GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pandora's Tower

Pandora's Tower tells a haunting tale about a cursed young woman's slow transformation into a hideous beast, and the lengths to which the man she loves will go in order to save her. Aeron must brave the Thirteen Towers, which are suspended in the middle of a valley by chains connected to surrounding cliffs, and use his magical Oraclos Chain weapon to retrieve "master flesh," the flesh of the giant monsters that reside within each tower, which he must feed to Elena in order to reverse her transformation. Aeron's interactions with Elena during their time together have a direct impact on the story, as the strength of their bond will determine which of the multiple endings is achieved.
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
4 out of 4100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pandora's Tower
Review 1 for Pandora's Tower
Curses, Puzzles, and True Love
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
Khmasterx
Location: Washington State
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pandora's Tower was a title brought to NA by Operation Rainfall, a protest that brought 3 last great Japanese RPG's to the Wii. The games protagonist Aeron is trying to help lift his love interest Elena's horrible curse which turns her into a Beast. Aeron must reach the top of 13 seperate towers to defeat a powerful foe at the top and return the Beast Flesh for Elena to consume so she does not end up a beast forever. Pandora's Tower has a slightly morbid, gruesome story, but that shouldn't stop anyone from trying it out. The graphics are great for the Wii, the soundtrack is amazing, and the story is a tale that will make you want to finish the game to the end. In terms of game play, the combat may take a little time to grasp onto, but as you go through the towers in the game you will not only be fighting, but also solving puzzles, and traversing up the towers in a way that I can relate to Prince of Persia games. The story also reminds me of Shadow of the Colossus and ICO, but is a completely different experience because the game was so well done. It may be a leap back from this current gen's games, but if you want a deep immersive story, a fun and intruiging battle system with some puzzle challenges, pandora's tower is the game for you. It also includes somewhat of a "dating sim" as well. How you interact with Elena, and how far your relationship gets with her will determine different endings of the game. Don't be turned off by the game, just give it a try and I promise you it will at least be worth it if you are a hardcore jrpg fan.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pandora's Tower
Operation Rainfall Is A Success
Posted on:3/19/13
pswmeg
Location: AMUREKUH
Can't wait for this game. Gonna get it for my birthday. I cant believe operation rainfall actually went all the way through. Xenoblade Chronicles, The Last Story(My favorite game on the Wii. You must get it) and now Pandora's Tower. This proves that making a petition on the internet actually has a chance to get you what you want. Below is Operation Rainfall releases in order.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Pandora's Tower Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Pandora's Tower
Most Mature Game Nintendo Has Ever Done
Posted on:1/28/13
Glitchy000
Location: Woodland, CA
I stealthily ordered the Collector's Edition with SteelBook case from the UK and soft-modded my Wii just to play this game. While it is MUCH shorter than Xenoblade Chronicles and the Last Story, I think it is much more concentrated on the three characters it surrounds. I would says this game is more on-par with Xenoblade and if a comparison could be drawn, Xenoblade is like Zelda: Ocarina of Time (brighter, bigger, longer) and Pandora's Tower is more like Zelda: Majora's Mask (darker, smaller, shorter, deeper).
Pandora's Tower mixes a time limit to the gameplay in a style of a non-jumping God of War. I think if the blood in this game would've been red instead of purple, the comparison would be more obvious. There are replay games, unlockable costumes for Elena, ways to decorate the base, cute conversations to be had, ridiculously challenging and stressful (due to time) boss battles that never require looking up the answers, treasure to be looted, and multiple endings. And all for $40?! I paid for mine for about £45 for mine which is quite a bit more.
P.S. Don't use the Classic Controller, as tempting as it might seem. The Wii Remote pointer is a life-saver for grappling out of tight spots.
