GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Killer is Dead

Killer Is Dead is the latest title from the demented mind of celebrated game creator, SUDA51, serving as a spiritual successor to his previous cult favorites, No More Heroes and Killer 7. Stylish cell-shaded visuals set the mood in this gritty, bloody, ultra-violent world where biomechanical augmentations increase the power of criminals and "executioners" alike. Mondo Zappa, a newly recruited executioner, hunts criminals wielding a Japanese sword in his right hand, and the crushing power of biomechanical engineering in his left.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (11 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Killer is Dead
Review 1 for Killer is Dead
A big surprise
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was a huge surprise for me. I loved the gameplay, which mixes hack-and-slash and some third-person shooter elements. This adds some variety to the combat and helps keep it interesting. The art style is very interesting as well.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Killer is Dead
Looks Sick!
Posted on:5/28/13
ThatGingerKid
Location: Raleigh, NC
After previewing all of the screenshots and watching the trailers an endless amount of times, I simply cannot wait for this game to be released. The art style looks wicked awesome with fantastic swordplay mixed in. The protagonist, Mondo Zappa, is shrouded in mystery, making him look even more BA. And with gorgeous women as well, what's not to love?!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Killer is Dead
Suda's next Cult hit
Posted on:4/4/13
ShinobiDark72
Location: Long Island, New York
With all of the fun I had with No More Heroes, I think Killer is Dead looks great. Sure to be Suda's next cult title that action game fans will love. The graphical style is a slick evolution of No More Heroes' and the gameplay looks really polished.
Combined with Suda's signature bizarre and creative setting and story, this is sure to be a game fans of action games will love.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Killer is Dead
"The Job- KILLER IS DEAD"
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
rengokum
Location: north carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
after playing last years lollipop chainsaw i was a little dissapointed with suda 51, though lollipop chainsaw wasent exactly a disaster, it wasent exactly my cup of tea. but after years of waiting for a "no more heroes" type game. my patience has been worth it...kind of. Heres my review.
STORY: the story in killer is dead isn't exactly layed out to you like previous suda 51 games. instead it tells the story of a upcoming assassin by the name of Mondo Zappa. a ladies man by day and vicious blood seeking assassin by night. after recently losing his arm modo has developed a bad case of amnesia Mondo joins a group of assassins that exterminate paranormal activity around the world and sets down a journey of blood and love to find out what happened. accompanied through his journey is mika, brian and Vivianne. Mika is a Japanese school girl who is practically Mondo's pet, Vivianne is a female assassin who helps mondo when he is in tough situations, and Brian is the leader of this band of misfits.
GAMEPLAY: KILLER IS DEAD is a button masher through and through, do not expect any confusing hard to pull off combo's with this title, because you wont find it. instead you will find a fast paced button masher fighter which is both fun and fluent. Mondo is equipped with his trusty Japanese sword and his cybernetic arm "muscleback" which is used for long range battles. The levels are quite linear in comparison to previous suda 51 titles like "no more heroes and shadows of the damned" but it gets the job done. also the game has a big variety of side missions that help earn you money and adds a great amount of replay value.also hidden in each level there are Scarlett locations. she will give you added side missions to play after the level is finished. (But these missions are not for the faint of heart . they are brutal and not forgiving. controller throwers stay away!!!)
WIRES: the enemies you will face are cybernetic wire beings from the dark side of the moon. they come in many shapes and sizes and are very fun to kill. when you gather up enough blood you can pull of a instant finisher that can split the beings in two. but i found this kind of made the fights too simple because you could pull these finishers off quite often but when your in a jam it helps. also bosses after each level are very freaky looking and brilliantly twisted to look at. but that's expected coming from a suda 51 game. you think that's bad play shadows of the damned.
GIGOLO MODE: in this mode it is your job as the smooth talking Mondo to figure out what these women want. through these diversions you are tasked to figure out what gifts they want. but to do this you have to stare at their naughty parts. but be careful! if you stare too long you might just get a smack to the face or worse. but if your having trouble with these missions you can acquire a pair of cat eyes glasses from Scarlett if you beat 10 of her challenges. with these glasses you can see what the girl wants and they allow to see through the clothing. just make sure before these missions you head to the gift shop to buy the right gifts. and if successful yo may be awarded with a new attachment for your muscleback. but gigolo mode gets old pretty quick and seeing animated girls in there bra and undies is no more fun than seeing a 8 bit naked chick.
