type of hybrid controller. Super convenient, because I never have to get up from my sofa. The power button also turns on and off the Wii U and Wii console. Meaning I really don't have to get up from the sofa!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Retro Classic Controller
Wii Remote, Wii Classic Controller, Wii U Pro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
Interwebs
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The reviews I read made me skeptical to buy this but I took the chance and am in love. The controller works as a Wii remote/Nunchuck with the Wii pointer sensor, A Wii Classic Controller, and A Wii U Pro Controller. The layout is fantastic for any size hand and can be used for long play periods. The material is comfortable to hold even if your hands get sweaty during gaming. I've been able to play Super Smash Bros. Brawl, Call of Duty Black Ops 2, Pikmin 2, And Earthbound so far. I haven't tested the Android part but I'm sure it would work with the Emulators. Long story short this controller is the only controller I need for my Wii and Wii U gaming needs and I would recommend to anyone who needs a all in one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Retro Classic Controller
Wait for version 2.0!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/13
Alert
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Brought this controller, returned it. Seemed to be defective so I got another. The next day I returned that one, got a refund. The controller's look and feel is awesome. It is just a little wider than my pro controller. The face buttons have the feel of the classic snes controller but shoulder buttons are a bit small. My problem with this product is once it was fully charged it worked but it always would not sync. I had to plug it into one of the front usb ports on my WIIU to have it work properly. It does function as a wiimote, classic controller and pro controller. I've played BLOPS 2 with no problems when it functioned. Virtual console game also were fun to play with this controller. I would advise now to not buy this product.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
allgrownup321
 
Please wait while more information about allgrownup321 is loaded.
Additional information about allgrownup321 could not be loaded.
Good and Bad
Posted 1/18/13
This controller works on everything from wii u games to virtual counsel games. The downside is that it does not stay synced and it takes more than 5 hours to completely charge. Also about two days after using it my wii u started to malfunction. I had to send it back to nintendo to be fixed. And you cant tell them that you think is a third party product that messed up your system because it void the warrenty.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Retro Classic Controller
Universal dopeness!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
anigh
Location: Atlanta
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
dude this controller is so amazing. i didnt want to have to buy a wii remote just to play super smash bros on my wii u. this is a xbox 360 controller with a built in wii classic controller. i want this so bad. i just rlly hope its not cheap plastic and breaks easily cause I could end up going through tons of them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Granosx
NYC
 
Please wait while more information about Granosx is loaded.
Additional information about Granosx could not be loaded.
HORRIBLE DO NOT BUY!
Posted 12/30/12
I purchased the controller at my local gamestop, and there was only 1 controller that arrived which happened to be my preorder ( not surprised ). I used it the first day and it worked somewhat, though it disconnected all the time. Next day I try to use it and the controller won't turn on no matter what. it is charged, and has been put to charge anyways and the led lights do not even turn on or blink. That being said I HIGHLY recommend against buying this controller.
I am going to go to gamestop to return it tomorrow and if the gamestop gives me issues we are going to have problems.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Retro Classic Controller
Awesome !
Posted on:12/6/12
junior5238
Location: California
This controller looks sick ! It's got the old Super Nintendo look on it ! I'm definitely buying it !
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>