GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.818
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (92 reviews)
10 stars
24
9 stars
11
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
41 out of 4493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 21 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Wow - Most impressive!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
AccountBanned
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I may have some bias because I love pirate games. I haven't been "wowed" by a pirate game since Uncharted Waters New Horizons for the SNES. This game has me hoping that there will be a "Black Flag 2" and I haven't even fully finished the game. You're thrown into the story and you instantly fall in love with characters. The gameplay is fantastic and you feel the stress that is cannonballs coming at you in high speed. You'll battle ships, pirates, military, sharks, water spouts, tidal waves, and much more. Oh, plus the multiplayer is a nice bonus.... OH and if you buy the ps3 version then you can upgrade to the PS4 game for only $10...I mean what's not to love? Watch some youtube videos on gameplay and see for yourself how amazing this game is.. it's a must buy....period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 22 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
BEST ASSASSIN CREED EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
CODISTHEBEST
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game when it came out and im not even bored of it it is so fun because there is a new setting and new charater its the best and i would recommend it to everyone...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best game in AC Series by far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
gamerboy25
Location: Williamsburg,VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is an excellent game, If I was to rate it I would give it a 9.8. The only reason is because of the multiplayer, don't get me wrong the multiplayer is great I just think that they could make it a free roam multiplayer sorta like GTA Online but thats just my opinion.The single player is amazing especially the naval combat. I love the blow-dart and the multi-pistols as tools, and for weapons I like the dual cutlasses. The present day missions are really good as well, they are all first person but they are still very good. In the present day missions I like how you have stuff to do when you get out of the animus, like hacking other animus’ and eavesdropping on conversations.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 24 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
batman7837
this game is for anyone who loves great combat, exploration, side missions, and just wants to play the heck of a lot of things to do. the game just makes you want to come back every time and this series hasn't given us this great game since ac2 and ac brotherhood.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 25 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Ummmmm....... idk.......
Posted on:3/5/13
cswag3357
Location: Lowell, MA
This is really risky for Ubisoft. I think that the naval combat in ACIII was okay... but not amazing. It's hard to tell if a game centered around this, shall I say, mediocre theme will sell well. Also, am I the only person who is completely bored by desmond? I mean, in ACII I'll be upgrading the Villa, or buying the new armor when suddenly, "Good job Desmond. Now do a 20 minute completely pointless and boring mission in modern times." REALLY? Why did they need the Animus? Just have it set in the times of the Animus! It would be a lot cooler with these intermissions gone. Just saying. I don't know if anyone else agrees.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 55 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
gamerboy25
williamsburg va
 
Please wait while more information about gamerboy25 is loaded.
Additional information about gamerboy25 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/22/13
That's exactly how I am bro , I hate that. Why can't the flow of the game just go, but whatever its till fun. I cant wait for the naval battles though that will be sweet.
Customer Avatar
LivingByTheCreed
 