GRAPHICS: when it comes to the graphics they brought me back to the days of KILLER 7. its a very dar cell shaded game similar to the 2005 fil " A Scanner Darkly" and it fits the dark tone of the story along with the combat. with fluid colors ranging from neon pink to yellow and green all fused within one enemy, your in for one beautiful looking game. and since this game is a very fast paced hack and slash. these vibrant colors are everywhere. when Mondo's combo streak is past 30 his sword will begin to glow a bright neon blue and it all just looks perfect. sadly the level design is very... meh. and the levels are pretty straight forward.
SOUND: well coming from a suda 51 game you know there's gonna be some weird stuff coming out of the characters mouths. and this title dosent let up, the voice acting is solid for the English DUB, but its the Japanese DUB you want to hear the game in. it definitely feels more at home with the original voice cast.. plus Mika's voice actor is THE DEFINITION OF ANNOYING. one of things if noticed about KILLER IS DEAD is there is hardly any comedy. and that is one of suda 51's strong points in his games are his sick twisted humor. which sadly wasent very present.
THE VERDICT: after waiting almost 6 years for another hack and slash suda 51 game i am for the most part happy. it fullfilled my wishes for a cell shaded fast paced button masher similar to that of no more heroes. but with the boring levels the repetitiveness of gigolo mode and the grueling challenges it only really stands as a shadow of suda 51s greater hits. I payed 60 bucks for killer is dead Limited edition. it came with the game a slip on cover a hard cover art book and a soundtrack all wrapped up in a huge case that takes up three game spaces in my game cabinet. am i satisfied? yeah for the most part. but for you hardcore Devil may cry combo master chef's out there i would recommend this as a rent.
KILLER IS DEAD 7/10 " A truly unique experience with some issues"
+ Likeable characters
+ fun and fast paced gameplay
+ the graphics and art style are like that of a paining
+side missions give the game replay value
- Gigolo mode gets repetitive
-level design is bland
- little to no humor
- Scarlett missions are controller throwing tough
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Killer is Dead
Can't Wait !
Posted on:2/18/13
gearsofwargamer101
Location: USA
This game looks very good. I hope they come out with a video/screenshot real soon. pre ordering tommorow!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Call of Duty: Black Ops II Revolution Map Pack - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1200 Points
9.6 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Killer is Dead
SUDA51 rules, he's in a league of his own!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
SUDA51, you can say alot about his games, I say different, it's a bad way to go, cause different is exactly what you get in his games. Their not like every other game out there and that refreshing. If you like different, dark, hack-n-slash-ish, with barely dressed ladies in it. Whats not to like. Then this is just what SUDA51 made for ya.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Killer is Dead
Crazy story lines, awesome graphics, Dope
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/13
klucarilla
Location: center valley, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I thought never watching anime may jade me to this game however I was entertained and interested throughout. Very trippy environments combined with cool music. Never played a game that looked like this. Kind of reminded me of Onimusha back in the day. Maybe Onimusha on LSD. Very glad i purchased.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Killer is Dead
Great but not my style
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
TiG3eBa7mm
Location: wv
Overall great game just wasnt my style. the graphics remind me of a borderland feel. This was my first sudo51 game and the guy has a crazy mind and if you into a big hack and slash with combo game its a game you should try out. the story line is weird to me but good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Killer is Dead
To good for any hack and slash fan to pass up.
Posted on:7/6/13
ultimatesacrificer
Location: jamestown,NY
For those unfamiliar with Suda 51's work you should know that the majority of his games are hack and slashes with a certain kind of cool art to the graphics. This one is an anime styled action h&s with a cool type of cell-shaded graphics. However if you like his past games, or love h&s games and action games, you should preorder this and get the bonus materials. Very good preorder bonuses on this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for Killer is Dead
MORE CONFUSION!
Posted on:3/24/13
Coolyo
Location: Boston, MA
Just like me preview with Defiance, I AM CONFUSED! This is even more confusing, and I'll tell you why. I don't even know the developer, and it says it was made by the creators of Lollipop Chainsaw, which was also weird and confusing. No trailer is released, and the art gives me no hints for anything, not even graphics! I don't get it, I'll release another preview when more details come out, but for now, IT LOOKS LIKE THE BEST GAME I'LL EVER PLAY!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Killer is Dead
best game of this year so far for a hack and slash
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/13
intrudingcat
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you love anime this is your game if you love ac youll enjoy or love this in my opinion this is a must buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10