GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Wii U Power Pack

Keep your Wii U GamePad charged and ready for action with the Power Pak from Nyko Technologies®. The Power Pak is a rechargeable Lithium Polymer battery designed exclusively for the GamePad and the rigorous demands of gamers. The triple capacity battery provides up to 3x the playtime on a single charge, and seamlessly replaces the existing GamePad battery for a sleek and seamless upgrade, ideal for marathon gaming sessions. The Power Pak charges using the stock AC Adaptor or Charging Cradle included with the Wii U, as well as Nyko's charging solutions for the GamePad. The Power Pak is the ideal solution for powering your GamePad allowing you to play longer with no change to the appearance of the controller. A mini screwdriver is included with each PowerPak, no additional tools are needed to install the battery.
Average Customer Rating:
4.571
4.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
4
3 out of 743%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wii U Power Pack
Review 1 for Wii U Power Pack
I tried 2 different ones and neither worked...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/13
Figureguy
Location: Syracuse, NY
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I received my first one from Gamestop.com. It took about 2 hours to charge with my cable, and I hoped it was ready to go. After a little over and hour, the red charge light came on. I thought maybe since it was a new battery it could use a new charge. I recharged it and the same result happened. I returned it and got a new one from my local Gamestop. I put the charge cable in and it took over 4 hours to charge. I figured since it was a larger battery that was fine, and it should work now. I started playing and 45 minutes in the red light came back on. I am returning this in the morning. This might have to do with why Nyko pushed the release date back so often. I was really looking forward to using this and not having to charge my Gamepad every few hours. If it was one I could understand, but two makes me think that it is just not a good product.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wii U Power Pack
Problem with the initial batch has been fixed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/13
megamanultra
Location: central ohio
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had purchased the original release of this item, and like many got a defective item. I called their customer service and got the info of the defect being found and it was under redesign to correct it. I have since received my replacement and it now is working exactly as intended. The corrected version lasted a tad over 8 hours under continuous and varied use. If you have been steered away from all the negitive initial reports, youmay wish to know that it is now working as per their usual quality. It was a shame that for the first time since I've started using Nyko products that this happened, but they made the situation right by their customer service for me with a simple, no hassle phone call.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chadwpalm
California
 
Please wait while more information about chadwpalm is loaded.
Additional information about chadwpalm could not be loaded.
Difference?
Posted 10/16/13
Is there a distinguishable difference between the old defective battery and the updated working one? A model number revision, color of connector, anything? From what I've read in reviews it seems to be a problem with the connector not attaching well. I wanna get one (it's October now and I'm hoping most of them at stores are now the updated version), but don't want to have to go through the process of calling nyko to get a replacement. Thanks.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Wii U Power Pack
Finally, a decent battery for the Game Pad!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/13
Twilo
Location: UK
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I ordered this and took the hit on import fees as unsure when it would be available in the UK. Arrived and charged June 2nd. About 3.5 hours full charge time. First tested 8th June, 2 hours Zombi U and battery still at 100%. Not used again until June 15th. 2 hours on Need for Speed U and battery still shows 75%. So thats 4 hours use with between 50 and 75% charge remaining. So expecting it to last 8 hours +. My stock battery would have died by now. Just be sure when you install it that you pay attention to the locaton of the red wire on the original I.e. you need to twist the nyko connector to ensure you plug it in the same way the original was or polarity will be off, perhaps this is is why some folks have had issues - it fits in either way around. Other than that, what more can I say? This is the battery performance that Nintendo should have provided so a worthwhile investment.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wii U Power Pack
Nyko wii u powrpack
Posted on:4/1/13
RollingGamer123
why do the keep changing the release date on us. Why cant Nyko make up their mind? I preordered it because it triples the battery life of the game-pad.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shady586
NY
 
