GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NHL 14

Big hits. Real fights. Unbelievable speed and skill. NHL® 14 brings together the best technology on this generation in the EA SPORTS label to deliver hockey at its finest.
Average Customer Rating:
8.417
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NHL 14
Review 1 for NHL 14
good experience
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
Hockeylover101
Location: Albuquerque,New Mexico
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good for everyone. It has amazing graphics. It also has may other amazing features. For example, in Be A GM mode, you get to trade players, move players to the minors, pull players up from the minors, and have a fantasy draft.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for NHL 14
Really Fun NHL Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
JackJack21
Location: Syracuse, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've had NHL games since NHL 2004 on the PS2. My most recent game on the XBOX 360 was NHL 12. That game was really fun, and I enjoyed Be A Pro mode. Now in NHL 14 the Be A Pro mode has been improved a lot. EA even change the name to Live The Life. Now there are better graphics, the fighting engine is better, { Since it is the same engine as Fight Night, the boxing games made by EA} and the hits are even more epic. Now all you have to do is run into a player and their will be a collision. There is also off-ice events, such as a night out with your teammates, or some new advertisement for your player. Then you will have too make a decision between four choices, and whatever you choose effects the relationship with your teammates, fans, coaches, or even your player's family. So overall, this game is fun, and I give it a 10/10 for the Career Mode, Graphics, New and Improved fighting and hits, and the great lasting appeal. If you are a hockey fan, or love the NHL series, get this game and you'll see how good it is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NHL 14
MUST.HAVE.NHL.14!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/14/13
gamr23
Location: Philly
THIS GAME WILL BE AWESOME! IT EVEN HAS NHL 94 ANNIVERSARY MODE WHICH MEANS: NO RULES! I simply can't wait.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
20 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chris59
SYR, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Chris59 is loaded.
Additional information about Chris59 could not be loaded.
pretty disapointed
Posted 10/28/13
*Online servers are horable, the camera doent like to show the whole play and often times will not show the play at all especially when fighting. the new physics are nice but online you can kiss poke checks and hits good bye. they ae so delayed that they are usless unless you are the host with i have yet to be. over all i give 2 stars. nhl is a great franchise but with no effort to fix these small bugs for the past 2 years and only focus on NEW features, it makes it difficult to enjoy this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for NHL 14
YESSSS!!!!
Posted on:4/18/13
jeniusJamie
Location: Holly, MI
Be a Pro mode is gonna be awesome!!! It's going to have off ice interactions with teammates and fans, and also off the ice interviews. All I play is Be a Pro so this is very exciting to me! I can't wait!!!
26 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mattyice30
 
Please wait while more information about mattyice30 is loaded.
Additional information about mattyice30 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/8/13
Always get excited for the new NHL to come out. Loved the moments live feature for NHL 13. Hope that returns. However one thing I am getting sick of is Gary Thorne as the play by play announcer. Why not put in Doc Emrick? Overall cant wait for this game to come out.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for NHL 14
Most Realistic NHL Game To Date
Posted on:6/18/13
Chansen2796
Location: Chicago, IL
This upcoming NHL game, will feature off-ice interactions with fans (autograph sessions, etc.) in be a pro mode. NHL 14 will include face off kick outs, making it by far one of the most realistic NHL games to date.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NHL 14
I WANT THIS GAME!!!!
Posted on:9/8/13
ljanosy4
Location: Wheaton, IL
I love the NHL games overall. NHL 14 is a great game I played the demo and I already want the game so badly. NHL 14 includes NHL 94 anniversary mode, which brings you back to the old days with old-school organ music. NHL 14 definetly brings an amount of fun, fights, and alot of goals. I love NHL 14!!!!
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NHL 14
WOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:5/19/13
HerpDeLerp
Location: Michigan
WOW! Be A Pro looks like it's going to be so much fun, gives you the realistic feel of real life NHL. I can not wait.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NHL 14
Garbage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/13
Mcdanglesnipes
I was hoping this was going to be better than 13, but I was wrong. The only thing different in 14 is the new hitting physics. Same bad AI, same garbage goals from behind the net. As somebody that plays hockey at the varsity level, I can honestly say that NHL 14 is nothing like a hockey game. The new one touch deke is stupid; the offense can just spam the button so the defense never has a chance, especially since the AI is terrible. And the skating, don't even get me started on it. There's no way it would take an actual NHL player so long to turn around. They would stop and take explosive strides to get back into the play. Also, ultimate team has become pay to win; if you spend real money, you get better players. Won't be buying another NHL game until they either make it realistic or make it like 12 since that one was the best.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 36 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LAXXER1801
 
