GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
9.013
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
10 stars
42
9 stars
25
8 stars
2
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
71 out of 7990%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 21 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This might be Interesting...
Posted on:3/4/13
ayala6028
Location: Aberdee, MD
One made Assassins Creed so popular was the story of Alrair and Ezio. The way Ubisoft made the player feel a personal connection with them; you felt their loss, grief, revenge, and triumph. Connor's story was able to fulfill those needs by making the game play begin from childhood to an assassin. However, it wasn't the same, and the fact Ubisoft is releasing a sequel every year waters down the intrigue. I would have waited at least three years before releasing ACIV. I may have revisited the story from the Assassins Creed Embers animation. Being an assassin in China would have been great! I'm Assassins Creed fan for life. I love the genre and the game play. I just hope Ubisoft would have learned something from HALO 4, and give the fans something that is unique to the series.
15 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cj9jones
IN
 
Please wait while more information about cj9jones is loaded.
Additional information about cj9jones could not be loaded.
Posted 3/5/13
I totally agree 100% on everything you just said, but I think they are releasing it early because of the new consoles coming soon. I think they are scrambling to get one more game out before the new consoles come. I have a feeling that the new consoles are not going to be accepted as well as the 360 and ps3 were, and they know that, so they are trying to get their last hoorah for the ps3 and 360. Even so, they should've let it come out for the new consoles to make it more anticipated.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 22 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
They never disappoint.
Posted on:3/6/13
Whobrey
Location: Northern, KY
This game looks amazing. The twist on the story is random but I'm pumped to see how it turns out. For those of you wondering if this is just a thrown together game to keep the Assassin franchise going, never fear. Ubisoft kept this game under wraps and have had another one of their studios working on it since they started working on Assassins Creed 3. So don't expect a thrown together game that disappoints. In my opinion this will be just as good as every other AC game if not better.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
A Refreshing Spin on the Series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
cubsfan8220
Location: Waukesha, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When you think "Black Flag," of course the first thing you'll think of with it being an AC game is, well...pirates. That was extremely well done by then. They really have a way of making you feel like you're personally in that time era. The game play is, as usual, fantastic. Very fluid movement, not to mention the absolutely incredible ship battles. Something I feel they could have done better, though, is branched off of the main story a bit and given you a few more reasons to do the side missions. That, and given more emotional attachment to characters other than Edward. They could be saving that for next game, but it was no reason not to here.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One of the best action adventures i've played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/14
TrueGamer247
Location: Ohio,
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Black flag is better than ac3. The gameplay is better than ac3. Such as the combat, stealth, and open world. The world is way larger. The navel combat(ship combat) is way better than 3's. Assassin's creed 4 is a great single player game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 25 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great awesome assassin creed game this year and so
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/13
Dizzy247
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a rate 10 all the way I love this game its fun thrilling and enjoyful this game is fill with so many surprises.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Game Other Than GTA V
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
bbodner
Location: Ridgefield, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is spectacular. The gameplay at sea and on land is flawless, easy, and fun as ****. Fighting on the ground is similar to the brutality of AC3 with a bit more swiftness. The dual cutlasses and quad pistols are extremely fun to use and absolutely destroy everyone. The naval is much more fun and easier than AC3 and boarding ships is a blast. The campaign is definitely different than the others in many ways giving you many surprises and fun missions. i do have one complete which is why i gave it one point done on the lasting appeal section. This game feels more like a pirate game rather than an assassin game. You can only realize this from playing it and i dont want to give spoilers but edward isnt really an assassin like Altair, Ezio, and Connor. however the way he learns about the Assassins and Templars is much more interesting than the other games. Other than the fact that this is more of a pirate game, this game is SPECTACULAR. So if you dont really care about how Edward is a different type of an assassin and care more about the raw gameplay, this game will blow your mind. but if you are an assassins creed nerd like me then you will still probably love it because of its individuality to other assassins creed games and its gameplay. This is a MUST GET game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Theories...
Posted on:3/10/13
HaloElite61
Location: Maryland
Ubisoft didn't just make this in a year its been in development, the company is split into teams the team that made AC3 started as soon as AC2 was finished while the other teams made brotherhood and another revelation. As soon as revelation was finished they started work on AC4 with the brotherhood team so in that case it wasn't just a game made in a year. Also to our new Assassin with Desmonds death we need a new direct descendant and I bet it will be somebody with the last name Kenway. Edward could have had a sister or an aunt that was also an assassin like Ezios sister was that could have made up to the point of the Miles family while since Males keep their last name there could be some Kenways out their who were in the field while Desmond saved the world. Also the 1700's is obviously going to be the next timeline for a couple games just like the Italian Renaissance so you need to explore everything, so next is grandpa. :) Cant wait.....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 28 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Assassin's Creed Lives Up to It's Hype
Posted on:6/21/13
ShadowXSniper
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Altiar and Etzio captivated audiences as players bonded with them and saw their constant battle and search for the Apple. Then Connor came and people saw the side of an assassin fighting for a different purpose, they saw him grow up. Their was a flaw with ACIII though. They sped up Connor's older life and battle with his father's group of Templars. You didn't get to get as personal with Connor as with Etzio or Altiar. On the upside though, Assassin's Creed has always raised the bar and shown that they have no limit to what they can do to change things and surprise the fans and after the ending of AC3 and a new pirate assassin I think they can take a lot of creative liberty here to expand or start a new which can make a series 10 time better, or a complete flop. Although Ubisoft has done an amazing job with the other Assassin's Creeds and I expect them to do the same thing again, I am pre-ordering this and looking forward to a great game.
Review 29 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Just One Question
Posted on:5/12/13
jkla
Location: California
If Conner Kenway's grandfather was trained by the Assassins ; how did his dad become a Templar? Anyways i'm sure they'll expain if they haven't already . But besides my question i have no doubts that this game is going to be awsome !
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
jkla
California
 
