GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rune Factory 4

Rune Factory 4 marks the return of the popular Harvest Moon' spinoff that combines farming with dungeon adventuring. For the first time in the series, the player can select to play as a male or female hero, and potential suitors of either gender are also available in order to pursue love, marriage, and possibly a child. As the newly-appointed prince or princess, you can fulfill your royal duties of protecting the town from invaders, or take a more rural approach to governing by raising your own fruits and vegetables and helping townsfolk. Should some dungeon adventuring be on the day's itinerary, you can select from the castle's vast armament of swords, spears, and staffs along with magic for battle against dangerous foes, or even bring along a companion or friendly monster to aid you during your travels.
Average Customer Rating:
9.778
9.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rune Factory 4
Review 1 for Rune Factory 4
BEST GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/14
KingMike
Location: Washington, DC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game and couldn't put it down for the first few weeks. Anyone who likes casual games but enjoys the RPG feel, this is for you. It has a nice Sims feel to it as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Rune Factory 4
the best Rune Factory game yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/14
hmfan90
Location: Dayton, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is everything you could ever want packed into one game. Along with the classic rune factory aspects comes a fresh and exciting take on the series. The storyline is very intriguing and surprisingly longer than I initially expected. My favorite aspect however is the characters. I love the sub events involving characters and how they really make them seem real and flesh out relationships between characters. Once I got into this game I could not put it down. Very impressed!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rune Factory 4
Amazing graphics, amazing storyline, amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/14
Shayda
Rune Factory 4 is probably one of the best games of the Rune Factory series, and also one of the best that I've played for the 3DS. If you love RPG-like games, or have played one of the previous Rune Factory games, I would definitely recommend playing this game. WARNING: You may never want to stop playing after you start. ;)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PrinceDrago
 
Please wait while more information about PrinceDrago is loaded.
Additional information about PrinceDrago could not be loaded.
Game Looks cool Might Get
Posted 7/23/14
Iv'e been looking through games i Want this looks cool and i always skipped it in e'shop because i thought it wasn't good now that iv'e seen pictures and videos i want it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Rune Factory 4
rune factory 4 is coming!!!
Posted on:5/10/13
Kazuto
Location: New York
Finally!! it was hard waiting for rune factory 4 to be release in America my bought the nintendo 3ds just for that game as well and i'lll be able to play it. what i want to check first is the new story and the new events for each of the bachelorettes.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rune Factory 4
CAN'T WAIT!
Posted on:2/7/13
Bonbons
I am soooo excited for this game to come! i've been waiting for a loooong time for the us release and now its here! Thank you Xseed!!! This game is one of the reasons I bought my 3ds XD
22 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Bonbons
 
