GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

NBA Live 14

Average Customer Rating:
3.333
3.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
23
13 out of 4231%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 14
Review 1 for NBA Live 14
NBA Not-So-Live
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since I heard it's announcement, I was pretty excited. That is, until I saw some videos. I wanted so hard for this game to look and feel good. I still had a little hope: until I played the game. It felt like I was playing NBA Live 2003 all over again (and not in the good way). Player models are unrealistic, controls are rather unresponsive, shooting looks and feels awkward, the crowd is very unrealistic and copy-and-paste-like, and the in-game commentary couldn't be worse. The only thing intriguing about this game is the official ESPN scoreboard. This is certainly not the next-generation experience gamers and long-time fans have been wanting and waiting for. Until the developers figure out how to make more realistic fluid motions, unique crowd models, believable player animations, and general gameplay improvements I believe it's safe to say that NBA Live should be locked away safely so no one else has to bare the disaster NBA Live has become over the years. I, for one, prefer they revive NBA Street if they are seriously going to use this silly arcade-ish gameplay. At least people still like NBA Street.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
28 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA Live 14
THE WORST B-BALL GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
GamerRealist95
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been patiently waiting for this game to hit the floor, hoping to see if there was competition with 2ksports, and finally the verdict is in..IT SUCKS!!. Nba2k14 for the new gen is totally different, not the same as the 2k14 for previous gens, with enhanced myplayer mode. But back to live, for the long hiatus you would assumed that it will comeback fast furious, but it kicks rock. The graphics are great, but the gameplay doesn't give much to the imagination. The rising star mode, which is suppose to mimmick the my player mode on 2k14, lacks the involved details that 2ksports put into their products. Bottom line save your money, maybe next year they will figure it out. I was able to take mine back and get good money for it and found out I was the 8th customer to return their copy. If anyone is listening to me, please become the 9th person and save yourself a potential paper weight.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NBA Live 14
i do not like this game
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
basketball101
it is very hard to shoot to me it is hard to shoot free throws and do dunks so if i was you i would save my money
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for NBA Live 14
Live vs 2k
Posted on:6/24/13
Anonymous
Location: Kentucky
The thing about 2k is that is does look realistic and is fun to play to a certain extent, the problem with nba 2k is the animations , spin dunks that are un guardable by defense and also the shot stick is good idea but kind of useless, you can have a very early release and still hit the shot, in 2k13 for instance if you play teamup you can hit fade away 3s more easily than you can hit a spot up 3 it just doesnt make sense. NBA live has a chance to redefine the basketball world, but lets face it nba live 10 was pretty much awful, live just needs realistic gameplay without all the horrible animation 2k has, no move should be a glitch where u can constantly score, and no exploit should be un guardable. i played the live franchise all my life and grew up playing and having hours of fun with it. they have a chance to make it right this time just hoping they do cause im tired of 2k's garbage animation exploits.
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BIGDFOOTBAL97
 
Please wait while more information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 is loaded.
Additional information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 could not be loaded.
I agree 100% Anonymous
Posted 7/2/13
NBA Live has to redeem its self because I have grown tired of nba 2k's terrible mechanics and overall gameplay. It is not intirely realistic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for NBA Live 14
It's EA's last shot to make a good Live game.
Posted on:6/21/13
Shamus
NBA Live 14 better be excellent. Pure and simple. It will be the series' first release since NBA Live 10, which was back in October 2009. NBA Elite 11 and NBA Live 13 were two cancelled titles due to their unappealing visuals and poor quality. This is why NBA 2K has become so good. They're willing to reinvent the entire game just to make it 10 times better than the previous year. NBA Live got very repetitive and inconsistent in their last few games (their last few releases that is.) The player model for Kyrie Irving looks good, the others not so much. Their new dribbling system is supposed to be the newest edition to the game. If EA wants to please its NBA fans again, they better keep their promise this time. Otherwise, they'll never make a good NBA Live game again. Ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
19 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Whywhy
sacramento
 
