GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 4 System

The PlayStation®4 system opens the door to an incredible journey through immersive new gaming worlds and a deeply connected gaming community. With an astounding launch lineup and over 180 games in development the PS4 system offers more top-tier blockbusters and inventive indie hits than any other next-gen console. Developer Inspired, Gamer Focus. PlayStation 4. Greatness Awaits
Average Customer Rating:
8.388
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (398 reviews)
10 stars
234
9 stars
58
8 stars
11
7 stars
8
6 stars
4
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
40
308 out of 37482%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 4 System
Review 1 for PlayStation 4 System
Stupid good console
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
Reag
Location: Neosho, MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned my ps4 for about 2 months now and it's the greatest console so far. I had an xbox one also, but there were so many problems I just didn't want to deal with so it just sits alone in the corner. My ps4 still runs like the day I got it, and I've downloaded 5 full games and have a couple from disks on it. The 500gb is nice. Only issue I've had is every other time I turned it on, there wouldn't be any sound. I switched HDMI cables and it works perfect now so good job giving me a cruddy HDMi cable Sony. I was really happy when I learned my turtle beach just plugs in to play and even more excited when the surround sound part was still usable too with my headset.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 4 System
ps4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/14
TrillKillz
Location: baltimore MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ps4 has great graphics better that xbox 1 of course but cod ghosts for me has a bit to much detail the maps are so hot u cant use thermals unless ur used to it i play codg on ps3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 4 System
I love it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/14
Ny89
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This ps4 is my dream of my own, I really liked the game graphics and it's power engine processer that brings games to real life. Sony did a great job with this console. Sony doesn't mess around when it comes to making good products to our customers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation 4 System
What...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
AlphaSwag
Location: Texas, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I bought this console for myself thinking it would be great, BUT when I turned it on, it had like the same interface as the PS3 which kind of disappointed me. So after that, I played Killzone Shadow Fall thinking it would be a good game, but of course, it was a really terrible game. Next, I went to the Playstation Store to see if there was a game which looked good but all I saw was Knack, CoD Ghost, and inFamous Second Son. All of these games sucked! On the other hand, Xbox One has some really good games which aren't boring. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS CONSOLE! I'm going to immediately return this console and get the Xbox One. Sony, step up your game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 4 System
The best for Next Gen Gaming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
NickyB
Location: Orange, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The ps4 simply is the best console out their wright now. It has a great controller with Dualshock 4. Along with great graphics the user friendliness of this device is great. It also has DDR5 not DDR3 like the xbox one. Also playstation plus is the best. Overall this console is great and you should buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation 4 System
Best Console Owned, That's Impressive Sony
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
c123
Location: Iowa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned lots of gaming systems in the past. NES, Super NES, Nintendo 64, Gamecube, Wii, Wii U, Dreamcast, Xbox, Xbox 360, PS1, PS2, PS3, and PS4. Out of all these systems it is pretty high on my list and I'm sure it could be my favorite console ever! You notice I don't have Xbox One listed. Don't trust Microsoft after RROD with 360 (went through 4 360's) plus PS4 is cheaper, more powerful, and focuses more on games. Sure, there is entertainment on PS4 such as Netflix, Amazon Prime Instant Video, Vudo, etc but the main focus is games! What is the main purpose a gamer buys a game console, games! With its great design and the new much better, more comfortable Dualshock 4 controller, you will be impressed! Highly recommend!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 4 System
just trash...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
stiltz
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought my ps4 about a week ago new. when i took it home and hooked it up. went to turn it on and gave me an error. i spent like 2 hours on the phone with sony to figure out what is wrong with it to find out the hard drive was dead. i then get a second one because it was under warranty set it up and found out i have to pay more money just to play with my friends online. last time i heard sony was free for online. also it has a long install for games that take up much of this supposedly large 500 gb hard drive. way to back track sony. and infamous second son is too short and just an okay game not a system seller. im going back to ps3 for a bit until sony gets their stuff straight.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 4 System
2001 technology for 2014 prices
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/14
donlarry
Location: nyc
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its hard to get a HONEST review since most people are blinded by the marketing or the possibility of giving a good review for likes or for pay HERE IS THE REAL REVIEW ( nice and easy not to wordy) 1. the stream and video play back capability it poor ( videos have lag there is a slight to huge delay) 2. this system still does not have FLASH PLAYER and this 2014 and u still cant watch youtube or play videos on it 3. the browser is very bad its like a windows 98 browser with very limited surfing(like i said no youtube) 4.u cant add channels to the list of available channels to watch just compare all this with the price and the date and ask where is all the money going as a home entertainment system it is trash my cell phone can do more im very disappointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation 4 System
Best Next-Gen Console Hands-Down
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
v1c1ousmike
Location: Kentucky-USA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have (or had) been a loyal Xbox fanboy since 2004 when I bought my first Original Xbox. I also picked up the 360 in 2006. However before all of that I was a Playstation 1 and 2 fan through and through until I switched over to Microsoft. Flash forward to 2013, I bought an Xbox One on launch night and right out of the box it was broken. Second (replacement) console arrived a week later and the disc drive failed within 2 months. Third (replacement) arrived damaged and covered in scratches......ENOUGH WAS ENOUGH and I sold that piece of trash and bought a Playstation 4.