Please wait while more information about jkla is loaded.
Additional information about jkla could not be loaded.
Thanks
Posted 7/19/13
thanks for explaining it to me whole thing didnt make any sense to me until now
Customer Avatar
MoistDonut
Harlingen, TX
 
Please wait while more information about MoistDonut is loaded.
Additional information about MoistDonut could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Its been explained
Posted 7/18/13
This is something you should google and you will figure out in 5 minutes after reading. Edward raised his son to be an assassin but eventually Edwards good/best friend Reginald Birch (the guy in AC3 in the theater with Haytham at the beginning) found out Edward was an assassin while Birch was a Templar. The two had a big arguement which ended with Birch storming out of the Kenway household. Later a few men (templars) invaded, destroyed, and killed Edward, his wife, and kidnapped his sister. Edward fended the men off but died fighting the 3 men. Soon after, Birch took Haytham under his wing and raised him as a Templar, while Haytham had no idea Birch was the one who orchestrated Edward to be killed, and birch kidnapped Haythams sister. SPOILERS!!!!! Eventually Haytham finds out this treachery and kills Birch in revenge, and frees his sister, but still sides with the Templars due to his views.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 30 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Biggest AC world
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/14
TrueGamer247
Location: Ohio,
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think assassin's creed 4 has better gameplay than ac3 and a very big open world. The navel combat is awesome. The story is good. I think if you want to play a good action adventure game, people should check this out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 31 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Already?
Posted on:3/8/13
Emadd
Location: Firestone, CO
Don't get me wrong. I am a HUGE AC fan and Ubisoft fan. But... one year exactly? I hope this isn't turning into a Call of Duty money-grubbing series that loses it's vibe. Don't fall to the big corporations, Ubisoft. We're counting on you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
30 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ctop91
 
Please wait while more information about Ctop91 is loaded.
Additional information about Ctop91 could not be loaded.
They spent 2.5 years on this game
Posted 10/21/13
Actually this game has been in the making for nearly 3 years. It took them 3 years to develop AC3 and half that time was spent on making the new game engine, and once they had that they started working on both games simultaneously because they wanted to keep their story connected, and have one ready for the release of the Xbox One. So don't worry, they had multiple teams working on multiple games for multiple years. This game will not disappoint.
Customer Avatar
ColossusDR
 
Please wait while more information about ColossusDR is loaded.
Additional information about ColossusDR could not be loaded.
So unfortunate.
Posted 3/21/13
Unfortunately that's the way they've gone. multiplayer passes, annual release, expensive DLC, it's all tumbled down a hill and has already gained quite a bit of momentum(and is gaining more as we speak). One year is not nearly enough time to make a game as you said, and this will probably be the end of Assassin's Creed for me. RIP AC.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 32 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Very cool game, would recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/14
aagerds
Admittedly I didn't know how to take it at first. The controls are very complex and take awhile to get used to, especially the fighting. But once you get the basic fighting controls down it's very fun. The assassinations are epic, and there's nothing like luring a guard toward a bale of hay and dragging him in to stick a knife in him! There can be some frustration with climbing buildings: sometimes Edward will be climbing and then just stop at a ledge, and he'll usually do this when he either needs to be getting to a location stealthily or he's being shot at. Also, when you're trying to sneak through a military compound, occasionally Ed would climb on top of a bunch of boxes so EVERYONE can see him. However, if you've played for a couple hours and have gotten the fighting controls down you can easily take on six+ guards. Anyway, overall a great game and would recommend it to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 33 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Beautiful scenery, Amazing story, Thrilling action
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/13
andrewprice
Location: Concord, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassins creed 4 black flag is one of the best games i've ever played.I really only bought my ps3 console for the assassins creed series. I was most impressed with assassins creed 2 and thought that no other game could outmatch it. But along came ac4 which has an amazing setting. I loved sailing into the sunlight whilst my crew sings a shanty. I had a few complaints about this game: Ship battles (mostly boarding them) can get very repetitive. It almost felt like a chore having to board ships as i progressed throughout the story, i also did love it though. There were a few noticeable bugs but none ruined the game at all. In the story the game is called "Assassins creed" yet you never really become an actual assassin.... you're really just a pirate who "crosses paths" with the assassins and templars but soon gives up his greed and arogance and settles down to a much calmer hobby. Assassinating :).
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 34 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pretty good but not the best.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/14
EdwardTeach
Location: Yakima, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the Assassin's Creed series but on this game I didn't really like the sailing and ocean combat.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 35 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Gonna be another BIG one!
Posted on:3/8/13
Shamus
I can't wait for AC4 to come out. AC3 was really good, and I was really impressed by everything about it. After the success of a stellar game like that, expect this game to take it to even greater heights. This October, you're gonna want and need to buy this game.It's gonna big. So, come October, buy this game. I don't think anyone who does will regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FrostCobra
 
