GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Killzone: Mercenary

Killzone: Mercenary throws players into a deadly firefight as the ruthless Mercenary faction, taking on paid contracts not only from the dangerous ISA, but the vicious Helghast as well. There is no good. There is no evil. There is only the mission... and the money.
Average Customer Rating:
9.542
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2496%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Killzone: Mercenary
Review 1 for Killzone: Mercenary
Best Portable Shooter Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
yommamama
When it comes to shooters on portable systems, the gaming industry has been sorely lacking since the opprotunities for them began. The psp offered us Battlefront, Socom, and the unbelievably amazing 3rd Birthday, and early Vita gave us Resistance and Call of Duty Declassified (which I think got an unfair rep and wasn't that bad), but no shooter on the go has really matched the fun of console counterparts. Not anymore. Killzone Mercenaries may be the best game on Vita, but it is deffinately the best portable shooter ever (3rd Birthday being my second). The graphics rival that of the ps3 version, and the gameplay, voice acting, and story all match it as well. If you like shooters, or heck, if you like video games, this is a must buy. It got me into the fps genere, and the Killzone franchise, and now I really don't want to leave. I suggest you join if you haven't already.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Killzone: Mercenary
Killzone: Mercenary = BEST PORTABLE FPS EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
JIG2000
After playing the HORRIBLE COD: Black Ops Declassified and the so so Resistance: Burning Skies the Vita has not had that many good FPS. However, KZ Mercenary changes this dramatically. I myself a KZ fan recommend this to those who have already played KZ 1, KZ Liberation, KZ 2, and KZ 3 so that the story will get you in full swing. Story 10/10: The story imo is the best out of the franchise it really feels like you are in the "Killzone" (Pun intended). Gameplay 9/10: The gameplay is great the whole purpose around the gameplay is CA$H. For Example, if you pick up ammo you get money. However, the melee can get frustrating. Graphics 8/10 as always the vita has great graphics, but sometimes the textures look awful. Overall, this game is a MUST BUY if you're sitting there reading this you must buy this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Killzone: Mercenary
best vita shooter!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
maxy35
Location: orlando,fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
best graphics and game play of any game on the vita. console quality shooter!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Killzone: Mercenary
Advancement? I've seen better matchmaking in Doom
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
gamernotmasochist
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alas this is just another game that if you didn't pick up on the launch date then expect not to jump into multiplayer and get a great score. In fact to be truthful I just picked up the vita today and decided to try this game. Aside from the overpowered weapons in it I would say it could be enjoyable but with no true match system people starting out get paired with players that have unlocked every perk. I can say that this is my only real grief with the game however I can say so far im not too impressed with the system overall.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 5 for Killzone: Mercenary
amazing game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
duckhead
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game really pushes the psvita to its full potential. I would really recommend this game to almost anybody.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Killzone: Mercenary
One of best Vita games out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
NeoZeroPanda
Location: OC,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just finished campaign mode and it was amazing! So glad i bought this when it was on sale and man playing this online is the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Killzone: Mercenary
BEST PS VITA GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/14
0123456
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I KNOW WHY IT WON THE AWARD! CAUSE IT IS THE BEST PS VITA GAME... REALLY! BUY IT! PLUS, THE DOWNLOAD ONLY COST 17.99! WORTH IT!! ADDICTING!! MUST BUY!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Killzone: Mercenary
Love KZMercenary!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/14
mrbrightside1
Location: Lakewood, CO
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Killzone Mercenary is the kind of game- I want to play. ...And I'm not talking about just the genre of 1st person shooter. This game is, of course, on the portable Vita and yet packs all the immersion, action, and challenge of a great console game without the frustrations of a portable. Online is fun- yes it is portable-sized because its on a portable system- but other than the 8 player max- it packs a punch in WarZone. If you don't own a Vita- get one- and this get this game. (I'd love to see this game developer Guerrilla/Cambridge do Dead Space on the portable-(((dream sequence over)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Killzone: Mercenary
You have got to be kiddin'
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/13
mrwarcriminal
Location: E. KY
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To sum this game up in a word....WOW! Guerrilla got it right. Anyone familiar with the KZ series will know that theres gonna be a lot of incentive to replay and fully accomplish all upgrades and medals, etc. etc.. Replay value is high for the story. I personally played through 8 times. Why? Well each chapter has approx 4 levels and each level has objectives. These objectives are are based on which style you choose to play. Stealth, infiltrator, sabotage or normal. Earn medals for all the weapons, explosives, vanguard and multiplayer. The controls are sweet and completely effortless to use. Same in both story and MP. I don't want to give away too much but i can say your overall rank and money (used to buy upgrades and weapon custom-load-out slots is kept in one overall bank. When you play single player or MP all your earnings and rank contribute to one cause. You DONT have a single player rank and MP rank. If you're losing in MP; play single player to quickly earn cash to upgrade whatever you need then go back into MP and kick butt. The load-out you use in MP is used in single-player and vice versa. You earn medals, Vecktan dollars and valor decks (decks of 52 playing cards) . Valor cards are earned in single player for accomplishing events or finding pick-ups and you earn cards in MP when you kill the enemy. His card is left and pick it up. Like Kill and Confirm in Call of Duty. Anyhow its a great game. Better than many console FPShooters.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Killzone: Mercenary
Best Shooter On Vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/13
DRed8
Location: CAli
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Having been playing small name games on the vita and being short on ps3 title games killzone is the best shooting game there is i know we play them on ps3 and would enjoy other type of game play but doing so on the vita makes me enjoy the first person shooter even more portable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Killzone: Mercenary
Best FPS on the Vita!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
CoolerOnline
