GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.969
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (137 reviews)
10 stars
38
9 stars
16
8 stars
1
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
57 out of 6588%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best Assassin's Creed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
CapnBenstead
Location: Springville, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yes I know for the majority of the game you aren't an Assassin and that sucks but you are a pirate! With so many options of what to do! It's absolutely incredible. The story was great, the gameplay was obviously Assassin's Creed but the experience of sailing a ship around the Caribbean definitely made up for it. It's just a GREAT game! And the thing that ties it all together, is that fact that your crew sings shantys when you're sailing on the open sea. That's just awesome. Just buy it already.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Creed Game yet, how are they going to top it?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Xbox360OrPS3
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassins Creed 4 is probably the best game on the 360 right now, ive only found one thing that they could have fixed which is you cant crouch but other than that this game has it all, everything from duel sword wielding, gun shooting,ship sailing that you can control,killing animals for the skin to make your equipment, plus more and everything you probably have done on past Creed games if you have played them. 10/10 Worth the $30 i spent for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AWESOME!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
ac4fan
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Amazing storyline and great gameplay . I was a little dissapointed that you run out of pasttimes after about 3 months but its a good game to replay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassin's Creed fell off
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
sportsguy
Location: D.C
As a fan of Assassin's Creed since the first one, and a person who has beat every single Assassin's Creed (except this one), I absolutely hate this game. I understand that it is pirate themed, but naval warfare in this game just is not fun. It takes too long, is too repetitive, and difficult. It is just straight up boring. And the story isn't as clear as previous AC games. I really want to like this game, but the boats are just over emphasized. There were boats in AC3, but that wasn't so over emphasized, so it was fun from time to time. But in this game it is like all you do. It doesn't even interest me enough to finish the game. Also, the fighting feels a lot clunkier than previous AC games. I will be tyring to fight someone, and when I press X to attack, or B to block, nothing happens, so my guy just dies repeatedly because he just stands there and gets hit, without even hitting back no matter what I press, or when I press it. I really hope the next AC is a lot better, and I really hope they ditch boats.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It was a wonderful game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/14
Anonymous
Location: Beaver Oklahoma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a very good game. I love how you can still play it once you have beat it. Great job Ubisoft. I just hope the next one can be better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
horrible game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
mike789789
Location: tx
really boring. hard. it is not appealing at all .its stupid no one should play this horrible game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best AC game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
xXCynicalXzisXx
Location: Louisiana, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm a hardcore AC fan and TBH AC3 was a letdown but AC 4 is one of the best and it would make AC BETER is if in AC5 if there making it le us crouch
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best Assassin's Creed I have played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
thatgamedude
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Granted, I have only played three games in the franchise (Revelations and AC3), but Black Flag stand above both of them by far. The graphics are outstanding, the voice acting is excellent, the naval combat is exciting and challenging (beware the legendary ships, whose locations are unlocked by capturing forts), the map is bigger than any other game I've played (about four times bigger than AC3), the story is compelling as it kept me coming back more than the other two I've played. There is an immense amount of things to do aside from the main story, such as traveling to all the different islands to collect treasure and hunt animals to upgrade your equipment, completing assassin contracts for a reward, looting caves, collecting treasure maps that contain either the location of the highest upgrade plans for your ship or a treasure chest that will have a few thousand reales in it. Your ship can be upgraded many times from broadside cannons (I think you can have a maximum of 32) to mortars that will deal devastating damage once fully upgraded. Assassin's Creed 4: Black Flag is the most innovative Assassin's Creed to date with a rich amount of extra content from the main story, an enormous world that encourages exploration, and one of the best stories I have seen in a video game. Buy today!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEAST AF
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
totallynotsingle
Location: Arizona
I'm a die hard assassins creed fan. I'm going to be honest AC3 was a disappointment compared to the others. It was still fun but not good. This assassins creed though was so much of an improvement. It brought back what assassins creed originally was with a whole bunch more. I was a little skeptical when I found out the naval gameplay was still involved, but this time it's actually good. You don't have to follow designated coordinates or anything like that. You could anchor your ship anywhere and get out, you could board random ships. I actually had fun being on a ship. Then the story line was a whole massive improvement. The characters were real, and living. The gameplay was awesome, and more realistic. The stealth was improved much. Most importantly, the buildings, the freerunning playground was improved so much, the buildings were awesomely detailed. I can go on and on. If you liked any assassins creed, even if you liked the third, you will love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great job on this years AC
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Joop
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was great, the graphics were awesome, the story was great, and amazing multiplayer. But, after you beat all of the missions there is nothing to do. Maybe unless you are willing to play the campaign over again.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
My Favorite Assassin's Creed game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Jaing
Location: Terre Haute, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Maybe this has something to do with my love of ships and pirate lore, but I loved playing this game. Although there are still a lot of random chests and animus fragments to collect, I found it more bearable than in previous Assassin's Creed games.
