GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Rivals

Welcome to Redview County, where a street-racing rivalry between cops and racers never stops as both sides compete in an all-out war featuring the fastest cars, mods and technology in a gritty open road environment. Play as either a cop or racer, where each side of the law has its own set of high stakes challenges, rewards and consequences. Risk everything in the ultimate high stakes rivalry.
Average Customer Rating:
6.729
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
14
8 stars
9
7 stars
4
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
8
37 out of 5963%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Rivals
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Fail for both next gen consoles
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
Tivoo
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start by saying i bought this game along with my Xbox One. i was pretty excited for this when i first started playing. Loved the Sound and the graphics (<3 Frostbite3) then i entered my first race, not even 30 seconds into a race my screen starting doing complete 360's during the middle of all my races and pursuits. All because the Kinect thought it heard me say "Turn Around" when the room was absolutely quiet. The kinect had issues picking up my commands even during free drive. I also re-calibrated my kinect 3 different times hoping to fix the issue with no luck. it also had the same effect with Battlefield 4.
Needless to say i sold my Xbone and Picked up a PS4 to get rid of the Kinect nonsense. The PS4 version definately looked more crisp due to the fact it ran at 1080p and it flowed alot better then the xbone version. Again graphics and sound are a huge difference then the 360 or ps3. But now im having issues with not being able to get out of a pursuit in racer mode. I will be in the cool down phase and it keeps saying "pursuit Resume" when there are no cops around me. i literally stop in the middle of the road and no cops show up. Once i did that and a cop spawned right behind me. it dropped out of the air and landed right behind me! No idea what is going on with this series but i have to say i wont be buying another NFS game until they get their stuff situated.
The fact that you can play both Police class or racer class is a plus and you can drive around and race while others are in the same area is definatly cool. For now i am Eagerly awaiting the release of The Crew, which looks very promising from the gameplay and trailers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Fun, but Lack of Racer Cars
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/14
NagolKnight
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played some of the best NFS games, mostly from the PS2. I loved most of those games. In 2012 I bought Hot Pursuit(2010) and was left very disappointed. I bought this game not knowing what to expect. In my opinion I really enjoyed this game. It is a challenge to platinum but I am close. The gameplay is really good, the crash effects are good too. It does get boring after a few weeks, because all you do is drive around hitting other cars, but if you are good, and if you play with friends, you will like it. I enjoy playing as the cop mostly, because you feel like you have teamwork with the A.I. cops, and your friend cops, who are also fun to chase with. Being a racer is more challenging, and more heart pumping. The lack of content is the only real let down for me. It is really easy to unlock all the racer cars, and there are not many. Also, the only good cars are near the end, and there are only a few. There are a lot of cop cars to collect, and the latter cars are more powerful than the racers' by far, and faster. Overall, I would recommend this game. I don't know why it gets so much hate, but it doesn't deserve it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Never play this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
PURPLESODA
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
NFS underground on ps2 runs circles around this game. Un-realistic flashy piece of trash. Wow so many colors, such graphics... who cares the driving is so fake it's un bearable. Customization is terrible and the car choices are horrible. Waste of money after selling it back. At least I know to never buy another NFS again!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Better than expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
BlindingShadows
Location: norcross, ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The need for speed series has gone through a tone of changes since I originally started playing it (NFS SE on pc back in the 90's). These changes have been hit or miss, and before playing this one the last one that I really enjoyed was the original most wanted on ps2. This one takes a lot of the things that made that game fun and builds upon them. Playing as a cop and racer are equally fun and its nice to have real-world players to compete with in the campaign. The only thing That I miss is the lack of customization options that were present in the underground games. So far I have spent more time playing this game then any other PS4 game I own which is most of them, and this game was an easy platinum trophy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Rivals
It's alright. One of those games to hold you over.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
SuperJesusFace
Location: Grove City, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game looks beautiful, but other than that it's pretty average. The story is pretty short even when you combine both sides. The control on the cars is really weird, almost like there is a delay when turning even with the control maxed on your car. Don't know if it's to make it more realistic but it's pretty weird. You also tap the brake (not the e-brake, the actual brake) and can start to go into a drift. So if you've just watched Tokyo Drift and want to do the slidy slide with no effort and feel real cool, then go be the Drift King of your household. Like most racing games out now and days, the customization and car selection is very minimal. You change the color of the car and rims, add a decal or vinyl, change the licence plate and that's about it. The cars are all exotics as well and there aren't that many. (With all the cars being exotics, that's probably why there is little customization.) The cop does get three variations of each car though, which is pretty cool. It's not a bad arcade driving experience but you'll forget about the game in a few months or when another racing game comes out. So if you're looking for an arcade style racing game with lots of car choices and customization, keep looking or play Underground. If you don't care about that and just want to go vroom vroom and get a fix for your racing urge go ahead.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Rivals
NFS is back again
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This NFS game is better then most wanted I think but some might see it different. This game has hard parts like trying to keep your points when you have the cops chastening you. The people you race aren't as easy as you think. The game is fun for a while but then it can get a little boring and have to play something else or whatever. If you want to pass the time with high speed this is the game to play. Good game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Worth adding to your collection.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/14
illeagle83
Location: Richmond ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics on this game is amazing. Definatly an arcade style racer and not a sim. Controls are very responsive. Its a solid 8 rating.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Rivals