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i got my PS Vita I got Black ops: Declassified. Don't get me wrong, its a good game and all but was just missing something. Recently I got Killzone: Mercenary after getting Killzone 3, also a great game. The controls fell a little awkward but that is often expected on vita. The gameplay is great and the class system is phenomenal. A must buy for the PlayStation Vita
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Killzone: Mercenary
Good things to come!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/13
Greenwood
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After previous games on the Vita I wondered if I would ever see a game that was worth the $40 Price tag. The Vita is a simply amazing machine that has been plagued with lackluster games. Killzone Mercs is a truly amazing game. It is 100% Console Quality. This game blew me away. The multiplayer is amazing, and I have had many fun hours already on it. I can't wait for the community to get bigger and bigger. This is by far the best game on Vita. The only one worth the $40. Maybe this is a sign of good things to come for the Vita. Maybe we will start seeing Console like games coming to the Vita. Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Killzone: Mercenary
fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/13
Riker
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i never held interest in the vita before until now. recently bought this for a friend and its actually pretty fun. I'm going to wait to see how the remote play turns out for ps4 and if its good i might pick up a vita and this game to go along with killzone shadow fall.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Killzone: Mercenary
PS Vita Shooter Finally Worth Buying
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
perishalive92
Location: New Palestine, IN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After the horrible and complete fail of Call of Duty: Black Ops Declassified on Vita, I was leery on ever getting a new Vita shooter title. I'm a fan of the Killzone games from PS3 and have played a Killzone game on the PSP (which wasn't that great), and knowing the Vita's impressive quad-core cpu and very impressive gpu along side of front multi-touch and rear touch pad, I was expecting something greater than Uncharted: Golden Abyss (which looks and plays amazingly) given my favorite genre isn't so much adventure as it is shooter. So I bought Killzone : Mercenary and was HIGHLY impressed. Devs put a lot into such a tiny game card, a massive 3.3GB of visually immersive solo campaign and even better multi-player. The game looks like Killzone 3 on PS3, just with the shading turned down and character models not as detailed, which is expected and doesn't really take away any "awh" at all. Lighting is GREAT. Game plays flawlessly without any lag on the Vita in both campaign and multiplayer (I play multiplayer on high-speed WiFi, so I cannot speak for AT&T 3G users).Money earned in campaign is transferred for use in multiplayer and vice versa. Unlike Call of Duty, Killzone does not offer superior advantages. You literally earn what you have and once you use it (buy it via money earned from kills) you must buy it again if you wish to use it again. So save up money for it is tough to earn a lot, which is good since we don't want any over-the-top killjoys. Sometimes however, as soon as you spawn whilst on multiplayer, you are killed by an opponent. This is especially true when playing the "Mercenary" multi-player game mode(all men for themselves), but still doesn't happen frequently enough to state a major complain as the update has nearly fixed this bug. Overall a fantastic game more than worthy of $40.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Killzone: Mercenary
It's perfect...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/13
C03ffiici3nt
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There has not been a decent shooter on Vita since Unit 13. Call of Duty was absolute garbage, like most of the CoD titles. It sold because it was called CoD and diehard fans will buy it, but it looked and played horrible. Killzone Mercenary is the official standard of what the handheld FPS is now going to be held to. The game itself is outstanding. The campaign is great. The weapons upgrades, armor, and vanguard implementations are superb. During it's initial release the online multiplayer had issues connecting to the server. This has since been patched and you should really have zero issues connecting to a game when you're out and about and find a wifi hotspot. The replay value on this is above and beyond what you would expect on the vita. The controls are perfect, the graphics amazing, and the minigames (hacking) are quite innovative. If you like high quality FPS games and have a vita I really have no idea why you don't own this yet. Pick it up!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Killzone: Mercenary
Dangg
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/13
AsianForcePalm
Location: Brea, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is like the best first person shooter i've ever played on a handheld. The campaign is decently long and fun and the multiplayer isnt laggy nor has noobtubers. Great game definitely worth more than the Black ops XD
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Killzone: Mercenary
Quality Vita FPS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/13
xqxqx
Location: wilmington DE
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
One of the best Vita games out yet, there was obviously a ton of work put into this game. If you like KZ:M, also try Resistance if you haven't yet, it is also a good game. (badly reviewed, but good)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Killzone: Mercenary
BEST VITA GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/13
littlemexican
Location: chicago il
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
THE BEST GAME ON THE VITA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I LOVE MY VITA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Killzone: Mercenary
BEST GAME FOR PS VITA
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/13
GEOVANNY
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
KILLZONE FOR PS VITA IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER, GRAPHICS AND ACTION GAME IS AMAZING IT LOOKS LIKE PS4 KILLZONE THAT COMING OUT THIS FALL WITH PS4. I LOVE THIS GAME AND I RECOMMENDED TO ANY BODY WHO LIKES KILLZONE GAMES.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Killzone: Mercenary
READ THIS!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/13
rajon9rondo
Location: new york
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game is AMAZING! It's DEFINITELTY BETTER than Resistance and Black ops on the Vita. This actually has a story that you follow and you can't beat it in 45 min like black ops.( unless you really try hard to do so ). It's challenging which is a great thing because it has a lot of replay value. But I wish there was a GREAT offline mode so I can play on the go. What you can do on the go is the same campaign missions( if I'm not mistaken) again, but at a different difficulty so that you get more money. Now that's a good thing and a bad thing. Good is that money is YOUR money. It's not just for campaign. You can use the money you earn in sp in mp and vice versa. The multiplayer is AMAZING TOO. The only problem I had is that the game freezes in one map at the same part when I try to ride on the Zipline. But hey I'm probably just an unlucky buyer. But you SHOULD NOT stop that from getting this game. If you don't get this game...........I.......I just feel bad for you that you have a PS VITA and don't have this game. Nough said, well actually a lot said. Go buy this game
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>