GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

OUYA Game Console

OUYA: A new kind of game console. OUYA has been built to do one thing: Bring the living room back to life. Ushering in completely new ways to DISCOVER, PLAY, and MAKE games, OUYA offers every game free to try, plugging all that gratís-­goodness directly into your big-­screen TV in beautiful 1080p for old-­school gaming right where it belongs. Once you're in, every game on OUYA is free to try, free to love, and absolutely free to brag about.
Average Customer Rating:
8.625
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
3
8 stars
5
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 out of 2488%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for OUYA Game Console
Review 1 for OUYA Game Console
oldshool,android apps and video
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
RUGER357
Location: Morrisville P.A.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Ouya can play NES,SNES,SEGA MASTER SYSTEM,GENESIS,NINTENDO 64,ATARI, COLECO VISION,WONDER SWAN AND MAME(WHICH IS ALL THE ARCADE GAMES) WITHOUT A PROBLEM.I HAVE DOWNLOADED OVER 200 FREE ROMS TO USE ON THE SYSTEM SINCE DAY 2 OF HAVING THE OUYA. THEY ALL WORKED FINE, WITH EXCEPTION OF ALTERED BEAST ARCADE WHICH WAS BUGGY. YOU HAVE TONS OF ANDROID BASED GAMES. STREAM MUSIC, AND THE CONTROLLER HAS A TOUCH SENSOR. MOST PEOPLE DO NOT KNOW THAT THE BLACK BOX IN THE CENTER OF THE THUMB STICKS IS ACTUALLY A SENSOR, SO YOU CAN TAP OR SLIDE LIKE WITH A ANDROID PHONE. IT IS A SIMPLE SYSTEM TO USE AND INVITES FOR HACKNG AND MAKES IT EASY FOR YOU TO MAKE GAMES OF YOUR OWN FOR IT. WE MAKE OUYA. THE GAMES ARE GETTING MORE AND MORE IMPRESSIVE AND YOU CAN PLAY ALL THE CLASSICS SMOOTHER IF YOU GO TO SETTINGS AND CHANGE THE D PAD EMULATION TO THE LEFT STICK. ALL IN ALL YOU WOULD SPEND MORE ON BUYING 10 CLASSIC GAMES OR INDIE GAMES FROM XBOX LIVE OR PSN. I DOWNLOADED OVER 200 IN 1 DAY. THINK ABOUT IT AND THEN HAVE FUN WITH IT.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for OUYA Game Console
SpaceApe On OUYA!
Posted on:6/19/13
DarthRichter
Location: Plano, TX
SpaceApe is another reason to purchase an OUYA!
The game is super fun and addictive and 100% free!
That is what makes the OUYA Awesome!
when you get your hands on an OUYA SpaceApe is amust Download!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for OUYA Game Console
Fun In A Cube
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/13
RyanFive
Location: Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this cube. It's not a traditional console, true, but the quality of the games and system is better than you may think. Some of the games are really fun. All games are worth checking out. Unlike the traditional consoles, you can demo every game before buying. In fact, they require you demo all games before buying, cool huh.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for OUYA Game Console
Backer review: cheap fun for party gaming
Posted on:6/18/13
MparkH
Location: Mosinee, WI
I backed Ouya on Kickstarter and got my backer unit about a week ago. My kids and I have been having a blast with it. For reference, I am an old school gamer going back to the days of Space Invaders, Pong, and the Apple II. I played Bungie's Marathon FPS on the Mac way back before Bungie got bought by Microsoft and developed Halo. Our most recent console was a Wii.
The Ouya is probably not going to satisfy hard-core gamers. The graphics can be very good (depending on the game), but they won't match the PS4 and Xbox One. The games are quirky, often fun, and mostly small. There's a lot of variety, although massive first-person-shooter games are currently under-represented.
For the rest of us, though, this is a great console. Especially if you like "party gaming" where a bunch of friends can get together and play on one screen, the Ouya is cheap fun. The "free to try" model is awesome - you can download ANY game and play it for free, at least to a point. If the game stinks (or just doesn't appeal to you), delete it. No pay, no harm, no foul.
I read one reviewer a while back who called Ouya the "infinite garage sale," and meant it as a compliment. He was right. This is kind of like stumbling upon an old Atari and a milk crate full cartridges at a garage sale. Sure, a lot of the game are "meh," but there are some real gems, and the price is right!
My personal favorite right now on the Ouya is BombSquad. Think Looney Tunes cartoon violence (punching, running, tossing bombs, plummeting to bloodless death from great heights), but with up to eight(!!) players in a variety of mini-games. The developer is a Pixar artist by day, so the animation, sound and humor are top notch. You can use old PS3 and Xbox controllers, or even your iPod or iPhone, as spare controllers. My kids (13-year-old boy and 16-year-old daughter) love to play with me. I haven't laughed so hard or so much in ages. The game cost me $5. This game alone has made the Ouya worthwhile.
I have seen complaints about slow loading, laggy controls, WiFi and Bluetooth problems. I've had none of these issues. The hardware seems surprisingly well made. The console is small and elegant. The software gets better with every system update (remember it is still pre-release), which takes maybe 10-15 minutes via my cable modem.
Truly, I think this system is not about the hard core gamer who wants to sit in the dark playing FPS games for hours by herself or himself. The Ouya's best potential is for inexpensive party gaming, with a bunch of buddies in the same room playing games together.
$99 is pretty cheap fun, especially if you already have some spare controllers. I recommend the Ouya!
35 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for OUYA Game Console
I like my OUYA.
Posted on:6/19/13
Backer
Location: New York
If you're going in to this expecting a PS3 or Xbox, you'll be disappointed, but if you look at the OUYA as a way to find original indie games (that are amazing BTW), emulate nearly every console in the history of gaming, and publish your game to the television, you're going to love your OUYA just as I do. As a personal story, my dad used to play ToeJam & Earl on his Sega Genesis. Upon a release of a Genesis emulator on OUYA, my dad spent hours playing a game he hadn't seen since the 1990s.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for OUYA Game Console
One required DRM? OUYA requires your credit card.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
Strelok
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Now, the console and controller are both a great value. You can get play light games, browse the internet, use apps like Netflix, and soon have friends list, achievements etc. Now, for the real bad part. You need a credit card to play ANY game on the OUYA. ANY Game, even if it is entirely free. This is going to be a problem not only for younger gamers but older gamers who don't want to put their credit card information. Some people are even reporting purchases being made without their consent. They have said PayPal and prepaid cards will arrive in the future but until then, if inputting your credit card information is a problem, hold off on buying this console.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LordConrad
Jupiter, FL
 
