GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
9.013
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
24
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
70 out of 7890%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
very fun, awesome, and good looking. rating- 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
BossWubba
Location: Pheonix,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game a month after it came out as a gift. I started playing the game and admiring the great looks and gameplay. This game is a blast. I completed the game and every mission was very good. I love the new things they added that weren't in ac3 (assassins creed 3) like, assassin contracts, way bigger selection of weapons and upgrade as well as outfits, and a better story in my opinion. I love the pirate style to change it up a little but , I didn't like how you're a pirate and the title is assassins creed 4. I love the characters and there personality's. This game is not for young kids because it's very violent and there is some drinking and some cursing here and there but you can turn blood off but that is just blood and nothing else. There is a bug in the game when (SPOILER WARNING) you arrive in Havana with Stede Bonnet and then you have to synchronize on top of a building and I tried climbing it and I slipped and fell off the building and I died but when I respawned I couldn't have the ability to climb anything but I started a new save file slot and it worked fine just don't die. amazing game 10/10
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
an amazing all round games. stealth and assault
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/14
jp411587
Location: florida, fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i thought it was an awesome game right when i played it. the wildlife has so many animals to hunt. the graphics are great too, the sea looks awesome. i also liked the plot. in the begining you on a privateer contract. and ship wreck in the largest jungle in the game. only edward kenway (the pirate you play as) and an english assassin traitor who needs to get to havana to deliver maps revealing the observetory and the location of the assassins h.q. the assassin rouges' name is duncan walpole and you kill him. the rest of it is for the other players to discover
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best AC game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
xXCynicalXzisXx
Location: Louisiana, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a hardcore AC fan and TBH AC3 was a letdown but AC 4 is one of the best and it would make AC BETER is if in AC5 if there making it le us crouch
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Can't wait!
Posted on:5/28/13
Handsome
Location: Virginia
I've been with the Assassins Creed series since day one and I have to say that with each sequel fans have been happy in almost every shape or form. I do have to admit however that the ball was dropped a little because of Assassins Creed 3 ( it's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination) and this game may seem rushed, but the same can be said for brotherhood and revelations, two great games, and I think this one is going to make up for 3 and even more!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
this looks awsome
Posted on:3/11/13
lonewolf9819
Location: toney, Al
what all of you probly dont know ubisoft has diferent groups working on diferent assassins so each group has a cuple years to work on them. i cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEAST AF
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
totallynotsingle
Location: Arizona
I'm a die hard assassins creed fan. I'm going to be honest AC3 was a disappointment compared to the others. It was still fun but not good. This assassins creed though was so much of an improvement. It brought back what assassins creed originally was with a whole bunch more. I was a little skeptical when I found out the naval gameplay was still involved, but this time it's actually good. You don't have to follow designated coordinates or anything like that. You could anchor your ship anywhere and get out, you could board random ships. I actually had fun being on a ship. Then the story line was a whole massive improvement. The characters were real, and living. The gameplay was awesome, and more realistic. The stealth was improved much. Most importantly, the buildings, the freerunning playground was improved so much, the buildings were awesomely detailed. I can go on and on. If you liked any assassins creed, even if you liked the third, you will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassin's Creed fell off
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
sportsguy
Location: D.C
As a fan of Assassin's Creed since the first one, and a person who has beat every single Assassin's Creed (except this one), I absolutely hate this game. I understand that it is pirate themed, but naval warfare in this game just is not fun. It takes too long, is too repetitive, and difficult. It is just straight up boring. And the story isn't as clear as previous AC games. I really want to like this game, but the boats are just over emphasized. There were boats in AC3, but that wasn't so over emphasized, so it was fun from time to time. But in this game it is like all you do. It doesn't even interest me enough to finish the game. Also, the fighting feels a lot clunkier than previous AC games. I will be tyring to fight someone, and when I press X to attack, or B to block, nothing happens, so my guy just dies repeatedly because he just stands there and gets hit, without even hitting back no matter what I press, or when I press it. I really hope the next AC is a lot better, and I really hope they ditch boats.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Extra Awesome Kills
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
jeskoe
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassins Creed 4 is very fun to play, single player or multiplayer. I enjoy the games world as well as the fun assassinations. The ship battles are cool, but I like being an assassin better. AC4 has tempted me to start playing the older ones.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Awesome!!
Posted on:3/8/13
jlb2
Location: Canton, Ohio
I've been an Assassin's Creed fan since day 1, I have them all, even have Black Flag reserved... I think its kinda early for another one but, still looks awesome. I just miss the connection like we got with Altair, and Ezio Auditore with Assassin's Creed, Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood and Revelations. they made it to where you got so in depth into the life and death of the character... not taking away from 3 I just felt the whole thing was rushed and didn't get a chance to really connect with Conner.... lets hope they take the time so we can get to know Edward like we did Altair and Ezio.....
89 of 98 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coolcat491
New York City
 