Please wait while more information about shady586 is loaded.
Additional information about shady586 could not be loaded.
Only two possible reasons for the constant delays.
Posted 4/4/13
I'm betting they keep delaying this thing so that they can get sales on the bulky Uboost add-on before releasing this. They know nobody will buy the Uboost if they can buy this instead. So delaying the PowerPak will force people to buy that Uboost thing.
Either that or Nintendo is putting pressure on them when it comes to an actual battery replacement. Probably because Nintendo planned on releasing their own first party replacement. The U Boost is more of an accessory than a replacement part... so maybe Nintendo has an issue with this and it will eat into their potential profits from their own bigger battery.
Either way... COME ON ALREADY. Someone release a battery replacement like this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Wii U Power Pack
Too early?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
coopah
Location: NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I received this battery on 5/29/13 and it would never hold a complete charge and would randomly shut off. I could never get more than 2 bars of battery and the lights were always flashing on the gamepad. Could be a fluke but not a good sign!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cranknnutz
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Cranknnutz is loaded.
Additional information about Cranknnutz could not be loaded.
Posted 6/5/13
It's not a fluke. I've had nothing but problems with mine. It drops to 2 bars after only a couple of hours. My gamepad randomly shuts off as well.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wii U Power Pack
Defective Product, DO NOT BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
Cranknnutz
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I knew there was a problem immediately after plugging the Nyko Power Pak battery into my gamepad. It felt very loose. So I unplugged it and plugged it back in to see if I could get a tighter fit, but it still felt loose. I even plugged back in my original battery and it clicked right in and was very snug. I should have returned the Nyko Power Pak at this point, but I decided to still give it a go. What a mistake! I let the Power Pak charge for many hours until the charge light went out. When I turned on the gamepad I had 4 bars. Within minutes it went down to 3 bars. Within a couple of hours it went down to 2 bars. The gamepad then started to randomly shut off on me while at 2 bars. I turn the gamepad back on and it works for another 10, 15, 30 mins until it shuts off again. This happened several times over a couple hour period. So the battery has charge, but somehow the gamepad keeps shutting off. I believe this is all due to the loose connection between the gamepad and the battery. There are plenty of other users already complaining about these same problems as well. Check out NeoGAF if you want to hear more complaints. Anyways, I've already put the original battery back in my gamepad. All is well now and I'm returning the Power Pak to Gamestop. I'll wait for the better battery from Nintendo.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wii U Power Pack
Excellent Addition for Long Sessions
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/13
Dorfdad
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just received the Nyko Wii U Power Pack from Gamestop last night. Quick impressions are WOW! Easy to install simply remove the old battery and insert the new one. (5 Mins!) than charge it up! I didn't notice how long it took to charge up but I suspect it was like 2+ hours for full charge. I started gaming with it around 7pm and usually by 10:30 its going red on me. Well im about 2 hours into Friday and it's still over 50% so Im happy! Will help for those times when I forget to charge it up and than realize the next night that it's dead and I have to play with a cable!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CorTzu
DC
 
Please wait while more information about CorTzu is loaded.
Additional information about CorTzu could not be loaded.
6 in Design??
Posted 5/29/13
Why do you have only a 6 in design but 9's in other categories. Is there something wrong with the design?
Customer Avatar
shady586
NY
 
Please wait while more information about shady586 is loaded.
Additional information about shady586 could not be loaded.
Your times indicate no improvement?
Posted 5/27/13
I think you're timing is off a bit there. Based on the amount of time you claimed it lasted (50% in 2 hours) it basically had zero improvement. You said the original battery lasted you 3 1/2 hrs and with the Power Pak you're saying only 4 hours. It's supposed to triple the battery life so it should be more like 9 hours. Which will probably average out to 7-8 hours with regular use.
Mine arrives tomorrow in the mail so I'm hoping you're wrong about this.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Wii U Power Pack
Excited, but Release Already!!!
Posted on:4/9/13
HFINCH
Location: New York, NY
I am really excited for this product because it will increase the abysmal battery life of my GamePad, which for me is worse than the 3DS, in terms of being able to plug in (because when 3DS needs charged, you move the whole system, when Wii U GamePad needs it, you still have to be in range). However, the release date seems to keep changing (at least throughout March). I called Nyko at they said the end of April, and then GameStop changed their date, so hopefully, we will have it soon. But yeah, this streamlined battery looks like its gonna be great.
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wii U Power Pack
Stay Away!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/13
Odicious
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The battery would never fully charge and even when it was would charge as much as it could the game pad still suddenly die on me. This product should have never been released.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10