GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Rivals

Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never stops as both sides compete in an all-out war featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a cop or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Risk everything in the ultimate high stakes rivalry.
Average Customer Rating:
6.79
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (86 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
17
8 stars
13
7 stars
6
6 stars
4
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
8
47 out of 7662%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Rivals
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Next-Gen Madness! :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
AcerSense
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
In my honest opinion, this game gives me a heart attack. Great graphics, gorgeous cars, madness multiplayer by AllDrive, etc. Everything in Rivals is easily the BEST NFS Game after Hot Pursuit (2010).
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Short But Good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/14
draxLfly2
Location: California
I'm a diehard fan of the NFS series ever since Porsche Unleashed and this game offers quite a lot of the old features like customizable decals on your car, open world racing, a somewhat good variety of cars, etc. HOWEVER, the game is pretty short, when you are in a chase the players who are cops can bust you easily. The game itself needs a weapon update to make some of the weapons less cheap (and by weapons, I mean the technology back in the re-make of Hot Pursuit is back), and finally it needs to be bigger, not map wise because it has a reasonable map (even though others beg to differ),but just more cars and stuff. You stop getting cars and other things after rank 21 and the max rank you can get is 60. Once you beat both cop and racer sides, there is nothing to do. To be honest, I would wait for a price drop to $40 new, or pre-owned to $35. The thing that makes up a game the most is how big the game is overall and that is gameplay, which this game does not have much. It's fun don't get me wrong, but it isn't worth the price. The pictures are the gameplay.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Rivals
A dream on wheels
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
Benaiah
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many sim type racing games aim at true to life physics but the reality is, the true feel and real life response of a car is somewhere between arcade type racers and sim type racing games. This game falls more towards arcade than sim for sure, but is far more accurate in depicting how a car would respond on the road in real life.
Not only does it feel "right", you can also upgrade your car even further making everything seem like a dream on wheels. As far as the Need for Speed games of the past go, this game is a lot like Need for Speed Most Wanted (2005 version).
It is a slick and smooth presentation, puts you right into the action and lets you be on both sides of the law. This game will give you countless hours upgrading your cars and the high speed chases just can't be outdone. If you love racing games, then you really can't go wrong with this game.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Rivals
just good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
elizcolors
Location: san francisco
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this games graphics are so good. the environment is so amazing especially when you get chased and a storm comes to play.
it does have some glitches that were fixed by updates. watch my video below.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Rivals
just fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
elizcolors
Location: san francisco
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is so fun when I get into chases with the cops and just looking at the whole environment is simply amazing.
the game did have glitches but the updates fixed them
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Rivals
it was not as good as the ones before it!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/14
Simrraann
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i did not enjoy it i got bored and the cars had no handles. i don't fget the point of playing in two prospectives??????
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Rivals
So sick
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/14
Mattykenobi
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This was the second game I got for my new PS4 very pleased. No idea why it has such a low rating. The graphics are dazzling the free roam is sweet and you can be good or bad great game over all. My only cons are that there is no way to pause and no 2 player/split screen. Other than that a great game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Similar to last year's release, needs split screen
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
darederek
Location: Greensburg, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you liked last year's Need for Speed Most Wanted, you will like this game. I found much enjoyment in the last game and this game is very similar but allows you to be in control of a cop also. This game needs split screen though, idk why no games support split screen anymore.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
26 of 29 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
OtisBDriftwood
Cleveland
 
Please wait while more information about OtisBDriftwood is loaded.
Additional information about OtisBDriftwood could not be loaded.
agreed. but..
Posted 5/22/14
Split-screen, in most cases, dictates whether or not I end up purchasing a racing game, shooter, etc. as well.. however split-screen play for any game in the incredible Frostbite 3 engine might not yet be feasible.. even if it is the Playstation 4 or XB1. In the two separate titles I've played for PS4 featuring FB3 (NFSR, BF4), you'll occasionally see the high intensity lighting and textures racing to catch up.. paronomasia very much intended. From what I've played of NFSR, the for-mentioned FB3 never ceases to amaze.. and the horrifying thought of red and blue lights flicking on behind your vehicle, blinding you via rearview mirror, from atop a lambo keeps me intrigued and coming back for more JUSTICE.
