GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Rivals

Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never stops as both sides compete in an all-out war featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a stunning open-world environment. Play as either a cop or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Risk everything in the ultimate high stakes rivalry.
Average Customer Rating:
6.368
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 out of 1953%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Rivals
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Buggy and non-stable on every platform!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Hjalpmovie
Location: Sweden
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
So, Need for Speed Rivals. I bought it because The Crew was delayed, I will never make that mistake again! Of course, it's not the developers fault (EA Ghost), it's just those money hungry Electronic Arts. The game uses the Frostbite 3 engine that is unstable on every single platform, EA also tries to steal our money by making pointless DLC's that cost 5 pounds with only TWO CARS! The game also freezes and sometimes LOADS when you're going fast! Of course, EA doesn't know those good games that aren’t rushed earn money, not bad games that have been made in two weeks! The lack of customization, cars, gameplay and a good story is very disappointing! There are some positive things though, like the amazing sounds or graphics. BUT we were promised a huge multiplayer experience... what do we get!? SIX PLAYERS MEETING EACHOTHER EVERY 15 MILES! Well, it's time to move to Ubisoft and never buy any EA game ever again! Goodbye, I'm going to play some 2002 Hot Pursuit, Underground series, Most Wanted (good one) and Carbon! -3/10
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Looks Promising
Posted on:8/15/13
L069
Location: Norfolk,VA
Rivals looks like a good racer. The graphics are amazing and the car selection and variety is pretty good for both cops and racers. The customization seems decent. The setting of this game is good for a open world and racing atmosphere. Safehouses are being brought back. I'm only afraid of how the mods are going back. Hopefully they are nothing like MW 2012's mods.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Rivals
It's a mixture of Most Wanted and Hot Pursuit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/14
Mariobros
Location: Fairhaven
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game needs help. If you're with Playstation network, you just jump right into a public match. The cop mode is brutally hard. Racing is fun though but it's once in a blue moon an actual person will race with you. Just wait until a better one comes out.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Excellent gameplay, horrible new elements
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/13
Benuu1123
The gameplay of Rivals is amazing. The sense of speed and crazy maneuvering is all there, so when you're in the heat of a race the game shines. However, it's when you're out of these races that the game fails. Rivals has a online world, so you can never pause the game, meaning that unless you plan on turning it off, there's no way to stop the game. Another highly frustrating element is the ever present police force. You can just be driving along when all of a sudden three police cars descend on you and start wrecking you. Now this would be a minor annoyance if they didn't take all of the points you have accumulated when the bust you. And the weapons for the racers seem useless, because they do little to no damage. Ultimately, Rivals is a great game weighed down by poor mechanics and bad ideas.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Can't Wait
Posted on:6/4/13
CODgam3r
Location: Bozeman, MT
I've been waiting for another NFS with customization like that of Carbon and Underground 2. This one seems like it might finally bring back some of the cool customization you used to be able to do. That's what I love most and can't wait for it.
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
asdfghjkl123
 
Please wait while more information about asdfghjkl123 is loaded.
Additional information about asdfghjkl123 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/21/13
there is going to be costomization
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Rivals
FIX THE GAME!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
23laxstar
Location: South Jordan, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off let me tell you if you want to feel the urge to punch babies play this game. Need for speed rivals is so buggy and the cops are way to strong. One bug that they need to fix is that if you loose connection to Orgins or a host migration is that the cops should not start before you I cant even beging to tell you how many times I have built up 200,000+ SP and I have gotten it taken away because the cops start before me after the host migration and they bust me. And don't even get me started on EMP's they will destroy your car and cause you to get busted and loose all your points. Also when I am driving around the game pauses/freezes for a couple of seconds causing me to loose control. These issues wouldn't be a problem if they didn't happen as often as they do. Don't get me wrong this game is really fun but I see no point playing it after you have beat the cop and racer careers. PS buy some extra controllers just incase you throw a few.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Rivals
IS SPLITSCREEN SO DIFFICULTL!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
Tmaster1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just bought the game thinking finally! EA got the point that their best racing games had 2 player splitscreen where you could call a friend up, chill together, and enjoy burning rubber all on the same tv. Sadly I immediately turned to the back cover only to see 1 player with 2-6 player online! I dont give about online; People are annoying online and leave me angry for the day. Where's the 2-player head to head option!!! So disappointed EA ...smh. Every game's online will die sooner or later but 2player splitscreen never will-- it's that simple...that simple!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
16 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Great game but it needs updates badly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
deathchico
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is great. Still no customization to the body but there is painting of the body and rims plus decals and liveries. Overwatch is a cool feature i use it all the time. Its used to help yourself and others or harm them. Amazing graphics, gameplay, and sound. lots of cars, too. BUT, they are need of an update badly. When i first started playing the game only glitched a little but as a got farther into the game it just glitches all the time (cars floating up in the air, glitching of the road after a crash and not resetting you, black screen when driving). Now I can't even get past the loading screen without it freezing. i tried resetting my ps3 and deleting stuff but nothing. Great game I just wish it would work.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Rivals
NO RACING WHEELS WORK!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/13
radioyaz