Please wait while more information about LordConrad is loaded.
Additional information about LordConrad could not be loaded.
Use a Visa gift card
Posted 7/5/13
You can always get around the "required" credit card buy purchasing a Visa gift card, they look just like real credit cards to purchasing systems.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for OUYA Game Console
OUYA VS. GAMESTICK
Posted on:2/10/13
AphexWolf
Location: Culver City, CA
Ouya was funded through kickstarter at the end of august 2012 when GameStick was announced on Kickstarter shortly after. GameStick ($79) and Ouya ($99) are basically Identical systems which are android based but Ouya allows modding the system versus GameStick in which the entire system is in an HDMI USB style stick which doesnt allow modding. These two systems will definitely begin a new era of Sony VS. Microsoft. I personally may buy the Ouya because of the modding. I am a funder of GameStick as well. The best part about both systems is that you can build your own XML games/Flash games and upload them to the main server for download. I cant wait for the competition to heat up!!!
16 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Sony Vs Nintendo
Posted 6/28/14
People say Wii U is doing bad but Wii U is doing better than Xbox One in total sales!
Customer Avatar
frogz2007
Cadillac,MI.
 
Please wait while more information about frogz2007 is loaded.
Additional information about frogz2007 could not be loaded.
Hopefully the next "big thing"
Posted 4/18/13
I think this is a very good idea considering the fact that gamers can actually make their OWN games instead of companies. So if the gamers wanted a certain game to be made, they could make it themselves and it overall is just something I wish was thought of years ago! And since I like games in general, there is no doubt I'm getting one!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for OUYA Game Console
Hmmmmm?
Posted on:2/15/13
ROadkill66611
Location: Florida
Ouya definitely wont replace the console and I'm glad that Ouya's devs realize that. Because with Steambox coming out soon for core PC gamers and the next gen consoles from Xbox and Playstation for core console gamers, Ouya's devs would be foolish to think otherwise. Ouya seems like a good alternative for casual gamers and families, social get togethers, etc. aswell as for indie game devs and modders. So, I'm sure they will do well in their target demographic. However, if the Steambox retails relatively close to Ouya's $99 pricetag or just slightly more, I think most people would spend the extra few dollars for a Steambox (which is more than just a casual gaming device, it's a full pc in mini form). Personally, however, I am already deadset on buying a new Xbox and maybe either a Steambox or an Ouya, but right now I'm leaning toward a Steambox as my second device. Who knows, things might change later.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 6/28/14
I have my Wii U to entertain me! PS4 & Xbox One don't really interest me because I would only want the Blu-Ray player.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for OUYA Game Console
High excitement and expectations
Posted on:2/15/13
SleeplessHades
Location: Lansing, MI
This new console really sounds like the real deal for all types of gamers. I only hope it will meet up with most of the hype. I hope it will not only basically close the gap between and of the cross console games but will also include computer games such as diablo and bring the to the t.v. as well and I know I'm not the only person expecting that. I mean it would bring a whole another fantastic area in for the game. I have such high hopes for it and even though they will come out with a new one every year its the same thing with most gaming companies anyway so I don't see the big deal plus the 100 dollar price doesn't seem to shabby.
14 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tolk3
Port Huron MI
 
