GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.88
8.9
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
15
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
47 out of 5094%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
ASSASSIN!!!
Posted on:7/22/13
Location: Williamsburg,VA
Assassin's Creed IV will be amazing,especialy the Gamestop Edition so go pre-order now to get Black Island pack and a Map/Poster . I want them to keep coming every year ,I love Assssin's Creed 3 :)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Too Fast AC3 Fans ?
Posted on:6/1/13
Location: lakeworth
Is it me or did they pass Assassin's Creed 3 too fast? I thought the game was ok but instead of just passing to make a Assassin's Creed 4, Ubisoft could had extended Connors story. Connor was my favorite character and I don't like it when they overextended Ezio's story, but have just one game on Connor Kenway ? that's not right. But still, this does look like a very good game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Stop Complaining. This Game Is Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
Location: ...
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Got it Day 1 And It Still Entertains Me. Great Storyline and Gameplay. FPS Feel In Abstergo Felt GREAT. Hacking Animuses (Or Animi, Whichever Is Correct) Is Extremely Fun. Cant wait 'Till 2015 For The New Assassin's Creed Movie!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best AC since AC2
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
Location: Tempe, AZ
In my opinion, Assassins Creed 2 completely changed the face of the series in comparison to the first game. Revelations was easily forgotten, but things changed with the introduction of AC 3 and it just keeps getting better. This installment in the series is quite possibly the best game to date. There is SO much to do. I have been chipping away at this game between work and homework for the last few weeks and I'm still only 50% through the game. It's easily a game you can stretch out to last you 2 months or longer. The pirate theme of the game is definitely entertaining. The map is fantastic. SHIP BATTLES!!! SO MANY SHIP BATTLES!!! Just do yourself a favor and play the game. If you've lost faith in the series, give it a shot. If you've never played any of the games go buy the titles I recommend below. The only reason I'm not giving the game a perfect rating is for the typical glitches you find in a game this big.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Direction
Posted on:3/12/13
Location: Boulder, CO
Firsty, for all of those who continuously put ubisoft down for having yearly AC releases. Quit complaining. The AC games always provide something new, and many of us love being captivated by new eras and protagonists. If you don't like the yearly releases, don't buy the game. If you want ubisoft to move on, they already have. Ubisoft does not solely develop Ac games. They have many others including Far Cry 3 which was killer, and the return of Spliter Cell later this year that definitely looks promising. If you like AC, be excited for this one. If you don't, no one cares.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
96 of 113 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Stop it Ubisoft!
Posted 8/14/13
I don't like Assassin's Creed it's aninti Christian and it is dumb that they make a new one every year. They are many other games that support or at the very least don't attacked my fath and have better gameplay as well.
Customer Avatar
Eindridi
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Eindridi is loaded.
Additional information about Eindridi could not be loaded.
Only bad thing...
Posted 3/31/13
The only bad thing about this game is that we have to wait until October to play it!! If you haven't played any of the Assassins Creed games prior to Black Flag, now's your chance to join in!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Epic + Fail = EPIC FAIL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/13
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I spent 56+ hours since the release date. It is one glitch after another. I have completed 92% of the map. Completing every assassin contract, every naval contract, cleared all major towns, minor towns, and forts, save for 1. Although I did complete it, the game didn't give me credit for it and won't let me do it again as it is no longer on the map. Which means the only way I can get 100%, is to start over. A waste of 56 hours of gameplay is a HUGE glitch. Ubisoft spent a lot of time programming the rigging between ship during the boarding, but Edward can't climb and often falls to his death, jumps overboard, or just won't go where you want him to. I spent more time dealing with glitches in this game than ALL previous AC games combined.
Here is how I rate the AC Console games:
AC 2
AC Brotherhood
AC
AIII (I don't think Conner even knows the creed)
ACIV (I would put it dead last due to the glitches, but at least there is a lot to do)
AC Revelations
I recommend it for hardcore gamers who are use to games loaded with glitches.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Just what I've been waiting for.
Posted on:3/4/13
Although this setting doesn't look as fun as the revolutionary war, I love the connection to Connor and Haytham. I really liked the naval battles in AC3, so I look forward to some improvements. I am also very glad that they are bringing back hunting, because that was one of my favorite parts of AC3. I really want to see a new present day protagonist that will be better than Desmond Miles. He was my least favorite part of Assassin's Creed, and I hope that if there are any present-day missions, they will be a bit more entertaining.
20 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
6packhero
 
Please wait while more information about 6packhero is loaded.
Additional information about 6packhero could not be loaded.
