GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NBA 2K14

2K's Visual Concepts studio, the team behind NBA2K14, has seen it all in the video game world. Founded in 1988, the team has experienced countless new gaming system launches over the years. But never one like this year, with the launch of PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Re-energized by the new systems' technology, the seasoned team at VC has developed a completely new experience for next gen NBA 2K14, featuring re-built game modes, a brand new gameplay engine, and stunning lifelike graphics.
Average Customer Rating:
7.329
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (102 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
25
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
60 out of 7976%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA 2K14
Review 1 for NBA 2K14
nice emotional effects
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/13
antdogz187
Location: guam
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
they did a really good job on the reactions from the bball players in the game and did very well on the details of each player. I hate the air plane ride segments.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for NBA 2K14
OMG!!!!
Posted on:10/19/13
LegendaryScarfo
Location: Detroit, MI
NBA 2K14 is BY FAR the best Basketball game ever! For years 2KSports has DOMINATED (and for good reason) whith it's annual NBA2K Basketball game...but if you seen the new NBA 2K14 "OMG" trailer, then you will see, they got it right with the title! Out of every next game I've seen so far..NBA 2K14 really brings it with it's graphics! It looks so real (especially Kevin Durant) it might make your eyes water! I'm soooo getting this for the PS4!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA 2K14
Great graphics, but that's about all.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/13
Gaticus
Location: Westpoint, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was given this game for my PS4 and told to enjoy it. After booting it up and attempting to play it for an hour, enjoyment is not what I got from it; I took it out of my PS4 put it in it's box and am wondering how I can get something else more worthwhile? The graphics in this game are hyper-realistic, but I could not find a single place in the game with the controller button layout, so I was left to figure out the unintuitive controls on my own... I say unintuitive, because there is really no rhyme or reason to the layout they have chosen. Also, had some longer load times than others in the series. If you are a die-hard basketball fan, I'm sure you would trudge through these obstacles to find some form of enjoyment out of this title, but I did not. I'm not asking anyone to agree with my review, I'm just writing why this game was very "off-putting" to me and hopefully if some of you are on the fence about this purchase you will find this small review useful in your final decision.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NBA 2K14
NBA 2K14 (PS4): Let's Be Honest...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NBA 2K14 is certainly the much better basketball title. But how much so? Very much so. However, there is plenty about this game that just bother me. Although everyone's body build is seemingly unique, jerseys still hover over the players' bodies as well as constantly contorting in unrealistic fashions even going through players. Furthermore, it bothers me that everyone's facial expressions are ALL based on LeBron James' facial scan. It is very obvious he is the only one they brought in for face scanning. Finally, why does your MyPlayer sound like he came straight out of the 'hood? I'm more than certain the folks down at 2KSports can afford more than one voice actor to say the same sets of lines. Also, creating your character has been down-sized greatly limiting how unique your MyPlayer can really be. Nonetheless, 2KSports is taking us in the right direction in this new generation that is finally upon us. Features such as improved facial expressions, halftime interviews, and a more intimate MyPlayer mode are just a few things that will only get better as the years go on.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
15 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
originalSkyyPlum
upstate NY
 
Please wait while more information about originalSkyyPlum is loaded.
Additional information about originalSkyyPlum could not be loaded.
Posted 11/24/13
Sorry, but you are very wrong about thinking that only Lebron's facial scan was the only one used. If you watch the video detailing what went into this game you will see that 2k traveled all over the country and got facial scans as many NBA players as they could and showed many of them being scanned to provide as much realism as they could. As for the My Player voice, it's been the same since the start. I've asked 2k for more choices but I don't see it happening.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for NBA 2K14
The Bar has been set
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/14
Mattitude2323
Location: Va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game in terms of what you look for in a sports game is the new standard. The Graphics are AMAZING. From the facial features , sweat, details , everything looks great. The myplayer mode is where the game stands out. This mode is like a basketball reality series. You start out with your childhood friend as your agent. You have plenty of career altering options that can affect team chemistry, playing time, sponsers, deals. You have a rival now. I was draft by the kings and Cousins tested me by demanding the ball I threw it to him and after the game he congratulated me for being a team player. These things are part of what a NBA rookie goes through on the way to stardome. Even things like dealing with an injury or standing up for a teammate who was fouled hard resulting me in being fined and suspended were cool. This is what a career mode should be.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA 2K14
Next Gen has arrived!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
Djh11001
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wow! Great visuals, gameplay is top notch. For their first next gen effort, 2k did a real nice job. A few audio quirks here and there, and some minor clipping that occasionally takes place, but not a deal breaker. I really like that I didn't need to tweak any sliders to get an authentic NBA experience right out of the box. If only we could get a next gen 2k NFL game, what a great day that would be. I guess it doesn't hurt to dream, right? If you want a truly memorable next gen experience, then you must pick up this game! You will not be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA 2K14
great game, minor problems
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
skipToMyLou
Location: Gilbertville, Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NBA 2k14 is a great game and frankly i could play this thing all day. graphics are awesome except for some of the player faces, especially in "My Player". im pretty happy with all the animations and the way players move, is very realistic almost life like. however there is not alot of options when you create a player in 'My Player'. you can't really make him look like you and there are few things you can change about his appearance. as far as just creating a player and putting him on a roster and using him on other game modes is non existant, which i was really dissapointed in and couldn;t figure out why they removed that feature. if you can look past all that then i would say this is a pretty good game and would reccomend it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for NBA 2K14
Pretty neat game for Basketball lovers
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/14
MannySoSwaggy
Location: Chicago,Il
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics are great thanks to the PS4. The game play is nice because there is a new game mode called MyCareer. Its like you being an NBA star. The sound usually cuts off for me like the commentators but then the sounds back. The main reason I got this game is because of MyCareer. So the appeal is stil there because of that.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for NBA 2K14
Wow
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
RozzyBaby
Location: Andover, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought that next-gen meant better, boy was I wrong. The current-gen version of this game rocks. They did however drop the ball when it comes to the PS4 version. The ripped out a ton of game modes that most of us hard core ballers love only to give the game better graphics. I love 2K and I'll always buy their games, but this one went back to GameStop the day after I bought it. I seriously hope that 2K15 has all our favorite game modes. What a let down.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NBA 2K14
can't wait!!!
Posted on:6/16/13
rogiroma7
Location: miami,fl
I fully paid my ps4, watch dogs & nba2k14..can't wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The PS4 is going to destroy the xbox none, i meant one
102 of 126 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
knightnight325
 
