GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

NBA Live 14

Average Customer Rating:
3.227
3.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 star
25
13 out of 4430%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NBA Live 14
Review 1 for NBA Live 14
NBA Not-So-Live
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since I heard it's announcement, I was pretty excited. That is, until I saw some videos. I wanted so hard for this game to look and feel good. I still had a little hope: until I played the game. It felt like I was playing NBA Live 2003 all over again (and not in the good way). Player models are unrealistic, controls are rather unresponsive, shooting looks and feels awkward, the crowd is very unrealistic and copy-and-paste-like, and the in-game commentary couldn't be worse. The only thing intriguing about this game is the official ESPN scoreboard. This is certainly not the next-generation experience gamers and long-time fans have been wanting and waiting for. Until the developers figure out how to make more realistic fluid motions, unique crowd models, believable player animations, and general gameplay improvements I believe it's safe to say that NBA Live should be locked away safely so no one else has to bare the disaster NBA Live has become over the years. I, for one, prefer they revive NBA Street if they are seriously going to use this silly arcade-ish gameplay. At least people still like NBA Street.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
29 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NBA Live 14
Make a vita VERSION
Posted on:7/6/13
LiLWreckless
Location: VA,Chesapeake
Especially since 2k isnt making a move onto the best portable game system ever and this game out blow up on the vita there would be no competition so ppl would pick this up theres no b-ball games on vita
24 of 31 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swoogie
 
Please wait while more information about swoogie is loaded.
Additional information about swoogie could not be loaded.
I agree
Posted 9/19/13
if you make this available for the vita it would make some money
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for NBA Live 14
It's EA's last shot to make a good Live game.
Posted on:6/21/13
Shamus
NBA Live 14 better be excellent. Pure and simple. It will be the series' first release since NBA Live 10, which was back in October 2009. NBA Elite 11 and NBA Live 13 were two cancelled titles due to their unappealing visuals and poor quality. This is why NBA 2K has become so good. They're willing to reinvent the entire game just to make it 10 times better than the previous year. NBA Live got very repetitive and inconsistent in their last few games (their last few releases that is.) The player model for Kyrie Irving looks good, the others not so much. Their new dribbling system is supposed to be the newest edition to the game. If EA wants to please its NBA fans again, they better keep their promise this time. Otherwise, they'll never make a good NBA Live game again. Ever.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
19 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Whywhy
sacramento
 
Please wait while more information about Whywhy is loaded.
Additional information about Whywhy could not be loaded.
WHY EA
Posted 7/19/13
NBA LIVE 10 is the best basketball game ever. the "New" options from 2k12 & 13 have just been features that LIVE 10 already had. From freestyle control to created player online features. Live 10 already had all this .2k's off ball control is not even close to accurate as EA. and the best feature of them all was a dedicated button for shot, layup,or dunk it was perfect. but For some reason they decided to start all over ?!?!? All they needed to do is upgrade from 10. Anyways now are they fans been adapting to 2k, now its iffy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for NBA Live 14
EA has one thing 2k doesnt have
Posted on:6/27/13
twalshy860
Location: Clinton CT
All I like from ea is there ultimate team in sports games as long as it has it im thinking it wil be really good.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NBA Live 14
THE WORST B-BALL GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
GamerRealist95
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been patiently waiting for this game to hit the floor, hoping to see if there was competition with 2ksports, and finally the verdict is in..IT SUCKS!!. Nba2k14 for the new gen is totally different, not the same as the 2k14 for previous gens, with enhanced myplayer mode. But back to live, for the long hiatus you would assumed that it will comeback fast furious, but it kicks rock. The graphics are great, but the gameplay doesn't give much to the imagination. The rising star mode, which is suppose to mimmick the my player mode on 2k14, lacks the involved details that 2ksports put into their products. Bottom line save your money, maybe next year they will figure it out. I was able to take mine back and get good money for it and found out I was the 8th customer to return their copy. If anyone is listening to me, please become the 9th person and save yourself a potential paper weight.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NBA Live 14
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
jlindow
It's actually a piece of junk. Never, ever buy. Stick with 2k. The graphics on it look like a first grader drew them.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NBA Live 14
nba live 14
Posted on:6/14/13
cbangz
Location: las vegas
i think if nba live 14 can be better wit the bonce text and graphics real to life shot stick so u gotta shoot straight not left or right straight down on the stick or u miss short or miss left or right on the rim like square up .........dunks crossovers and gameplay not u mention the tnt or abc broadcast like wit reggie miller and show them talking .......nba live dunk contest was always better and it was online mulitplayer as well nba live 14 should keep that mode .... im a 2k fan but 2k does get boring and not realist wit the dribble mode and dunk contest suck......
10 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
swami539
 
