GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.878
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (97 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
14
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 out of 4994%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 21 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Love It
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
Beastystud
Location: Wichita, KS
I love this game! I've played all of the Assassins Creed games and this is one of the best. The open world aspect is beautiful and going from the Jackdaw to going on land is seamless. My only complaints are that I miss being a member of the Assassins, as Edward is just a pirate, and I wish there were more large cities. The main storyline is fun but did not captivate me like previous games in the series. Aside from the main storyline, the sheer number of side missions and exploring there is to do is absolutely amazing. It never gets old to sail on the open seas and run amok in one of the cities. The addition of Edward having two swords is awesome and made me feel like a badass. I haven't even touched the online yet, as I have been engrossed in the single player for the past 2 months
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 22 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
TheGamerGuy99
Location: San Antonio, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I bought this game, and started on it, it definitely pulled me in with some amazing things that I like about this game. So far, playing this game there hasn't really been anything that I DISLIKE about this game. one of the main things that I like, is the fact that you have two swords. this adds a whole new level of devastating, boss moves for Edward to preform when in combat. Another thing I liked, was the addition where you can shoot your pistols rapidly by pressing triangle repeatedly. It does do less damage, but it definitely defines Edward's pirate personality. Another huge thing I liked about this game, is that you can board other ships whenever you want. in AC3, you had to be on a mission to board a ship. in Black flag, you can set sail from any island or dock, and board ships at random. One of the final things I like, is the storyline. when the game begun, I literally fell in love with the story line. the fact that he lies to Stede Bonnet that he's a privateer when he's really a pirate, adds so much suspense to the game on it's own. Another thing about the storyline, is I just happen to like the pirate times. This game really defined Assassin's creed, and I hope to see more of this in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 23 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Wow - Most impressive!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
AccountBanned
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I may have some bias because I love pirate games. I haven't been "wowed" by a pirate game since Uncharted Waters New Horizons for the SNES. This game has me hoping that there will be a "Black Flag 2" and I haven't even fully finished the game. You're thrown into the story and you instantly fall in love with characters. The gameplay is fantastic and you feel the stress that is cannonballs coming at you in high speed. You'll battle ships, pirates, military, sharks, water spouts, tidal waves, and much more. Oh, plus the multiplayer is a nice bonus.... OH and if you buy the ps3 version then you can upgrade to the PS4 game for only $10...I mean what's not to love? Watch some youtube videos on gameplay and see for yourself how amazing this game is.. it's a must buy....period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 24 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This Game Looks Sick!
Posted on:5/13/13
swarco58
Location: Greensboro, NC
I am a big Assassin's Creed fan and i loved Far Cry 3 so i'm excited what they have to bring to the table. AC3 was a good game but i think the american revolution wasn't the best era. America is a boring place for the AC series but the Carribean sounds like it would be great. i pre-ordered the game because i am excite for it and i'm a true AC fan. if you don't like it then no one is forcing you to buy it and a lot of other people are true fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEST ASSASSIN CREED EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
CODISTHEBEST
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game when it came out and im not even bored of it it is so fun because there is a new setting and new charater its the best and i would recommend it to everyone...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best pirate game ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/14
Oblivionlight
Location: Ohio
While I will not say it is the best Assassins Creed game I have played it is the best pirate game I have ever played It is fun to go and gather the materials to upgrade your ship and make it the most deadliest ship in the Caribbean the missions can get a little boring sometimes but most are interesting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 27 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Cannot Wait!!!!
Posted on:3/4/13
Tonez
Location: NJ
I have all five Assassin's Creed games. I hated the first one, loved the second one and loved Brotherhood, I hated Revelations, and was I disappointed with Assassin's Creed 3. Hopefully Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag will be different!!! I will Pre-order this as soon as I can.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood
9.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Doccer
 
Please wait while more information about Doccer is loaded.
Additional information about Doccer could not be loaded.