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pandora's Tower
Pandora's Tower
Posted on:1/21/13
coolguy1989
Location: WI
this is great that Pandora's Tower is coming the the US i did not think it would come at all looks great. I loved the last story and xenoblade they are great games so will Pandora's Tower. i'm happy its coming you should pick this game up if you got the others. if you do not have the other games you should still pick this one up this will be the last great WII game.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pandora's Tower
Got to get this
Posted on:1/25/13
2cool4skool
Location: somewhere...
i already got my pre order in on this game because its going to be a good one. this is the third and final game to come out of operation rainfall. the first 2, being xenoblade and the last story, were amazing games and i still love playing them. this one has an interesting storyline. if your unsure about this game, go to youtube and watch the trailer for it, its great!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pandora's Tower
Above & beyond
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
Eternaldragon902
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Nintendo may has improved in it's graphic and strategy in game play but, Pandora's Tower is another Legend Of Zelda which is why I like it. Along with the fact the it's the only game along with Monster Hunter Tri for the WII that I've found That I can play with the classic controller.
Actually hate the chuck and remote trying to play games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Pandora's Tower
Kills the Beasts, Save the Girl
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
PaperMemories
Location: In amazement
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Of course I was ecstatic to see that XSEED was making a new game, and even more excited when I found out that it was being released for the Wii, not the WiiU. There wouldn't be any focus on trying to make it cutting edge and graphically amazing if it was for the simplistic Wii. I knew this game would have a story, and a powerful gameplay.
It indeed does.
Pandoras Tower may not be for some though, just stating that from the beginning. Like other XSEED games, (Xeno, Last Story) the main characters all have some kind of accent that can be heavy, and annoying at times. I know it is something minor and should easily be over looked, but of course, you have those people that can't look past people talking funny. Next; as previously stated, the graphics are not Final Fantasy XIII cut scene worthy. They are a little blotchy at times, and can be simple and to the point. When the characters talk, the mouths sometimes don't move or line up. But hey, stop being so picky.
Now to the better parts. You are Aeron, a knight/young man shrouded in mystery (and rightly so). He is in love with a young, cursed, maiden, Elena. Now, we all know that the course of true love never runs smooth. And Aeron realizes this when Elena is cursed, doomed to turn into a beast unless she consumes the hearts of the Masters that loom in the Towers that hold the world together. They have to travel to ‘The Void’ where the world is apparently being pulled apart and the only thing holding it together are chains linked to a floating fortress. The game isn't very polite with the gore either. Even though the game is rated T, you watch as Elena becomes something so disgusting that you might just look away, or you might look agape while she tears into the flesh of a pulsing heart.
The fighting is unique. You are given a chain by a mysterious lady, Mavda, who seems to know a lot about Elena and the curse she has acquired. She gives you a chain, one that is a powerful artifact of her people. A chain that enables you to zoom from one area to another, or to attack enemies. The chain can link to a beast, and pull it closer to you. It can also attach itself two creatures together so that all you have to do is attack one for the other to receive the same damage. You can throw, toss, twirl, and rip enemies apart. Of course, you do have a sword, with fluid attacks and combos. Not to mention you get other weapons that are swoon worthy. But the chain steals the show. There is so much you can do with it that you aren’t really sure how to beat the monsters assaulting you.
The old lady mentioned before, Mavda, is the one who runs the shop. Literally. She takes you to an observatory where you can go to and from the towers and check up on Elena. And she actually runs a shop where you can buy items, upgrade weapons, and sell the extra flesh that Elena doesn't need.
Elena is a complex issue in the game. She is slowly becoming a beast, as previously stated. While you are out obtaining the flesh that she needs to stay young and pretty, there is this haunting gauge that is hanging to the bottom left of the screen. It slowly dwindles down to show you that Elena is becoming less human, and more monstrous. If you’re half way through a tower, but that gauge is almost down, you have to drop it all and rush off to save her from becoming a beast. Like the famous Majora's Mask, this game gives you a time clock to work under, that only builds and builds the pressure. Elena is even more complex when you throw in the gifts. The game is about love, no? Well, what says it more than talking and giving gifts to your favorite girl? You will have to buy, find, and scavenge things to give Elena so that your affection bar rises. Depending on how close the two of you are, the ending could be variously different.
As you play, the story slowly unfolds, like any good plot. Pandoras Tower isn't going to hit a large crowd, but try and catch the lingering few that are still interested in the mastery that is known as XSEED.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PaperMemories
In amazement
 
Please wait while more information about PaperMemories is loaded.
