GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

DARK

DARK is a stealth-based action-adventure RPG in which you take on the role of the ultimate hunter: a vampire. Ambush your enemies from eh shadows, roam the darkness and use powerful vampiric skills to dispatch your opponents.
Average Customer Rating:
3.111
3.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
2 out of 922%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DARK
Review 1 for DARK
Looks Great
Posted on:3/31/13
Autoflame
Location: San Diego, CA
I am looking forward to this game. I been waiting for it ever since GI's article on it. I am a stealthy guy so I am defininetly getting this game because stealth is the only choice. That is a blessing and a curse, but it does make it a stiffer challenge. If you like Thief, you'll love DARK.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
DARK's Newest Trailer
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
pr0fessional
Your mind
 
Please wait while more information about pr0fessional is loaded.
Additional information about pr0fessional could not be loaded.
@mage
Posted 6/11/13
Um...it's a video game. It's generally stories of fantasy, not real world events or about real living people. I'm even brave enough to assume that they make games about robots and aliens at this point...omg even zombies. Wouldn't that be crazy? ...nawww, probably lost you at robots
Customer Avatar
mage69
unknown
 
Please wait while more information about mage69 is loaded.
Additional information about mage69 could not be loaded.
um vampires........
Posted 5/22/13
This looks horrible.A game about vampires for real.Not getting this.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for DARK
The rebirth of cool vampires?
Posted on:6/26/13
robotfighter
Location: Washington
Twilight pretty well destroyed vampires and supernatural creatures for me, but this game looks like it'll make them cool again. I like the sort of futuristic vibe that the game world has (from the videos), and the gameplay looks like a good mixx of classic stealth and some action, without going over the top on the action side. I read a preview that said it's like Sam Fisher being a vampire, so I'm pretty excited about that.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
e3 video
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for DARK
Lame, lame, lame
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/13
Engem
There are two good things I can say about this game. The overall story was alright and a couple of the powers were good. Other than that, this was a massive disappointment.
I love a good stealth game, don't get me wrong. But the gameplay sucked. The "stealth" aspect was a joke. The voices were amateurish and talentless. The interface was pathetic. I would have expected to see something like this on the original Xbox, as an early attempt before they got it together. Considering how games have evolved, this was a definite throwback in my opinion.
If you really must play this game, for dog's sakes, rent it or at the very least wait and get it used.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DARK
the combat system
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/14
DjNotnice9000
there's no combat system and the game-play is honorably, you just press the "A" button or for PlayStation "X" to kill someone, but i give them props because Vampires are awsome
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for DARK
Great gaze holders
Posted on:6/11/13
pr0fessional
Location: Your mind
This game and dead pool are probably two of the best games that come out "early" (before October fest) which will hold everyone's attention and Interest till the more big popular franchise games come. Both look promising and possess different styles when it comes to an action RPG game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DARK
This game is the epitome of SUCK.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
Daddywagon
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Graphics are embarrassing. Gameplay is frustratingly slow, and stealth games are my favorite. A very poor attempt at what could've been a cool game. Very disappointing.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DARK
looking forward to this game
Posted on:3/24/13
Rocketpower
Location: Houston,TX
dark seems to be something from any other game, i mean your a vampire, but im looking forward to this game especially since it will have a stealth side to the game.DEFINETLY GONNA PRE-ORDER IT.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DARK
PC Review
Posted on:7/6/13
thataintme
Location: Tennessee
A story with some interesting points brought down by poor performances bad dialogue and lackluster visuals. Is there a game salvageable from the mechanical mess that is DARK? The answer is yes. On the hardest of difficulties, it provides a challenge many games of today do not offer. Frustrating moments often result in chaos on the screen, and the misuse of checkpoints only makes things worse. However, there is something here, something in the DARK that drives you to want to see what is just around the corner.
Dark is not a technical masterpiece, nor a masterpiece of any kind. I do believe it gets stealth right. It does borrow from many games of the past. Not necessarily bringing them together well, but just enough to be intriguing and fun.
A simple leveling system that lets you get to the meat of it right away. In just a matter of finishing the first mission, you'll already have several upgrades. Becoming a force to be reckoned with. This feels good, but since everything is open to view before you even truly know what's going on, there are no surprises when it comes to the powers you'll have.
The artwork in the game is top notch. Maybe the best element of the game by far.
Controls are clunky at best, but they are manageable. I've not finished this game, and since I'm playing it on the hardest setting it may take a few days to do so. I do recommend this game for anyone looking for a challenging stealth game. If you can overlook the technical shortcomings, there is a frustratingly fun game in the DARK. I hope this is the start of something new.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 9 for DARK
Worst Game EVER!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
ScourgeWolf