I Like What's Happening
Posted 3/19/13
I loved the Naval Warfare part ACIII and I am gald that they are expanding on it and though I do hope that they go back to Connor again some day at least to give him a proper ending it will certainly be interesting and exciting to see how Connor's Grandfather was Assasin but his father (his Grandfather's SON) became Templar. Also Urbisoft one thing I hope you put into this game is fishing make it so we can hunt aquatic creatures. I saw fish in the last game and thought Hey! if there is fish in the rivers then why can't we hunt them?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 28 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best game in AC Series by far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
gamerboy25
Location: Williamsburg,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is an excellent game, If I was to rate it I would give it a 9.8. The only reason is because of the multiplayer, don't get me wrong the multiplayer is great I just think that they could make it a free roam multiplayer sorta like GTA Online but thats just my opinion.The single player is amazing especially the naval combat. I love the blow-dart and the multi-pistols as tools, and for weapons I like the dual cutlasses. The present day missions are really good as well, they are all first person but they are still very good. In the present day missions I like how you have stuff to do when you get out of the animus, like hacking other animus’ and eavesdropping on conversations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 29 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC Pirate edition....ok i guess?!
Posted on:3/4/13
slyguy43
Location: severance,co
i really enjoy playing assassins creed, but what i liked so much about the games was the setup of the story, and how it forms...but this game looks like a waste of time!! i rather enjoyed playing as connor in AC3, but i dont feel i need to play as his grandpa (who is surprisingly the main charecter, and a pirate). I feel that Ubisoft didnt need to make another new charecter, and setting....they really should of kept connor, and make some more titles with him, like they did with Ezio Auditore back in 2009-2011. those games made alot of money, but when Ubisoft does stupid stuff like this, it dosent satisfy anyone....all i can hope is that they dont rush this game, not that im getting it, or anything!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AdrianR
Las Vegas NV
 
Please wait while more information about AdrianR is loaded.
Additional information about AdrianR could not be loaded.
WOW
Posted 8/20/13
Bro they cant continue Conner'a story because the world was destroyed in ACIII and I cant see how the can continue when Desmond and the whole world IS GONE!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 30 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excited for ACIV!
Posted on:7/21/13
RichardL
Location: Charlotte, NC
I'm psyched about Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag! It's gonna be my first Assassin's Creed game! I've watched the most of the Assassin's Creed 3 campaign. The only thing I'm worried about is that I personally like the layout of a city like Boston, and the cities I've seen so far in Assassin's Creed IV don't look sorta like overgrown cities. They're stout buildings with vines and palm trees sprawling everywhere. I loved how Boston looked in Assassin's Creed 3, and I hope at least one city looks a bit like Boston, but without snow and rebels and all. All in all, I'm looking forward to AC4!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
amazing best ac game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/14
deadpool2013
Location: radford,va
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
so i just got the game 2 days ago im on the 2 level but its still good its the best in the series i ricamend buying it on the xbox 360 or ps4 the ps3 version gets delayed when sprinting or is it just me please help
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Assassin's Creed Brotherhood
9.3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 32 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awesome
Posted on:3/12/13
rustcaptainx
There's only one thing I don't like, we have to play as an abstergo agent playing the uploaded memories of William miles. I mean come on, I actually kinda liked the Desmond part. And I still don't get why Shaun and Rebecca didn't hate him a bit after killing Lucy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Only the Captain can say "Argh".
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/14
Glitchy001
Location: Woodland, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
And you'll be doing it a lot. Assasin's Creed IV: Black Flag is only a good game in that it isn't as bad as it's predecessor, Assassin's Creed III. I'll be straight, I've only really played the AC games for the incredibly deep and complex plot. However, I think they were planning to end the series or at least the first story arc with AC III. AC VI feels like it's an afterthought, scrambling to find it's relevance to the previous games. And overall, nothing happens in the game, plot-wise, besides the introduction of the Observatory, the Sage, and the player character (you). The characters were shallow and I didn't care about them. There's a nice dynamic between Edward and his merchant buddy you meet at the beginning of the game, but I forgot his name since he barely had a cameo afterwards.
Gameplay-wise, it's okay. I really like the sailing aspect but it got old after a while and with no story payoff, I got bored with the game. I kept upgrading Edward and the game didn't get much easier. I had occasional bugs to deal with that had me restarting missions like characters I'm following would walk into walls or the guys I'm eavesdropping on don't trigger their dialogue audio.
I should also mention that the graphics are either gorgeous or terrible. The ocean is wonderfully beautiful but the sky is actually pixelated. Like you can count the squares if you wanted. I'm guessing it's the cutbacks from the PS4 version. Still, it's pretty lame that the overall graphics are worse than previous games.