not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
explosivewater
Location: minnesota
Not a bad game. Cop mode and racer mode are really fun to play the online is pretty sweet. The app on play store is so awesome . this game produces many new tech features for 2014 that are jawdropping. The racing is fun and u will feel the speed. The only downside to this game is how short it is. There is no story mode. U can't customise much only ur plates color and performance upgrades. This is a decent game and does deserve a decent rating for sure
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Rivals
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
Brans2010
Location: Virginia city NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Every one said this game was bad, well there WRONG this is one of my most favorite racing games of all time, you will have hours of fun, offline or with your friends. GET THIS GAME :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Rivals
I returned it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
MisterDoc33
Location: Brownsville,Texas
The game was pretty good. Except it was boring. Did not see many cars nor racers on the road. It was just road after road. No buildings no people. Nothing. Maybe later in the game itll show but dont want to wait. Was cool cause you cam be the police amd chase racers down. Awsome! Car details were great. Not much to upgrade (custom) to the vehicles. Would've like if there was body kits and other cool things like that. Yes you cant have everything. This game was just not for me. I have been a fan of need for speed. I think I had most of the games.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Burnout Rivals
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
BurnoutRivals
Location: Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game BLOWS! If you were looking for a latest installation in the BURNOUT series you've found it. For those who are fans of the original need for speed games you won't enjoy this. Please don't buy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Rivals
NFS Finds Its Niche
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
JTKe3bz
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game takes all of the best aspects of the NFS series and slams them together in a beautifully designed open world and open road. This game let's you play with friends or random racers with ease and excellence as you decide to be the chaser or the chased. Endless races, Hot Pursuits, Time Trials and Events to keep you ranking up and constantly racing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Burnout Paradise with super cops
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
ohnocall911
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game plays almost exactly like Burnout Paradise. The only differences are the car customizations and the cops chasing you. Other than a few glitches like getting stuck in cop cars after a crash and they auto-bust you, my main issue is with how often the cops appear. I can't go 5 minutes without a cop starting a pursuit. I could be going off jumps in the middle of nowhere while not speeding and a cop will suddenly appear and start a pursuit. It gets slightly annoying to have to fight off waves of cops during a routine easy race or a time trial, and as far as I know there is no way to turn them off or turn down the frequency other than switching to the cop side. Overall it's a great next gen racing game and I suggest it if you are into racing games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Amazing game with tons of content!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
Jwan
Location: Gainesville, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Need for Speed rivals looks stunning on next gen. Redview county is beautiful with alternating weather patterns all throughout your persuits. Playing as the cop is a great experience as you must be very tactical to bring a halt to the racers, but playing as the racer gives you that rush. Staking all your speed points in a make it or break it system, this game provides the rush that many other games don't offer. Overall, this game is amazing for any type of gamers. Highly enjoyable and so much to do in redview county.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Rivals
This is a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
thenarutard
Location: Vrginia, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am plesently surprised by this game. I didn't like the run at all. Most wanted was okay but it got boring fast and I thought rivals was going to end up the same way. The car system is great because you get new cars fast. But it's still challenging because after you buy a new car you have to upgrade it and add pursuit tech to stay competitive. There is a ton of things to do on the map so you will never get bored. The multiplayer aspect to the game fits in perfectly with single player. The cop/racer career thing is fluent and fun. So all in all I believe this a great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Fun for about 25 minutes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
gearsfan1994
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Havent played a need for speed since most wanted (2005) which was the last need for speed that was good. This game was not the need for speed from when I was a kid like the underground 1-2 which were awesome full customization of your vehicle and a great car collection. starting off with a normal car you would see on the road and turning it into a fast car that looks awesome. This game tries to have a story but it fails at it. Cant pick your upgrades or even choose your own rims the only custom paint and lazy upgrade categories. Not many cars either they either make underground 3 or stop making these imitations.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Rivals
enoying!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/14
jjmotox
Location: az
every time you hit a wall or a car in a race it views the camera on the car for like 5 seconds so you get even more behind the racers
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 18 for Need for Speed: Rivals
A next gen racer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
MATTOS
Location: Apple Valle, Ca
I don't usually play racing games. I literally have only bout three of them in the past 10 years untill this one. I must say. This game is very good. I find myself getting lost in its big world with different places such as dessert, beach cliffs, or snow. I love this game and I'm not even a big racer.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Need for Speed: Rivals
Stick to Test Drive Unlimited 2
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/14
SeanElo
Location: New Port Richey, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game, to me, is absolutely terrible. The cars don't have very accurate steering, and the game isn't all that fun. The racing, I have to admit is OK, but the free roam is horrible. No matter what you do, cops are always on you. You can't have normal free roam, like TDU2, and just drive with random people and make friends. You are also restricted to road only, the only offroad you will experience are the shortcuts that last 20 feet.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for Need for Speed: Rivals
We need the JDM street cars back like in the under
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/14
King2257
Location: Va
We need the JDM street cars back like in the underground and carbon days not these boring fast cars! This is boring and needs to be more like midnight club games the good ol days!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 2 3 4 next>>