GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

NBA Live 14

Average Customer Rating:
3.4
3.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (65 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
22
13 out of 4032%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 14
Review 1 for NBA Live 14
Has potential but still needs work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 2 for NBA Live 14
Not as bad if you get the hang of it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 3 for NBA Live 14
Stepping Out of the Box!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
airwolf34
I really stepped out of my box to get a basketball game!! I played the demo and thought it seemed cool so I figured I should give it a shot.
Well needless to say it totally sucked, ok it wasn't too.... naw seriously it SUCKED!! Many of times when I would call for a pass as soon as I got it... my player would automatically pass the ball away. Many of those passes it made me pass away were wide open shots. I thought to myself maybe I should do a restart since it did just download a lot of updates. So I did but that didn't fix the problem, it still kept on happening.
That being said the next day I traded EA Sports NBA Live 14 for NBA2K14!! Now FYI I have Always been a fan of EA Sports Madden Football over 2K!! So dabbling in to the 2K world for basketball is stepping 5 boxes out of my box!
What I am about to say is really Shocking..... I am totally impressed with NBA2K14!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for NBA Live 14
Great sports game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/14
Leo1Dude
Location: United States
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The graphics are pretty cool. They got a demo of the game downloadable for PlayStation 4 also. Basketball fans would like this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for NBA Live 14
Nba Live is going downhill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Ballinizthelife
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Dont get me wrong i have been playing nba live for a long time but its just been horrible ever since 2k started getting better and better. Yes I have switch from Live to 2k because its just much better than Live now. 2k has been the best basketball game since 2008 i fell in love with it ever since. Every single year nba2k has sold hundreds of thousands or even millions than nba live. I honestly think Nba Live should just give up and leave nba to 2k. EA Sports should keep there NFL Madden and 2K Sports could keep the NBA games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 6 for NBA Live 14
Trash.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
Chawk14
Location: ny,ny
There is not one thing about this game that is enjoyable, so bad in fact that when i sold it back to gamestop, i told them i would have paid for them to take it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
BirlandBenji8
This game would be okay if it came out in 2010 but for next gen consoles this game is terrible. It has awful graphics and the commentary is boring and plain after the first few minutes of a game. Offensive rebounding is non-existence. When you push triangle to rebound it is delayed. This is just a terrible game. The only good thing I can say about this game is the Big Moments mode where it lets you play moments from the season. Other than that this is just an awful game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NBA Live 14
I truly think this game is a 10 good for 1 or 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
tborn
It's a very fun game that is good for 2 people and for 1 person. I rated it this high because I have had so much fun with it and I honestly think it is a 10 in everything. I recommend getting this and 2K. DEFINITELY GET THIS GAME, IT IS VERY FUN.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA Live 14
WHY EA WHY?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
NBA live 14 is just garbage in disc form. The graphics are hard to look at. and they look like im back on the PS2. the career mode is where things start getting worse. NBA live punishes you for every little thing. Missing a shot makes you lose points. And unlike NBA 2K14, they don't reward you for making free throws or drawing fouls. the player movement is beyond unreal. players look like they have seizures at some points and the warping animations are shown in full force. blocks and dunks happen all the time regardless of the player. this has plagued the series for a while. I remember back in live 08 I blocked Shaq with Steve Nash. so overall this game is complete garbage and don't waste your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
jlindow
It's actually a piece of junk. Never, ever buy. Stick with 2k. The graphics on it look like a first grader drew them.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NBA Live 14
Needs work, but still good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
Cavs4lyfe
Location: Parma, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
NBA Live 14 might not live up to the hype it had at E3, but I will say people trashing this game for being so bad is not true. At least to me. NBA Live gives a different style of gameplay that is different from 2K. I own both games because I am a huge basketball fan. The Pros: Gameplay, presentation Cons: Graphics, Commentary Overall Live looks to build on its good game this year and hopefully make a bigger splash in NBA Live 15. And also, GO CAVS!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for NBA Live 14
AWFUL JUST AWFUL
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