AC4 Black Flag
Posted 3/7/13
This will be the best AC4 yet.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
One Of The Best Games That I've Ever Played!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/14
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was amazing! I love how it is more unique than any other games in the series. Yes, you are an assassin, but the game doesn't focus on struggle, death, and how the Templar's are going to rule the world, like the other games do. Yes, it has that in there, but mainly you are just a pirate, who likes to pillage and plunder! The graphics are some of the best that I have seen in games. The soundtrack was amazing. The gameplay, while still not great, (basically just a button masher game), was improved a little from the games in the past. The story was very well written. My only problem is that there are LOTS of glitches and bugs in this game. I don't know if it's just my PS3 acting up or what, but you can't go ten minutes without something terrible happening! So, if you are to get this game, I would recommend getting it for PS4 or Xbox One instead. But if you don't have either of those yet, like me, you should still get it. Assassin's Creed II is still the best in the series, but this one rests as 2nd place in my book. This game is awesome!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Arrrrmazing looking
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: Florida
This game looks sooo promising, the cg for previews the new detail put into the ship and the crew, Edward and the ladies. Gosh I can't wait for it to come out. They look like they really fixed up the game to an even Higher standard then EVER. Crossing my fingers for the collectors edition to be released
17 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Assassin's Creed Game To Date
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/15
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So many different things you need to complete to get 100% synch... assassin contracts, naval contracts, templar hunts, main missions, ship/armor/outfit upgrading and buried treasure. Each location has its own animals to hunt and sell. Naval battles and pillaging is so much fun, however steering your ship can be a little annoying. Occasional glitches, but not too bad. The soundtrack is good for Assassin's Creed, but not compared to other games. The storyline is great and captures your attention from the start. Must buy for any Assassin's Creed fan
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Stunning
Posted on:10/27/13
Location: Huntington, WV
From everything I have seen so far, this game looks absolutely amazing. The wide-range of combat in the story line will make the game last forever, it feels. The exploration is being taken to an entirely new level. They are taking a step towards next-gen with this new title and I'm going to be right there behind them. Many have their doubts about the story line and the way the game is heading, but with the release just around the corner I can honestly say I am astounded to get my hands on it. Sure, the last AC was a disappointment, but that has nothing to do with this title. Being such a great franchise, you can't just let one bad installment ruin the entire game for you. I am excited to see what they do with this game, what they will change and what they will add, and for the DLC that is set to release. Everything seems to be looking ahead and not behind and I hope that it stays that way.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
A Must Have For PS3 or PS4!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/13
Location: Bartlett, TN
First off, I have to say I never played an Assassin's Creed game AT ALL! I told myself I'm gonna try something different, and boy, I feel like an idiot for taking so long to play this series! The game is solid! The detail that went into the environments as well as the characters is ridiculous. The AI respond perfectly. Whenever you take someone down and there are civilians near, they react by backing away from you, taking notice of the dead body, or shout something at you like "Please don't kill me" or "You need to go now". The enemy AI respond well, too, taking notice of any of your gunshots. I'm not very far in the game. I've been doing A LOT of side activities to get accustomed to the controls, which are very responsive. I get a kick out of taking guards down from behind or watching them look for me while I'm pointing my pistol at them from the top of the roof. The music is excellent and suits each area. It's nothing generic. It's a solid game all over, so much so that now I'm going to back and start from the very beginning of this series! This is a game that you should definitely play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Flawless
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I picked this game up from GameStop, and started on the campaign, I literally fell In love with the storyline. I must say, now that I'm a good quarter into the campaign, I haven't found anything wrong with this game. However, there are many things I do like about this game. The first major thing I like, is the naval warfare. this is more of a general appeal, so let me be more specific; the fact that you can board ships whenever you want. in AC3, you had to currently be on a mission to board a ship, on the other hand, in AC4, you can board them whenever you like. Another thing I liked, was the dual swords. The dual swords added new, devastating moves for Edward to preform, which formed a great appeal for me. Another thing I liked, was that Ubisoft kept many of the gun counter attacks from AC3. The main thing I like about this game, is the storyline. It appeals to me because of the pirate times, and just how the character's actions really definitely appeal and define their personalities. Great job Ubisoft, I hope to see more of this great work in the futures- ESPECIALLY FOR NEXT- GEN CONSOLES!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
DOPE!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/13
Location: Nashville, TN
I'm not even a heavy gamer but the graphics and gameplay on AC4 is nice nice! They did a great job on the open world and hunting is cool. I love the islands so this game will get the most play most def.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Exploration at it's best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For anyone who's ever dreamed of being a pirate, or for some of us who never realized how much we wanted to... this as close as it comes, without actually risking death and disease that is. How better to enjoy the exploration and freedom then from the comfort of your own home. In all seriousness though, the sandbox-esk open sea and smooth control of your ship had me believing I could smell the salty waters myself. The game is also filled with your usual assassin’s fun; overcoming adversity, the satisfaction of the perfect kill, the splendid gear and gadgets, and of course the defeat of the Templars. Factors that I've always enjoyed through the series, but my heart got swooped up by the freedom of the sea with this adventure and if you can't feel the wind in your hair yourself, you can always listen to your mateys belting a shanty!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Ummmmm....... idk.......