Please wait while more information about Bonbons is loaded.
Additional information about Bonbons could not be loaded.
OMG!
Posted 2/20/13
I totally agree with you on that one!!! I wish they give us something with it!! an artbook would be soooo awesome!!! and music cd!! pre ordered it yesterday and I can't wait to get it!!!! playing my rune factory games while i wait kekeke! :3
Customer Avatar
RFGamer
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about RFGamer is loaded.
Additional information about RFGamer could not be loaded.
FINALLY IT'S COME!
Posted 2/11/13
I am soo pre-ordering it ASAP! I hope it comes with a special or something. Like a stuffed dragon. *fufufu* Or an artbook? Anything! We fans deserve a little bit of love!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Rune Factory 4
lengthy, awesome plot, lame girl characters
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
underbears
Location: Seattle, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I spent hours playing this game, much more than the other Rune Factory games. A few times I found myself wondering if it was actually going to end. There are 3 different acts so it takes a bit to accomplish them all, but pretty awesome.
The only thing I was disappointed with throughout the entire game was the bachelorettes. Pretty much every one of them is the same ditzy, cute girl and that was pretty lame. Much unlike Rune Factory 3, which was filled with lots of different personalities. The character designs are fine and dandy, and as for the boys I'd say there's some various personality. I'd say the characters are definitely lacking in variety. I ended up marrying Forte, the strong sweet-loving knight, but I found afterwards she had only become a blushy, dependent housewife. The game needs stronger females, and not the same mary sue character over and over.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rune Factory 4
Amazing game for a ds!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
okaythen
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is seriously the biggest game I've ever played on a 3ds. It's very diverse and the plot is great. The characters has a lot of nice attitudes that differs from one another and they always have some quirky dialog. Not only the main characters but the travelers as well. The fighting mechanics of this game is great, I like the fact that you can control your character how you want her/him to move. Being able to choose who you marry is great too, though waiting for an event to trigger can be a bit frustrating especially when you want to play the next arc. This game is long for a DS game, something I hadn't experienced before. Since it has random events triggered, the game itself won't bore you. They have very interesting descriptions for characters, items, and monsters. It's seriously a great game and it was worth the money. I am now hooked and it's been weeks since I've gotten the game but I am not tired of it yet, and that is surprising.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Rune Factory 4
Cannot wait for this
Posted on:3/13/13
Glitch12
Honestly, this is one of the main reasons I got a 3DS. Rune Factory has always been a fun series and actually got me back into Harvest Moon. Can't wait to see what they do with the whole kingdom management aspect
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MichNative
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about MichNative is loaded.
Additional information about MichNative could not be loaded.
If this game...
Posted 4/3/13
is half as good as rune factory 3 I will be so happy, three was my favorite, and tides of destiny was right there too......two didn't do a lot for me.....I thought parts of it was really klunky.......visually I didn't think it was as good as the others.
So lets all count down the days until it is released ...then spend a week or so doing nothing but playing Rune Factory 4!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Rune Factory 4
Finally!
Posted on:3/23/13
Kurin
Location: Peoria, IL
I'm so excited for this! This is also the reason why I got my 3DS! I can already tell this game will be just as good as the others with a lot of improvements (art.. the guys.. the main characters :))
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Rune Factory 4
Rune Factory 5 Confirmed
Posted on:9/16/13
vortexshinobi
Location: florida,FL
This game did so great that they are already working on rune factory 5!
GO Marvelous entertainment!!
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rune Factory 4
Hmmm...
Posted on:4/30/13
KaidenBlackheart
Location: Redding, CA
It looks decent... the graphics don't appear to improve greatly from the last two not that graphics are the only thing I'm looking for on a New Gen DS. But it doesn't look like the game has taken any steps forward from the last game, and doesn't look like it can really make the most of the 3DS. The Pictures they gave are kind of vague, and random so I cant base my opinion completely on them alone but the farming almost looks like a step backwards to me... they really didn't try to innovate, or be creative with it at all considering that it will be on a powerful 3D handheld, the flat 2D farming plot just seems lazy, and uninspired. The Game does seem to have some stereoscopic vistas and view points, but games were able to accomplish those on the DS even without 3D 6 years ago (Pokemon Platinum being a prime example With places like the Distortion World) I'm going to try not to look too much into it, but at the same time I'm not holding my breath for this one. Everything about it just seems so underwhelming seeing as its going to be on the 3DS but here's hopping that it does not disappoint.
4 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kunkun
 
Please wait while more information about Kunkun is loaded.
Additional information about Kunkun could not be loaded.
....Graphics
Posted 10/2/13
I was a bit disappointed at the way that the graphics looked too until I finally got the game into my hands. They could have done more with the 3D, but all the same, the Images don't really compare very well to the way the game actually looks when you flip that 3D function onto your 3DS.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Rune Factory 4
Utterly addicting!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/14
Victini5589
Location: Tacoma,WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I can't stop playing! Everything was well done, right down to the tiniest details.One of the best games I've ever played!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Rune Factory 4
Finally!!!
Posted on:2/8/13
tkdninja
Location: Mesa, AZ
I've been wanting this game to come to America for so long and NOW IT HAS!!! No longer do you have to play as the male character. Can't wait for Rune Factory 4 :D
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Rune Factory 4
REALLY????
Posted on:8/6/13
EvE90
Location: Garden Grove, CA
I cannot believe the date got pushed back AGAIN this is getting ridiculous! It's pushed back by almost 2 months now! Are we ever going to get this game??? What on earth are they doing over there???? I've been waiting a few YEARS for the next RF game and this is what happens..?? Its like manga books all over again!
12 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Margie
MI
 
Please wait while more information about Margie is loaded.
Additional information about Margie could not be loaded.
The reason.
Posted 8/8/13
The date is being pushed back because that is a placeholder date. There has been no official release date yet. All we know is summer 2013 , although, honestly it will probably be fall before we get it. They just want to make sure everything is as good as it can be before bringing it over.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Rune Factory 4
SOOOO EXCITED!
Posted on:4/21/13
BritTiny
Location: Raleigh, NC
I cannot wait for this game to come out! I have played Rune Factory for the Wii and the DS and loved them all! The screenshots look fantastic and if you have never played, you are completely missing out!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RF4Fan
white plains ny
 
