GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen

Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen is the next exciting chapter in the Dragon's Dogma franchise delivering a huge brand new area, missions, enemies and more, plus all of the content from the original game. Those brave enough to travel to the cursed Bitterback Isle will discover an underground realm, complete with new terrifying foes to face and incredible treasure to find as they embark on an all new quest. For those that missed Dragon's Dogma the first time around, Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen provides the opportunity to start their journey from the very beginning before tackling the all new content.Owners of the original Dragon's Dogma will be able to export their existing characters and all other saved data, to continue their journey as the Arisen and face this new threat that has emerged from the cavernous depths. Players will be able to take their characters to new heights, with brand new high-level skills and augments as well as all new weapons and armor sets.
Average Customer Rating:
8.727
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1191%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Review 1 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Top 5 Fav Games of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
Jerror45
Location: Post Falls, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has it's flaws, but I think that is what gives it it's character! I have sunk hundreds of hours into it, and still want to play. So much to explore, and with the Dark Arisen content there is lots to do for high level players, and the pawn system is a lot of fun as well. If you like ARPGs and are willing to give this game about 10-15 hours, then you are in for a ride that could last hundreds. VERY UNDERRATED.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
You don't need the original game
Posted on:3/29/13
InfernoSerpent
Location: NY
This is the 1st game as well as the expansion and other dlc quests that were released previously for dragons dogma I dont know why GameStop is saying otherwise but again just to let you know THIS IS DRAGONS DOGMA AND THE DARK ARISEN here is a link as well if you want some more info on it. http://www.gametrailers.com/videos/umnysy/dragon-s-dogma--dark-arisen-preview
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Best game of my life
Posted on:3/14/13
Tanogrus
Location: Bangor, ME
I've played a lot of games over the 15 years that I've been gaming. Dragon's Dogma brought something completely new to the table, and I enjoyed it to the fullest. Though Capcom is making me buy their game a second time, it's good to see that me being an original owner of the game, I get some benefits. This expansion, will be brutal, and it will be EPIC. I can't wait. This game easily ranks in at #1 on my top games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Post-Skyrim Bliss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
DiscoDevil
Location: Chi-Town
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Have you noticed how it's nearly impossible to find a triple-A swords & sorcery game? It's like all the dork computer programmers decided they are too cool for D&D and decided to make sports games and GTA-clones. Thankfully, a few geniuses throughout history have always managed to resist the lure of the almighty dollar, and in the process those rebels have created things of lasting worth. First we got Dark Souls, then Skyrim. Now add Dragon's Dogma, and we have a holy trinity.
It was a rough road getting to this point though. In fact, after Skyrim ended for me, I thought I would never fall in love again.
When you fall in love, you want it to be perfect. You want beauty, you want purity, you want everything to just happen like it was written in the stars.
Translating that roughly into fantasy RPG terms, that means you want ONE, photorealistic graphics, and not just any old kind. You want ivy-cloaked ruins, rendered artfully; you want to stand in the cool shadow of granite cliffs, and slip into a reverie as it brings to mind your real-life vacation to Yosemite or some other beautiful place. You want to walk through fragrant redwood forests, and you want little glowing numbers and circles all over the picture about as much as you want to see a Chicken McNugget box on a hiking trail.
It means TWO, you want a consistent world that is devoid of anachronistic elements, other than maybe the odd piece of steampunk paraphernalia.
THIRD, you want the play controls to feel like you are wearing a second skin. The combat feels rock-solid, like you can feel the weight difference between a stiletto and a mace. When you switch classes from archer to sword-and-shield fighter halfway through the game, it feels like you started a brand new game.
Dragon's Dogma gave me all that, and also gave me the ability to customize my main henchman's face, bust, and backside. Of course I fell in love again, fool!
DD gives you an expansive open world too, but the only downside to the original Dragon's Dogma is that it isn't quite expansive enough. The April 23rd version, which includes the entire original game at a discounted price, remedies that by opening up the huge new realm of Bitterblack Isle.