Please wait while more information about Coolcat491 is loaded.
Additional information about Coolcat491 could not be loaded.
This Is The Most Under rated game of the year
Posted 8/6/13
First of all i want to ask you guys questions y do we love assassin creed 2 to so much because of all the locations and the customization of the villa right so this game should be one of the most Anticapated games of all time it features more customization and alot more locations also there's so much you could do The only one worthy to be a sequel to assassin creed 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the Best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/14
CritickGuy
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Many people didn't like this game due to many reasons, but whatever those are they are stupid. As far as Edward not being a true assassin, that's correct but this a different game. It still is assassin's creed with all the features. The hidden blades, various weapons, pickpocketing, all that is here. I think Edward's personality is fresh and good. I personally like him the best so far because he doesn't have a cookie cutter personality like others. This is a realistic personality, someone who has dreams and goals. Don't tell me people don't want to get rich because it would make life a lot easier for everyone. We say we want next gen games and this is a different personality than we've seen before in assassins before so I give props to it. His personality makes this a story with twists and turns. Otherwise the game is great. Graphics, I have to say, Ubisoft did a great job. Water is great, jungles are fantastic, and all together of the best graphics I've seen. I would however like you improve a bit on the bushes' leaves. Combatwise it is great and rarely is hard to fight. overall great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
I have been a fan since the beginning.
Posted on:4/22/13
oracleoforigin
Location: Chandler, AZ
As good as AC 3 was, which was breathtakingly good, an important part of the story was missing: the connection and emotional attachment to the protagonist. I loved the first three games as we got so connected, so immersed in the lives of Altair and Ezio where as with the time we had in AC 3 we were unable to get as deep with Connor. I hope that Black Flag addresses this. I also miss the amount of extra things to do that Brotherhood had aside from the main story arc. It would seem, according to official description, that there will be more to do in Black Flag than in AC3 and I am very excited for that.
The combat promises to be the best yet in the franchise and the dual wielding of Edward's cutlasses should prove to provide very intriguing combat experiences.
All in all, I am very glad that I have pre-ordered this game.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
the best game I have played in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
barneykiller76
Location: Mobile, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love the assassins creed series and if i thought the game was bad i would have given it a bad review but it this games brings many things to the table that few others do one example is the naval warfare and the best hand to hand combat in gaming (my opinion your entitled to your own) . so if you've ever played and liked any assassins creed you would like this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
22 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Firebomb
 
Please wait while more information about Firebomb is loaded.
Additional information about Firebomb could not be loaded.
?
Posted 11/3/13
Is this pretty much just all about Being a pirate because to be honest I liked AC3 but this looks completely different. not in a bad or good way. I just liked ASSASSINATING, and I think this is more about the sea, your boat, crew, blah blah. But I'd really like to know because today i got the new madden, but I don't think I'd have time for it because I have Nba 2k14.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the Best games of 2013
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
Beast423
Location: Strongsville, OH
The last Assassin's Creed game left a sour taste in my mouth but this one leaves me walking away with a warm feeling knowing that the series has been rejuvenated with this worthy addition. The gameplay has been improved upon and the graphics are top notch for the xbox 360. The sound and plot are both good but I wouldn't go so far as to say they are best this year. The location of this game is spectacular and the characters are lively and relatable. Honestly this is the best game of this series yet, it takes the good parts from all of the games and puts them into one near perfect concoction of awesome gameplay, characters, setting, content, and more. If you were to buy one game this October this should be it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It's Worsening
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
skittlezzz
Location: omaha, ne
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love Assassin's Creed. I have every game. Now, I feel like Assassin's Creed is worsening with each release. Black Flag has the most expansive map I've ever played on, but that's a problem. It's too big and too time consuming to find a location you haven't unlocked fast travel for. The game gets boring each time you have to go on the Jackdaw (which is very often). The game has very bad sound, especially during combat. Edward would off somebody, and either the sound doesn't come until a few seconds later, or you don't hear any sound at all. Finding items for crafting upgrades is very frustrating and difficult. It's not like Assassin's Creed 3, where items for upgrading are easy to find. The gameplay is very similar to AC3's, so it kind of feels like you're playing the same game. If Ubisoft waited a few years until the next release and took their time developing it so it won't be terrible, that'd be great. The only reason I'm keeping this game is so I have all of the AC games, otherwise, I'd send it back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the best action adventures i've played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/14
TrueGamer247
Location: Ohio,
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Black flag is better than ac3. The gameplay is better than ac3. Such as the combat, stealth, and open world. The world is way larger. The navel combat(ship combat) is way better than 3's. Assassin's creed 4 is a great single player game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassins Creed 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
Hookblade101
Location: US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the best game I've played in 2013. I actually enjoyed this more than i did GTA V, and that was a fun game. Its graphics are top notch, and the stealth just had one flaw which is the inability to crouch. If that's added in Assassins Creed V (if there's gonna be one), this game could be a GOTY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates and Assassins needs I say more!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/13
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassins creed 4 has a feel of 1 & 2 with a lot more to do. The ship battles are epic, treasures hunting always fun. It has a feel of Far Cry 3, with the beautiful islands and animal hunting to upgrade your equipment. Pirate/ Assassin take just AMAZING, couldn't ask for more. All in all 4 exceeds in all area's, a must for any assassin creed fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Biggest AC world
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/14
TrueGamer247
Location: Ohio,
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think assassin's creed 4 has better gameplay than ac3 and a very big open world. The navel combat is awesome. The story is good. I think if you want to play a good action adventure game, people should check this out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Words can't describe
Posted on:10/25/13
AVPronger
Location: Illinois
I'm an absolute AC fanatic. I've watched the trailers, seen the gameplay demos, and I've already been look at all the paraphernalia. Some people say AC3 was a downfall, and I completely disagree. It brought the game out of the cities, and let you see the wilds, and the seas, to allow for more flawless game play. Before you were somewhat constrained to be within city limits, but now with AC4 the cities are simply one part of the whole thing. Words CAN NOT describe how excited I am.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Great
Posted on:8/11/13
snipermaster
Location: pottstown pa
Looks great and all the new dynamics and change of story will make it fun. I've only been a fan of Assassin's Creed for a little bit and been quite impressed with how they make these games change from story to story which this one won't be different just the changes will make it more realistic and make it a lot more exciting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
18 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ViperLegend
 
Please wait while more information about ViperLegend is loaded.
Additional information about ViperLegend could not be loaded.
Just one question about preorder bonus
Posted 9/22/13
Is the black ship only to discover and explore it, or we will be able to use it as jackdaw?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>