GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tales of Symphonia Chronicles

With Tales of Symphonia Chronicles, players will be able to experience the most celebrated Tales of game to date, Tales of Symphonia, again for the first time with crisp and colourful high definition graphics and additional content along with its 2008 sequel Tales of Symphonia: Dawn of the New World.
Average Customer Rating:
8.971
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
8
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
31 out of 3491%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Review 1 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Avoid if you value your memories...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
Shift
Location: Cudahy, WI
This was supposedly an HD remaster but its clearly just a higher resolution port. When I played this as a kid I didn't really remember the voiceless skits but now they stick out like a sore thumb. I find myself skipping over the skits and voiceless cut scenes entirely. It breaks up the flow of the game and honestly should have been done. I'm really wishing I would have not picked up this game. Its kind of like going back and watching the early Voltron dubs. You realize they suck now but as a kid you didn't notice. Same goes for Symphonia I guess...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Best Tales Series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
NagisaNoCherry
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Symphonia is just perfect. This has the best story and gameplay out of every other Tales games I have played. This is a MUST get and you can't miss it. (づ。◕‿‿◕。)づ
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A MUST HAVE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
mgreg
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am an avid RPGamer and I cant help but to go into deep deep detail in judging any game I play. I owned Tales of Symphonia for the GameCube wayyyyy back. I went out on a limb of picking up a pre-owned game I never heard about and holy lordy I was glad I did. Seriously if Nintendo made games similar to this and stopped beating their dead horses they wouldn't be struggling the way they are now. The "Tales of" games have made a transition to PlayStation consoles and they couldn't be better placed. Now before I invested into the PS versions of the Tales of games I was still going through my GC version of Tales of Symphonia! I have done 5! FIVE! F-I-V-E! play throughs! The Tales of games have an incredible replay value! There are so many secrets and techniques and special items and summons you can find that are not needed to complete the game! There are also so many more abilities in this version than the old! The gameplay is something like a 3-D/scrolling action fight, it may be something that not everyone is used to but woo is it fulfilling! It forces you to take charge of the fight unless you want to be crammed against the border trapped in the enemy's arms! The game has such an amazing a deeply tuned RPG system that allows a player to tweak everything about that characters style! But if you don't think you will go in depth as a hardcore gamer and try to fulfill 100% everything like I do, DON'T WORRY! The game takes good care of casual gamers! of course the story will grip you like nothing else before and soon casual gamers will find them selves wanting to be hardcore fans! The graphics were something I wasn't a fan of back in the day, the "cartoon-esk" look, but this game pulls them off as well as the Windwaker did, I love this style now! The game may look less at face value to some but believe me the art in this game is great and the graphics here have been even further improved, its marvelous. Ever be playing a game and find your self humming a tune and being "ugh thats so annoying! I cant get that annoying bland loop out of my head!" guess what that doesnt happen in this game! The only thing I can take away from the sound score is that the voices are rarely out of sync, but hey it was originally Japanese so get over it! But wow every thing sounds crystal clear!
Look this is a game that should not be overlooked it's immense and the story is something that many have never encountered! talk about refreshing! Get this game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
jacobo550
Location: sd
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
is a great game even till now :) i play this game about four times now and i'm still hooked on great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A legend retold
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
LegendaryRPG
Location: Garden Grove, GG
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Tales of Symphonia holds a lot of sentiment to me. Playing it today, I still love it. The story is basic like every other JRPGs, but with likable characters, compelling villains, and people you would want to save, it takes a new spin. The gameplay may have not been to the standard of the new ones, but it takes some skill and is rewarding when one figures out the mechanics. The Graphics and Sound is dated, but has that charm to fit. Really the one thing that drags it down is the sequel.... Sigh....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
As good as you would expect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
x7DSxLU5T
Location: Astoria, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
[My scores are based on when the games originally came out.] If you played the originals and loved them, this is something you must pick up. The addition of the Japanese voice-overs allows you to get rid of the horrendous English ones, which already makes the games way better, as well as adding voices to the skits [Japanese voices only]
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Fantastic new HD remake for a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
noodle4321
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I always loved Tales of Symphonia ever since I played it on my Gamecube years ago. This new remake heavily improves the graphics of an already amazing game. If you love JRPGs, definitely give this a shot.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Great for JRPG Owners.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
Rundas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Hands Down All I Have To Say Is JRPGs Are Amazing! I Highly Recommend Something Like FF & Other JRPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
For people who never got to play the Gamecube VER
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
greenx56
Location: Hempstead, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It may be the ps2 version but i personally don't mind getting free costumes instead of DLC as well as more sidequest is okay in my book.
I believe people who got the chance to play Symphonia should get this
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Return of Tales: a Great Buy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
MMT31
Location: Columbia, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved it, and honestly if you haven't played any Tales then I darn well suggest you get your butt in gear and get a copy of ToSC now before the supply runs out, and if this is the point where you laugh at me: Tales of Xillia came out about seven months ago, when I go a game store I only see used copies and only a few of it so if you still got a PS3 buy this immediately. I mean you're getting TWO games for 2/3 the price of getting one new game these days; what's the problem here!?