Posted on:3/5/13
Location: Lowell, MA
This is really risky for Ubisoft. I think that the naval combat in ACIII was okay... but not amazing. It's hard to tell if a game centered around this, shall I say, mediocre theme will sell well. Also, am I the only person who is completely bored by desmond? I mean, in ACII I'll be upgrading the Villa, or buying the new armor when suddenly, "Good job Desmond. Now do a 20 minute completely pointless and boring mission in modern times." REALLY? Why did they need the Animus? Just have it set in the times of the Animus! It would be a lot cooler with these intermissions gone. Just saying. I don't know if anyone else agrees.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood
9.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
15 of 55 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
gamerboy25
williamsburg va
 
Please wait while more information about gamerboy25 is loaded.
Additional information about gamerboy25 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/22/13
That's exactly how I am bro , I hate that. Why can't the flow of the game just go, but whatever its till fun. I cant wait for the naval battles though that will be sweet.
Customer Avatar
LivingByTheCreed
 
Please wait while more information about LivingByTheCreed is loaded.
Additional information about LivingByTheCreed could not be loaded.
Posted 3/8/13
in this one desmond really is dead, you play as you (yes you) in modern day, you have been hired by abstergo who has improved the animus so anyone can see the lives of anyone else's ancestors
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The Best Assassin's Creed game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
Location: San Diego,Ca
I have played all the Assassin's Creed games(except #1) and this one is the best, even better than well acclaimed #2. Really long game(I hate games that only take a week to beat) with many side missions and exploration(amazing ship battles) that will keep you busy for a long time. It didn't have the really slow start that AC3 had, instead they throw you straight into the action right from the start and it feels like it never stops. It probably has the best single player in a game this year(maybe GTA 5 or the Last Of Us) in my opinion. They don't really make any good pirate games, but this one changes it all and you will be addicted from start to finish. One of the best free roam games out there. So hyped for Assassin's Creed Comet(I would get Unity also but I have no money for next-gen consoles haha!)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing New Addition
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/13
Location: Mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The constant changes AC has made have been revolutionary and It is something to be celebrated. Is it Game of the Year worthy??? I don't personally think so but it is worthy of praise. The ability to be a pirate, pillage and plunder on the sea is something that has barely been explored and I for one love it. It is a massive upgrade from AC3 which did not have nearly as much control over the ship and its maneuvering when it came to ship battles. The overall strength and successful blending of ship battles and takeover has been done masterfully. As with any game that can always get better there are a few kinks in its well crafted armor. The PS3's version as with many games has a bit of a jumpyness to it at times but when it matters it executes like it should. The enemy AI is aware even though sometimes I wish they weren't. It just adds to the no change difficulty of the game. The innovative weapon combinations as well as fighting styles of assassins is always a plus and no game looks the same. The story line is always good and adds twists when needed. I recommend this game to anybody that likes innovative open world games with the ability to take over and obey the Creed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Love It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
Location: Wichita, KS
I love this game! I've played all of the Assassins Creed games and this is one of the best. The open world aspect is beautiful and going from the Jackdaw to going on land is seamless. My only complaints are that I miss being a member of the Assassins, as Edward is just a pirate, and I wish there were more large cities. The main storyline is fun but did not captivate me like previous games in the series. Aside from the main storyline, the sheer number of side missions and exploring there is to do is absolutely amazing. It never gets old to sail on the open seas and run amok in one of the cities. The addition of Edward having two swords is awesome and made me feel like a badass. I haven't even touched the online yet, as I have been engrossed in the single player for the past 2 months
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This Game Looks Sick!
Posted on:5/13/13
Location: Greensboro, NC
I am a big Assassin's Creed fan and i loved Far Cry 3 so i'm excited what they have to bring to the table. AC3 was a good game but i think the american revolution wasn't the best era. America is a boring place for the AC series but the Carribean sounds like it would be great. i pre-ordered the game because i am excite for it and i'm a true AC fan. if you don't like it then no one is forcing you to buy it and a lot of other people are true fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>