Please wait while more information about Tolk3 is loaded.
Additional information about Tolk3 could not be loaded.
Cant wait!
Posted 4/8/13
I have been following this project since it began on kick starter, I unfortunately missed the day to preorder and get it in march so I have to wait until June 4th to go pick mine up. The games coming out for it are looking awesome, the console looks and plays great. I can't wait until I get to play it, remember GameStop, you gotta call me on the 4th
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for OUYA Game Console
Cheap gaming fun that everybody will enjoy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
mrkid460
Location: Big Timber, MT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The ouya is a cheap and fun console that I find is great to bring to motels when you are on a road trip. I hooked the ouya up to the hotel's LED TV and it instantly took my boredom away. The ouya comes with now over 600 games to choose from and download which is more than enough to keep you constantly entertained. All of the games on the ouya are free to try so you don't have to spend money on a game that you end up hating. One of the traits I like about the ouya is that it is about the size of a rubix cube which means even if around your TV most of your space is taken up, the ouya will most likely fit there. The ouya can also download game emulators from the GBA , PSP, DS, GameCube, and a lot more. The ouya is also one of the more successful android console, when it was being funded by kick starter it had a pledge of $950,000 and made $8,596,474. That is a 905% increase of funds. Which means more funds, better system. Now what people need to know that the ouya will not compete with the xbox one or the PS4 (or Xbox 360 and PS3) and should not be comparing the ouya to them. The ouya doesn't even have the memory or Ram to be compared to the Xbox or PlayStation. The ouya is made to be a small console that is cheap fun and is great for fun old school games or arcade gaming. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that is into gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for OUYA Game Console
Oh, you wanted an XBox or Playstation?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/13
VGROnline
Location: Akron, OH
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Then you shouldn't go cheap and howl about quality and such for a machine that performs beyond expectations for what it is. It's a Tegra 3 smartphone without the screen - in a cube - that plugs into your TV or HDMI-socketed monitor. And as that, it's fantastic. I've had it for a few days and already torn into it more than I expected to be able to. Is it perfect? No. It launched on the skimpy side and has built up from there, for a new company it has to grow like the others have, but it's got a great head start. I've loaded and sideloaded bigger titles on it, even what you can get from their Store and test for free and buy far cheaper than the Big 3's titles cost has some impressives like Shadowrun. I don't feel ripped off, I anticipate what more will be done with it! Good for kids 8+, great for teens to play and mess with, solid for adults even if you don't have big skills to take it all the way.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for OUYA Game Console
For the Techno-phile
Posted on:2/8/13
Someguyoverhere
Location: MASS
A lot of people are talking smack about this product. How does it work? Why would I want this? Who would want a machine that is no better than an iPad 2 in horsepower?
This box was clearly made for gamers. It's open source and very affordable. Gamers know that horsepower doesn't always make a game great.
We are about to enter a generation where gamers could be restricted from playing used games.
I'm going to speak out on this cause with my $$ this June.
 
My Product Recommendations
Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
9.3 out of 10(408)
 
 
 
Braid
5.5 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
Super Meat Boy - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
8.7 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Wolfspider
falls city, NE
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfspider is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfspider could not be loaded.
Better than IPad 2
Posted 7/1/13
The Ouya has a Tegra 3 cpu which is many times more powerful than what a IPad 2 has. So the Ouya is many times more powerful than a IPad 2. It will be capable of playing some pretty good looking games.
Customer Avatar
Qbas
NYC
 