INSTALLING THE NEW VERSION: The game required a 2MB update as soon as I slapped in the new disc. It then automatically imported my save from the original edition. The game then mentioned that I could install the optional high-definition texture packs from the second disc if I wanted to.
When the game started, I was in the exact place where I left off in the old version of the game. Win!
This is it, ladies and gentlemen. In the computer age the "nerds" have inherited the Earth at last, and this is what happens when they don't sell out. What you get is a big-budget epic with an old-school D&D soul, a story of camaraderie and the usual clichés about facing insurmountable odds, coupled with a striking meditation on the archetypal hero and the price of Utopia.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vivian
 
Please wait while more information about Vivian is loaded.
Additional information about Vivian could not be loaded.
Fake
Posted 5/7/13
They only wrote one review, and only aim to sell the game since they're talking too much about how great it is with no flaws AT ALL. I can name one, fetch quests like no other! I love DD, but I hate when Capcom reps have to join just to post these sales pitches.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/13
NicG
Location: Boulder, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a perfect game. Unfortunately there was a HUGE missed opportunity for co-op. The game itself however is a masterpiece. If you want a challenging and immersive fantasy RPG, this is your game. Boss fights are incredible, exploring is risky, but extremely fun, theres TONS of unique loot and since you can continue to improve your character and storage carries over in new game+, it's replay value is extremely high.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Awesome Gameplay Capcom!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
Ragekill86
Location: youngsville,la
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Other people say that this game is terrible, but when you get to the down and dirty of the graphics and great gameplay, you really get into it. So in conclusion, I think this game deserves a 10-10 for all my gaming prospects and fast learning experience.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
For hardcore and Casuals
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/13
Carlcarmax
Location: Michigan, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Very good gameplay, very refreshing compared to what's out and what's on the way. Most problem's from the original have been corrected, the story is interesting, most of the quest are interesting given the traditional fetch or collect quest. Gave is challenging, and can be toned downed if your struggling. Those seeking a challenge like Dark Souls, should get this and set it to hard mode and see how they fair. Combat feels very satisfying, especially when fighting a boss. Game is at least a hundred hours if you run through it on hard mode trying to complete and get everything, maybe 50 if on speed run. Flaws are only one save file and graphics could be better, and some different personalities for the pawns, the super proper voices with different tones and pitches get a little old.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
No More Running
Posted on:4/22/13
JJospeh
Location: Vancouver WA
The first game was good, except for the idiotic running all over to do anything or get anywhere, when the 'day' clock is going way too fast for a normal day. I was so tired of the nonsense of having to run everywhere over and over again that I haven't replayed it since I beat it, screw the ferrystones that it took WAY TOO LONG to access. This 2nd one says we'll be rewarded with ferrystones to bypass this stupidity this time, so maybe it'll be a better game.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Looks Great!
Posted on:3/27/13
svtcobra04
Location: Garrett, In
I'm a big fan of the first game, it had great combat, character development, a lot of good weapons/armor, and the AI was actually very well done. I also like that you can input your character from the first game, I hope they make the graphics better because that was the only thing I would say wasn't that great from the first game;I'm defiantly going to get this as there isn't a lot of games coming out that really interest me.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Unique RPG and very fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/13
MasterRoshi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start off by saying I have played many role playing games as they are by far my favorite type. This game is very fun and in a way very unique. I have seen many people call it a rip off to Dark Souls, and although I do not think it is I would also note that isn't exactly a bad thing considering Dark Souls was a great game. The boss fights in this game I think are what really stick out. In my opinion they are one of the best RPG's I have ever played in this area. Each boss fight brings with it a challenge that you just do not see in real time role playing games this day and age. Also, the pawn system is definitely another unique and interesting move by the developers as when you start a new game you can make a follower or "pawn" to follow you on your adventures. But it doesn't stop there. There is a place you can go to and rent other gamers pawns to fight with you in the battles ahead. Each pawn is unique in that some might have more helpful information on quests or enemies that others may not have.