I absolutely love this machine. Granted PC's are more powerful but for the $399 price tag the Playstation 4 is well worth the money. I have had my PS4 since February 16th and it has been great! Console is working darn near perfect (nothing is absolutely perfect) and so far I am a very happy customer. My only real complaints which are very minor and surely to be fixed through an update are the system backgrounds and themes. Also, not crazy about hearing the annoying elevator music while watching a live stream in the Playroom.
I never thought that I would switch to the Playstation 4 but honestly after 3 failed Xbox One consoles and horrendous customer service, not to mention the lies they kept telling me, enough was enough and I jumped off that sinking ship! So glad I did, do yourself a favor and give Sony a chance. Playstation 4 has already exceeded my expectations and then some, compare the games and you WILL notice a huge difference in graphics quality. Tomb Raider looks outstanding. Well done Sony.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation 4 System
PS4 or Xbox One?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/14
GamerX87
Location: Arkansas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought both gaming systems on launch date and enjoy both. But, I pull towards the PS4 more. The games look better, then Xbox One and the exclusives are much better. But TitanFall does help Xbox One's gaming aspect. I also like the Dualshock 4 better then Xbox One's controller. Both systems looks great, both systems you have to pay for online gaming, but PS4 fees are cheaper then Xbox One. My only down fall is that the PS4 doesn't have enough USB ports for charging. And lets face it, it only costs Sony & Mircosoft like 100 or 200 to make these things, both systems could stand to be cheaper.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 4 System
AWESOME 100% WORTH THE MONEY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
chickenTURKEY11
Location: switzerland
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
so i bought yesterday and i thought the box was really big, i opened it and i quickly set it up to me tv, then i played for an hour, i got nfs rivals which is a great game, also i highly reccomend buying this consle instead of the xbox because of the price and they are very simular, also the PS button on the PS4 is useful, press it in a game then you go to hompage, press it again then you go back into the game. so overall this consle is great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation 4 System
Besides the storage space, a great system.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
Aly1992
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this back in December and it is still working perfectly. The graphics are amazing. When I bough it, it came with PSN codes. I just wish it had more memory for game files. I usually buy hard copies of games and when I checked it took a good bit of space. If you are thinking about getting a ps4 that is one thing you need to consider, although I'm sure in the future Sony will come out with more memory space for the ps4.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 4 System
BEST SYSTEM EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Toe2Toe
Location: Philly
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I switched from XboxONE and im so glad I did. Xbox tries to make a TV and not a gaming system. I bought this to play games and its much better. Graphics are better, exclusives are better, and its 100$ cheaper. Also, some games are made only 780p on xbox and full HD 1080p on PS4. By far better than X1.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 4 System
I would wait a little
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
Carballz
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I may be a little bias because I am a fan of the franchise. However, the system is a little disappointing. There are too many glitches and issues. One, it was not properly advertised that you have to pay for online gaming. However, it is cheaper than the fees for the Xbox. Two, bluetooth is does not function well. So if you have a bluetooth device of the PS3, it will not work on the PS4. In the rumor mill, Sony is planning to fix that. Three, there is not enough USB ports. I am constantly swapping out one cable for another to charge devices. Overall, I would wait a little.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation 4 System
So Glad To Be Back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Wildcatomega
Location: Blue Springs,Mo.
