GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.88
8.9
(98 Reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
15
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
47 out of 5094%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 21 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
GREAT BUT?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/14
Location: IN
great game but I have good and bad news lets go with the bad news assassins creed black flag is more of a off story game if your a assassins creed fan then you will know when I say that this game is not a assassins creed game and what I mean by that is that this game is more like a pirate of the Caribbean reject this game has nothing to do with assassins creed I mean the main character is a washed up pirate who some how has kung fu assassins moves that he some how does so will out magic maybe ? will ok if he's a karate god haha. now the good news this game has a great deal of open world gameplay and there is so much to do I spent hours and hours just finding new things over and over the story is not that good but will keep you wanting more /RATING.// GAMPLAY is fast smooth and fun with a wide range of weapons and outfits./GRAPHICS// great graphics and the sea is just so amazing to look at. // LASTING APPLEAL// this game will keep you playing for hours and hours and its fun to do..//all round this game is great if your not looking for a assassins creed game type story but a fun and open world game.. like my comment check my other ones to C U LATER [P.S I HOPE PIRATES OF THE CARIBBEAN DOESN'T SEND OUT A COPYRIGHT HAHAHAHAHAH. C YA
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 22 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Wow - Most impressive!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I may have some bias because I love pirate games. I haven't been "wowed" by a pirate game since Uncharted Waters New Horizons for the SNES. This game has me hoping that there will be a "Black Flag 2" and I haven't even fully finished the game. You're thrown into the story and you instantly fall in love with characters. The gameplay is fantastic and you feel the stress that is cannonballs coming at you in high speed. You'll battle ships, pirates, military, sharks, water spouts, tidal waves, and much more. Oh, plus the multiplayer is a nice bonus.... OH and if you buy the ps3 version then you can upgrade to the PS4 game for only $10...I mean what's not to love? Watch some youtube videos on gameplay and see for yourself how amazing this game is.. it's a must buy....period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 23 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I bought this game, and started on it, it definitely pulled me in with some amazing things that I like about this game. So far, playing this game there hasn't really been anything that I DISLIKE about this game. one of the main things that I like, is the fact that you have two swords. this adds a whole new level of devastating, boss moves for Edward to preform when in combat. Another thing I liked, was the addition where you can shoot your pistols rapidly by pressing triangle repeatedly. It does do less damage, but it definitely defines Edward's pirate personality. Another huge thing I liked about this game, is that you can board other ships whenever you want. in AC3, you had to be on a mission to board a ship. in Black flag, you can set sail from any island or dock, and board ships at random. One of the final things I like, is the storyline. when the game begun, I literally fell in love with the story line. the fact that he lies to Stede Bonnet that he's a privateer when he's really a pirate, adds so much suspense to the game on it's own. Another thing about the storyline, is I just happen to like the pirate times. This game really defined Assassin's creed, and I hope to see more of this in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 24 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEST ASSASSIN CREED EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game when it came out and im not even bored of it it is so fun because there is a new setting and new charater its the best and i would recommend it to everyone...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/14
Location: Pennsylvania,PA
It''s a fun game for teens or young adults but I wouldn't recommend this to a hardcore gaming friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 26 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC Pirate edition....ok i guess?!
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: severance,co
i really enjoy playing assassins creed, but what i liked so much about the games was the setup of the story, and how it forms...but this game looks like a waste of time!! i rather enjoyed playing as connor in AC3, but i dont feel i need to play as his grandpa (who is surprisingly the main charecter, and a pirate). I feel that Ubisoft didnt need to make another new charecter, and setting....they really should of kept connor, and make some more titles with him, like they did with Ezio Auditore back in 2009-2011. those games made alot of money, but when Ubisoft does stupid stuff like this, it dosent satisfy anyone....all i can hope is that they dont rush this game, not that im getting it, or anything!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 3 500GB Assassin's Creed III Bundle
9 out of 10(67)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AdrianR
Las Vegas NV
 
Please wait while more information about AdrianR is loaded.