Customer Avatar
joerevs300
San Antonio, TX
 
Please wait while more information about joerevs300 is loaded.
Additional information about joerevs300 could not be loaded.
NFS: Rivals split screen
Posted 11/23/13
It's true that the game doesn't have a traditional split-screen, but you CAN play with 2 people if you have a PS Vita, one on the PS4 and one on the Vita. I thought the same thing you did about the splitscreen!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Race or bust your choice
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok this game gives you the choice to be the racer or the cop. You get to choose. You can also switch sides at the command post that is where you change cars or you change your style of play to cop or racer. Be the racer is fun for a while but then it can get a little boring. You can play as the cop for a little longer and you bust all these different racers. You do have help sometimes. So if you want a game lime this get it. Ok.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Split screen
Posted on:7/30/13
joebarrino
Location: new york, ny
this game looks amazing! but if there isnt split screen im not getting it. These games are great with everything online but its a lot more fun to play with someone next to you
45 of 52 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Benaiah
Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about Benaiah is loaded.
Additional information about Benaiah could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 11/18/13
This game is truly awesome and hints at what is in store for PS4 owners. If you loved Need for Speed Most Wanted (2005 version), you will LOVE this game. The graphics are amazing, control is spot on and to top it all off, you can broadcast yourself as you play. PS4 is everything it should have been and more. Sony REALLY listened to gamers this time around. Want proof? I was an XBOX Live only player and had never owned a PSN Plus account until the PS4 and my gamerscore on Live is 80,000+ thousand.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Not for me
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
WhatChuTalkinAbtWillis
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is limited. There is no actual free roam like they claim. The cops harass you at every turn/corner. So no joy riding and learning the map at my own will. The objectives are lame and they really control what you can and can not do to your car (customization). They really need to go back to the underground days...or heck. Carbon. I wish I would have been more patient and bought a used copy so I could get a refund. Had I waited an additional week, my wish would have come true :(. If you JUST have to HAVE this game...get it used!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
21 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Pretty solid entry for next gen.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/13
SteveBlunt
Location: Lebanon, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall this game was pretty good, I've always been a fan of NFS Hot Pursuit II for the ps1 and playing this, some parts of rivals reminded me of those days. There's really isn't much customization of cars in the game except upgrading the performance of your cars and some paint job aspects. It kinda sucks that if you pay 10$ you can unlock every upgrade for cars, it makes playing the game less enjoyable and less rewarding if your the type of person that works hard for what you got and then newbies just unlock everything paying 10$ real money. I like the whole cops vs racer. I think it would be great if they took this and made a new NFS Underground. Having be online cops vs racer and having a lot of customization.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Need for Speed Most Wanted
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Not impressed.
Posted on:6/12/13
Needforspeedfan
I feel that need for speed games are becoming more and more repetitive, seeing as the games since Need For Speed Carbon haven't been a great need for speed game, the original Most Wanted from 2005 was the best need for speed game in terms of the storyline, and the fact that it wasn't 90% based on playing with people who have the game. I really think that need for speed producers should go back to the way most wanted and carbon were and make it so the game isn't solely based on the online aspect of the game. Stop worrying about making the map more detailed than the storyline.