When you move the character around he looks like he is on a moving walkway at an airport. The graphics are REALLY Horrible. Actors should not be acting and start up a life of alcoholism. Sound is horrible and no lasting appeal. If your making a game don't use the graphics from 2002.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DARK
Meh
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
wingerace
Location: Beaufort, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not too bad of a game.. Definitely not worth its price though. Cool abilities but thats about it. Still kind of glitchy on release. Sound messes up sometimes if you skip through some cutscenes... I'd give it about a 3.5 or a 4(generous) out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 11 for DARK
Worst Game EVER 2!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
ScourgeWolf
I forgot to add the story was very pitiful. The interactions or dialogue was extremely dull and lifeless. I couldn't make it through the first level. This game looked good at the beginning hook, line, and sinker and I fell for it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for DARK
For those who love......you'll enjoy it. :)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
LunaN
Location: Louisiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, so I had way high hopes for this game, because in watching the preview I had one thought come to mind....is this going to be like the Vampire The Masquerade series, because I friggin LOVED Bloodlines...one of the best games EVER.
...now having said that, and played it for probably 10+ hours now, I will say the answer to that is both "yes" and "no" (but mostly "no"). If you loved that series that came out so many years ago, then you'll enjoy the subtle similarities this game has to that, and I think you'll agree this game was definitely heavily influenced by that series (find random PDA's and read the emails, a bar named Sanctuary, blood points, the music, the atmosphere, culture, etc...). For this reason alone, this game brought a certain level of enjoyment to me, as I've been praying someone would continue that series for a long time now, unfortunately though, while this was fun, it pales in comparison.
Now, while this game was reminiscent of Vampire, it is NOT Vampire. You're only option in this game is STEALTH, which is fine, because I think that is the intent of the game. I will say the levels become a bit monotonous due to this however; sneak and kill 100 armed guards without being seen, however you can. It is quite challenging at times, but overall fairly fun despite the repitiion, especially if you love this type of world and setting and you love STEALTH.
I was hoping for more dynamic story and choices, much like the old vampire series, but unfortunately while you get to choose dialog options, I don't think it has any bearing on the game or outcome of the story whatsoever. There are no random weapons you can get or gear you can equip (at least that i've encountered in the 10+ hours I've played), and that's sad to me because I so loved the katanya in Vampire Bloodlines. There is also no free roam while you're not on a mission (at least not outside of Sanctuary). It is fairly linear rather than RPG-ish like Vampire was, which was a choose your own story and breed of vampire-type game (which would also let you opt for stealth or a full on brawl with guns and/or melee weapons, your choice).
The actors aren't bad, but they could have been a little better, or showed a little more emotion. Nowhere near as bad as the reviewers make them out to be. As a matter of fact, if you love The Witcher, this game will likely gain bonus points for you as the main character is no doubt the same guy (I haven't confirmed this, but there's just no way it's not Geralt of Rivia).
The music and sound are fine. The club music reminds me of the old Vampire game, so for that reason alone I love it actually. The sound effects have not distracted me which means I can immerse myself in the game and they do not ruin it for me, so that's good, but they haven't stood out as anything spectatular either.
I acutally enjoy the artwork and game style. It is reminiscent of Borderlands to me, with the use of the cell shading. I have no complaints on this as I appreciate the artistic styling they chose.
Overall, I am enjoying the game. I definitely think if you are a fan of Stealth, vampires, the old Vampire the Masquerade/Bloodlines games, cell shading, and the voice actor for Geralt of Rivia from the Witcher series, then I think there are many faucets of this game you will enjoy. If none of those things appeal to you, and you like more action packed God of War style fighting, stay away, this isn't for you.
If this would have been a little more RPG-ish and less repitious I would have given it an 8. If this would have been Vampire Bloodlines continued (or remade) I would have gave it a 10+! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for DARK
not impressed
Posted on:6/9/13
fisher907
Location: castle rock, co
When i first read about this game and I saw the words "vampire" and "stealth action" I was extremly excited. So i went to youtube and looked up the demo and it looked pretty boring and the fact that they are dropping the price to 50 dollars at launch worries me.
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pr0fessional
Your mind
 
Please wait while more information about pr0fessional is loaded.
Additional information about pr0fessional could not be loaded.
To $50 at launch...
Posted 6/11/13
Tthey changed it due to the new console games coming out this year. This is not the only game who's price has been knocked down....look at dead pool for example. Big hype and still is only $50. Just means its even more worth the price, fool.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for DARK
not worth the money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/13
ptjhnb
Location: colorado springs co
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is bunk. You can not advance to reg. play. no quick advance past the first chapter
not worth the money
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 15 for DARK
Dark… and dangerous
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/13
SurgetheHedgehog
Location: Shafter, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The graphics were pretty cool, wish the game had both a jump ability and some melee combat that didn't include just one punch but it's still pretty cool gameplay-wise ^^
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.