Please wait while more information about RF4Fan is loaded.
Additional information about RF4Fan could not be loaded.
Upset
Posted 10/3/13
It feels like I have been waiting for years for Rune factory 4 to come out and when its about to {the first time} they push the date back... I didn't mind the first time but they went overboard the second time >:O
in conclusion on the day it come out over 89% of the Gamestops and places where you can buy it don't have it.... the date says Oct-1-13 is the release date, so humor me a little and stop with the shipment delays and get the game in, i'll even help if u needed me to for the sake of the people living in white plains... No! The United States.... "Congrats of the few whose game has arrived on time"
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Rune Factory 4
Best RPG You Will Ever Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
BestRPGEverCreated
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rune Factory is the best RPG you will ever play, it has tons of things to do that you will never be bored when you turn on your 3DS and play. This game has SOOO much dialogue that it feels like it will never run out. Game mechanics have been majorly improved from the last Rune Factory, you can arrange furniture where ever you like, for example, you can place your calender and or crafting table anywhere in the game. This game is worth the $40, it will be your favorite game.. if not one of your top favorite games. You will find yourself playing this game for hours on end, not putting your 3DS down because of that one last thing you want to accomplish. This game is recommended for both veteran and beginner players, you can choose the difficulty in the game which is great. Trust me, if you have a 3DS, BUY THIS GAME. You will NOT regret it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Rune Factory 4
September?
Posted on:7/24/13
BlackFrost
Location: Texas
The date got pushed back to September 10? I was kind of hoping to play it before school started, but I'm also glad that it got pushed back so I can finish some of my other games I pre-ordered. *o* I still can't wait to play!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Rune Factory 4
Can't Wait
Posted on:2/14/13
DBBNG
Location: Plymouth
Big fan of this series and I been doing follow-ups on it keeping track and I'm wicked happy that it finally has a release date. This game is what's making me get a 3DS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XxGremlinxX
 
Please wait while more information about XxGremlinxX is loaded.
Additional information about XxGremlinxX could not be loaded.
About Time!
Posted 2/25/13
I have been a solid gamer since I can remember and spent a small fortune on Gamestops website. However, in the many years of reading reviews I have never once posted. Im so stoked about this game for the first time I will say I CANT WAIT! Im a huge fan of Rune Factory and have followed 4 for a wile but was getting skeptical it would even release in the Americas. The release isn't coming fast enough, it looks awesome.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Rune Factory 4
2nd best entry in the Rune Factory series
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
AlbinoGerbil
Location: Olympia, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been looking forward to this game since it was first announced for Japan well over a year ago. As a hardcore fan of the series I was more than excited to hear when they announced it for the U.S.. I've played the previous games, the 3rd one twice. As the series was getting better with each iteration and the 3rd one being one of my top 5 DS games, you can imagine my expectations were pretty high. In most regards I was not disappointed but I do have a couple of issues with the game, one of which is making it hard for me to continue. I will speak on that one first. I have well over 20 hours into this game and I've yet to develop any connection with any of the characters. The story feels hollow and forced and there hasn't been any type of bonding or growing events yet. In the 3rd game I not only felt a connection to many of the players at 20 hours in I also felt a real connection to the village and to my home (the Sharance Tree). Much of the game feels mechanical and empty and the missions feel more like fetch quests. It almost feels life in passing a Harvest Moon game with a small dungeon aspect. It's not a bad game but I've put it down for Pokemon and Valhalla Knights 3 and I'm not sure when I'll pick it back up.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Rune Factory 4
Rune Factory 4~
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/13
NinjaNikkia
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm a bit biased as I've been a fan of this series since it came out and have played all the games. I must say however compared to Rune Factory 3 I definitely think they have outdone themselves in this game. The graphics have improved but are not great, for instance when you zoom in on your character he/ she does appear pixelated but that does not show unless your looking in your bag and equiping/ dequiping armor etc. The art in the game is as always beautiful as well. Now as far as gameplay goes I love it, granted I haven't gotten very far into the game yet. In the game itself is a way to adjust the difficulty setting so that those who have no luck battling monsters can easily overcome them and those who find they're picking off the monsters to easily can have more of a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>