Please wait while more information about FrostCobra is loaded.
Additional information about FrostCobra could not be loaded.
Pre-order bonuses
Posted 10/11/13
So is Captian Morgans outfit for Mulitplayer or Single player?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 36 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The golden age of piracy
Posted on:4/29/13
THAV1RUS
Location: belleville,MI
I agree with those that say this game was rushed and the fact that the story just took a step back in time to a place where you play as haythem kenways father edward kenway is very confusing but the improvements ubisoft has shown with each game in the assassins creed lineage are incredible with every ac game they have come out has let the player get more in touch with the character. and now they have come up with a greaat idea they took assassins creed and launched it into The golden age of piracy i just hope edward kenway doesnt turn into another captain jack sparrow from pirates of the caribbean. but the amazing colors and textures ubisoft has put into this game are going to be breathtaking and now the fact that you can now explore underwater is great and this was a great time period to put this game in truly brilliant ubisoft and now we dont have to deal with those annoying parts in the gamae where it would tell us area not available during current memory no now you must upgrade your ship and take on those ships that block the open ocean so you can explore even farther into the caaribbean.the gamer also gets to go on constant missions with their personlized ship instead of completing all the ship missions and then your stuck with a giant floating device like in ac3. and theyve also thrown in some very famous characters like black beard and others. and all new ways to counter your opponents attacks because ik that we all hate doing the same counter move over and over and over now we get to utilize our environment when in conflict. Ubisoft has also thrown in alot of exotic animals that you may hunt when your board or when you want to build or upgrade components on your character along with the sea life like sharks whales squid fish this game is truly amazing Ubisoft put everything into this game and i cant wait to get it -THA V1RUS
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This is my game of the year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/14
Franklinclinton
Location: Dothan,Al
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you like Assassin's creed and pirates this game is perfect for you. The naval combat is now advanced you can upgrade the Jackdaw more than The Aquila sorry if I misspelled that I won't give any part of the story. But, all in all GET THIS GAME now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 38 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
ZombieKiller22
Location: GEORGIA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
By far my favorite AC of all time! I love the theme of pirates, but I am not a big fan of the abstergo part in the game! The ending is 10 times better than the AC3!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
the game is incredible...... at times
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
jrcabrera7
Location: los angeles, california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ac4 relates to the creed in a dissapointing way, no more desmond, and you work for abstergo. The "assassin" you play as is a pirate!!! The game should be called pirates creed in my opinion. He leaves his wife for money, and he does this incredible journey for money!!! Not even close to help the assassins, in fact he endangers them in the first place. The lad doesnt even know the creed, they simply stumble onto the same paths while the lad edward and his crew are looking for money. Im not saying you shouldnt buy this game, when your on land, the combat and freerun from the lad is similar or even better than the past assassins creed games. You just dont feel like you belong to the group, you feel as if youre a lone wolf with the help of a couple pirates on the way. The scenery is great but boring at times, when you first start sailing you adore the graphics and the feel of your crew members singing, but later on you just wish that you had a teleporter. Basically, its a great game that relates to the creed in a way you wouldnt expect. I want Ubisoft to take a step back and go back to fully 100% working with assassins, not just sharing the same interests.I want to be in the creed, not just be awkwardly together with them.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brycers
Chicago,IL
 
Please wait while more information about Brycers is loaded.
Additional information about Brycers could not be loaded.
New AC
Posted 1/29/14
I think this game is really cool the ship the fighting your pirate hideout but do you guys think they should go back to the first world war just think about it Assassins Creed V Great War, the Templars could be the Germans and the Assassins the Allies just think of it Ubisoft.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 40 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Can't wait
Posted on:3/7/13
K2KING
Location: somewhere in NM
I have been a fan of assassin's creed ever since i played as altiar for the first time. I maybe the only one of my friends that thinks this but assassins creed 4 black flag looks so incredibly cool (hopefully no more Desmond). And they are introducing another character rather then extending the chronicles of Connor as they did with Ezio
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
zanaku25
holly,co
 
Please wait while more information about zanaku25 is loaded.
Additional information about zanaku25 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/24/13
When I saw this game I though man this game will suck but in the last few months I have thought more & more now this game looks sick if you can buy it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>