GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
9.023
9
(159 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (159 reviews)
10 stars
46
9 stars
28
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
79 out of 8791%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
very fun, awesome, and good looking. rating- 10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/14
Location: Pheonix,AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game a month after it came out as a gift. I started playing the game and admiring the great looks and gameplay. This game is a blast. I completed the game and every mission was very good. I love the new things they added that weren't in ac3 (assassins creed 3) like, assassin contracts, way bigger selection of weapons and upgrade as well as outfits, and a better story in my opinion. I love the pirate style to change it up a little but , I didn't like how you're a pirate and the title is assassins creed 4. I love the characters and there personality's. This game is not for young kids because it's very violent and there is some drinking and some cursing here and there but you can turn blood off but that is just blood and nothing else. There is a bug in the game when (SPOILER WARNING) you arrive in Havana with Stede Bonnet and then you have to synchronize on top of a building and I tried climbing it and I slipped and fell off the building and I died but when I respawned I couldn't have the ability to climb anything but I started a new save file slot and it worked fine just don't die. amazing game 10/10
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
an amazing all round games. stealth and assault
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/14
Location: florida, fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i thought it was an awesome game right when i played it. the wildlife has so many animals to hunt. the graphics are great too, the sea looks awesome. i also liked the plot. in the begining you on a privateer contract. and ship wreck in the largest jungle in the game. only edward kenway (the pirate you play as) and an english assassin traitor who needs to get to havana to deliver maps revealing the observetory and the location of the assassins h.q. the assassin rouges' name is duncan walpole and you kill him. the rest of it is for the other players to discover
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Can't wait!
Posted on:5/28/13
Location: Virginia
I've been with the Assassins Creed series since day one and I have to say that with each sequel fans have been happy in almost every shape or form. I do have to admit however that the ball was dropped a little because of Assassins Creed 3 ( it's not a bad game by any stretch of the imagination) and this game may seem rushed, but the same can be said for brotherhood and revelations, two great games, and I think this one is going to make up for 3 and even more!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best AC game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
Location: Louisiana, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a hardcore AC fan and TBH AC3 was a letdown but AC 4 is one of the best and it would make AC BETER is if in AC5 if there making it le us crouch
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
this looks awsome
Posted on:3/11/13
Location: toney, Al
what all of you probly dont know ubisoft has diferent groups working on diferent assassins so each group has a cuple years to work on them. i cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEAST AF
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
Location: Arizona
I'm a die hard assassins creed fan. I'm going to be honest AC3 was a disappointment compared to the others. It was still fun but not good. This assassins creed though was so much of an improvement. It brought back what assassins creed originally was with a whole bunch more. I was a little skeptical when I found out the naval gameplay was still involved, but this time it's actually good. You don't have to follow designated coordinates or anything like that. You could anchor your ship anywhere and get out, you could board random ships. I actually had fun being on a ship. Then the story line was a whole massive improvement. The characters were real, and living. The gameplay was awesome, and more realistic. The stealth was improved much. Most importantly, the buildings, the freerunning playground was improved so much, the buildings were awesomely detailed. I can go on and on. If you liked any assassins creed, even if you liked the third, you will love this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Prince of Persia: Sands of Time
9.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Awesome!!
Posted on:3/8/13
Location: Canton, Ohio
I've been an Assassin's Creed fan since day 1, I have them all, even have Black Flag reserved... I think its kinda early for another one but, still looks awesome. I just miss the connection like we got with Altair, and Ezio Auditore with Assassin's Creed, Assassin's Creed 2, Brotherhood and Revelations. they made it to where you got so in depth into the life and death of the character... not taking away from 3 I just felt the whole thing was rushed and didn't get a chance to really connect with Conner.... lets hope they take the time so we can get to know Edward like we did Altair and Ezio.....
89 of 98 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Coolcat491
New York City
 
Please wait while more information about Coolcat491 is loaded.
Additional information about Coolcat491 could not be loaded.
This Is The Most Under rated game of the year
Posted 8/6/13
First of all i want to ask you guys questions y do we love assassin creed 2 to so much because of all the locations and the customization of the villa right so this game should be one of the most Anticapated games of all time it features more customization and alot more locations also there's so much you could do The only one worthy to be a sequel to assassin creed 2
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
I have been a fan since the beginning.
