GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dragon's Crown

From George Kamitani and Vanillaware, the mind and design team behind Odin Sphere and Muramasa: The Demon Blade, Dragon's Crown is a multiplayer action RPG with breathtaking visual style, a design built around cooperative play and epic boss fights, and the ability to discover a new adventure in every play session. With Dragon's Crown, developer Vanillaware deftly marries stunning handdrawn and animated art work with deep, actionpacked hardcore gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
7.75
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
6 out of 875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dragon's Crown
Review 1 for Dragon's Crown
Fun and Addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
AcepilotKallen
Location: Albert Lea, MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Pretty much got a Vita just for this game since the PS3 is soon to be obsolete and it was definitely worth it. The graphics as a whole are beautiful and stunning and make one of the most attractive and visually unique games I've played in a long time. The voices and soundtrack are great, with the option of either English or Japanese voices if one or the other don't appeal to you for either character. The storyteller is always English and it isn't until a certain point you can buy a different voice, that corresponds to the character you choose. There is some cheap DLC though that unlocks them for you, but whatever, the default is good enough, not like you'll too much attention to it after your initial run through. Reason I docked off some points in Sound was because; while the soundtrack is pretty solid to great for it's themes, there's also a very limited number of total tracks. The gameplay is where this game really shines though; the combat is fun, engrossing and entertaining no matter which character you choose. All six play quite differently, so choosing one that suits your style and party's needs -if your have some friends lined up to play this with- should be done carefully, as having something like three elves and a wizard will spell some tough times ahead for your party. It'll still be doable, just expect a lot of deaths and frustrating moments. This game's definitely a loot and grind fest, and that said; it's one of the best. It's super addicting to keep running the same nine stages(all nine have an alternate route with alternate boss and there's also a Labyrinth of Chaos where the true final boss resides that has a bunch of levels of enemies to fight), hoping to get better equipment, get experience, or complete one of the fifty side quests that give you extra skill points for abilities and some really well done artwork(complete with some lore) for your gallery that you can view at any time. One aspect that some may like or find interesting is the ability to customize up to nine packs of equipment to switch between while adventuring multiple dungeons in a row. Eventually you'll be able to buy extra packs, which will be invaluable for long treks and you'll need to keep several up to date and current for your level. It's often best to have packs dedicated for certain enemy types to make bosses and particular dungeons easier on yourself. So having a pack focused on minimizing damage from Undead while increasing the damage you can do to them would be good to have when a taking on particular route or boss with that type. It's also wise to have multiple packs to make sure you have fresh equipment and spells. They can only be restored and repaired in town, so while out in a string of dungeons racking up the multiplier bonuses you need to have packs with fresh items and spells(spells and items like potions can only be used a certain number of times and require a trip back to town to restore). Why this is never mentioned in any other reviews I see, I have no idea, because it's one mechanic I quite enjoy and adds quite a bit of depth. Of course grinding out loot and levels is most fun with friends and unfortunately this is where the game has a slight misstep... it takes roughly two to three hours to unlock online play(if you speedrun without doing any sidequests). At launch there was no cross-play support with PS3 users which was initially disappointing, but a few weeks ago they released a patch that allows it, so now you can play with your friend's who might only have a PS3, or may have just bought it for that instead, which is really nice since I got a Vita and have no PS3 and my friend had it on PS3 and has no Vita. Saw some people disappointed by the lack of stages, but that was never really the point of this type of game. The nine stages all have two paths and bosses, and you'll often be approaching and looking for different things every other time for sidequest objectives and the enemies are for the most part always randomized and placed in different areas. One run through they might attack right out of the gate. Next time you might not see anyone in the first room at all. All in all, if you like beating up things for loot and experience, 2-D brawlers, some fun co-op, or any combination of the above; this is probably one of the best options out there.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dragon's Crown
A game to make Vita proud
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
Runemal
Location: Lincoln
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've never had much love for the side scrolling action games of the past, but Dragon's Crown really won me over. The game is visually stunning, if a little over the top sexist here and there. The combat is much smoother than I thought it would be, and I didn't find myself getting cheap shotted like games of previous generations often did. The game isn't overly long, but offers substantial replay both with the various classes, which all feel different, and with game modes that unlock after the story line is "complete". The multiplayer also seemed to run smooth and added some fun to the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Dragon's Crown