So the game itself: they're the same games from the originals, might have been clean up and soundtrack might have been redone from the originals, but I didn't play the originals so I wouldn't know. Either way the sound and graphics are classic (old these days) and for classic graphics it's solid and I like it. Someone who is expecting graphics and animation like what you'll see on the PS4, you won't get it so don't buy it then go write a review that's a 1 out of 10 and be like "terrible its broken game play and bad animations make this game bad. ITS A WASTE OF MONEY AND AN INSULT TO THE SERIES" (leondude). It's the originals ported to now play on the PS3 and if you're playing a RPG for the graphics you need to be slapped. Granted there was a small issue where about 10 times total through the games there was a delay in the middle of characters talking to each other, but very minimal (like a second or two lag) and issue that didn't hurt the game. This delay/ lag was the only issue I encountered on my play through of Chronicles and is also the reason it gets a 9 out of 10 rather than a perfect score. The combat is real time which for me has been a personal favorite because it has the excitement and fast pace that turn based doesn't.
Now playing ToS then DotNW might cause a shock. In DotNW you lose the world map traveling like in ToS, but once I got over my shock losing that didn't really hurt DotNW gameplay or story in any way or damper my enjoyment of playing the game. Other than that both games are great and though they are part of the same arc of the series they have great stories and their own identities; it's not like playing the same game twice. So my opinion: ToS is a great game on its own and DotNW is one of the best sequels I've ever played and doesn't take away from the lasting appeal of ToS. So if you're a casual or hardcore or a Tales gamer get Tales of Symphonia Chronicles, it'll be one of the best buys as a gamer you'll ever make. Now if you'll excuse I'm going to go for another play through.
Enjoy my fellow gamers,
MMT31
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Love the Tales Series!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
xKuroFox
This was the game that made me a fan of the Tales games. I'm happy they updated it to PS3 because the GameCube is barely hanging on now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
lolkats
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Yeah, no way am I going to let some hater ruin the reputation of this game based on <1 day of playing it. I bought this because I loved the original on Gamecube (heck, even bought the GC just for it in college), and I plan to play its sequel that I couldn't before.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Great!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
Shuzen
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember receiving this in the mail when I was 13. This game was very new to me when people were playing this like Call of Duty, World of War Craft, and Assassin's creed.
But this game grew on me in so many ways in it's original release. As a thirteen year old wanting to be a writer, I imitatively immersed myself after the opening sequence that explained the struggle of one world.
Without spoiling much, I will say that your quest becomes much less black and white as you progress throughout the story. What seemed like a simple journey becomes something breath taking, and immortalizing.
The combat has certainly aged compared to the the much newer Tales of Xillia, but is still good with it's diverse combat and skill growth progression.
The music is still as grand as I remember it to be.
Graphically, it had received a pretty big texture update from what I remember in my gamecube copy. But still not as flashy as the more recent Xillia.
But to anyone who appreciates a good story, unique sense of music to fit situation with great diverse play style based on character, strategy, and growth, then this classic is for you. On top of that, two games for the price of one.
New extra dungeon that was previously exclusive on the PlayStation, Japanese only port. Extra costumes and much more new skills with nice cut-ins to go with signature abilities. So yes, this offers something new to those who have played the original to go with it's polish.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
TakaChance
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved Both Tales Of Symphonia and when they brought it over to the PS3 i was sooo happy. It has great story line. and soooo much to do as side quest.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Totally worth the wait! ^-^
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Adanarys
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I LOVE this GAME!
I own symphonia for the GC and when i heard the announcement for a remake after Xillia came out i was so excited.
I can see alot of changes in the game HD wise and all around.
I love the REMOVAL of the FAT BULKY lines around the characters that the GC version had the characters looks so much smoother and sharp in this game you can actually appreciate the details in the face and weapons.
i like the added on Titles as a Tales of symphonia fan i love this Remake and i would recommend it to ANYONE who played it for the gamecube [=
and is looking to replay it with a new added bosses new titles meaning new possible side quest? and bosses =] and who doesnt love earning trophies playing something fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
One of the best all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
theyellowsnoman
Location: Peekskill, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Tales of Symphonia has always been one of my favorite games of all time, if you've never gotten to play it, this is a worthy purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Great Multiplayer Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Echocentricity
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Feels great to play with my brothers and fully enjoy the game! You can follow through and break through the 2 different tales games included!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
Made me change my mind about the original
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
FallenAngelEme
Location: Goose Creek,SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The first time I ever played ToS I did not like it at all, but i did like the sequel (which in all fairness should of just been its own separate game). But the HD remake changed my mind, not only did it seem smoother and less cluncky than the GC version it also had the changes from the PS2 version and dual audio which i wish every JRPG had. It was a perfect remake to a game that did not age as well as it should of.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A Fantastic remake of a GCN Classic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Skeith2005
I loved the original Tales of Symphonia on my Gamecube. Logged well over 800 hours on it. When I heard that it was getting a remake, bundled with the sequel, no less, I was very excited. Having played it finally, I can say this is a very good port, bringing over the additions from the PS2 version as well as trophy support. I loved the original, and so far, I love this version just as much. I haven't played DotNW yet, so I can't comment on it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Tales of Symphonia Chronicles
A Great Return to a Classic Tales Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Kirai
Location: FL
This is what a remake should be. They upped the graphics just enough to make it not have such big dark lines around everything but still kept it with the nostalgic look of the old game. Adding costumes and extra skits is a plus too. On top of that they fixed the battle camera that was driving me crazy so now it doesn't just focus on player 1 and I can finally see what Genis is doing when I'm playing him as player 2.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>