Additional information about AdrianR could not be loaded.
WOW
Posted 8/20/13
Bro they cant continue Conner'a story because the world was destroyed in ACIII and I cant see how the can continue when Desmond and the whole world IS GONE!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 27 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Cannot Wait!!!!
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: NJ
I have all five Assassin's Creed games. I hated the first one, loved the second one and loved Brotherhood, I hated Revelations, and was I disappointed with Assassin's Creed 3. Hopefully Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag will be different!!! I will Pre-order this as soon as I can.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood
9.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Doccer
 
Please wait while more information about Doccer is loaded.
Additional information about Doccer could not be loaded.
I Like What's Happening
Posted 3/19/13
I loved the Naval Warfare part ACIII and I am gald that they are expanding on it and though I do hope that they go back to Connor again some day at least to give him a proper ending it will certainly be interesting and exciting to see how Connor's Grandfather was Assasin but his father (his Grandfather's SON) became Templar. Also Urbisoft one thing I hope you put into this game is fishing make it so we can hunt aquatic creatures. I saw fish in the last game and thought Hey! if there is fish in the rivers then why can't we hunt them?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 28 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
i would recommend this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/14
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i would recommend this game to anyone who like open world games. I think this is the most fun game i have played since gta 5.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 29 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best game in AC Series by far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
Location: Williamsburg,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is an excellent game, If I was to rate it I would give it a 9.8. The only reason is because of the multiplayer, don't get me wrong the multiplayer is great I just think that they could make it a free roam multiplayer sorta like GTA Online but thats just my opinion.The single player is amazing especially the naval combat. I love the blow-dart and the multi-pistols as tools, and for weapons I like the dual cutlasses. The present day missions are really good as well, they are all first person but they are still very good. In the present day missions I like how you have stuff to do when you get out of the animus, like hacking other animus’ and eavesdropping on conversations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 30 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excited for ACIV!
Posted on:7/21/13
Location: Charlotte, NC
I'm psyched about Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag! It's gonna be my first Assassin's Creed game! I've watched the most of the Assassin's Creed 3 campaign. The only thing I'm worried about is that I personally like the layout of a city like Boston, and the cities I've seen so far in Assassin's Creed IV don't look sorta like overgrown cities. They're stout buildings with vines and palm trees sprawling everywhere. I loved how Boston looked in Assassin's Creed 3, and I hope at least one city looks a bit like Boston, but without snow and rebels and all. All in all, I'm looking forward to AC4!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awesome
Posted on:3/12/13
There's only one thing I don't like, we have to play as an abstergo agent playing the uploaded memories of William miles. I mean come on, I actually kinda liked the Desmond part. And I still don't get why Shaun and Rebecca didn't hate him a bit after killing Lucy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Good ideas
Posted on:5/31/13
Location: Georgia GA
This is a good idea i started with AC3 but then later played and beaten all the rest but im some what indifferent i didn't like the ship sections until i upgraded it to its max power then i had fun so im wondering if it well be like that but i can say this from the trailers ive seen they have the right ideas i just want to know if they make it work because there is a differences between seeing something and playing something i mean i didn't like the series in general until the 3rd because it sounded like a just cause unlike all the others but they all do by the way again this does look interesting but i see how someone wouldn't like it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 33 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Oppa Kenway Style
Posted on:4/16/13
Location: Washington DC
Honestly looking forward to this very much!! The trailer, the gameplay, the setting, the characters..EVERYTHING looks massively interesting. And those who are sick of Ubisoft releasing AC yearly, even though it's yearly, they actually have been working on this since 2010. I'm just glad they are not compromising, like Capcom compromised with DMC and killed the franchise by releasing DmC (just saying since I am huge fan of DMC and they ruined it). I'll stick to the AC franchise till the end unless, Ubisoft become like Capcom and kills off this franchise (which I highly doubt they will. I hope they know what's good for them unlike Capcom)
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Could go both ways
Posted on:5/3/13
Location: Georgia GA
honestly im not gonna lie but because of the boat theme of this people who are just getting into this might not enjoy this title but considering how fun it was in AC3 im wondering how ubisoft might change the controls for the ship parts because it didn't seem fun to me untill i got all the ship upgrades so now i can't get enough of it if theres a tutorial like there was in the 3rd i can see it going ok but if it were to go to greater lengths then i can see it being amazing and i hope that all the same upgrades are in the ship from the last game in terms of gameplay it might be the same as AC3 so there won't be any problems there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Is this what AC has come to?