If I had to pick any negatives in the game I would have to say it is the way everyone talks in the game. I mean, I can see why they did it to try and make it sound like people talked back then but It can get pretty annoying quickly.
Other than that I really have no quarrels with this game. I really enjoy playing it would recommend it to anyone who loves RPG's. Now if you will excuse me, I am going back to play the game now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
AWESOME GAME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/13
RaginCaucasian
Location: KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Why haven't I heard of Dragon's Dogma until recently? This game is EPIC! Capcom needs to market this game more, because had I known this game even existed lol I would have ran out and bought it immediately. I absolutely LOVE how the combat is so fluent and how you can climb up giant monsters and bring them to the ground. Although the story is a bit bland the games epic boss fights make up for that. I've still yet to experience bitterblack isle but I'm nearing my way there.. Wish me luck!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jad3Dagger
 
Please wait while more information about Jad3Dagger is loaded.
Additional information about Jad3Dagger could not be loaded.
So far...
Posted 6/2/13
This is the first I've played of Dragon's Dogma and so far I'm rather pleased with it. The combat is fun and challenging and the quests are varied. This story line is immersive and interesting. I'm a fan. =) Yes, the pawns can be repetitive but they hold their end of fighting up pretty well and that's better than some games I've played. And I'm glad that they added more fast travel into this game because that's what stopped me from buying it in the first place. I'm excited for the rest of the story line and the added DLC. Its good to see that there are still developers out there willing to take a risk and make a game that doesn't just mimic others in its genre, it actually tries to add to it and make it better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
Great package for a great price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
Riddick
This game includes the original dragon's dogma along with all previously released dlc and the new expansion dark arisen. You can import your old save and continue on with your quest. The original game was a must own in my book and the extra content is really fun but a bit short (depending on what your level is and what difficulty mode your on, I played normal with a 150ish level character). If your new to the franchise get this version, if you have already played this game and not loved it then pass since the new content won't win you over. For fans of the original, think about how much you liked the original, if you really loved the everfall part of the game I highly recommend getting this version. There has been a few changes to the main game, first menus are faster, second new enemies spawn in the post game section, third the are more work crystals laying around in the world, and last there has been some stat changes like the assassin has been nerfed. There is a second disc which comes with a HD texture pack which is a must install or the game looks ugly and it also includes Japanese voice over which was cool imo but there is no lip sync. It should be noted that previously released dlc is in the game but not presented normally specifically with the armor packs, you only are able to get them by buying them at the black cat, you do not get a free version of the armor at the inns. Overall I had a blast with the new content and highly advise getting this version of the game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
PREPARE FOR BATTLE!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/13
Pizzaboy
Location: Ellicott City, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Yes this is the original Dragons Dogma, but the extension is no joke. Even though you've probably already heard this before I wouldn't venture into Bitterblack Isle before level 80+. Second I would recommend a physical type class(Fighter, Strider, Warrior, Ranger, Assassin) or at least not a hybrid class because magic doesn't have a strong affect on many of the monsters/bosses. Regardless of all that, Dark Arisen is a great extension.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
My Personal Game of the Year.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
LOST3500
Location: Kingsley, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was In awe when the original Dragon's Dogma came out, It gave me freedom, the fear of traveling at night, and the thought of death at a moments notice. The questing was fun, the story was decent plus the (twist crazy) ending. Now we get Dark Arisen. Adding a lot to an already excellent game, Slapped with a new coat of paint, with a 20 hr addition and you've got one of the best games of 2013 in my opinion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Dragon's Dogma: Dark Arisen
not worth it, wish i didnt buy it
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
Suha
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when are developers going to understand that just because you make a game really difficult isn't instantaneously going to make it a good game... somebody made a really stupid mistake on the decision making process for this expansion pack... the original game at least was great... dark arisen was a mistake
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 53 found this review helpful.