Please wait while more information about knightnight325 is loaded.
Additional information about knightnight325 could not be loaded.
ps4 shall be victorious
Posted 6/20/13
i pre order bf4 killzone sf watchdog nd 2k
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NBA 2K14
Ok if you like basketball.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/14
jessm
Location: Greensburg IN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game as part of a bundle pack so I thought I would try it out. I don't really like it, but if you're into basketball games, this is probably perfect for you.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 12 for NBA 2K14
NBA 2k14 for PS4
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok I had this game foe the PS3 and it was good. I then got it for the PS4 and I am glad I did. I wanted to play my career. It is different from the PS3 version. It is much better. It has different things like your apartment, your agent, the draft day, the interviews, talks with the GM, and etc. great version. Check it out.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for NBA 2K14
PS VITA
Posted on:7/6/13
LiLWreckless
Location: VA,Chesapeake
Come on why no 2k for the vita this was the only game tht i really wanted on the vita man i'd buy the secound it came out and a lot ppl want it too theres even a petition for it PLEASE WE NEED A PS VITA VERSION
41 of 52 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jmal05
 
Please wait while more information about Jmal05 is loaded.
Additional information about Jmal05 could not be loaded.
Remote play
Posted 10/3/13
You can play on your vita but it needs to be with the ps4. If you do remote play you ps4 is in sleep mode and you can take your ps vita anywhere with the improved PSN.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for NBA 2K14
Could've Been Great...But,
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/14
jeffpuck67
Location: medford, OR
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I own both the PC version and the PS4 version of the game. The PC version is perfect, and is the best basketball game I have ever played. I was expecting the PS4 version to go beyond that of the PC, but it falls massively short of my expectations. Why, why, why did the developer drop all the features of the PC version it hurry to put the PS4 version on the market? I will not buy this game again without trying it first. However, it is by far better than EA's NBA live 14 for the PS4. That alone is its only redeeming quality. It is good for those who love to play against their friends in a party environment, but for those hardcore sports buffs, they will be very disappointed as I have been.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 15 for NBA 2K14
Very good first start, but missing Lebron's mode!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/14
mellow
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game play is excellent. You have full control of the team with additional strategy to the current gen. The AI is also much more realistic. For example the players look less awkward when time outs are called and they are walking to the bench , and after baskets made. Their movements are more more natural than current gen. However the Lebron mode is missing. This to me was a huge experience left out. The graphics are great except for the zombie eyes the players have. The eyes are simply awful, however the beards and hair are excellent.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for NBA 2K14
If only the servers were as good as the graphics.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/14
Jbanks41
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I remember when I first played 2K14 on PS4 before the release, then I was amazed by the graphics and how everything was so life-like. Once I got my hands on my own copy I couldn't stop playing it. Once the honeymoon period was over I realized how bad this game really was. Pros: Graphics Cons: Awkward animations where you have no control over your player. Micro-transactions. Unreliable servers. VC.VC.VC. No Crew Mode(the real one from 2K11). No MyPlayer pick-up games(full game, 5 minute quarters outside just like on 2K11). MyTeam 2K14 on PS4 was an OK start to the eight generation, I hope they fix these problems for 2K15 because if they don't i'm sure they will lose a lot of customers.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for NBA 2K14
this is a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
basketball101
it has so much to offer it has new my gm mode and different mycareer mode than ps3 so if i was a a basketball fan i would get this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for NBA 2K14
It was a cool game but blacktop had interested me.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
Zep19
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I had a game in black top like no other but its that part I didn't like when another person's Myplayer comes and overrule whoever's with you and sart to mess up your buddy or a random player it reminded me of 2k13 kind of that same feeling nut a little different but his game wasn't bad overall by the way where's the leaderboards??
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for NBA 2K14
Very disappointing
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
gearsfan1994
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played 2k since 2k7 on ps2 and 2k9-11, and 13 on 360 and 2k11 is still the best in my opinion the shorts glitch once in a while when your player is running down the court and the computer defense is so bad when the other players don't have the ball the tend to help you out on defense or give them so much space that they have a wide open shot. On my player it seems that every computer cant hit free throws for there life and tend to give the ball up or hesitate to take a shot. Also another thing is you get your endorsement to Jordan, nike , or adidas and you cant wear your shoes during the game and I had to pay with hard earned vc that I earned on my gm to get my jordans
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for NBA 2K14
extraordinary
Posted on:6/14/13
kashflow
Location: Brooklyn ny
2k has finally made a clip that has footage of the new 2k14 the graphics are great in the trailer you see Kobe Bryant chasing lebron James on the fast which makes me believe that this is going to be the best 2k game yet
16 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Friktion44
Indy
 
Please wait while more information about Friktion44 is loaded.
Additional information about Friktion44 could not be loaded.
ncaa basketball
Posted 7/20/13
are they ever gonna bring back college basketball i sure do miss playing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>