Additional information about PaperMemories could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Thank you~
Posted 6/5/13
Thank you for giving my mistake -_-
And I knew the actors were British, but I was just stating that to some, that is bothersome. Is all.
Customer Avatar
bptboy
on my bed
 
Please wait while more information about bptboy is loaded.
Additional information about bptboy could not be loaded.
Ummmmmmm
Posted 5/10/13
Xseed didnt make this game or Xenoblade or The Last Story. Monolith Software (Nintendo owned developer) made Xenoblade and Nintendo published it in the U.S. Eu and Japan. Mistwalker developed The Last Story and Nintendo published it in Japan and Eu while letting Xseed publish it in the U.S. and Xseed didnt really localize the game; they just used the localization from the UK voice actors, which explains the funny accents you are talking about in the game. Same thing goes for Pandora's Tower except that it was developed by Ganbaron.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Pandora's Tower
Best Game I Have Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
JenTheMighty
Location: Los Gatos, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is the single most remarkable game I have ever played. The graphics are incredible, just look at the trailers to see what you get! Music in this game is insane! It is orchestra and opera, but not in the prissy kind of way. When you walk in to a tower, the music is foreboding and puts you in the fighting mood, while in the Observatory you feel peaceful and happy. Don't even get me started on the boss music. Magnificent! As for the enemies, they are so unique, and they get challenging as the towers go on. The bosses are one of a kind, and even though I am supposed to hate them, they are beautiful and very detailed. Yes, there are thirteen towers, but they are each unique and engaging. The romance between Aeron and Elena is sweet and heartfelt, and progresses well and evenly. One thing to be warned about is the gore of Elena's transformation. Very unnerving. What you may not know is that there are six endings based on 'affinity', or how nice you are to Elena, if you bring her gifts, give her jobs and not let the curse progress very far. In ending S, there is a very disturbing and gruesome form of Zeron that is VERY scary. My older cousin, a macho man of nineteen, had to leave the room. I have played through this game seven times, achieved every ending, and I still look forward to playing again. All in all, Pandora's Tower is an RPG jewel that you MUST own.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Pandora's Tower
I can't wait to get Pandroa Tower.
Posted on:1/25/13
peanut
Location: Cypress, Tx
I went to know well this game come out with a soundtrack cd or a artbook case on the box with the bonus at gamestop? I heard this game is awesome and it has cool game thrillers for it at youtube.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pandora's Tower
Can't Wait!!!
Posted on:3/26/13
Shinobi12
Location: Utah
i've been waiting for this game for the longest time! right when i was going to order the UK version and do a jailbreak on my wii, the announcment came out that it was coming to America March 26. Now it's been set back to April 16!?!?!?! WHY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ug i guess more waiting is in store
Review 11 for Pandora's Tower
gamer
Posted on:1/21/13
coolguy1989
Location: WI
i love games they are fun we should all love games and other need top stop being picky about games. we all love games !
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pandora's Tower
Unexpected 3rd OPRA success! All Hail XSEED!
Posted on:1/23/13
FreeRPGer
Location: Troy, NY
Xenoblade was a masterpiece! The Last Story was too -- and now this!!! This is a surprise! Thanks XSEED for publishing this, especially months after the Wii U already came out. This game will be a masterpiece in its own right, and a somewhat darker RPG hybrid , especially for the Wii.
Review 13 for Pandora's Tower
Ooo?
Posted on:1/21/13
gamemaster12
Location: uh classified
looks interesting maybe like... another final fantasy i would suggest renting it but it still looks good :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pandora's Tower
Awesome!
Posted on:1/20/13
Inuboy1000
Location: Maine
Will preorder the game in March. I'm not missing this game. Loved Xenoblade, missed The Last Story. I'm not missing this.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DK50
 
Please wait while more information about DK50 is loaded.
Additional information about DK50 could not be loaded.
Wow
Posted 1/27/13
First xenoblade then the last story and now Pandora's tower 3 great master pieces for the wii
Comments (1)
Comment (1)