GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ys: Memories of Celceta

In Ys: Memories of Celceta, developer Falcom revisits the land and characters of Japanese cult favorite Ys IV for its first ever North American debut. This re-envisioning of the fourth installment in the Ys series takes a brand new approach, changing and framing the story of Ys IV within an all-new tale of conspiracy, deception and mystery. Featuring an updated version of the party-based battle system from Ys Seven, as well as the largest and most varied overworld in series history, Ys: Memories of Celceta brings a greater sense of adventure to the Ys universe than has ever been seen before.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Review 1 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Great intro to Ys series
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
AngrieDemon
Location: Vancouver, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was introduced to the Ys series back in the days of the TurboGrafx with Ys Book I & II. As a fan of the series I am very happy to be able to enjoy this on a current handheld. The graphics are pretty decent and gameplay is classic action/rpg, which (if you're familiar with the genre) is easy to get into and understand.
If you've never played an Ys game and want to get into the series I can't recommend this enough.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Excited? Heck yeah!
Posted on:2/14/13
DuelingPokemon
Location: Pensacola, FL
I can say one thing about this the moment the release date popped up; I went nuts with excitement.
Ys is an awesome game series and I look forward to see what it's going to be like on the Vita. The teaser description had me interested for sure: Adol has amnesia? I wonder what happened? Who's he gunna meet this time? So many questions!
T.T Why does it have to come out in September.....? -cries-
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
A bit of a waste...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
SokrasShibuya
Location: Rogue Galaxy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Gameplay was solid, graphics left much to be desired, music wasn't very impressive, and the characters aren't worth remembering. This game plays like the prequel it is and is not deserving of the price listed. I'm not shaming this game, it's just no good to anyone who has been playing RPGs for a good, long while. It boasts having you uncover over 800 years of history, but with the flair of a high school education. In other words: everything is basically skimming. You get no chance to do any real character development, the cut scenes are as chaste as possible while still giving the gist of the situation and what you're supposed to do. My first play through had a total time of about 25 hours, sidequests and mapping included. I got this game to see if the YS series would be worth getting into: this game was a poor choice in doing so and now I have no desire to play the others.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Yea, a new Ys
Posted on:6/4/13
bloodLoki
Location: Portland, OR
One of the best (and underappreciated) games out there. Was so excited when I learned there would be an English copy, it just sucks that we have to wait so long :( . But maybe this will incite them to release more Ys stuff like an English version of Ys 5, continue the anime (or remake it), or even have Adol (or other characters) in other games like playstation allstars.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
didn't expect to like this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
CloudEnvy
Location: new york
I actually never do reviews and I NEVER played any of these games before but I did some research, read some reviews and took a gamble and I must say, I am NOT disappointed. it's a great game. the beauty is, the game stands on it's own so I don't have to worry about it being a sequel and wondering who the characters are. I'm definitely getting the other Ys games in the PS store when I'm done with this one. I'm hoping they keep porting this game. I recommend this to people whether they like rpg's or not
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Looks Pretty Fun!
Posted on:9/28/13
DynamiteDanTNT
Location: Redlands, CA
I've never played a Ys game, but I've gotta say this one looks pretty fun. I definitely need something fresh and new on my Vita for the holiday season and this and Tearaway look like the perfect contenders :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Game is awesome. Fan of the series since t.g.16
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/14
Ta1no
Location: Bk ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Really good game. Hours of good play. Good RPG. Cool storyline. Been a fan of the series since Turbo Grafx 16.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Top 5 for me for Vita
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
xlDeathz
Location: Anaheim, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just finished my first run through an it was a very good game IMO. Story wise it was a bit weak lol wont lie but it makes up for it with its gameplay. Its kinda hack n slash and seems like its repetitive in videos i watched beforehand BUT i bought it anyways and i was not disappointed! For me it kept up the hype while playing an did NOT get boring. Key points for me is you can play as ANY character, an set up your party with whomever. You can backtrack, power up weapons/armor through synthesis by using materials you find, and the bosses an enemies were awesome to fight against! Guys if your thinking bout an RPG for the Vita this is a MUST! If your still not sure buy it pre-owned an try it out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Way better than I expected!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
Glare
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First of all, the moment I saw this game was being released, I immediately knew I was getting it. I've played 2 of the Y's games for PSP before, and they were pretty good. Y's: Memories of Celceta blew through the charts. I have been playing this game for hours a day since It's release. So far I'm 28 hours in and I love every bit of it. We definitely need more games like this for the Vita. Way to go, XSEED (: Keep doing what you're doing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Amazing…YES!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
UrRomeo310
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was waiting on this game since it was announced and it was worth the wait! The exploration on this game is vast! soooo much to explore and many skills to learn! each character has their own weapon style and skill attacks that you can level up. If you love Action RPG you are going to LOVE YS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Well rounded, but leaving desire
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
koiwave
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game. I have never played this series or any like it with a party and real time open battle. I didn't have anything to play on my vita though and this was the most interesting game available for it at my local gamestop.
I love the equipment system. I highly recommend making every weapon you equip have with poison, paralysis, freeze or a combo of them, for all characters, mixing it up. I found Karna to be the most advantageous character to control at all time. Though her attacks lack power, they have speed and when you apply freeze to her knives, the distance you have between you and enemies and freezing them, makes her pretty bad to the bone. I played with her at all times she was available.
I hated Valhalla nights for PSP with how you were stuck in a circular area to move around in. So I stayed away. This game is fully open to move around, allowing you to use terrain to your advantage when available.
I covered 100% of the maps and spent 44 hours total beating the game. You have the opportunity to restart it with stats at the end of the game which I will be doing after about a week. The story is pretty intriguing and brings theological though. Monsters can be pretty repetitive much like Final Fantasy and similar games. But this one seems to take it slightly too far.
