GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Headset PX22

Totally immerse yourself and focus on the task at hand with the Ear Force PX22. As an official headset of Major League Gaming, this amplified stereo headset is sure to take your play to another level with awesome Turtle Beach sound and comfort for hours of play. Plus, it'll work with virtually anything you throw at it: from PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360® to PC and Mac ®, From PS Vita to tablets and more! It's time to play with the same gear that the pros use to compete. Hear Everything. Defeat Everyone!
Average Customer Rating:
8.375
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
10
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
34 out of 4085%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Headset PX22
Review 1 for Universal Headset PX22
Pure Awesomeness
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/14
Gabsterz84
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this PX22 a couple of months ago for me and my son. we both agreed that it was a perfect match for us "heavy gamers". My son and I also noticed that this PX22 is a slight difference if you compare it with other mics. The first day we got one for each of us, our friends said that they could here us CLEARY. Enough talk about us. The mic has incredible design and performance. Very comfortable for my head. No problems at all with it. Except one small thing that's bothering me. If you use this mic for 1 hours or more your ears will start hurting or getting hot. This isn't quite for those heavy gamers who play for like 3 hours. Otherwise, the mic is great! I didn't regret spending a dime. And now since it's working with playstation 4 now, I LOVE IT EVEN MORE!!! This PX22 is a miracle to gamers. :)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Universal Headset PX22
Simply Amazing!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
JohnnyJedii
Location: Hurricane, WV
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones will blow you're mind, all the way from the premium headset sound to the low budget price. The build of these are amazing and something you would find more inline with a $300+ headset and the ability to multitask and game while listening to music makes this headset a total win for me, especially at $79.99. So do yourself a favor and pick this headset up now, you won't regret it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Headset PX22
"Works" for PS4
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/14
OGBJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these headphones for my PS4. I choose these because of the reasonable price tag of $60.00 dollars. That and the fact is literally only ONE headset made specifically for ps4 and there are made by sony. So i leave and go to try them out on my ps4 when i soon realize the sound pack that controls everything does not work on ps4 as you need some audio jack that my hd tv doesn't have and the cord you would plug into the tv was no lie about 6 inchs... impossible to plug into the ps4 as well as your tv which is required. also since with the ps4 you need to plug the headet into the controller THAT cord is also very small, so the sound pack that controls all the sounds is hanging 5 inches down from your controller and the best part YOU CANT EVEN USE THE SOUND PACK. The end result was i opted out and returned the headset and got the Sony Gold Wireless Headset, 100% recommend to everybody.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Headset PX22
MUST READ IF YOU ARE THINKING IN BUYING IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/14
Ward0g
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
PX22's Destroy Most Of The Tritton Gaming Headset Lineup Except For The Warhead And Tritton 720's, The PX22 Has an awesome inline amp with Mic/Vol Control Game Vol Control and Bass/Treble. One Tip for CoD Is to tweak the bass down all of the way to hear footsteps without too much interruption. I have got to tell you that 1v1's and Competitive Matches are easy With this Headset but Remember It isn't the best but it is the most convenient at its price. I Recommend this headset over and other under $100 Turtle Beach or Tritton. This Headset also has a perfect and crisp mic, chatting never came more sexy with this headset.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Headset PX22
Exelent Sound
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
lanito
Location: PR
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Exelent sound .Great control of bass and treble.great for music and movies too. I love this headphone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Headset PX22
Best gaming Headset I've ever had!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/14
skyz954
Location: Illinois, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I am going to explain by category, 1.COMFORT The comfort is great because around the ear cups the padding isn't hard it is soft and just great around your ears. 2.SOUND QUALITY I would give this the award of best sound quality out of all turtle beach headsets because like turtle beach says HEAR EVERYTHING DEFEAT EVERYONE with the px22s that is true 3.RANDOM Okay so overall the headset is a spectacular headset but the one point of mainly is that the wire coming out of the headset (NOTE This only matters for people who drop the headset occasionally) it starts ripping and at one point you wont be able to hear, but it's not much of a big deal that's why I only took one point of, nothing to really be worried about.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Universal Headset PX22