Please wait while more information about LAXXER1801 is loaded.
Additional information about LAXXER1801 could not be loaded.
NHL 14
Posted 9/14/13
Is a good game all around. Beginners who don't really know how to deke can use the one touch deke and still have a chance versus a nhl franchise player. The new fighting is like a game mode in itself. I used to never fight because of how boring it was in Nhl 13. Now every time I make a big hit I'm ready to fight and knock them out. More like the real NHL where people use speed more then dekes. Good job EA now make packs more worth it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for NHL 14
Awesome
Posted on:8/29/13
Madson4
Location: Peoria, IL
by reading several others reviews they haven't played the new demo for the game and those talking about NHL 13 saying period length is 20min these people don't mess with there settings enough! NHL 14 from playing the demo is just down right insane if you watch the trailers they are NO lie hits are bigger better more realistic, dekes are easier to pull off and when done at the right time really give you the break away chance, FIGHTING-again unreal simply amazing we are use to just the simple over hand and when finished you eventually see a black eye, but now its immediate results squaring off toe -toe upper cut over hand dodge lean back tug pull push, you actually knock the opponent out with a perfectly timed swing the results are redness cuts and bruising of the face plus your 5min penalty, this NHL really appears to have out done itself
Review 10 for NHL 14
Not much better than 2013
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
Jinko
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is okay. But, still has big issues with the AI in the game being really stupid and not doing anything to stop a goal a lot of the time. Its like the penalties in the game are one sided some times which makes it hard to enjoy a online game. Not to mention the bugs that will reset you on a puck drop sometimes. That is really annoying to me. Goaltender Interference is the worst thing in the game. Onetime you can have him get hit and knocked out of the way and he falls to the ice and lays down, then the next time you bump into him and get the goaltender interference. This game needs a good overhaul. Always next year EA.... Dont screw it up again..
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 11 for NHL 14
Needs to be a big leap forward.
Posted on:8/14/13
Potcha
Location: Novi, MI
I have been a loyal fan to the NHL series for a very long time and have been pleased with the direction they were going till NHL 13. While NHL 13 had some good new concepts (the skating is much more realistic and the puck physics are a good idea) it was plagued by many problems. The hit physics were just absurd, skating momentum and direction of the hit meant nothing in the game and it ended up being very silly. Teammate AI had somehow gotten worse, with your teammates never getting out of the way on point shots, and not being smart enough to move into the play for passes. Be a pro was plagued with problems that kept you on the bench with glitches, and no longer even offered the option to always be on the ice.
This year has to be a lot better, there was just so much that needed fixed that it is hard to imagine this won't be a major improvement. It sounds like they have completely reworked the physics of both bodies and puck, made the goalies more human (Complete with human mistakes) and added a lot of needed depth to be a pro. They also scraped their awful fighting engine and wisely used the great fight night concepts in this years game. I am excited to try it and am keeping my fingers crossed that they don't let me down again this year.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NHL 14
A lot better than 13
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/13
AHA88
Location: THE MOON
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was originally expecting EA to make yet another offal game. But this one just blew me away. I have fell in love with all the new features, Live the Life is extremely addicting and enjoyable, HUT online seasons is just as fun to keep playing to move up divisions and get more pucks so you can buy players. They fixed most of the AI problems (not all) but there are still some funny glitches. The new physics are great. Fighting is addicting, and the hits are very intense and keep you on the edge of your seat. Overall this is one of the best NHL video games in this generation so far, I can't wait to see what NHL 15 has to offer! I recommend this to anybody who is a hockey fan or just looking for a fun game to play. 10/10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NHL 14
Good game but with a few blunders
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
SpruseJohnson
Location: Houston, TX
I have always loved EA Sports NHL series and this year's game did nothing to change that. Everything we all have grown to love about it is still there and EA has added some nice features such as the one touch dekes and new fighting engine which makes them feel more realistic. There are, as always some issues with this game that might kill the fun for some that take it too seriously like the arcade like hits that happen more than they should and the silly goals that no NHL goalie would ever let up but if you remember this is not real life but just a game they are not a deal breaker when it comes to fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NHL 14
Can't Be Worse Than '13!!
Posted on:7/22/13
ACraftyGamer
Location: Buffalo, NY
Last years game was terrible. I'm looking forward to this year and hoping EA has stepped their game up.
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NHL 14
Best hockey game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/14
AKISMOOTH94
Location: Philadelphia,PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You must grab this game if you're a true hockey.The skating and goaltender saves are so authentic.Also the GM mode is the best in the series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for NHL 14
This is an awesome game!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
TallPaul716
Location: Cheektowaga,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
An awesome game for hockey fans worldwide ! No matter where you live, if you're a hockey fan , Get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for NHL 14
needs little improvment
Posted on:6/25/13
NHLer101
the only thing i didnt like about nhl 13 is that in be a pro the periods were 20 minuted long i hope they change that in nhl 14
3 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamr23
Philly
 
Please wait while more information about gamr23 is loaded.
Additional information about gamr23 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 8/6/13
Nhler101, I thought that at first too. But then I later went into the settings and changed it to 5 min periods. Its alot of fun then.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for NHL 14
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
Giantsfan123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is so much fun and everyone should play it. Last years game was disappointing, but this years new hitting system is so much fun to play with. NHL 14 is an awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for NHL 14
Going to be the best nhl yet
Posted on:9/7/13
bballplayah
Location: New York
Playing the demo, i can already see how much improvement this game has gotten. All new fighting and hits,revised skating (thank god) and still maintains the realistic feel of NHL. NHL 13 was a bit of a disappointment but this one looks amazing. Can't wait
Review 20 for NHL 14
Realistic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/13
LIlacrosse
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So much better features than the last NHL game. The new game modes are really cool. 1111111111111111.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>