A better variety of monsters would have made this much more enjoyable. Take it from me though, any fights that are taken in the water, are not worth the time. These fights are slow and difficult. The enemy is twice as fast and agile as you are. I just passed up all these fights that I could.
Something that does help the game a bit is that the enemies will respawn after a set amount of time. The fight action could have a better variety of moves, but theres almost never a satisfying amount for me. The biggest thing this game lacked, was graphics. This killed a lot of the experience for me. The playable characters had PSOne like graphics. Youre not that close to them when playing the game, but you can still tell.
Enemy graphics were good, the best graphics went into the big bosses. The scenery graphics were okay. Over all this is something I would expect when the PSP first came out graphics wise. I enjoyed playing it none the less and will likely play it one more time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Its good but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
LeDFlor
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its graphics are not the best and it has a little bit of problems, but out of that the game is great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Fantastic Action RPG, with tons to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Lightningace13
Location: Staten Island, New York
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ys: Memories of Celceta, is a Playstation Vita title, and the latest entry in the 26 year strong franchise put out by Falcom, which continues to deliver the fast and furious combat that the series is known and loved for.
The story begins as an off screen narrator talks about the many travels of the series hero, Adol Christin, and begins to tell you the account of Adol’s travelogue from his time spent in the land of Celceta.
After one day wandering into the town of Casnan, Adol collapses in the square, having returned from his journey into the Great forest, but with no memories of the expedition. Early on, you’re given the task of mapping the Great Forest of Celceta, and you embark on your journey as the amnesiac Adol sets out with his supposed friend Duren, to explore the land and recover his lost memories
The highlight of this game is without a doubt the combat. Battles are lightning quick, and addictively fun. Many times I would find myself wandering about the Great Forest just looking for things to slice up. This works especially well considering that the game encourages you to wander about for the sake of mapping the land.
For series newcomers (like myself, admittedly), the combat may be a bit overwhelming at first. Its easy to lose yourself in how fast paced the battles may be, however, the game does ease you into things, giving you a tutorial for each different aspect of combat.
Each of the six playable characters has their own unique playstyle as well as various skills, which can be used by expending SP (skill points) racked up as you hack and slash away at some monsters, as well as an extra skill, which is essentially the Ys equivalent of a limit break. Characters also have one of three damage types: Slashing damage, Striking damage, and piercing damage, and each affect foes differently, depending on their weaknesses. Adol’s sword deals slashing damage, while Duren’s Gauntlets deal striking damage. This distinction in damage types encourages switching between the cast which helps the gameplay stay fresh.
This game also rewards defeating foes with certain damage types, as well as skills. Using a sword against a monster weak to slash damage allows you to build SP quicker, while finishing off an enemy with a skill will restore half of the SP consumed by that skill to your meter.
Player skill is rewarded well in Ys. Dodging or Blocking an enemy attack with precise timing will result in a “flash” variant of that action. A flash dodge allows you to move at an enhanced speed for a short period of time to rack up some quick damage or change position. Flash blocking completely nullifies the damage from the oncoming attack, while granting you a nice chunk of SP in return.
Exploring the land of Celceta is something you’ll find that you’ll be doing a whole lot of. Discovering new locations and even whole towns within the forest allows you to advance the plot, as well as reap some rewards based on how much of the map you’ve uncovered. The land also has several treasure chests strewn about(naturally, of course) as well as harvest points, where you can collect various materials to either sell, trade, reinforce equipment, or give for quests.
The menu makes use of the Vita’s touch screen, allowing you to quickly swap characters out of battle, or toss a potion their way in a pinch.
The soundtrack in Ys is not only phenomenal but diverse, and made me look forward to discovering new areas. My personal favorite has to be the boss battle theme for sure, but I also have taken a liking to some of the more mellow themes used in a few of the towns.
While the main objective of Ys’ story may be to discover the land of Celceta and regain Adol’s memory, it certainly doesn’t skimp on optional content.
Each town has its own board where you can undertake quests which can range from defeating a certain creature, to temporarily running a shop, or just fetching some materials for someone. These unlock as the story progresses, and tend to yield some pretty useful cash and item rewards, though some are time sensitive.
Additionally, after clearing the game you gain access to a New Game+, which paves the way for time challenges, as well as boss rush mode.
Time challenge is pretty much exactly what it sounds like. You can fight any boss you want solo as Adol, and try to defeat them as quickly as possible. This is a great way to hone your Ys combat skills, and challenge yourself.
Boss rush mode challenges more skilled players, giving them only 3 of each healing item(though two of these are revival items, which are for the most part useless), and piting a solo Adol against back-to-back boss fights against every boss in the game.
I did have a few issues with this title though. The voice acting was scarce, and seemed limited to only the few lines each time a new character was introduced, as well as some randomly place lines here and there. The plot, while solid, isn’t the first thing I’d mention to anyone looking at this title.
My biggest (personal) gripe though would have to be the animated cutscenes(or rather, lack thereof.) The opening movie blew me away with how fantastic the art was, and I was sorely disappointed when I realized I wouldn’t be seeing such stunning cutscenes regularly in-game.
With all of this said, I strongly recommend this game to vita owners out there. This action RPG will have fans both new and old addicted to its fast battles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
Exciting Release
Posted on:5/24/13
maxwolfstein
Location: Foreman, AR
I am very excited to see this game come out on the Vita. I play several on the PSP and find them very fun.
Review 15 for Ys: Memories of Celceta
yay a ys game on the vita!
Posted on:4/14/13
thanous
I just got into the ys series and I was so happy when I heard about this one I'll probably be finished with ys 7 just in time for this
 
My Product Recommendations