Please wait while more information about Whywhy is loaded.
Additional information about Whywhy could not be loaded.
WHY EA
Posted 7/19/13
NBA LIVE 10 is the best basketball game ever. the "New" options from 2k12 & 13 have just been features that LIVE 10 already had. From freestyle control to created player online features. Live 10 already had all this .2k's off ball control is not even close to accurate as EA. and the best feature of them all was a dedicated button for shot, layup,or dunk it was perfect. but For some reason they decided to start all over ?!?!? All they needed to do is upgrade from 10. Anyways now are they fans been adapting to 2k, now its iffy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for NBA Live 14
Stepping Out of the Box!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/14
airwolf34
I really stepped out of my box to get a basketball game!! I played the demo and thought it seemed cool so I figured I should give it a shot.
Well needless to say it totally sucked, ok it wasn't too.... naw seriously it SUCKED!! Many of times when I would call for a pass as soon as I got it... my player would automatically pass the ball away. Many of those passes it made me pass away were wide open shots. I thought to myself maybe I should do a restart since it did just download a lot of updates. So I did but that didn't fix the problem, it still kept on happening.
That being said the next day I traded EA Sports NBA Live 14 for NBA2K14!! Now FYI I have Always been a fan of EA Sports Madden Football over 2K!! So dabbling in to the 2K world for basketball is stepping 5 boxes out of my box!
What I am about to say is really Shocking..... I am totally impressed with NBA2K14!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 7 for NBA Live 14
Make a vita VERSION
Posted on:7/6/13
LiLWreckless
Location: VA,Chesapeake
Especially since 2k isnt making a move onto the best portable game system ever and this game out blow up on the vita there would be no competition so ppl would pick this up theres no b-ball games on vita
23 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swoogie
 
Please wait while more information about swoogie is loaded.
Additional information about swoogie could not be loaded.
I agree
Posted 9/19/13
if you make this available for the vita it would make some money
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for NBA Live 14
This is the worst game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
Pickle1Head
Location: irving tx
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is the worst game I've ever played in my life I've played PlayStation 2 games with better graphics and game features. Ea games needs to stop with the madness because I've seen better from them
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for NBA Live 14
Has potential but still needs work
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for NBA Live 14
Not as bad if you get the hang of it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/14
TP5289
Location: Charlottesville, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game then traded it in for Tomb Raider, I later found myself a week later going back and buying it again. Yes I agree with most everyone else that the game can get frustrating to control at times. At the same time, however, the more I've played the more I've actually gotten the hang of it. The ease of rebounding needs to truly improve and the overall dribbling needs to be a little more sensitive to create a similar feel to Live in it's hey day in the early to mid 2000s. Other than that I believe the shooting is easy, playing defense is a little foreign until you adapt. Another bright spot is the graphics and presentation. The graphics show a lot of quality detail the only issue is some players arms look a little long like an orangutang and the ESPN broadcast is quality, obviously you want to hit Jeff Van Gundy in the mouth sometimes but you feel that way in real life too when he starts talking tough. Jalen Rose brings some added depth to the presentation with the halftime and post game reports. Overall NBA Live has an OK foundation laid out but it's not what you expect after a 4 year hiatus. If you're a hardcore Live fan like myself and just don't like 2k I suggest if you love basketball go ahead and try it and if Live is fortunate enough to drop a new game this fall you'll be ready for what is hopefully more like NBA Live 2005.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for NBA Live 14
I Got the Game so no worries
Posted on:11/15/13
jaychitown312
Location: Chicago
I havent had alot of time on it but the game is on point. I was trying to play Live 14 like it was 2k. It plays totally different and it will take an adjustment because we have been away from the series. No sliding, dribbling is real and passing and blocking are good. Stealing and even taking and drawing fouls are good. I have yet to play 2k next gen but if it plays like current gen I made a good decision. Live is back and it will only get better. Go cop it if your a fan of the series.
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA Live 14
Nba Live is going downhill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/14
Ballinizthelife
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Dont get me wrong i have been playing nba live for a long time but its just been horrible ever since 2k started getting better and better. Yes I have switch from Live to 2k because its just much better than Live now. 2k has been the best basketball game since 2008 i fell in love with it ever since. Every single year nba2k has sold hundreds of thousands or even millions than nba live. I honestly think Nba Live should just give up and leave nba to 2k. EA Sports should keep there NFL Madden and 2K Sports could keep the NBA games.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for NBA Live 14
nba live 14
Posted on:6/14/13
cbangz
Location: las vegas
i think if nba live 14 can be better wit the bonce text and graphics real to life shot stick so u gotta shoot straight not left or right straight down on the stick or u miss short or miss left or right on the rim like square up .........dunks crossovers and gameplay not u mention the tnt or abc broadcast like wit reggie miller and show them talking .......nba live dunk contest was always better and it was online mulitplayer as well nba live 14 should keep that mode .... im a 2k fan but 2k does get boring and not realist wit the dribble mode and dunk contest suck......
10 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swami539
 
