GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Killzone: Mercenary

Killzone: Mercenary throws players into a deadly firefight as the ruthless Mercenary faction, taking on paid contracts not only from the dangerous ISA, but the vicious Helghast as well. There is no good. There is no evil. There is only the mission... and the money.
Average Customer Rating:
9.576
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 out of 3397%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Killzone: Mercenary
Review 1 for Killzone: Mercenary
READ THIS!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/13
rajon9rondo
Location: new york
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game is AMAZING! It's DEFINITELTY BETTER than Resistance and Black ops on the Vita. This actually has a story that you follow and you can't beat it in 45 min like black ops.( unless you really try hard to do so ). It's challenging which is a great thing because it has a lot of replay value. But I wish there was a GREAT offline mode so I can play on the go. What you can do on the go is the same campaign missions( if I'm not mistaken) again, but at a different difficulty so that you get more money. Now that's a good thing and a bad thing. Good is that money is YOUR money. It's not just for campaign. You can use the money you earn in sp in mp and vice versa. The multiplayer is AMAZING TOO. The only problem I had is that the game freezes in one map at the same part when I try to ride on the Zipline. But hey I'm probably just an unlucky buyer. But you SHOULD NOT stop that from getting this game. If you don't get this game...........I.......I just feel bad for you that you have a PS VITA and don't have this game. Nough said, well actually a lot said. Go buy this game
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Killzone: Mercenary
FANTASTIC!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
frozeninthesnow
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this game is one of the most amazing games yet for vita! when i downloaded the beta I gave it its own screen just for this game. I don't see any game that can compare on the vita! I have not got the game yet but VERY SOON! I respect the game and have VERY HIGH HOPES! play with me on the game sometime -frozeninthesnow
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
a must get game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Killzone: Mercenary
Looks great!!
Posted on:8/22/13
Gamedout
Location: Denver, CO
Coming from someone who has just gotten off the multiplayer beta. I can say, it look s amazing. The graphics are stunning, there's hardly any lag at all, and the game play mechanics are fantastic, and it is addicting. I was really disappointed when they said it was 4v4, but they make it work!. It doesn't take to many shots to kill, the spawns are random (so on occasion you will get killed the moment you spawn, but that is extremely rare) and the maps are big enough to snipe and feel as though you can explore, but small enough to keep the action constant. Oh, and did I mention the graphics? FREAKING AMAZING. I may have only had one map, but I could not stop playing. This game is addicting. Customization is great, no gun is to over powered, you improve on damage maybe, but you lose the rate of fire and vise versa. The only way I can think of to leave this off is, if you have a vita, you must get this game!!!
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Killzone: Mercenary
a perfect FPS for a handheld device!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/14
REAPERD117
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i first started playing this game i couldnt believe how good the graphics are in both the campaign and multiplayer. Yeah it can be difficult if your aiming with a sniper and the game zooms in when u touch the rear touch pad but its ok. personally i like how they added a bot training mode so you can practice before taking on actual gamers online and the online matches run smoother than any game i have played on the vita unlike another fps on the vita such as cod you dont need to waste a whole clip to get the kill the kill system is pretty accurate ontop of all this it plays just like a ps3 game graphics and all the story however is only 9 missions long but thats how most games are now a days. in conclusion if your looking for that FPS to play while killing some time this game is the one you should get especially since its only $20 +tax
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Killzone: Mercenary
True console quality FPS on a handheld
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
TylerDurden516
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played every killzone other than the original on PS2, and I am a big fan of the series. Honestly, i like this game better than Shadows Fall on PS4. KZM runs on Killzone 3's engine, and looks and feels just like KZ3 which is great cause I felt 3 was the best in the series. The graphics are ps3 quality, and other than the occasional low res texture hold up pretty darn close. I forgot i was playing a handheld once i adjusted to using the back pad to run, and all the touch features really make sense in the way theyre integrated. The voice acting is a little spotty, some cheesy lines here and there, but the mercenary angle of the story and xp system they have works really well for this game, better than you might expect. After seeing what this games offers on Vita, i dont even think its fair to call this a handheld game. Its a console quality game that left me slack jawed by its graphics and art design, and addicted thanks to its gameplay. Its a must buy for any shooter fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Killzone: Mercenary
Hopefully the best shooter to hit the Vita
Posted on:4/9/13
mrjamjams66
Location: The City of Townsville
I love games as much as the next guy, and I love shooting games probably more so. I got a Vita a few months ago, and picked up Resistance: Burning Skies, and while it was a fun game, I was left feeling dissatisfied. I eventually picked up Black Ops: Declassified, to find it was made by the same developer. Formula for disaster. While the Black Ops game has not left me dissatisfied, and provided me hours of play for my Vita, it is by no means a game worth $50 dollars. Based on all the hype and reviews, Killzone: Mercenary will be the best shooting experience for the Vita, and if it turns out to be so, we can all rest assured other developers will use the formula for proper gameplay for shooters. I am nervous, the main issue with Declassified was that it had no actual story, it was just a bunch of missions. I'm hoping that Killzone has a story, but with you playing as a mercenary, there may not be much one could do with a story.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Killzone: Mercenary
Killzone: Mercenary = BEST PORTABLE FPS EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
JIG2000