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: Houston, TX
Pirate assassins and naval gaming??? Gross, I was a little disappointed with ACIII but this is just pathetic.
15 of 91 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HEYGAMESTOP
Harrisville, RI
 
Please wait while more information about HEYGAMESTOP is loaded.
Additional information about HEYGAMESTOP could not be loaded.
Posted 3/4/13
They arent coming to anything. They are simply going through history and introducing new elements into the game being naval warfare and piracy. If they kept going on with the same thing as they did in the first Assasin's Creed through Revelations people would get bored and they wouldnt sell future copies.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 36 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
waste of time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Playing this game is like sitting in a dentists chair, you just want to be done with it and in my case I wasn't cause I quit playing it before I could beat it. Never played such an annoying and frustrating game before. Ubisoft owes me a new controller. AC 2 and Brotherhood were great games, I got 100 % completion on AC 2 and here with Black flag I couldn't even finish the game. They give you a mission which you can't get to because the area surrounding the main mission start is unavailable. I thought playing a video game is supposed to be fun and enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates are a good thing.
Posted on:3/18/13
Location: Vancouver, WA
I just pre-ordered Assassins Creed IV. Sure the free poster was a bonus but I got it just for the game. For all you waiting for this game, pre-order it now. The poster has a map on the back. This can give you a jump start on all the treasure and targets. Each location is marked with an Assassins logo. If the trailer is as good as it looks. This game would be by far one of the best. Sure the first Creed had alot of people to kill. For me it was to overwhelming. You can argue with Blackbeard about this game but when all is said and done it's the players that will deliver the final verdict.
Review 38 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excited
Posted on:6/13/13
Location: NC
Am I the only one actually really excited about this? Pirate games are really fun and they are done so seldom. I loved the Pirates of the Caribbean (the SeaDogs remake for the pc) , and it looks like this is the best it's gonna get for console. I also love the black ship DLC. Reminds me of the Black Pearl. One thing that looks like is not gonna be in the game that they should have thought about Is taking over other ships and trade in for bigger ships and have your own fleets and stuff. Nonetheless this game looks awesome so far I just hope they do it right and so far so good
Review 39 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
YESSSS
Posted on:3/4/13
Location: Culver City, CA
I AM SOOOOO HAPPY! I HEARD ABOUT THIS TWO WEEKS AGO AND IT BLEW MY MIND! IT LOOK LIKE 2013 IS GUNNA BE A GREAT YEAR FOR US HARDCORE GAMERS! EVERY AC GAME HAS BEEN AMAZING EXCEPT THE FIRST ONE AND I THINK WE CAN ALL AGREE! AMEN TO THE MASSES! AMEN!
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NationLee
 
Please wait while more information about NationLee is loaded.
Additional information about NationLee could not be loaded.
Seriously?
Posted 8/2/13
You really think AC1 sucked? Sure it had repetitive missions and a broken control scheme, but it was definitely playable and the storyline was A+, not to mention the graphics at the time were amazing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 40 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
STORY STORY STORY
Posted on:3/22/13
Location: cleburne, tx
I love the AC games. but i must that Connors story in ACIII was not a very good follow up to ezio. he lacked personality and character. I honestly Feel that they may have something in ACIV with edward kenway goin in to the golden age of piracy. The pirate captains had lots of character and if ubisoft comes through on a great story to back up that character than this one could be the best one yet. With a great character to get behind like ezio combined all the unique gameplay like ACIII had with more action and less distraction then the have a win win game that could go far.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>