Amazing headset for PS4 users
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
Kraos
Location: Oregon
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So, I have some hearing loss and I have a hard time processing excessive noise. My challenge has always been being able to hear my games while my kids are playing games or goofing off....thus causing some stress for me. I understand that is my issue to deal with and it's unfair to my kids to push that onto them. So, I asked for a headset from my wife for Christmas. I didn't get them, but I did receive some cash and a gift card. I spent a good chunk of it on this headset and I gotta say....I am IMPRESSED. I am still able to hear my kids when they want to ask me a question, but as I'm able to truly hear all that's happening in the games I play I am enjoying myself MUCH more and with ZERO stress. Yes, they are wired...who cares. I don't have to charge them, the sound is great, the in-line amp is great when trying to balance out the sound for your liking and they are VERY comfortable. The longest I've worn them is 6-7 hours straight and I didn't have any discomfort. I highly recommend this set for anyone who is not put off by a wired headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Headset PX22
Great Headphones for PS4!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
colt71
Location: Chandler, Arizona
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Yes, this works for PS4, along with the DSS2! mic is awesome, sound is great!. its also set at a great price! throw that ear bud piece out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
25 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Headset PX22
defective in half a year
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
Disko7
Location: New york, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is a bellow average buy. not worth the amount you pay for it for the sound quality. there are better options with just as many capabilities cheaper. Add on to the fact that i bought this in February and by the end of July it had broke and would only play sound in one ear. I am a very cautious person when it comes to my video games and the equipment. It was kept in mint condition and no damage was done it just stopped working. To me that is unacceptable you shell out $80 for a headset it needs to last at least a couple of years before it goes defective. Then the warrant process for turtle beach has been a pain so far, i do not recommend turtle beach to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal Headset PX22
Best Headset for the PS4 under $100. Period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/13
HORRIBLYCriticalGamer
Location: Garland, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Before the PlayStation 4 had come out, I played on both PS3 and X360. For the Xbox 360, I would use the Turtle Beach X12s and those sounded fantastic! You could adjust the treble and bass on there along with game and chat volumes. The highs were crisp and clear, the mids weren't drowned out by the bass, and the bass is there, though the loose fit of the ear cups took away from the effect, but I loved the freakin' things! NOW come the PX22s. Take EVERYTHING that the X12s had and just replace the inline amp... that's all these PX22s are. They're re-branded, BLUE X12s. Saying that however, this headset is by no means shoddy and low-grade. They're still lightweight and extremely comfortable and are made specifically for gaming and even though it's not an all-official PS4 headset, it is fully-compatible and it works just like it would on your PS3. The sound is awesome, the mic quality is awesome, everything about this headset is awesome, EXCEPT the Dynamic Chat Boost feature! The way Dynamic Chat Boost works is if your game increases in volume (ex. an explosion or gunfire), the chat volume will automatically increase, meaning you'll hear your buddies louder and much, MUCH clearer. Now, if you intentionally lower the volume of the game or if the game just goes quiet for a moment (ex: loading screens with no music or sound), the Chat Boost will detect that difference in volume, and make your chat volume that much lower, causing you to ask your friends to talk much louder, even though they've been talking at the same volume before. This feature is very annoying, especially when you're gaming at night. The chat should definitely have an independent volume control of its own, which it does, but it should not be "boosted" by any means whatsoever! I would never use these PX22s in competitive gaming, but putting Chat Boost aside, the build quality and the sound quality of them makes up for it in the end. These also have a separate input for music playback! There is an aux cable included in the box that you hook up to your laptop, tablet, cell phone, iPod, anything that takes a 3.5mm headphone plug, and then connect that to the dedicated jack in the inline amp and you've got music with pretty good sound! The volume for the music is strictly controlled by the device connected (cell phone, laptop, tablet, iPod, etc). All in all, I would definitely recommend this headset to everyone. The $79.99 price tag may seem steep to some at first, but you really have to set these up and get an actual feel for them after. They WILL satisfy your every gaming audio need!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Headset PX22
These are great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/13
TheKate
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got these to use with my Xbox 360 and so far, I'm very pleased!