Please wait while more information about swami539 is loaded.
Additional information about swami539 could not be loaded.
its good
Posted 7/30/13
its a good game from what it looks like the court q brain you wont see anymore 2k
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for NBA Live 14
Sigh*
Posted on:6/17/13
ScottyJ
I have always loved the Live series, they integrated a lot of cool features into the games like the 3 Point Shootout and Slam Dunk Competition, but lets face it, 2K has always been the better game. The previews for Live 14 look the same as always, unrealistic dribbling and shooting, with very cartoonish graphics. I have owned every Live game since 2003, so there is no doubt that I will at the very least rent this one, but it looks so unimpressive.
8 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NBA Live 14
Live vs 2k
Posted on:6/24/13
Anonymous
Location: Kentucky
The thing about 2k is that is does look realistic and is fun to play to a certain extent, the problem with nba 2k is the animations , spin dunks that are un guardable by defense and also the shot stick is good idea but kind of useless, you can have a very early release and still hit the shot, in 2k13 for instance if you play teamup you can hit fade away 3s more easily than you can hit a spot up 3 it just doesnt make sense. NBA live has a chance to redefine the basketball world, but lets face it nba live 10 was pretty much awful, live just needs realistic gameplay without all the horrible animation 2k has, no move should be a glitch where u can constantly score, and no exploit should be un guardable. i played the live franchise all my life and grew up playing and having hours of fun with it. they have a chance to make it right this time just hoping they do cause im tired of 2k's garbage animation exploits.
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BIGDFOOTBAL97
 
Please wait while more information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 is loaded.
Additional information about BIGDFOOTBAL97 could not be loaded.
I agree 100% Anonymous
Posted 7/2/13
NBA Live has to redeem its self because I have grown tired of nba 2k's terrible mechanics and overall gameplay. It is not intirely realistic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for NBA Live 14
Mediocre at best.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
Jubay
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Playing seems more like grinding. You can beat the cpu with the same play 100% of the time. Pick animations are horrible. Shooting can be frustrating. Passing is very very simple. Blocking shots is almost as easy as taking a leak. Cpu is very very predictable. Graphics are ok 2k actually has better graphics. Only real plus I can say is there is no virtual currency. Rising Star seemed extremely rushed. This game really is an investment game virtually paying for the hope of better games in the future. Commentary is horrible after a hour you want to jump out the window. I love ea games but I recommend nba2k14 if you want a challenging and fun basketball game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NBA Live 14
DON'T DO IT!! TRUST ME!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
GamerRealist95
Location: ATL, GA
Bought it, had it for an hour, and sent it back to the store. 2KSports own the basketball franchise hands down.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NBA Live 14
I Got the Game so no worries
Posted on:11/15/13
jaychitown312
Location: Chicago
I havent had alot of time on it but the game is on point. I was trying to play Live 14 like it was 2k. It plays totally different and it will take an adjustment because we have been away from the series. No sliding, dribbling is real and passing and blocking are good. Stealing and even taking and drawing fouls are good. I have yet to play 2k next gen but if it plays like current gen I made a good decision. Live is back and it will only get better. Go cop it if your a fan of the series.
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NBA Live 14
Pretty nice!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
WiiURulz
Location: kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not sure why it has gotten bad reviews. If you actually play it, it is really fun. The graphics are really not bad at all. I have both this and NBA 2k14. Both had great features. The half time show is nice. Plus instant updates to players is cool.
Tons of people are playing this and loving it and don't post about it. They just play NBA Live 14 and enjoy it. Try the demo on psn network and see for yourselves.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NBA Live 14
Not as bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
TheUnknownGamerx
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not as bad as people are making it out to look like, the graphics are bad since it's next generation, but 2k did nothing except add cut scenes to my player, the gameplay in this is really good, I'd say rent, borrow, or buy a used copy to try it...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NBA Live 14
Letting go of a Dynasty (2K), and going back. LIVE
Posted on:9/25/13
Zani
Location: Honolulu, HI
I have to admit that long before anyone even heard of a 2K, i used to watch my brother and his friends TEAR IT UP in Live. Yet since 2K, Live has fallen off a bit, and I have to admit, when he started bringing home the 2K titles, I got hooked. 2K was about THE GAME*. Realistic looking dunks and competitiveness. One of the BEST games I've ever played was through 2K (probably the 2K8 version) Where my team was up against the Lakers in the finals, and one of my players sank a game winning 3 at the buzzer... But 2K has abandoned the very PIECES that are Basketball and settled for something more AND 1 style and unrealistic. It's more important for 2K designers to focus on ALL* of Lebron's tattoos and make sure those look real - than it is to make sure Blake Griffin performs like the Blake you see on T.V. Hence why 2K is losing fans. Yet here comes LIVE! Back from the depths of this competition and hopefully looking to reclaim that which it RIGHTFULLY should. I've since given up on 2K as their game designers should spend FAR MORE TIME with people who actually play* the game of basektball as opposed to hanging out at the local rec center and inviting guys to give them animations. THAT BEING SAID, I am really* expecting BIG things out of Live this release as it's going to take a litle more than a realistic looking Kyrie to win this girl/fan back. 2K has put up a stiff competition over the years (mostly with cover art) and I feel it's time for their reign to end. As i Said, the last 5 or 6 released by 2K were just RIDICULOUS ( to say the least.) Many fans are already saying that it looks JUST LIKE 2k13 (Which it is). Yet I'm all in on Live14 as I'm needing to get back into a game and sport that 2K has ruined for me.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ItsEUal
 