57 of 85 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Rivals
NFS is back baby
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok in this one you can be the racer or the cop. You can play and racer first then after do a race or whatever go the a hideout and be the cop or whatever. It is fun when play by yourself but it will be boring for some people. Playing with people that are online is pretty fun. It is really fun when you are the cop and you can try to bust them. That is a blast. I don't have any friends on my friends on my list so I will play with random people. So maybe I will one you guys or girls one day online. Watch out I will be looking for you.haha.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Best NFS ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/14
Kirocka
Location: Jersey City, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of the best Need for Speed games I've ever played. Only thing bad I have to say is that it has no option to change to manual shifting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Rivals
nothing special
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/14
KronikGamer
Location: buffalo NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This installment of Need For Speed did not quite live up to my expectations. the gameplay was fun but the small car selection along with horribly mediocre car customization made this game seem like it was missing something, the All Play feature was good, when it was working, i don't know how many times i had a 100,000 point plus run going when all the sudden the game gets disconnected and i lost all my progress. Towards the end i just stayed in single player mode, witch made the game loose the little bit of charm i think it had going for it. I think that the people who are working on the Need For Speed games need to take a step back and look at the things that made the game as popular as it is today. games like underground one and two and the first most wanted was awesome, if they could touch on some of the features that made those games great and combine them with the new supercar lineups that need for speed has been bringing to the table in the last few games, they would have something amazing, in the mean time, i don't recommend buying this game at full price, maybe try and score it for $20 in a private sale. because that's about all its worth
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Gets Boring Fast
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
I bought this game today I played it for about 2 hours the graphics looks pretty good the controls feels good but the game play is boring there is no story mode to this or at least I didn't find it. I thought it would be cool having police chases but they just get boring and feel the same all the time like when your in a race cops still can chase you and if you are a new comer to this series it makes it hard. This game is made more for online playing well at least it feels like that it got all kind of cool features, it seems more thought was put in for online play. I thought the best racing game on the ps3 was BurnOut paradise and this is simply noting like it. When you are the police it feels the same just boring. Bottom line is if you are looking for a fun alternative game for your ps4 don't buy this unless you are a diehard fan of the series.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KnightTime
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about KnightTime is loaded.
Additional information about KnightTime could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Update
Posted 11/17/13
The story mode is boring I didn't realize I was playing it, it just feels like a lazy and boring side missions noting special to the map, it is really bad, there is no city like a down town. Also there is hardly ever regular cars driving around which doesn't make this game feel life like, all you see is racers and cops. You also can not pause the game even when you play off line which makes you have to lose a race or police chase if your phone rings or you want to pause the game. The creators make it very hard finding a way to just play single player as well, it feels like the creators only want you to play online. Don't get me wrong the game is very pretty but it just feels like a free to play online game rather than home console one. The pros in this game is the cars they are all real ones you can really drive in life and the graphics are amazing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Rivals
10 out of 10 best NFS to date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/14
Noobslayer123
Location: Ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for speed Rivals is almost perfect I just wish it had more cars. Get this game it is a lot better than any car game out in 2014.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Fun, but Lack of Racer Cars
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
NagolKnight
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played some of the best NFS games, mostly from the PS2. I loved most of those games. In 2012 I bought Hot Pursuit(2010) and was left very disappointed. I bought this game not knowing what to expect. In my opinion I really enjoyed this game. It is a challenge to platinum but I am close. The gameplay is really good, the crash effects are good too. It does get boring after a few weeks, because all you do is drive around hitting other cars, but if you are good, and if you play with friends, you will like it. I enjoy playing as the cop mostly, because you feel like you have teamwork with the A.I. cops, and your friend cops, who are also fun to chase with. Being a racer is more challenging, and more heart pumping. The lack of content is the only real let down for me. It is really easy to unlock all the racer cars, and there are not many. Also, the only good cars are near the end, and there are only a few. There are a lot of cop cars to collect, and the latter cars are more powerful than the racers' by far, and faster. Overall, I would recommend this game. I don't know why it gets so much hate, but it doesn't deserve it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Raises My Eyebrows
Posted on:7/30/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
I'm interested to see what is being done to my lifelong favorite racing saga. I love playing both racer and cop. I have never really enjoyed playing the police until Hot Pursuit complete changed the game. I am definitely hoping to see the same concept here in Rivals.
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>