After playing the HORRIBLE COD: Black Ops Declassified and the so so Resistance: Burning Skies the Vita has not had that many good FPS. However, KZ Mercenary changes this dramatically. I myself a KZ fan recommend this to those who have already played KZ 1, KZ Liberation, KZ 2, and KZ 3 so that the story will get you in full swing. Story 10/10: The story imo is the best out of the franchise it really feels like you are in the "Killzone" (Pun intended). Gameplay 9/10: The gameplay is great the whole purpose around the gameplay is CA$H. For Example, if you pick up ammo you get money. However, the melee can get frustrating. Graphics 8/10 as always the vita has great graphics, but sometimes the textures look awful. Overall, this game is a MUST BUY if you're sitting there reading this you must buy this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Killzone: Mercenary
Quality Vita FPS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/13
xqxqx
Location: wilmington DE
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
One of the best Vita games out yet, there was obviously a ton of work put into this game. If you like KZ:M, also try Resistance if you haven't yet, it is also a good game. (badly reviewed, but good)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Killzone: Mercenary
In The Beta
Posted on:8/29/13
NJJ87
Location: Eau Claire, WI
I have been playing in the multiplayer beta and if you have loved the multiplayer experience in the original killzone games. This one is going to blow you away. It feels the same, it acts almost the same except the multiplayer seems to have had an overhaul. And is a ton of fun. When this comes out, I highly recommend you get it. This is the first FPS on Vita that is worth while, and I plan on spending many hours playing online. Lets build a community!
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
doobius
 
Please wait while more information about doobius is loaded.
Additional information about doobius could not be loaded.
Finally a great game!!!
Posted 9/13/13
It's about time!!! The beta and open beta were awsome!! Fun multiplayer with lots of maps and the maps are a decent size. Thanks Cambridge!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Killzone: Mercenary
I am really looking forward to this.
Posted on:2/7/13
ultigamer1
Location: The hypest zone
Lately I've been depriving myself with shooters. I want one for my Vita, but from the reviews of Resistance and COD, I've learned it's best to just wait. This game looks amazing, and there's been a lot of people that have played it hands on saying it is good. I AM SO HYPED FOR IT.
25 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
THEWenger
Knoxville
 
Please wait while more information about THEWenger is loaded.
Additional information about THEWenger could not be loaded.
Try it out!
Posted 8/24/13
The Beta is open for PS+ members now!
Customer Avatar
RussOMatic
Bristow, VA
 
Please wait while more information about RussOMatic is loaded.
Additional information about RussOMatic could not be loaded.
I agree with the previous post
Posted 2/14/13
I tried Black Ops for the Vita and it was beyond awful!!! Resistance for the Vita was at best okay. Both were by the same studio and both felt like they could have been WAAAAY better! Especially when old PSP games on the Vita look better, play better, and have way better stories. Which is why I've shelved my Vita until better games start coming out. I think the VIta is an awesome piece of hardware and from the early videos of KZ: Mercenary, could be THE handheld to have. The engine running KZM on the Vita is a slimmed down version of the same engine used for KZ3 on the PS3. It looks amazing...but I'm not letting my expectations get too high...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for Killzone: Mercenary
Online Game play Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/14
Austinrj94
Location: Califorina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Highly Recommend This Game for a shooter on Ps vita Great story an Online Play......................
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Killzone: Mercenary
The Best Looking Handheld game of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/14
Gingasian
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game looks amazing, plays amazing, and sounds amazing. You could probably tell this game has gorgeous graphics, but before I continue, let me just say this game looks amazing. Killzone Mercenary runs on Killzone 3's engine which means basically this handheld game looks exactly like a PS3 game that came out a couple years back. At times, this game looks slightly inferior to Killzone 3 at times but also looks better than Killzone 3 at other times. Killzone Mercenary's controls are perfect. I am shocked that an FPS on the Vita could have perfect controls. The MAIN campaign is a few hours long, yet there are side-missions and intel to collect to keep you coming back for hours. The plot seems meaningless and even laughable at first, but by the end of the game, the story really was something deep and meaningful. Also, this game runs fantastic on multiplayer. The multiplayer has had me playing for hours and I still play online. I will go as far to say that Killzone Mercenary is ONE of the most fun FPS games of all time, and one of the most breathtaking, on a handheld or on a console. This is a must-have, period.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Killzone: Mercenary
It's perfect...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/13
C03ffiici3nt
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There has not been a decent shooter on Vita since Unit 13. Call of Duty was absolute garbage, like most of the CoD titles. It sold because it was called CoD and diehard fans will buy it, but it looked and played horrible. Killzone Mercenary is the official standard of what the handheld FPS is now going to be held to. The game itself is outstanding. The campaign is great. The weapons upgrades, armor, and vanguard implementations are superb. During it's initial release the online multiplayer had issues connecting to the server. This has since been patched and you should really have zero issues connecting to a game when you're out and about and find a wifi hotspot. The replay value on this is above and beyond what you would expect on the vita. The controls are perfect, the graphics amazing, and the minigames (hacking) are quite innovative. If you like high quality FPS games and have a vita I really have no idea why you don't own this yet. Pick it up!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Killzone: Mercenary
Great Game on the vita
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This Game Is Great Finally a vita 1st person shooter worthy of its name I love it, hours of game play and fun controls their just a few things that i hated where it would just be glitchy and freeze the vita which you had to reset also the graphics are really good but sometimes the frame rate slows up and the detail in the character and object look blurry but over all this is a great game. Just what is next for the vita after this hopefully sony will announce something soon.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Killzone: Mercenary
Excellent handheld FPS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/14
danielscotth
Location: Weston, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Killzone: Mercenary is hands down the greatest First Person Shooter to ever be designed exclusively for the handheld market and it plays like a dream.