I bought the Afterglow Wired universal headset originally and the quality was awful. Everyone else's voices sounded static-y and low quality. After some online research I found out the similar priced Turtle Beach X12s (which I wanted to exchange my Afterglows for) had similar static-y problems. People mentioned it was likely the USB connection. Well whatever, all the ones I could afford (under $100 were USB connected).
I personally chose the PX22's because I felt like I would get better quality for the extra $20 (which at the point of me exchanging the Afterglows was a sunk cost since GameStop is awful about returns). Also, these are blue. And look better than green IMO:) But they look almost the same as the X12's otherwise.
First off, the game sound quality is AMAZING. In Black Ops II though, some of the music plays louder in the left ear. But the gameplay sounds are nice and clear. I enjoy that you can adjust the treble and bass. It's helpful!
Secondly, other people's mics sound awesome as well. I find that I can't hear myself echoing as I did with the Afterglows. Being able to individually adjust the game volume and the chat volume makes it easy to find a balance you like best.
Thirdly, they're comfortable. So far anyways (about an hours game play at a time). I don't think any big headsets get too comfortable after hours and hours of wear. These are adjustable which is great. Not like cheap clicky adjustable...if that makes any sense. They are very solid and stable.
Fourthly, the mic quality of my voice is greatly improved. At least that's what I'm told. It's a lot more focused on your voice compared to the general Xbox mic that comes with the system. And a lot softer than the harsh empty sound of the Afterglows. Keep in mind, this is only what I've been told. So basically...clearer but still smooth-ish? I suppose. :)
And I LOVE that you can unplug the headphones themselves from the control box thing where you adjust the volumes. That means you can use them with your iPod or other MP3 device...computer...etc. You can't detach the microphone though. You can move it up but it's still there. So maybe not something to wear on the bus or whatnot. :)
Also, I don't know why some people are complaining you need an adapted to use these with an HD tv? My HD tv has a headphone jack so I simply plug the USB into the xbox and the aux cable that's attached to that into my tv's headphone jack. Unfortunately, that means the Xbox's USB port has to be within just over a foot from the TV headphone jack. So if you're using a HUGE tv and your xbox is pretty far, that may not work for you. Otherwise you may need that adapter thingy.
All in all, for a girl gamer, this is way better than the Afterglows and I wanted people to know that! These won't tug on your hair, ladies! I've had some bad experiences with headsets that made it so I always had to have my hair up or it felt like someone was trying to pull my hair out!
I seriously love these headphones with my Xbox though. They would be even better wireless (assuming that didn't sacrifice sound quality).
But believe me, if you're interested in hearing the game and the chat, these are GREAT headphones!
I would definitely recommend these to other people :)!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AfterglowGamer63
Cinncinati,Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about AfterglowGamer63 is loaded.
Additional information about AfterglowGamer63 could not be loaded.
Not So Good and too complicated
Posted 3/23/14
Why on the box it says it works with Xbox 360 I do not know.This headset does not work with Xbox 360.Once you buy it you have to buy extra accessories for it to work.My last headset had one wire and it was an afterglow.They worked very well but they broke,so I thought I would try Turtle Beach.On these there is over 5 wires. Plus,this headset is very uncomfortable and gives your ears a rash.If you are a Xbox 360 user I highly recommend not buying this headset. P.S The accesory is over 30$
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Universal Headset PX22
"Supports" PS4
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
IceFire2050
Location: New York
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Be warned. This headset does technically work on the PS4 but the PS4 will not pass audio properly just on the USB connection alone. In order to use the headset's built-in volume controls you need to connect to Analog Audio Out ports on your TV. Most modern TV's do not have these connections. They will either have an Optical or Coaxial Digital Audio Out.
This leaves you with 2 options for this headset, either buy an adapter to convert the connection or plug the headset directly into the controller. If you choose the former, you will take a hit in audio quality from the conversion from digital to analog. If you choose the later, you will give up all volume controls on the headset.