Posted on:4/22/13
Location: Chandler, AZ
As good as AC 3 was, which was breathtakingly good, an important part of the story was missing: the connection and emotional attachment to the protagonist. I loved the first three games as we got so connected, so immersed in the lives of Altair and Ezio where as with the time we had in AC 3 we were unable to get as deep with Connor. I hope that Black Flag addresses this. I also miss the amount of extra things to do that Brotherhood had aside from the main story arc. It would seem, according to official description, that there will be more to do in Black Flag than in AC3 and I am very excited for that.
The combat promises to be the best yet in the franchise and the dual wielding of Edward's cutlasses should prove to provide very intriguing combat experiences.
All in all, I am very glad that I have pre-ordered this game.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
ABSOLUTELY GREAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/15
Location: Goldendale, WA
I bought this game last month upgrading from AC Brotherhood straight to this... I was so surprised at how many improvements they have done throughout the franchise. I spent three days playing it, but it only felt like four hours!!! So many things to do in such a diverse map! WELL DONE UBISOFT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Short and sweet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/15
Location: Cheyenne,WY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
One word: Wonderful. I didn't much like the Assassins creed franchise, but I figured I'd give this one a try. And I was blown away! By far one of my Favorite games I've played all year could not put the controller down!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
the best game I have played in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
Location: Mobile, AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love the assassins creed series and if i thought the game was bad i would have given it a bad review but it this games brings many things to the table that few others do one example is the naval warfare and the best hand to hand combat in gaming (my opinion your entitled to your own) . so if you've ever played and liked any assassins creed you would like this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
24 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Firebomb
 
Please wait while more information about Firebomb is loaded.
Additional information about Firebomb could not be loaded.
?
Posted 11/3/13
Is this pretty much just all about Being a pirate because to be honest I liked AC3 but this looks completely different. not in a bad or good way. I just liked ASSASSINATING, and I think this is more about the sea, your boat, crew, blah blah. But I'd really like to know because today i got the new madden, but I don't think I'd have time for it because I have Nba 2k14.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Drink up me hearties, yo ho!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/14
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The latest entry in the beloved Assassin's Creed franchise, Black Flag, is a pure delight. While Assassin's Creed III was more focused on its famous characters, setting, and events, Black Flag essentially turns its focus on the players having fun. I enjoyed AC3 a lot, don't get me wrong, but there came a point where I felt more like I was reading a really good book on the American Revolution instead of actually being a part of it. With AC4, however, you feel completely immersed in the world Ubisoft has created; you feel like you are a pirate sailing the Caribbean, plundering and pillaging as you please. That may not be your first choice for a profession in real life, but its wicked fun in video game form. There's a sense of freedom and adventure that Black Flag provides. You'll never be bored or have nothing to do. Plenty of side quests are integrated into the gameplay experience. I titled this review with a quote from Pirates of the Caribbean, and that is because Black Flag is basically the ultimate PotC game. If you ever wondered what it'd be like to be Jack Sparrow, or someone like him, avoid the game adaptions of the films. Pick up Black Flag. You won't regret it. Tons of fun, and one of the best installments in this classic video game franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the Best games of 2013
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
Location: Strongsville, OH
The last Assassin's Creed game left a sour taste in my mouth but this one leaves me walking away with a warm feeling knowing that the series has been rejuvenated with this worthy addition. The gameplay has been improved upon and the graphics are top notch for the xbox 360. The sound and plot are both good but I wouldn't go so far as to say they are best this year. The location of this game is spectacular and the characters are lively and relatable. Honestly this is the best game of this series yet, it takes the good parts from all of the games and puts them into one near perfect concoction of awesome gameplay, characters, setting, content, and more. If you were to buy one game this October this should be it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It's Worsening
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
Location: omaha, ne
