GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Ghosts

Outnumbered and outgunned, but not outmatched.
Average Customer Rating:
5.644
5.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
13
8 stars
10
7 stars
15
6 stars
12
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
13
2 stars
18
1 star
16
70 out of 14947%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
I don't think the game is as bad as people let on.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
AverageGamer123
Location: Texas TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Call of Duty franchise always gets a lot of undeserved grief. In reality, the game has a very impressive and intriguing campaign along with stunning advanced graphics and particle effects. The online play isn't my favorite out of the call of duty games, but they have added significant changes to how multiplayer works which enhance the enjoyment of online play. If you aren't a FPS type gamer this isn't the game for you. However if you have bought a previous Call of Duty game I'm sure you will love Call of Duty Ghosts!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Its Okay...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/13/14
AssasinsCreedFan709
Location: Kennesaw,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ghosts is not the best COD game,but it is a pretty good game. The multiplayer is the same[As always.]But its campaign was actually pretty fun. I really hope that activision or whoever made it makes a better cod game next year. If you have never played COD before, I recommend Black Ops 2.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Heres the trailer if you are interested in getting it:]
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Fun when it works (Which it doesn't)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
ProGamerDOOD
I traded in Battlefield 4 for COD Ghosts, hoping that it would not be another broken mess like BF4. Unfortunately, I was wrong. I started playing singleplayer, and from the start, I instantly noticed terrible framerate drops. This should have been an indicator to me that I should return this instantly. Not to mention, all of the stuff I had to go through just to get my points. I decided to start the multi-player to see what enjoyment I could get out of it. I realized that, once again, Infinity Ward has yet to provide innovation other than a new interface. This game is also FULL of bugs and glitches. After one game, GIANT white pixels, I mean like the size of your entire crosshair gets in the way. I tried to clean the disk. No luck changing anything. The pixels got larger and more of them appeared, it was at that moment that I realized that Call of Duty: Ghosts is not only another reskin of the Call of Duty franchise, but a terrible and broken mess just like BF4. Do not buy this game or BF4. Thank you for your time to consider this. Make the right choice. I am not forcing you to, but I am just stating exactly what happened to me.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
First Time Here!
Posted on:8/2/13
Marty84
Location: Somersworth, NH United States
I never played ANY of the COD series.. This is my first one I pre ordered and it looked good at the E3 convention.. A lot of people are saying bad things about this game but you know what? Do not listen to everyone. Buy it at your own accord.. Their will be people playing this game anyways.. Don't listen to the trolls.. Do some research and if you still like the game pre order it.. Funny how this game for PS4 comes out November 5th yet the PS4 has not even been announced for release date yet.. HMM.. If you like the COD series then get this game.. But my honest opinion is I will buy this game and will try it out
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Call of Duty: Ghosts Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 4 Call of Duty: Ghosts Bundle
10 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Not the best graphics but really fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
Polloloco2
Location: Austin,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Being a next gen game, it doesn't have high quality graphics like killzone or battlefield, but it is fun and fast paced games. Playing cranked online solves the camper problems with all past fps games. Extinction is challenging and fun as well, especially playing with friends. Much more fast paced than zombies walking around. Perfect for you if you like playing 5 min arcade style shooting. I really didn't like playing battlefield online, it's more of a simulator with 30+ min for one match. Good for hardcore gamers that play for hours. So if your casual, go with ghosts.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
this game is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
George01
Location: south carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the best graphics i have ever seem in a call of duty game the new maps the new guns the new mechanics is just amazing also the dynamic events on the maps are fantastic this is one of the best call of duty games i have ever played. note: the spawns need some work but after that is great :]
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
watch it you will be amazed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Best Call of Duty game in my POV since MW2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
ToleteGaming
Location: Lawrence, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
LOVE THE GAME, THE GRAPHIC AND THE MECHANICS ARE AMAZING. A MUST BUY!!! HERE IS A TEST VIDEO OF ME PLAYING GHOSTS ON THE PS4. (see below)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Call of Duty Ghosts PS4 PVR Test
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Not exactly what I had in mind for the "Next-gen"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
lightning4u23
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I bought this as a launch title with my ps4, and was really excited for this game! At first it seemed pretty cool, but that quickly faded. I found myself doing the same cliche, overused, and watered-down missions I'm always doing in a Call-of-Duty game. The story lacks any true depth, and seems like something they did just to say "we have a story." They didn't really care about the story-line at all... or so it feels like. It feels as though they cared more so about multiplayer.. and then you try out the multiplayer and realize it's the weakest of the entire series. It's absolutely horrible. Leveling is extremely slow, and there really isn't anything worth leveling up for, since you can just unlock everything at anytime. You aren't really rewarded for your effort. The new modes aren't much to speak of either. This game truly feels like a DLC for another CoD... and no, I am not a Battlefield lover. I do not play Battlefield, so I can't compare the two games. Overall, if you must play this, rent it, do NOT pay full price for this, it is not worth it!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KnightTime
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about KnightTime is loaded.
Additional information about KnightTime could not be loaded.