Please wait while more information about LivingByTheCreed is loaded.
Additional information about LivingByTheCreed could not be loaded.
Posted 3/8/13
in this one desmond really is dead, you play as you (yes you) in modern day, you have been hired by abstergo who has improved the animus so anyone can see the lives of anyone else's ancestors
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 26 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
This Game Looks Sick!
Posted on:5/13/13
swarco58
Location: Greensboro, NC
I am a big Assassin's Creed fan and i loved Far Cry 3 so i'm excited what they have to bring to the table. AC3 was a good game but i think the american revolution wasn't the best era. America is a boring place for the AC series but the Carribean sounds like it would be great. i pre-ordered the game because i am excite for it and i'm a true AC fan. if you don't like it then no one is forcing you to buy it and a lot of other people are true fans.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/14
hozi
Location: hermiston, oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is the best game its awesome you get to free roam and do all kinds of stuff you should get this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 28 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
easily the best out the series
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/14
simplechimp
Location: WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
game and multiplayer has really been improved. single player and ship battles are much better than ac3.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 29 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excellent Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
Bigmike121
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In Assassins Creed Black Flag, you play as Edward Kennway, who is the father of Haythem, and Grandfather of Conner. So, This game is actually take you back in time from Assassins Creed III. The game takes place in the beautiful Caribbean, which Ubisoft did an excellent job in creating. The main story is about you playing as a "pirate", who only cares about the money and riches of life. The game play is extremely smooth and it is easy to control you character. In this game you use duel swords, 4 pistols ( which you need to unlock), duel hidden blades, rope darts, smoke bombs, Berserker darts, and sleeping darts. The game still has hunting in the game, and crafting, but it is much easier to do. The hunting of animals allows to sell their hides for money, or use them to craft items such as extra pistol holsters, better armor, and more. The Naval combat has been perfected since the last game. Its so much more controllable, and a lot more fun. The naval combat allows you to upgrade your ship in the what way you prefer. While sailing the Caribbean, when you attack an enemy vessel, you have to choice to sink it, or to board it which has better rewards. The game also, has tons of side missions, from naval contracts, assassins contracts, and more. There is lots to explore, treasure dig up, boats to pillage, and so much more. If you actually do the side missions this game took me well over 40 hours to complete. The graphics are great, the combat is great, the naval is great, just an overall great game. I was not disappointed in this game. I recommend it to any assassins creed fanatic, or anyone for that matter. 10/10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 30 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Chapter to the Saga
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
GamerTimboy
Location: Clinton Township, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great chapter to the Assassins saga. My only complaints with this game are the combat when boarding ships and the story outside the Animus was bad. The combat when boarding is real touchy. You'll battle one guy and all of the sudden you can't touch him...I get annoyed and just start shooting people. The story outside the Animus didn't make any sense to me. Maybe I missed something but one minute your collecting data then a guy dies and that's it. Otherwise it is another great Assassins game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jordanduhh
Tempe, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Jordanduhh is loaded.
Additional information about Jordanduhh could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
**spoilers**
Posted 12/11/13
You do realize the guy that dies was the sage? Same as Roberts. They are basically dopplegangers.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 31 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/14
indianman
Location: Baton Rouge, La
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is extremely well done. I have only just started playing it but so far the action is great the two extra stories are very good and well made.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 32 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excited for ACIV!
Posted on:7/21/13
RichardL
Location: Charlotte, NC
I'm psyched about Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag! It's gonna be my first Assassin's Creed game! I've watched the most of the Assassin's Creed 3 campaign. The only thing I'm worried about is that I personally like the layout of a city like Boston, and the cities I've seen so far in Assassin's Creed IV don't look sorta like overgrown cities. They're stout buildings with vines and palm trees sprawling everywhere. I loved how Boston looked in Assassin's Creed 3, and I hope at least one city looks a bit like Boston, but without snow and rebels and all. All in all, I'm looking forward to AC4!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Prodigious!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
JC1991
Location: Williamsburg,VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is an excellent addition to the Assassin's Creed series in my opinion. The game feels very animated or lively from the iguana's scurrying across the ground through the brush; to the porpoises and Whales hopping through the water. Also, if you have played previous installments of assassin's creed and still have the save file you obtain Ezio's and Altair's Assassin outfit for Edward. This is my opinion of the game. One last thing Edward's different outfits can be seen in the cut-scenes even when he is wearing Ezio or Altairs robes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 34 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
You should buy it with the seasons pass.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
Brokencross2
Location: Ragliegh,NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Amazing i have recommended it to all my friends. Great gameplay I think the sound is better with headphones. Singleplayer Missions are not to tricky and quick.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 35 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
i love the open world adventure
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
maddog78342
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the twist and turns in the plot and the open world left me in awe, I loved the fun of taking my first galleon!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 36 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC Pirate edition....ok i guess?!
Posted on:3/4/13
slyguy43
Location: severance,co
i really enjoy playing assassins creed, but what i liked so much about the games was the setup of the story, and how it forms...but this game looks like a waste of time!! i rather enjoyed playing as connor in AC3, but i dont feel i need to play as his grandpa (who is surprisingly the main charecter, and a pirate). I feel that Ubisoft didnt need to make another new charecter, and setting....they really should of kept connor, and make some more titles with him, like they did with Ezio Auditore back in 2009-2011. those games made alot of money, but when Ubisoft does stupid stuff like this, it dosent satisfy anyone....all i can hope is that they dont rush this game, not that im getting it, or anything!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AdrianR
Las Vegas NV
 
Please wait while more information about AdrianR is loaded.
Additional information about AdrianR could not be loaded.
WOW
Posted 8/20/13
Bro they cant continue Conner'a story because the world was destroyed in ACIII and I cant see how the can continue when Desmond and the whole world IS GONE!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 37 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great game in every way except awful plot
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/13
Kiprian
Location: NYC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved the game, as well as all of AC series. Game play is as amazing as always, combat is amazing, pretty much everything about it is perfect. Except awful storyline, the really boring one, and AI is handicapped. Especially what drove me nuts is how stupid main character is and how many loopholes plot has. So i really hope next time they make a game of these series they will pay to some good writer for an interesting, and most importantly SOLID, story.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 38 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/13
Assassinplayer
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this yesterday, And I was surprised by my father. Anyways, This game is excellent. The graphics are outstanding, The single player is new and fantastic. Better than all the creeds. The multiplayer is very ''Fresh'', Which beats AC3 in several ways. Connor was boring in my opinion, But as soon as I started this game, I was tackled by a ''George Washington'' sort of guard, Which was very funny. This game gives clever remarks, And Unbelievable changes to the game. Game of the year, I think so. :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 39 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
whack game its horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/13
kggkfftf877
batman is way bttr this game sucks even ac3 is better if you wanna get a good game batman arkham origins or gta v
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awesome
Posted on:3/12/13
rustcaptainx
There's only one thing I don't like, we have to play as an abstergo agent playing the uploaded memories of William miles. I mean come on, I actually kinda liked the Desmond part. And I still don't get why Shaun and Rebecca didn't hate him a bit after killing Lucy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 next>>