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love Assassin's Creed. I have every game. Now, I feel like Assassin's Creed is worsening with each release. Black Flag has the most expansive map I've ever played on, but that's a problem. It's too big and too time consuming to find a location you haven't unlocked fast travel for. The game gets boring each time you have to go on the Jackdaw (which is very often). The game has very bad sound, especially during combat. Edward would off somebody, and either the sound doesn't come until a few seconds later, or you don't hear any sound at all. Finding items for crafting upgrades is very frustrating and difficult. It's not like Assassin's Creed 3, where items for upgrading are easy to find. The gameplay is very similar to AC3's, so it kind of feels like you're playing the same game. If Ubisoft waited a few years until the next release and took their time developing it so it won't be terrible, that'd be great. The only reason I'm keeping this game is so I have all of the AC games, otherwise, I'd send it back.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassins Creed 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
Location: US
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is by far the best game I've played in 2013. I actually enjoyed this more than i did GTA V, and that was a fun game. Its graphics are top notch, and the stealth just had one flaw which is the inability to crouch. If that's added in Assassins Creed V (if there's gonna be one), this game could be a GOTY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassin's Creed fell off
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
Location: D.C
As a fan of Assassin's Creed since the first one, and a person who has beat every single Assassin's Creed (except this one), I absolutely hate this game. I understand that it is pirate themed, but naval warfare in this game just is not fun. It takes too long, is too repetitive, and difficult. It is just straight up boring. And the story isn't as clear as previous AC games. I really want to like this game, but the boats are just over emphasized. There were boats in AC3, but that wasn't so over emphasized, so it was fun from time to time. But in this game it is like all you do. It doesn't even interest me enough to finish the game. Also, the fighting feels a lot clunkier than previous AC games. I will be tyring to fight someone, and when I press X to attack, or B to block, nothing happens, so my guy just dies repeatedly because he just stands there and gets hit, without even hitting back no matter what I press, or when I press it. I really hope the next AC is a lot better, and I really hope they ditch boats.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates and Assassins needs I say more!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/13
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassins creed 4 has a feel of 1 & 2 with a lot more to do. The ship battles are epic, treasures hunting always fun. It has a feel of Far Cry 3, with the beautiful islands and animal hunting to upgrade your equipment. Pirate/ Assassin take just AMAZING, couldn't ask for more. All in all 4 exceeds in all area's, a must for any assassin creed fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Words can't describe
Posted on:10/25/13
Location: Illinois
I'm an absolute AC fanatic. I've watched the trailers, seen the gameplay demos, and I've already been look at all the paraphernalia. Some people say AC3 was a downfall, and I completely disagree. It brought the game out of the cities, and let you see the wilds, and the seas, to allow for more flawless game play. Before you were somewhat constrained to be within city limits, but now with AC4 the cities are simply one part of the whole thing. Words CAN NOT describe how excited I am.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This might be Interesting...
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: Aberdee, MD
One made Assassins Creed so popular was the story of Alrair and Ezio. The way Ubisoft made the player feel a personal connection with them; you felt their loss, grief, revenge, and triumph. Connor's story was able to fulfill those needs by making the game play begin from childhood to an assassin. However, it wasn't the same, and the fact Ubisoft is releasing a sequel every year waters down the intrigue. I would have waited at least three years before releasing ACIV. I may have revisited the story from the Assassins Creed Embers animation. Being an assassin in China would have been great! I'm Assassins Creed fan for life. I love the genre and the game play. I just hope Ubisoft would have learned something from HALO 4, and give the fans something that is unique to the series.
15 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cj9jones
IN
 
Please wait while more information about cj9jones is loaded.
Additional information about cj9jones could not be loaded.
Posted 3/5/13
I totally agree 100% on everything you just said, but I think they are releasing it early because of the new consoles coming soon. I think they are scrambling to get one more game out before the new consoles come. I have a feeling that the new consoles are not going to be accepted as well as the 360 and ps3 were, and they know that, so they are trying to get their last hoorah for the ps3 and 360. Even so, they should've let it come out for the new consoles to make it more anticipated.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
They never disappoint.
Posted on:3/6/13
Location: Northern, KY
This game looks amazing. The twist on the story is random but I'm pumped to see how it turns out. For those of you wondering if this is just a thrown together game to keep the Assassin franchise going, never fear. Ubisoft kept this game under wraps and have had another one of their studios working on it since they started working on Assassins Creed 3. So don't expect a thrown together game that disappoints. In my opinion this will be just as good as every other AC game if not better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>