Please wait while more information about ItsEUal is loaded.
Additional information about ItsEUal could not be loaded.
Don't Waste Your money
Posted 12/28/13
Don't buy or rent, just download the demo and see for yourself how terrible this game is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for NBA Live 14
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
iluvassassinscreed
Location: Excelsior Springs, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Good game, very fun. Dynasty mode is very exciting and entertaining. The rising star mode is fun as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NBA Live 14
Why bother making it?
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
asianswag2
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I will be blunt. THIS GAME STINKS!!!!!!!!! Why bother buying it. I wouldn't take it if it was free. Its just a waste of time. IT's nothing compared to 2K. I played it for 1 day, and through it in the trash. I didn't even take it to gamestop for credit. I don't want another kid to go what i went through.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NBA Live 14
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
DubDub
Location: boston, ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love nba live and have played all of them since 2001. This game has improved graphics, more advanced dribble and passing options but is still easy to pick up and play. I am a huge basketball fan but could never get the hang of 2k. I honestly bought the last 3 2ks since there was no live and after one week I was still frustrated with 2k. I hate the shot stick in 2k. There is not a single game I can think of that is worth a week of your time and still is not fun. I understand 2k fans who love it and have gotten used to the controls but I play mostly shooters and when I am in the mood for basketball, nba live 14 is perfect. Fun right from the first day, I love the fantasy mode and the lottery of the gold packs. I have not dug into dynasty yet since I am hooked with my fantasy team but even if its the same as 2010 (which I do not know if it is yet) I will be extremely happy to play it with the new roster and new controls. This game also has rising star where you play through a created players whole career. My complaints are minimal. I would like to see my own shooting percentages with my custom team and I would like to enter a season with them. I am about 30 games in and I love everything else about the game so far. I am shocked to see so many haters giving this game a 1-2 like it is some broken piece of junk. Gameplay is customizable and easy to learn. I also have not experienced any freezing like the past live games. More than 2 weeks later the newness has not worn off and my friends and I would give this game a 9! Keep em coming EA!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NBA Live 14
Ps2 like
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
Mvpwoodson
Location: Charlotte, Nc
I've been waiting on this game for a while now and I finished up working early just so I could pick it up and get it jumpin. I could not believe what I saw. This game is by far the worst game sports wise of any generation from the respect of how technologically advanced we are at this point and time. EA has officially closed the chapter on their basketball simulations. They better hope 2k doesn't start looking to branch out to football. I'm just so disappointed in the way the game has been put together. Everything in the game is stiff, from the players to the ball to the rim. It's a shame. Well NBA Live. May you rest in peace.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pickles
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about Pickles is loaded.
Additional information about Pickles could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
2K Does Have Football
Posted 11/23/13
2K did have football, and it crushed Madden, so EA bought tons of rights so that 2K couldn't compete because they knew they had lost.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for NBA Live 14
can't wait nba live is back for the crown!
Posted on:9/10/13
BamaGoatt
Location: Alabama
I love nba live been stuck with playing 2k basketball far too long. As a cavs fan my choice is easy support a traitor or the future of the nba in Kyrie Irving it's just a bonus that nba live will be taking the basketball crown this season.
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>