Not Happy But Not Sad
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/13
Kaoss
Location: Spanaway Washington
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Now That I Have Had The Game I Have To Say It was Fun For A Bit But I Found The Flaws And Here they Are The Game Is Way Short Only 7 Stages Long !! And To Try And Make The Game Longer They Make You Go Through Them Again After You Have Beat All 7 And Collect Items That Can Only be Gotten On The Harder Dungeon Settings Just So You Can Fight The Last Boss And i Still don't like the art in this game and some of the classes you can play just don't feel as good as they should be the fighter is just not the beast he should be the amazon is way to slow and i wish all the classes had more moves or at least a talent tree of moves that the players could put points into so that all the classes would feel more like you had a hand in building it into the awesome tank or support or DPS monster you always wanted to play that being said it feels like a copy of Blizzards WoW if they ever nerfed it so bad that it went 2D and had less classes if atlus ever adds new classes and more dungeons ill think about rebuying it till then it will stay in the used game bin at my local gamestop
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dragon's Crown
OMG SOO FUN !!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/13
Jbuz
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love Dragon's Crown, it's so fun. There is a lot do in Dragon's Crown like upgrading your person or going online and helping people with their quests. All the classes are unique and fun to play as.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dragon's Crown
Bout Time
Posted on:4/20/13
GaidenXL
Bout time They gave another release date for this game, i was looking forward to it, when it was suppose to come out last year, but i guess patience pays off, cant wait for the release day :D
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dragon's Crown
READ THISSS---
Posted on:5/8/13
Last2One
Location: West Palm Beach,Florida
Very cool that some of the characteristics of the old-school side-scrolling beat-em-up rpg style games.Going to be a addictive game-The art style is eye-catching-Bosses look AMAZING-And I'm pretty sure this will have multiplayer-Makes me even more happy that I own A PsVita---
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dragon's Crown
Yesssssss, finally a RPG for the Vita I'll play.
Posted on:7/12/13
HBDXGhost
Location: North Carolina
This game looks amazing. The visuals look stunning with amazing artwork. The first RPG for the vita that reminds more of golden axe and the like.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dragon's Crown
Incredble Game for an Incredible System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/13
Sam7
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Don't let the simplistic art design throw you off from the deep Gameplay of Dragon's Crown. The game has multiple characters and each and every character plays in their own way.Lot's of gameplay, keeps you coming back for more, animations are wonderful and well done, simply a great game especially once you take it portable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dragon's Crown
Must have action RPG for the Vita
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/13
MunFun
Location: long island,ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is amazing. the fighting style is perfect. the graphics are beyond amazing and it has tons of replay value.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dragon's Crown
Just got my copy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
shamblingswarm
Location: Puerto Rico
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing this all morning all i have to say is, Im glad the game is really good. Best thing is no need to make more than 1 save since you can have 20 characters per save.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dragon's Crown
No Good Or Bad
Posted on:8/2/13
Kaoss
Location: Spanaway Washington
so far that i can see some of the art work is aweful but the gameplay looks off the chain it is just a bit more detailed then dungeon fighter online used to be the sound seems to be great and atlus seems to have put alot of time into making this game i just wish they would have given something better for the prepay bonus then an art book i wish that the prepay bonus was a DLC like maybe a weapon or armor or maybe even an Avatar item that changed the look of the player you picked to play or even better early access to a character that would be way better then the art book but i do have to say i am looking forward to playing this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dragon's Crown
SAD support
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/13
dexter1979
I bought a vita just for a vcas 4032 dragon's crown. The game is great but Altus support sucks. A release of patch 1.01 is out 3 days ago but this particular version cant be patched. An error of c0-12574-9 appeared but no action seems to be taken. For such a great game to be wasted is really a pity
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dragon's Crown
I can't wait to...bust into this awesome game!
Posted on:7/11/13
revlux
Location: Houston, TX
I am very excited to....rack up lots of kills as well! Sorry, couldn't resist after watching the gameplay clip. This really does look amazing. I'm excited to get my hands on them...errr it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 3 found this review helpful.