Please wait while more information about swami539 is loaded.
Additional information about swami539 could not be loaded.
its good
Posted 7/30/13
its a good game from what it looks like the court q brain you wont see anymore 2k
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for NBA Live 14
Pretty nice!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
WiiURulz
Location: kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not sure why it has gotten bad reviews. If you actually play it, it is really fun. The graphics are really not bad at all. I have both this and NBA 2k14. Both had great features. The half time show is nice. Plus instant updates to players is cool.
Tons of people are playing this and loving it and don't post about it. They just play NBA Live 14 and enjoy it. Try the demo on psn network and see for yourselves.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NBA Live 14
WHY EA WHY?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
NBA live 14 is just garbage in disc form. The graphics are hard to look at. and they look like im back on the PS2. the career mode is where things start getting worse. NBA live punishes you for every little thing. Missing a shot makes you lose points. And unlike NBA 2K14, they don't reward you for making free throws or drawing fouls. the player movement is beyond unreal. players look like they have seizures at some points and the warping animations are shown in full force. blocks and dunks happen all the time regardless of the player. this has plagued the series for a while. I remember back in live 08 I blocked Shaq with Steve Nash. so overall this game is complete garbage and don't waste your money.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
jlindow
It's actually a piece of junk. Never, ever buy. Stick with 2k. The graphics on it look like a first grader drew them.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NBA Live 14
MORE MODES MORE MODES
Posted on:10/23/13
LiveKing
Location: Abilene Tx
EA Im loving the game so far from what ive seen but you have to add more modes. All Star weekend *3pt shootout,dunk contest, skills challenge. It should also have the classic Live shootaround with espn streaming on the jumbotron. Also it should have a streetmode with gameface technology to create your real life like character. ESPN Video and Radio should be incorportated as well as a Live espn ticker. And since live hasn't been out in so long a Academy skills mode will help people get to learn all the new moves. Choosing you favorite team and keeping up with them should be a part of the game like classic live days. People want to be able to practice and keep up wth their favorite teams like in Live 09! Street Mode should be really customizable as far as gear and lifestyle. I think realestate cards for my player mode would be a really fun additive. Also wardrobe and properties. You should be able to walk around your home and practice in your private gym. And last but not least ANIMATED HALFTIME SHOWS AND AUTHENTIC GAME INTROS. Every team should have their own classic intro before the game introducing the players. These things are important!
Review 18 for NBA Live 14
EA has one thing 2k doesnt have
Posted on:6/27/13
twalshy860
Location: Clinton CT
All I like from ea is there ultimate team in sports games as long as it has it im thinking it wil be really good.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
BirlandBenji8
This game would be okay if it came out in 2010 but for next gen consoles this game is terrible. It has awful graphics and the commentary is boring and plain after the first few minutes of a game. Offensive rebounding is non-existence. When you push triangle to rebound it is delayed. This is just a terrible game. The only good thing I can say about this game is the Big Moments mode where it lets you play moments from the season. Other than that this is just an awful game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NBA Live 14
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
DubDub
Location: boston, ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love nba live and have played all of them since 2001. This game has improved graphics, more advanced dribble and passing options but is still easy to pick up and play. I am a huge basketball fan but could never get the hang of 2k. I honestly bought the last 3 2ks since there was no live and after one week I was still frustrated with 2k. I hate the shot stick in 2k. There is not a single game I can think of that is worth a week of your time and still is not fun. I understand 2k fans who love it and have gotten used to the controls but I play mostly shooters and when I am in the mood for basketball, nba live 14 is perfect. Fun right from the first day, I love the fantasy mode and the lottery of the gold packs. I have not dug into dynasty yet since I am hooked with my fantasy team but even if its the same as 2010 (which I do not know if it is yet) I will be extremely happy to play it with the new roster and new controls. This game also has rising star where you play through a created players whole career. My complaints are minimal. I would like to see my own shooting percentages with my custom team and I would like to enter a season with them. I am about 30 games in and I love everything else about the game so far. I am shocked to see so many haters giving this game a 1-2 like it is some broken piece of junk. Gameplay is customizable and easy to learn. I also have not experienced any freezing like the past live games. More than 2 weeks later the newness has not worn off and my friends and I would give this game a 9! Keep em coming EA!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>