Please wait while more information about Qbas is loaded.
Additional information about Qbas could not be loaded.
Ouch!!!!
Posted 2/18/13
This Product is definitely on the NOT TO BUY LIST!!!! we Don't need another game system with broken promisses and pay for every thing online...SUcks
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for OUYA Game Console
Awesome
Posted on:2/8/13
Nickp2300
Location: Fresno, CA
ITS FINALLY HERE!! Ive been following its progress since i found out about it on Kickstarter, and its finally here. I cant wait to see all its success.
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for OUYA Game Console
Great console
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
123listentome
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great console, all the complaints have been fixed, or people that are comparing it to the Xbox 360 or ps3. Come on people this on lynx cost one-hundred bucks, therefore it's hardware should be only have of the Xbox, ps3. Actually the hardware is about 75 % of Xbox and 70% of ps3. So stop hating on this console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for OUYA Game Console
oooohhhhyaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhh
Posted on:2/10/13
bigboi123
Location: michigan
I think it will be sweet and if not its 99$ i know its our hard earned money but i think it will be worth a shot if its android based will we get emulators and all or old nintendo games srew downloading on wii im very hopeful for this system
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for OUYA Game Console
awesome
Posted on:6/2/13
reporter
Location: Loisiana,LA
you know this kind of brings out the old days somehow like the Atari console. I am exited about MINECRAFT on the new system. there is way more. its like the new game stick but with more games. I would get this over the xbox 720 or ps4. I like reporting these consoles
but these are my favorite kinds. this is the console you want to buy for big screens and to be portable this is not much and really fun! it is one of consoles that like hey got to play it all day and such and such. It is only 20$ more then game stick . I wouldn't say its bad I mean its great really its one of the best things iv'e ever interviewed. so I think you should buy it. if you an EXTREME gamer. so that's it . see you on the flip side of black ops. :D
Review 17 for OUYA Game Console
Didn't work for atari
Posted on:2/13/13
Deadpensince1998
Location: Nowhere Va
Atari did the same thing with their 2600 system. This allowed for custard's revenge, Bachelor Party, Burning Desire, and Beat 'Em and Eat 'Em! Lets just hope people want to make good games, not "lets see what we can get away with" type games.
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
I just found the straw to break the camels back!
Posted 6/28/14
They have Nintendo games on their system! Nintendo could put them out of business if they sue for copyright infringement which I think will happen eventually!
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
This thing will fail!
Posted 5/17/14
if the devolopers think it can compete with PS4 Xbox One & Wii U I want you to know THIS THING WILL FAIL! It only has 3rd party support to test things out! I reccommend getting the Wii U because you only have to pay for games once on the eshop & then you can redownload those games unlimted times for free!
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Well i'm worried
Posted 10/10/13
who says they won't add Banjo-Kazooie, Conkers Bad fur day and other games by companies that were either bought out by the bigger guys(Like Microsoft bought Rare and Nintendo lost the rights to Donkey Kong which was Stupid)or that went out of business that is why I am never buying this system(well that and my parents said they will get me a Wii U next year)
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 18 for OUYA Game Console
Looks legit
Posted on:2/8/13
Chiwawaboi
Location: Galveston, TX
Pretty cool looking console. Everything sounds good so far but... It needs AA batteries. I thought I was done with batteries after my Wii console (I'd go through like three pairs of AA's in a week). It would be really cool if the the controller was chargable, just like every other gaming console is. If I were you I would check it out this summer!
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
anndrox
Newnan. GA
 
Please wait while more information about anndrox is loaded.
Additional information about anndrox could not be loaded.
AA do recharge
Posted 2/20/13
Well you could always buy a rechargeable station for batteries. I have a AA charging station that takes no longer than 10 minutes to recharge batteries and they last for a good while! Don't forget that Energizer makes separate charging systems for the Wii PS3 and XBOX so if the demand is there for this system, I'm sure they will do the same thing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for OUYA Game Console
A surprisingly good game system for under $100
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/13
TwistyMac
Location: Orange County, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I've read a few mixed reviews about this new game system and I have to say -- I'm completely surprised and in a GOOD way! Tons of games can be downloaded for free (over 410 to choose from as of today) and the games range from classic old-school titles like Sonic to newer games like Walking Dead, Killing Floor and You Don't Know Jack, to all-new indie games like Towerfall and Bombsquad. I have to give it up to these guys -- great game system at a very reasonable price if you don't have the $500+ to shell over for a Xbox or PS. Love the OUYA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for OUYA Game Console
The winner of this indie generation!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
qwertydanielqwerty
Location: Indiana
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I like the Ouya MORE than i expected. Yes, it has its bugs and kinks, but it has some fantastic indie games that you and your friends will play for HOURS. I highly recommend this console to anyone who plays casual or hardcore games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>