GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Elgato Game Capture HD

Elgato Game Capture HD uses advanced hardware H.264 encoding to capture your gameplay in stunning 1080p Full HD, while keeping the file size low. At the same time, your console's picture is passed through to your TV via HDMI, so you can keep on enjoying your game on the big screen - in pristine quality, without delay. With Elgato Game Capture HD, it's not just about you and the game anymore. With one click, you can share your gameplay with your friends and fans on YouTube, Facebook and Twitter. Even better, the tailor-made Elgato Game Capture HD software allows you to quickly trim your gaming scenes and pass them on to your favorite editing software. Capturing gameplay is great - but what if you want to entertain your audience in real-time? It doesn't get easier than with the new Live Streaming feature, built directly into Elgato Game Capture HD. Be live on Twitch with the click of a button - or masterfully direct your performance with XSplit, which now directly supports Elgato Game Capture HD.
Average Customer Rating:
7.571
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Elgato Game Capture HD
Review 1 for Elgato Game Capture HD
Best Capture Card
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
PokemonfanMagdad
Location: Brooklyn,NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its the best capture card ever i got it a week ago and works really well and it doesn't need a power cord which is great and it is a lot more better then the HD PVR 2 a lot less wires with the Elgato and easier to work with. I also did a unboxing video so you guys should go check it out.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Elgato Game Capture HD
One word...AMAZING!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/13
iTaLennTz
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this capture card to replace my roxio hd pro (which i did not like at all) and so far im in love with the ease of use on the elgato. The program itself is very simple and well laid out with a lot of features like the ability to change the brightness, contrast, saturation etc. right in the program itself. I love the flashback feature so if im not capturing gameplay at the time i can rewind back to that point and start recording, that alone is a selling point by its self. The streaming on the Elgato is very impressive at first glance. The settings to setup the streaming are very important if you want the quality, no lag etc. You can even set the bitrate to your internet speed to get the perfect quality for streaming. You can also do live commentary while you are recording which is another plus. It is very easy to use but it does not lack any of the important ingredients to capture or stream. The device its self is hardly any bigger than a credit card or smartphone. Overall if your a youtube video creator or just an average gamer looking to record those special moments THIS is the capture card to have!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
43 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iTaLennTz
 
Please wait while more information about iTaLennTz is loaded.
Additional information about iTaLennTz could not be loaded.
Posted 8/24/13
yes only thing you have to do is turn the voice to play through both headset and tv
Customer Avatar
Codybomb100
Nybronx
 
Please wait while more information about Codybomb100 is loaded.
Additional information about Codybomb100 could not be loaded.
Can it before I buy it
Posted 8/19/13
If im online in a party can it record my friends voice and my voice I want to know before I buy it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for Elgato Game Capture HD
A must Have
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
walnuts
Location: South Jersey
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This device is a must have! Its so easy and quick to set it up and install. The software takes seconds to install on your PC or Mac. It is compatible with all gaming consoles that have a HDMI Out. So It works with xbox 360, PS3, Wii U, PS4 and Xbox One. The design isn't perfect but its not bad at all. The size is a perfect size. But the HDMI in and out are located on opposite sides of each other. so its a little harder to hide the cords. But I have mine setup in a great spot to hide them good enough. its great that it includes all the cords especially a HDMI cord. The only cord that it doesn't come with is a power cord.....Thats because it DOES NOT need a power cord to plug into a wall outlet. It gets power through the USB cable that is plugged into the legato to your computer or other devices. The 179 dollar price tag is a little more expensive than other stores and websites. You also have to pay shipping since gamestop doesn't carry this device in store. Best buy has them in stock for 25 dollars cheaper and don't have to worry about shipping. Their website has free shipping after 35 dollars as well if its not in stock in the store. Absolutley a must by if you want your youtube channel to elevate its status. Become a huge channel with the legato. Follow me on youtube johnnywalnuts87!!!!!!Keep gaming! Oh yeah and keep recording! lol
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Elgato Game Capture HD
my name is janet and i bought this for my youtube
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/14
Deathfull
Location: New york
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have 100k subscribers on youtube and i use this product daily for work. i love it its good for recording my gameplay and it also has an amazing software if you have any questions my gamertag for xbox is Deathfull kiss and yes i am a girl so dont be mean.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Elgato Game Capture HD
Good, portable, easy to capture and effective.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/13
gamerjuanca4117
Location: Bogota, COL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The video game capture is very small, I mean, is so portable and light that you can carry it as if it was an iPhone. Is so simple to setup, and to record in an excellent quality format. I`m sure you will like it, specially if you prefer to use mac.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Elgato Game Capture HD
Slow, and only shows the picture on my computer.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/14
Heff
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is VERY SLOW. I had to go through 3 computers and still when its hooked up, I get no picture on my TV, it all on my computer and 11 seconds late. I don't know if its my computer but I am not impressed in the slightest.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ChauncyTalon
 
Please wait while more information about ChauncyTalon is loaded.
Additional information about ChauncyTalon could not be loaded.
Posted 8/19/14
You are not suppose to watch the game from the computer. That's the problem. It will have a delay because it's recording the game at a much slower speed. You use your TV to play and you computer to record. Not the other way around. #datSTROKElife
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Elgato Game Capture HD
its good
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
Chfs
Location: ny
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its good but ned to make this for iphones ipads and ipods And this is what they need to add please spread this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 151 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
NCfanboy
Indianapolis, IN
 
Please wait while more information about NCfanboy is loaded.
Additional information about NCfanboy could not be loaded.
Posted 6/24/14
Your score makes NO SENSE whatsoever!
Customer Avatar
percyus25
 
Please wait while more information about percyus25 is loaded.
Additional information about percyus25 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/20/14
actually it is compatible with smart phones
Customer Avatar
walnuts
South Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about walnuts is loaded.
Additional information about walnuts could not be loaded.
And since its not compatible with iPads,pods,phone
Posted 6/19/14
you give it a 1 because its not gonna work on your 1inch screen iPhone and on your iPad. Darn thats a little harsh. everyone else gave it 10 out of 10. its not perfect. but its still the best one out. and not many thing in life are perfect. check out my videos on youtube, johnnywalnuts87. i got great setup videos, gameplay videos and game collection videos. its about all gaming
Customer Avatar
DARTH2021
 
Please wait while more information about DARTH2021 is loaded.
Additional information about DARTH2021 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/7/14
............................and because of that you give it a one?
Comments (4)
Comments (4)