I loved the opportunities presented at attacking ship after ship and pillaging their cargo after a successful boarding party raid.
I highly recommend this game for those who don't fear hours of gameplay spent on sailing and searching.
You can, of course, breeze through the campaign quickly and call it a day, but the full 100% synch is worth all the extra time and effort. I have logged over 30 hours of gameplay and am just now finishing the campaign because I have found so much entertainment in the side quests and just all around pirating.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Very cool game, would recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/14
aagerds
Admittedly I didn't know how to take it at first. The controls are very complex and take awhile to get used to, especially the fighting. But once you get the basic fighting controls down it's very fun. The assassinations are epic, and there's nothing like luring a guard toward a bale of hay and dragging him in to stick a knife in him! There can be some frustration with climbing buildings: sometimes Edward will be climbing and then just stop at a ledge, and he'll usually do this when he either needs to be getting to a location stealthily or he's being shot at. Also, when you're trying to sneak through a military compound, occasionally Ed would climb on top of a bunch of boxes so EVERYONE can see him. However, if you've played for a couple hours and have gotten the fighting controls down you can easily take on six+ guards. Anyway, overall a great game and would recommend it to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It is one of the best games ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/14
lordgunner
Location: eagle pass tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played every day since i got it.It is extremely cool and I wish I could play more. The only problem is the underwater diving.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Fun yet disappointing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/14
InformerForYou
Location: AZ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I mean this games great but it let me down. Story wasn't great I prefer the older traditional type Assassin Creed's. It was fun at first but got boring doing the same old stuff. You need to add more fun events.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
this game is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
mcbudderking23
Location: wilmington, DE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome. this is not for any gamer, this is for people who like to actually play games. this game is for people who like parkour and action. out of all the assassins creeed games i`v played, this is by far the funnest. Honestly, playing black flag has allowed me to get attached to Edward Kenway and I hope ubisoft makes more assassins creed games with Edward Kenway.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC4 is a great, unique game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
RobbotWarrior57
Location: Orange County, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has been an awesome game so far. i purchased it when it first came out in October. AC4 is stunning with its magnificent game play and beautiful graphics. Honestly this has been one of my most favorite games of 2013. i completed the game in about 3 days. the campaign is not that hard. You will have to upgrade your ship though. I have achieved about 90% of all the achievements there are. The DLC is also stunning with its story. I would highly suggest purchasing this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/14
babybadger911
Location: the world
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, if you play AC a lot, you know about Desmond and all his stuff, so this game might seem like call of duty because it is like the other games. It does have enough fresh content to feel like a game though. The naval combat is great and so is hunting animals, especially sharks and iguanas. It feels very open-world. The storyline could be a bit longer, but it is still great. Getting the dlc freedom cry is also good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/14
Domowick
Location: Dahlonega, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag is the technical 6th installment of the amazing Assassin's Creed franchise. The singleplayer is what I'll cover first since that's what Assassin's Creed is all about. Singlplayer: the campaign this go around is amazing with stunning visuals, the biggest open world we've seen in Assassin's Creed, a new protagonist, and a lot more sneaking. ACIV has brought back sneaking something ACIII lacked. It improves on stalking zones making them more dense and realistic, adds yet another form of hiding and allows you to tag enemies using eagle vision. The way you select weapons is also changed, instead of holding RB and selecting whats on your D-Pad(I just want to note I only have it for xbox so if you want a Playstation review look at the playstation version of the game) it's all there. Graphics are still the same from ACIII but more colorfull and without as many visible pixels and more realistic movement. The story itself is new and refreshing. The protagonist is a pirate/privateer Edward Kenway who has the easy going personality of Ezio and the fighting skills of Connor and Ezio combined. The open world of the Caribbean is the largest yet with hundreds of islands to find on. There are multiple main cities I can't even think of all of them off the top of my head but here are few Nassau, Havana, Kingston, and Iguana Bay. Like all Assassin's Creeds there are famous people you might have heard of Blackbeard comes to and personaly I'd rather hang with Blackbeard over George Washington any day. ACIV campaign 9.5 out of 10 for just a few glitches and other things. Multiplayer: It's back and better. This time we have charactors, items reminiscent of old charactors new gametypes, and renewed ones as well. For right now though I'm not going review it because it's going to really biased. 8.5 out of 10. Overall 9 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This is the best Assassin's Creed yet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
Swankbuscuit22
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay in unreal. The naval battles one-upped the already flawless batles from assassin's creed three. If you don't already have this game, get it... NOW.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Good, not great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/14
MasterHorder
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wasn't into the earlier Assassin's even though I did play the first one. Never finished it though. I was too busy playing Gears, Madden & Red Dead. After glowing recommendations from many people I take seriously when it comes to gaming, I went and got Black flag and I was very impressed with the graphics and game play. The story was really good but there was just something about it that I didn't love. I can't really put my finger on it but I'll tell you that I will get it for Xbox one very soon and play it through.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>