The gameplay (i.e., shooting mechanics, accuracy, controls both button and touch) is spot on. No joke. The first hour or so of playing the game may take a bit of getting used to, but once you get the hang of aiming on the Vita's tiny control sticks you'll forget your playing on a handheld - and this is a rare accomplishment. Additionally, the use of the touch controls actually feels right *and makes for some satisfying knife kills.
The graphics are solid and at times, unbelievable for being on a handheld system.
The storyline is excellent for a handheld device and for an FPS.
The levels you play are lengthy and offer up some variability in the way you traverse them - play stealthily, go in guns blazing, sit back and snipe for head shots, or play a mixture of these game styles. Furthermore, the missions you embark on are fairly straightforward, but do offer up some differences - at least enough that kept my interest.
Additionally, there is plenty to purchase in terms of guns, armor, and additional weaponry which adds more to the gameplay and replay value. The multiplayer is well executed as well.
Overall, this game is an absolute must have if you own a PS Vita. I would highly recommend giving it a try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Killzone: Mercenary
"An actual fps vita title worth buying"
Posted on:7/23/13
slyguy43
Location: severance,co
Within the life of the vita, there has been some ups, and a lot of downs!!! The biggest reason not many people own vitas is because of the poor selection of games in its library! I admit that titles like "The Jak and Daxter Collection" and "Soul Sacrifice" play great on the vita, but we still really haven't gotten the amazing first person shooter we all have wanted, but now that Killzone: Mercenary is coming this September 2013, we all have hope!! Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified was extremely poor, and didn't have the fun, and addicting Zombie mode we were expecting, and Resistance: Burning Skies was decent, but had a boring story, and multiplayer that's not worth mentioning! Killzone has been amazing since it was originally played on the PS2 console. From there, it branched off to the PS3 with both Killzone 2, and Killzone 3, that did just what people wanted! With the recent announcement of Killzone: Shadow Fall for the PS4, and Killzone: Mercenary for the PS VITA, people our looking forward to playing both titles equally, but for this preview I'm talking specially Killzone: Mercenary. To say that this will most likely be the title to sell the vita entirely is hopefully true. Another title (Uncharted: Golden Abyss) was announced at launch, and people were already saying "this will sell so much", but it really didn't! Based on the history of that series of games, you can see why people would say that, but it didn't sell as much as they thought it would. Now Killzone Mercenary will take the stage in September, and based on the trailer that has been posted, it looks amazing, and will deliver what we want in an fps on the vita, I have already pre ordered this game, and cant way to play it! My psn name is MEGA_SMACK46, and we should play this game when it comes out!!! Thanks for reading my preview, and have a great day!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Killzone: Mercenary
Best Portable Shooter Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
yommamama
When it comes to shooters on portable systems, the gaming industry has been sorely lacking since the opprotunities for them began. The psp offered us Battlefront, Socom, and the unbelievably amazing 3rd Birthday, and early Vita gave us Resistance and Call of Duty Declassified (which I think got an unfair rep and wasn't that bad), but no shooter on the go has really matched the fun of console counterparts. Not anymore. Killzone Mercenaries may be the best game on Vita, but it is deffinately the best portable shooter ever (3rd Birthday being my second). The graphics rival that of the ps3 version, and the gameplay, voice acting, and story all match it as well. If you like shooters, or heck, if you like video games, this is a must buy. It got me into the fps genere, and the Killzone franchise, and now I really don't want to leave. I suggest you join if you haven't already.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Killzone: Mercenary
Def a Must
Posted on:8/30/13
JayJAY1151
Location: Gaitherburd, md
Played the Multiplayer Beta and after finishing the 3rd match jumped in my car went and pre-ordered...enough said
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Killzone: Mercenary
EXCELLENT GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/14
CRC7
Location: Torrance
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing all around its multiplayer amazing, single player very good. Graphics best looking game, feels just amazing on the vita no other words to describe it but its amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Killzone: Mercenary
looks sweet
Posted on:4/1/13
hinesward
Location: woodbridge,va
im going to game stop tommrow to preorder this this game looks relly good if you have a vita u should defently get this if I didn't have a vita I might actually go and buy one just for this game
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>