greatgta
Location: los,angles
Nba 2k14 is by far better than this piece of trash, The graphics are ps2 like, the gameplay is original X-box like , I played for 5 minutes then i played 2k14, by far better , If i were Ea sports, i would be worried about Madden and all the other sports titles Ea has
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for NBA Live 14
The worst game to buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Illmatic773
Location: Chicago IL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
To be honest, I rather play 2k10 than live. This was worst game for next gen smh. EA what are you doing!? Step your game up
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for NBA Live 14
NBA Rewind
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
Zach555
Location: Kenosha, WI
This game seems nothing like a game aimed at capturing 2014. Maybe 10 years ago this game would be decent in terms of graphics and gameplay but it just looks like NBA Live 2003. ( Awesome game) In all buy 2k14 because this just does not compare.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 15 for NBA Live 14
Fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/13
GWill
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dont see what all the hate is for. No its not like 2k but is still a fun game. I recommend this game to all NBA fans. Give it a try when the price goes down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NBA Live 14
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
DubDub
Location: boston, ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love nba live and have played all of them since 2001. This game has improved graphics, more advanced dribble and passing options but is still easy to pick up and play. I am a huge basketball fan but could never get the hang of 2k. I honestly bought the last 3 2ks since there was no live and after one week I was still frustrated with 2k. I hate the shot stick in 2k. There is not a single game I can think of that is worth a week of your time and still is not fun. I understand 2k fans who love it and have gotten used to the controls but I play mostly shooters and when I am in the mood for basketball, nba live 14 is perfect. Fun right from the first day, I love the fantasy mode and the lottery of the gold packs. I have not dug into dynasty yet since I am hooked with my fantasy team but even if its the same as 2010 (which I do not know if it is yet) I will be extremely happy to play it with the new roster and new controls. This game also has rising star where you play through a created players whole career. My complaints are minimal. I would like to see my own shooting percentages with my custom team and I would like to enter a season with them. I am about 30 games in and I love everything else about the game so far. I am shocked to see so many haters giving this game a 1-2 like it is some broken piece of junk. Gameplay is customizable and easy to learn. I also have not experienced any freezing like the past live games. More than 2 weeks later the newness has not worn off and my friends and I would give this game a 9! Keep em coming EA!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NBA Live 14
Honestly, terrible, but with a side of great
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/13
Swagggie
Location: Mass
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I truelt think people are frekomg out!!!!!!!!!!!! This game is not that bad. I dont even have it and im probably gonna get this and 2k14. Yah the graphics are lacking along with gameplay...but it seems fun...the graphics arent TERRIBLE and personally it has a much better lasting appeal rate then 2k14 yah 2k is MUCH MUCH MUCHHHH better...but this game isnt THAT bad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for NBA Live 14
Try NBA Live Demo
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
sunnyanks
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really want to thanks to who wrote reviews of this game I was thinking buying this game after having fun playing on ps4 I try NBA Live Demo to me it was not bad at all I really did not think about how everything look like I was just playing game like I never played it and in some way it does look like u are playing on ps2 or ps3 system. But I was really having great time playing Demo on ps4 then I look at this page of people wrote reviews then it change my mind. Thx for saving my money lol I could just wait till used game goes down to $30-40 then buy it or just play for free demo not bad just start over lol. I had NBA 2k for ps3 I get bored after few days so I might be bored again with NBA Live after I buy it so better off playing as demo which free :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NBA Live 14
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
JDizzle24
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Once you change the camera view the game is not that bad. You guys shouldn't be so hard on EA even though they have had more time to make the game they are in a rebuilding stage and this is a good start.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NBA Live 14
Why bother making it?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
asianswag2
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I will be blunt. THIS GAME STINKS!!!!!!!!! Why bother buying it. I wouldn't take it if it was free. Its just a waste of time. IT's nothing compared to 2K. I played it for 1 day, and through it in the trash. I didn't even take it to gamestop for credit. I don't want another kid to go what i went through.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>