GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is the next exciting chapter in the Dragon's Dogma franchise delivering a huge brand new area, missions, enemies and more, plus all of the content from the original game. Those brave enough to travel to the cursed Bitterback Isle will discover an underground realm, complete with new terrifying foes to face and incredible treasure to find as they embark on an all new quest. For those that missed Dragon's Dogma the first time around, Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen provides the opportunity to start their journey from the very beginning before tackling the all new content.Owners of the original Dragon's Dogma will be able to export their existing characters and all other saved data, to continue their journey as the Arisen and face this new threat that has emerged from the cavernous depths. Players will be able to take their characters to new heights, with brand new high-level skills and augments as well as all new weapons and armor sets.
Average Customer Rating:
8.833
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Review 1 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
An entire new experience.
Posted on:3/26/13
YuiMcCry
Many people are bashing it and are upset because it is not coming as an addon DLC. These same people do not realize all the changes. This is not just some DLC but an entire new experience much like when you buy an expansion for your favorite MMO.
There is new skill added for every class. So you may find better ones to use than you have before.
There is new pawn inclination so now we can find better combos for our favorite pawns play style.
There is over 100 new armors. Yes some are re-skined, but there is some new models.
There are new monsters. Some of these new monsters have new attacks as well.
There is an entire new area and it is hard. This are was made with veteran arisens in mind.
If you played the first you get free stuff.
The menu has been altered a bit to make it easier to browse.
You get choose audio language.
To those saying "oh I am high level this game to easy" welcome to an RPG were enemies do not level with you, and also ANY RPG(save the Dark Souls and Demons Souls) you get higher level and new skills/equipment it gets easy. I never understood people who get high level then complain game is to easy. Hopefully they will have a legendary mode made with people 150+ in mind.
16 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Giving more
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
maverick4444
Location: Pine Grove, PA
I want to start by saying that I have paid more for less DLC. I can remember the Skyrim horse armor or some other useless DLC packages. This is an entirely new island with more armor, quests and content than in some new releases. For the price point, you are getting the new content and the old game as well. If you are a fan of the original game and want more monster grabbing, sword swinging, spell throwing, and item collecting, then by all means give this a shot. If you have never played the original, this is a challenging RPG with unique mechanics and an interesting combat system.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Solid under appreciated game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
dallasthegreat
Location: texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are on the fence about trying this game out, I suggest you play it.
It is very much like dragon age and dark souls blended together.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Awesome work, Capcom!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/13
Waggabond
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's really been a while since I was this excited about a game.
I'm a former hardcore MMO player who doesn't play MMos anymore due to burnout and not having time.
DD: Dark Arisen has sparked my interest in Fantasy RPGs again.
PROS:
-Hours and hours of gameplay
-Original Dragon's Dogma full game included (Dark Arisen is a continuation of the original game, you play with the same character).
-Massive seamless world (I haven't even checked Blackbitter Island yet), ridden with dungeons and lots of exploration opportunities.
-Fun combat and interesting classes.
-Deep, involving storyline
-High replay value
CONS:
-Can't think of any.
Play this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
one of the few good rpg's for ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
th3guy003
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
a great game to loose hours and hours to. one of the best combat experiences i have ever seen in a rpg to date. graphics can be ify at time, but nothing major to take you out of the experience. pick up a copie no doubt if you like rpgs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Buy it, You Gotta!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
TeddieBear
Location: Valrico,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
With all its improvements This games awesomeness increased beyond expectations. I Love it! Asolutely
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Awesome
Posted on:3/13/13
SadpersonNate
Location: OR
I am so excited for this game, I am sad that it's not dlc, but it is however cheaper than the original.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chiiplus
WI
 
Please wait while more information about Chiiplus is loaded.
Additional information about Chiiplus could not be loaded.
It is DLC... ---^
Posted 3/18/13
The person above knows nothing. This is the shivering isles of Oblivion equivalent of Dragons Dogma. It is a huge add on to the original game. Just this disk includes the whole original game on it for people who are new to the series. Those of you who already own the original dragons dogma should still buy this because people who have a save file from the original game get loads of bonus items for their character in game. You don't have to start over to enjoy this DLC it is meant for high level characters to add new high end gear and monsters for people who have invested a good amount of time into this game. Looking forward to this very much so.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
trade in
Posted on:4/15/13
TheTrueKira
Location: Al
i think that people like me who just bought the original game should be able to trade in our copy for like half off or something considering that this is the same game just with new quests. and can only be purchased through hard or digital copys no DLC... just a thought. a really awesome thought.
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
A good game in a weak genre
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/13
DimeN3Pennys
Location: Chicago
Where are all the blockbusters in the rpg genre? This is one of the best rpg titles for console right now. But honestly, thats not saying all that much. The games combat system is up there with the best, but like a lot of those, it still isnt great graphically. Skyrim probably has the worst combat amongst current rpgs, but is still my favorite by far. DD cannot match the huge huge world of skyrim or the massive and uniquely beautiful dungeons that it boasts. In skyrim, the open world is mostly just scenery, and then the battles an enemies take place inside of the location once you get there. In DD, the world is crawling with bandits and goblins that respawn every time you go down the paths. It gets very annoying when yoyou're trying to get somewhere on a road youve already traversed and theres no space to even go around the enemies if u wanted to. Pawns are a decent feature, but against tougher enemies you will spend more time running around and reviving them repeatedly than fighting. Overall, the genre needs more AAA titles like the bethesda games. None of the other games can match the variety and interesting quests that make u feel invested. Skyrim, for example, has intersting quest lines like the companions, assassins guild, and even a bloody civil war questline that makes u feel invested in one side without changing the rest of the game in any way execpt who rules the cities. That type of investment isnt there with any other game, including DD. That being said, with a plethora of watered down titles to pick from, Dark Arisen is propbably the best of the second tiered games, but I would definitely play fallout and elder scrolls if adventure, loot, and story telling are important to u.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Dragon's Dogma 1 1/2?
Posted on:3/29/13
Xzener
Location: Tucson, AZ
This blows my mind! it looks so awesome! it being another Dragon's Dogma game - Finally! but what would I like? Dragon's Dogma 2! I know this is basically D.D 2, but I would like to see an official Dragon's 2. named (officially) Dragon's Dogma 2!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 8 found this review helpful.