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I missed out on the last gen mine had the laser go out and my brother got xbox 360 so ended getting that one so we could play together.Back to this gen it is awesome love the controller last gens would cramp up my hand thats what i liked about 360 was the controller. love ui simple and clean. No advertisements in my face when it comes on! straight to gaming loving it so far!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for PlayStation 4 System
PS4 is an excellent system. The next Playstation.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Leo1Dude
Location: United States
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
PS4 is the newest PlayStation system for the big screen tv. It only plays on HD TV's. So you have to buy an HDTV to play the new PS4. The PS4 plays the newest PS4 games, dvd's, and blue ray dvd's. PS3 games only play on PS3, not on the PS4. But the next chapter in all those famous games will be on the PS4. The graphics are more nice on the PS4. Also, your gamer tag for PlayStation 3 can be continued for PS4. PlayStation 3 and the older systems can play on any tv.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for PlayStation 4 System
what i think about the playstation 4
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/19/14
ajrfreak
Location: SANDIMAS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the speed for the ps4 is amazing and overall it is just a great system right now and if you are a true gamer like myself i would get the ps4 and i have play the xbox one it is not by far anywhere near the speed and the power of the playstation 4 i hope you guys enjoy my review thank you sincerely ajrfreak
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
keron
Queens,New York,
 
Please wait while more information about keron is loaded.
Additional information about keron could not be loaded.
definitely 50/50
Posted 4/14/14
I am afraid that the PS4 is a major disappointment. Dont get me wrong , the gameplay is great and its a lot more fluid, unfortunately for its other features it definitely leaves something to be desired. for one thing its not compatible with any of the PS3 games which sucks in itself. Not even the digital downloads cant be used. i would have given that a pass if they at least allowed the digital versions of some PS3 games to be compatible with the PS4 but this is ridiculous.
the other thing that was a major beef is its internet browsing. even long after the PS3 was released they havent done a thing to improve it at all. it still uses an outdated flash player and even YouTube cant be watched anymore. WORSE is that i can no longer download any videos or photos from the internet.
All in all the system have it flaws, but it does have good gameplay and its highly recomended for gamers like myself. Unfortunately if you want to have a better internet experience in your console, it might be better off just getting the Xbox one.
my score a 5/10
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for PlayStation 4 System
Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/14
mike
Location: Eunice, LA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So, I went in with the assumption that there would be great exclusives such as Killzone Shadowfall, Knack, and The Order. Well, the first two are average and The Order may not be out until the end of the year.
Thanks, Sony. I'm all for making sure a game is complete but the reviews on these games are far from great. Meanwhile, the competition has Titanfall, Dead Rising 3, Ryse, and any multi-platform game is sure to outperform the PS4. Pretty graphics are nice but I was under the assumption way back when I reserved this thing that Killzone would be a lot better and that Titanfall would be on both consoles and PC.
I've owned both going back to the original Xbox and PS2 but now I'm forming an opinion since Sony has dropped the ball. I can't wait for months on end for exclusives. And more recycled franchises like Infamous isn't going to cut it.
If given the chance to do it over, I'd pony up another hundred and fifty for The One. Performance is one thing but what's the use when there isn't anything that utilizes that power except second-tier games?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PlayStation 4 System
Welcome to Next-Gen
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/14
JIG2000
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off, I have been hearing different reactions on the PS4. Some say get 2nd gen PS4 while others said to just get it. So I was going to wait for the weekend before the release of inFAMOUS: Second Son. However, Gamestop had a sale on Killzone: Shadow Fall so I just got it.
So far the system runs great there are a few times when the system itself sounds like it overheating, but then it stops. Then sometimes I have issues with the downloading of updates. Now on to the good stuff, the PS4 does preform very well on games I have been playing Killzone and the graphics are nice and the controls are smooth. The controller itself looks pretty cool with the lights and the touchscreen. Overall, the PS4 is a great buy, but I recommend buying the system alone, then buy Killzone: Shadow Fall and if you have games like COD: Ghosts and AC IV where they have the $10 deals I recommend getting those games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PlayStation 4 System
The best place to play!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
anklebraker
Location: florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am very satisfied with the ps4 its fast the online is great and games just look better on ps4 than xbox one they are just gorgeous and I absoulutely love the new dualshock 4 it is a huge step up from the dualshock 3. All in all its just a great expierence and i did have the xbox one first but then traded it in for a ps4....a big plus on the ps4 you get free games every month and they have mlb the show. not a fan boy
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>