GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut

The award-winning suspense-horror, action-adventure game gives players an open-world experience featuring detailed interactions with Greenvale locals, as well as numerous side quests and mini games to help solve the murders and uncover hidden town secrets.
Average Customer Rating:
6.8
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
3 out of 560%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
Review 1 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
A Cult Classic
Posted on:4/5/13
Torioda
Location: New Jersey
Deadly Premonition is a game so polarizing, that it got a Guinness World Record for it. Originally released at a bargain bin price for the 360 in the US, the game has been revamped for its PS3 release. With more polished gameplay and an additional scenario by Hidetaka "Swery65" Suehiro, there's very little reason not to get this. If you were distracted by the terrible and clunky gameplay of the original's release, this version is looking to fix that. The game's characters, story, and dialogue is simply something not to be missed. It's not something you see in many games and the great deal of care done by the designers and writers is something to be admired.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
Deadly Premonition (Horrible Eyesight)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
GameShark
Location: Phoenix
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm not sure what the game producers were going for. This game seems like a retro game (old style resident evil perhaps). The story however is really what kept me playing. It was pretty out there, and amusing. Although, I almost didn't finish the game, because the rest of the game was bad, really bad! The sound of the car was horrible. Like an engine sound effect from an 80's 8 bit game. Very one dimensional. Old Nintendo sounds effects? The graphics were really really bad. This was motion capture? Huh, say what? Well anyway, it was so bad, that my game glitched horribly with rainbow colored swatches cutting through the screen when one of the first big bosses died. I honestly thought the system was going to crash. It managed to stay on its feet though. But the render engine or something was struggling. With games out like Assasin's Creed Black Flag, this game is easily a beginners attempt at making a game. 2 stars for the story.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
This proves graphics aren't everything.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
FreeRPGer
Location: Troy, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great on a few different levels. Don't let the high def PS2-like graphics fool you. This is a true survival horror meets a good mystery. With a tale inspired by Twin Peaks, the story will draw you in, and I shall say the outcome is unpredictable. Yes, a few unpredictable things lead to a great, unpredictable plot. That says a lot for me, because I can usually predict outcomes and so forth. I brought back the Xbox 360 version for this one. In the director's cut, there's not a whole lot of extra footage, but actually MUCH BETTER CONTROLS ... among other things and sidequests. If you get this game, get the PS3 version for sure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
deadly premonition
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
A game not for everyone. It is hard to compare this game to any other game to let someone have a little idea about this game. My best would be silent hill, siren blood curse, heavy rain. I really enjoyed the story, the characters, and the whole twisted and weird taste / style of the game, but the ending really got me frustrated and just could not even finish the game. Maybe to a lot of other players this wasn't an issue but I found the last boss battle really annoying and little too hard. I quit and decided to just watch the ending on youtube. The ending, or the last cutscene was way too long, too much going on, too many surprises and none of them good. This game wasn't worth 40 bucks in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
Improved in some ways but worse frame rate
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/13
3dumdogs
Location: Hampton, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
(This part of the review is for the Directors cut version of the game)I love Deadly Premonition it's the strangest game I've ever played. I ranked the original a 10/10. And the director's cut improved the controls, added some extra cutscenes and has slightly improved graphics. Why then did I give the director's cut a 4 star review? Well for one reason and one reason only-Frame rate. I think all the 5 stars reviews are from people who only played the 360 version and wanted to give it a good review and for the 360 it deserves the 5 out of 5. But the director's cut has an awful frame rate problem, playing the game is like watching a YouTube video with a low internet connection. The game lags all the time! I still think it's an amazing game and I love the new stuff but this is the director's cut it's supposed to run smoother! If you're a huge fan like me or don't have a Xbox I still say it's worth it but otherwise I'd say wait to see if they patch it. 8/10
(This part is for the game itself from my Xbox review of the game)
Deadly Premonition is a very strange game. It's a "so bad its good game" and a good game at the same time. To explain; the fighting mechanics, graphics, and driving sections are horribly bad but their so bad that their funny. I never laughed so hard at a game. The standard enemy walks at you backward in an almost crab walk and when you shoot them purple blood comes out. There are a lot of funnier stuff then that but I won't spoiler it. On to the good parts, this game has a amazing story line, likable characters, one of the most epic soundtrack in any game (look up "deadly premonition life is beautiful") and it is truly unpredictable. This is rare in a game. This game is a one of the only "cult classic" game this generation. If you only want to play for gameplay this game isn't for you but if you want a unique, funny, crazy experience. Buy deadly premonition. 10/10
If they release a patch for the directors cut I will rank it 11/10 :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
Pre-order
Posted on:4/11/13
3dumdogs
Location: Hampton, VA
Just pre-ordered my copy. The Xbox version of this game is so awesome. I'm dying to see the changes they made. Can't wait till 4/30/13!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/13
christine
Location: las vegas, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is great fun if you like to really enjoy environments, great mystery story and little hidden things. There's just the right about of shooting zombies where I didn't get bored, lots of mystery and weird stuff. I would have liked it to be a bit more spooky but it was meant to be realistic I guess. Had hours and hours of fun just messing around and checking things out. It actually was very addicting!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Deadly Premonition The Director's Cut
Can't Wait!!!!!!
Posted on:4/5/13
trunk
Location: Cincinnati,OH
I can't wait for this game I'm going to pre order as soon as I can I highly recommend getting this game plus the pre order bonus is really good.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.