That being said, the headset is comfortable and the mic does work well. Just don't believe that this headset is fully supported by the PS4.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Headset PX22
works really well
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/14
Blackpaw
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my parents actually got this head set for me and i have to say that it is a very nice head set the sound is really clear and i enjoy being able to listing to Artists like Alice Cooper while i play Grand theft auto 5 or other games. or watch Netflix while i play a game on my lap top as well. I also like the ability to mute the mike and chat by turning the volume all the way down so i don't have to hear the other players as well. I strongly recommend this headset to players that are willing to spend a large amount of money but not a few 100 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Universal Headset PX22
Best Headset Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
thatawkwardkid57
Location: New Jersey, NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Got them as a birthday present and all I can say is they're beast! I wear glasses and they're alright. The mixer is amazing! And I love how I can stream in music with one wire while I'm gaming. Go out and get yourself these, they're better than the x12s if your wondering!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Headset PX22
10 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/14
SHADOWLU
Location: Washington DC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The best headset I have ever bought thus far. I actually stopped playing FPS games years ago because i couldn't find a decent headset with a reasonable price tag, then I came across these and fell in love with the sound I got from them. I even use them to listen to my iPod now and again. I like that I can control the game volume and chat volume separately its been a big help in my game play you can hear everything so clear. I Highly recommend this headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Universal Headset PX22
this is something amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/13
laithhaddad12345678
Location: Detroit
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
this is an awesome headset you can hear everything. People turning around corners, grenades being thrown, my favorite enimies walking behind me in COD BO2. If your looking for a headset this one is amazing. It doesnt even hurt your ears after three or four hours of beast gaming. so buy it and you wont regret it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hernando
West Monroe,Louisiana
 
Please wait while more information about Hernando is loaded.
Additional information about Hernando could not be loaded.
Hurts Sometimes but is great
Posted 12/17/13
Pushes on the side of your head ,but still great.I would not play a long time with these.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Universal Headset PX22
A decent all-around headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/14
AdrianZ27
Location: Lima, Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am not a huge Turtle Beach Fan as their earlier stuff was entirely overrated, but i gave them another shot with this fairly inexpensive pair. So far they work great on my phone, my gaming computer, and of course with the stereo adapter, on my Xbox One. They aren't bad for the price range, but with the adapter costing $30 for the one, why not just save a little more for the Polk's, that come with the adapter... All in all a good all around headset, and the design is just beautiful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Universal Headset PX22
Great Sound but Terrible Comfortability
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
JT1357
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The sound is amazing, the availability to use it on anything is fantastic and the ability to adjust how loud other players are, the treble and bass, and the ability to mute yourself is very good. But that one con that if it wasn't there would of made this headset a 10 is that it is so uncomfortable. After wearing it for about half an hour your ears start to hurt, especially if you have glasses. Don't get this if you are a hardcore gamer who plays for hours on end.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
turk1800
tx
 
Please wait while more information about turk1800 is loaded.
Additional information about turk1800 could not be loaded.
QUESTION TV/PS4
Posted 7/6/14
CAN THESE BE USED FOR TV SOUND AS WELL IF WATHCING TV, WOULD THEY HAVE 2 DEVISES TO PLUG IN ONE FOR PS4 AND ONE FOR TV ???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Universal Headset PX22
Awesomeness!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
Gabbers
Location: New Jersey NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This Headset is by far the best set for your buck right now. I have tried pretty much all the major brands , Tritton, Astro, Turtle Beach. And these are by far the best your gonna get for $70. The inline amp has adjustments for you transmit chat and receive chat. Treble, Bass and Master volume. Also the detatch from the amp so you can use them for your iPad or iPhone without having the need for a usb port like the predecessor did. (PX21's) Very light weight and comfortable. Look very cool also.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Headset PX22
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
Jameron4eva
Location: Orlando, Fl
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Let me get this straight, every TB headset I've owned has been awesome, but i haven't even been online yet, bought these Friday in store, had them hold it for me, and I'm already extremely happy, they're already better than any I've had. That's it, i love them.
Pros: New inline amp, soft breathable mesh headband, nice ear pads, great features, good price.
Cons: NONE!
For the price, this IS the best Universal headset out there. Buy it and, HEAR EVERYTHING, DEFEAT EVERYONE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>