EA waited until the day of the release to tell everyone buying this game. That Racing Wheels will not be supported. They hid it in tiny print on a hard to find webpage buried inside the FAQ page about the game. NO Racing Wheels work on any platform, PS3/4, Xbox/One or PC! None! If you use a Racing Wheel for your Racing Games...DON'T BUY THIS GAME!!! Their chat support says a fix is in the works but there has been no official announcement by EA. They just figured all the people that use wheels wouldn't care if they could use them. To date this is the only NFS game to not support a wheel. To Bad since this is a fairly fun game. But with no wheel option, I am taking it back. And since I can't get a refund I will be stuck buy something else but at least I will know what I am buying. Apparently there is some kind of Hack for PC users but hack is just that a Hack not a solution. Fix this Ridiculous Error EA....Please!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Rivals
TOO FAR AWAY
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
Needforspeedforever
Location: Town,state
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I preordered this game 3 months before it came out because it was supposed to be a combination of undergrounds customization , hot persuits cop and racers and most wanted free roam.. But wat I got was a load of garbage the customization isn't deep only a couple liverys and not even the ability to move them around. I finished both sides in two days the rest of speed lists in the next 3 and got all the cars and there upgrades during that time. After that there was nothing to keep me going except for when I feel like playing but then I play for about 30 min before I get bored. Not only that but no doc yet not one that gives u xtra cars and it's the middle of February even though it's supposed to be dec and jan i do not recommended this game maybe when they make underground 3 or something similar and not some copy and paste like they did w the new most wanted and rivals... Maybe wen criterion leaves nfs forever and does nothing to the serious and just let black box and ghost and ghost uk work on it so that they can work on a good game withou stress well that was just my opinion if u don't believe me try it yorself
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Rivals
More Road Rage
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
cammmm
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm not a picky gamer when it comes to races as long as i can go super fast that's all i care about. however i did not like the way they made the cops almost impossible to beat, and the points you worked hard to earn is gone in 60 seconds or less. I hated the cut scenes where when you crash it took forever to get my menu up to find the nearest repair shop because of that minor bug i get busted a lot because they don't really give you enough time to at least get away. I also hated where at some points in the game you get stuck for a few seconds, and if your doing a time trial whether on the racer or cops campaign your times till rolls, and your already behind a few seconds, seconds that could have been used not lost. this is an excellent game, but flawed in ways that could have been looked upon before launch! however, it dose deserve my 10 star appeal because I LOVE NEED FOR SPEED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Rivals
This game was all hype and didn't deliver on that
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/14
techbloodbath19
For a racing game for the "Next Generation" it wasn't that great. In my opinion the car selection was sold short and customization was also in the same boat. Just coming off of the great reboot of Most Wanted this was worse. Rivals does however like they said, " Bridge the gap between single player and multiplayer." I also think that in my short time that I had this game they took the Need For Speed: Hot Pursuit map and added to it. The graphics are great no doubt about that, the gameplay is what drags it down. I mean yea the game isn't going to sell well if the game just "looks good" the game has to be playable too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Rivals
The game doesn't pause!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/13
cbecklund
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had high expectations for this game after last year's Most Wanted. That game had great graphics, cars and playability. Although initially this game seems promising when you play it, it quickly becomes disappointing. Not much more than an hour or two into the game my controller ran out of battery during a cop chase. Normally in any other game, there would be no problem. A game would pause as soon as it disconnected and all is well. However, the game gave me a warning the controller was disconnected and the chase kept going and I soon was arrested and lost all my speed points after playing for a while. Even when you turn off all online functions from the game there is no way to pause. I can't believe that they could make a game that can't pause. Apart from not being able to pause, I really enjoyed the gameplay and sound of the game. Overall I would definitely not recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Need For Speed Review
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/13
overheadbox
Location: okahoma,ok
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played the ps4 and ps3 version. Ps4 blow mind with great graphics but another hand the ps3 graphic were all right but not as appealing as much. Its still a great game to played and if you like need for speed series you will like as well. PS4 ill give 9.0/10 and ps3 8.0/10.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Rivals
RIVALS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
FPWildcat44
Location: Fort Payne, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for speed rivals is a good game. Its graphics are sleek, gameplay is great. It even uses the new frostbite 3 engine to give it undeniable greatness. With great new cars,new pursuit tech, and customization options.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Rivals
MY NEXT PRE-ORDER
Posted on:9/29/13
supremegamer8000
It may not be the best upcoming game, but it certainly is one the best upcoming games. I probably will pre-order it. There'll be a wider variety of gameplay options than its predecessor because you can play as a cop. The cops vs. racers gameplay style is similar to that of Need for Speed: Most Wanted. Finally, Ghost Games is bringing back Ferraris as a playable car. This game is going above and beyond the 2012 game and is on my list for the top upcoming games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Rivals
this is going to be epic
Posted on:6/5/13
Tehstreetrac0r
judging by the trailer, EA is bringing back Ferrari's! Hurrah! they will also bring in custom liveries and stuff and even licence plates! Definitely pre- ordering!!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Rivals
sweet game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
astrocap22000
Location: michigan
one of the best need for speed games I have played, I loved hot pursuit, and its similar. loved every second i was playing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Yes! a game where you can be cops!
Posted on:6/23/13
brownbob
Location: Chicago,IL
im really excited for this game because it seems like it might be a good remake of nfs hot pursuit 2. I just hope they bring back split screen.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
nickolodoen
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was a nfs fan since nfs underground and I think that this game is awesome because the hardcore intensity of the police chases when your a racer is mind-blowing.... I agree with some people that online is annoying and your in a police chase for no reason but why the h*** would you be mad because the game wont pause! obviously its an online game so its bound not to be able to pause! EA just wants you to be on your toes all the time for the best gaming!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>