If you're a diehard AC fan, you'll play this game anyway. If not, don't worry about this one. It's nothing special. Pick up the Ezio Trilogy for the best in the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 34 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
waste of time
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Playing this game is like sitting in a dentists chair, you just want to be done with it and in my case I wasn't cause I quit playing it before I could beat it. Never played such an annoying and frustrating game before. Ubisoft owes me a new controller. AC 2 and Brotherhood were great games, I got 100 % completion on AC 2 and here with Black flag I couldn't even finish the game. They give you a mission which you can't get to because the area surrounding the main mission start is unavailable. I thought playing a video game is supposed to be fun and enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Good ideas
Posted on:5/31/13
keybladelover
Location: Georgia GA
This is a good idea i started with AC3 but then later played and beaten all the rest but im some what indifferent i didn't like the ship sections until i upgraded it to its max power then i had fun so im wondering if it well be like that but i can say this from the trailers ive seen they have the right ideas i just want to know if they make it work because there is a differences between seeing something and playing something i mean i didn't like the series in general until the 3rd because it sounded like a just cause unlike all the others but they all do by the way again this does look interesting but i see how someone wouldn't like it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 36 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Oppa Kenway Style
Posted on:4/16/13
TazKenway101
Location: Washington DC
Honestly looking forward to this very much!! The trailer, the gameplay, the setting, the characters..EVERYTHING looks massively interesting. And those who are sick of Ubisoft releasing AC yearly, even though it's yearly, they actually have been working on this since 2010. I'm just glad they are not compromising, like Capcom compromised with DMC and killed the franchise by releasing DmC (just saying since I am huge fan of DMC and they ruined it). I'll stick to the AC franchise till the end unless, Ubisoft become like Capcom and kills off this franchise (which I highly doubt they will. I hope they know what's good for them unlike Capcom)
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Could go both ways
Posted on:5/3/13
keybladelover
Location: Georgia GA
honestly im not gonna lie but because of the boat theme of this people who are just getting into this might not enjoy this title but considering how fun it was in AC3 im wondering how ubisoft might change the controls for the ship parts because it didn't seem fun to me untill i got all the ship upgrades so now i can't get enough of it if theres a tutorial like there was in the 3rd i can see it going ok but if it were to go to greater lengths then i can see it being amazing and i hope that all the same upgrades are in the ship from the last game in terms of gameplay it might be the same as AC3 so there won't be any problems there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Is this what AC has come to?
Posted on:3/4/13
Bigs03
Location: Houston, TX
Pirate assassins and naval gaming??? Gross, I was a little disappointed with ACIII but this is just pathetic.
15 of 91 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HEYGAMESTOP
Harrisville, RI
 
Please wait while more information about HEYGAMESTOP is loaded.
Additional information about HEYGAMESTOP could not be loaded.
Posted 3/4/13
They arent coming to anything. They are simply going through history and introducing new elements into the game being naval warfare and piracy. If they kept going on with the same thing as they did in the first Assasin's Creed through Revelations people would get bored and they wouldnt sell future copies.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 39 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirates are a good thing.
Posted on:3/18/13
piratelife4me
Location: Vancouver, WA
I just pre-ordered Assassins Creed IV. Sure the free poster was a bonus but I got it just for the game. For all you waiting for this game, pre-order it now. The poster has a map on the back. This can give you a jump start on all the treasure and targets. Each location is marked with an Assassins logo. If the trailer is as good as it looks. This game would be by far one of the best. Sure the first Creed had alot of people to kill. For me it was to overwhelming. You can argue with Blackbeard about this game but when all is said and done it's the players that will deliver the final verdict.
Review 40 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excited
Posted on:6/13/13
Blazeshaska
Location: NC
Am I the only one actually really excited about this? Pirate games are really fun and they are done so seldom. I loved the Pirates of the Caribbean (the SeaDogs remake for the pc) , and it looks like this is the best it's gonna get for console. I also love the black ship DLC. Reminds me of the Black Pearl. One thing that looks like is not gonna be in the game that they should have thought about Is taking over other ships and trade in for bigger ships and have your own fleets and stuff. Nonetheless this game looks awesome so far I just hope they do it right and so far so good
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>