Top 10 Contributor
Posted 4/6/14
Yep it is because game developers now of days want that extra 20 to 50 dollars for the DLC which feels like something that just should have been put into the game it self, mostly all new games feels water down because of that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
No appeal and broken multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
Penguwin
This is my first Call of Duty ive ever owned and played. All i can say is, wow. It made an impression, but not a good one. The campaign mode seems to have no depth to it, making focus on the campaign and its story near impossible. Multiplayer is broken and the latancy between shooting someone and them shooting you is significantly high. There are also issues with kills in general, final kill cams are of your opponent shooting you right? Well when you review the footage, half the time you will see shots clearly missing and yet you have been hit. Along with you shooting, you can go around a corner and shoot first and get registered hits, but somewhere along the lines you end up dying from the other guy who shot AFTER you. Now to the graphics, they look prettt good... Until you get close. Textures look like they are copied and pasted and occasionally they dont load properly. Sound quality is the only thing this game has to me. Will be trading in.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Great Potential, Short on Ideas
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
john654
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ghosts shows great potential but lack those ideas to execute them. The campaign was interesting, seeing that the campaign revolves around a family of jarheads, and surprisingly Captain Price not being on the game. I'm not saying it's bad, but yeah it's bad. There was a point in the campaign that I tried to ignore the story and just play the game. The multiplayer, my god what happened there... the maps are huge, not Battlefield big, but they are big, too big for 12 people, the game tries to resemble the amazing Black Ops 2, but with Infinity Ward and Raven Software elements. At one point in the campaign there was a scene where you fight an amazing space battle, I considered that the high point of the game. I thought a gameplay like that was gonna be in the multiplayer. To my conclusion, I do not recommend this game, but since there are no other close quarters shooters at the moment, and you don't mind wasting $60 then go ahead.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Disappointing, but not the worst game ever
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/14
tmoney541
Location: Eugene, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When this game was coming out, I was very excited. I have been in the call of duty community since Modern Warfare 2, so I can judge fairly. All of the COD's have been great or just fun (despite being almost the same each year) until black ops 2 (worst call of duty ever). This was suppose to be great, but it disappointed. It is very generic. The graphics on next gen are great, but the campaign was rushed, extinction is good but not zombie mode good, and there are too many trolls on ghosts. I would not recommend this game to people, unless you feel like raging for days.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Same Game - Decent Maps :(
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/14
TrevorGee4
Location: Murrieta, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Basically a $60 map pack with new guns. Honestly, maps are whatever, nothing feels or seems "improved" or "next-gen" about this game. Its a great game for killing time, but they really need to do a better job reinventing game. So far no luck with great PS4 games - but I'll keep trying with an open mind.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
Rydoggy
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, this is a fun game! I feel that people have really scrutinized this game. For whatever reason hardcore gamers think that COD should be an Oscar award winning movie. Well, its not! But it is still pretty darn good. I love the characters they’ve created. The storyline is also pretty good. It’s good enough for me to have beaten this game three times, and on different difficulties each time. The ending is good!! I thought it was nicely done, and who doesn’t like Eminem for credits music! I also play the online multiplayer and it too is good. The maps are just ok. However, if you get the season pass the added maps are great! All in all it’s a better game than the 5.5 its been getting.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Don't Listen To The Haters
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/14
ACM24
Location: Kings Landing, Westeros
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you're a COD fan, then this is for you. It's probably the most basic COD game out, the campaign felt kind of rushed and short, the action was satisfying to say the least. Overall, graphics are nice and polished compared to previous gen graphics, and the online play customization options are pretty awesome.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Call of Duty Ghosts is like a ghost on my shelf.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/14
NoPaidPromo
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am proud to say that I am a loyal Call of Duty fan. I've bought every single game. But for the first time, I actually regret buying this game. Call of Duty, as we all know, never fails to deliver that fast paced, first person shooter that we all know and love. However, with Ghosts it just isn't the same. For starters, the maps are too big. This is why it fails to deliver that fast paced action. The game types aren't fun. In Black Ops 2, we had sticks and stones, hard point, one in the chamber, all on beautiful maps. The graphics are exceptional. However, not everything is bad. The campaign was rather interesting with a twist ending. The one feature that really shines with Ghosts is Extinction mode. This is the mode that saved Ghosts. This game mode is super fun, especially to play with friends. It's like zombies, but with aliens. Super fun. However, I don't think Extinction mode itself is going to be worth your 60 dollars. Save your money, wait for the next Call of Duty. Pick up Battlefield instead, heck Knack is worth more money than this. I'm truly heartbroken at what Infinity Ward has done.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Decent, but lacking the depth of previous games.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/14
mrrg
Location: d.c.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I waited awhile to review this, playing on both PS3 and PS4 and each time I came away with the same feeling, like it just wasn't worth the price! I'm a big shooter fan, having played every Call of Duty since the 1st, so I thought this would have been the best one of all, esp. with the hype and being released for the new consoles, but I was disappointed. The graphics were great, the voice overs good and some of the missions interesting and unique. But over-all the storyline was cliche and some of the dialog generic. But what really annoyed me and cheapened the whole thing, was the online game play. Shockingly weak, with a ridiculous, arcade look and feel. What a joke! In my opinion MW3 was the best in online gameplay and they should have stuck with that style and format. One more suggestion, please do not ever, ever, end the game with a soundtrack featuring EMINEM or some other, "lame-bubble-gum" pop celeb. Shameful!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Not COD
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/14
tedof
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
If this is going to be your first COD then you should get it but if you've played bo2, mw3, bo1 etc. DO NOT get it. Its not the cod we loved! Its not next gen eaither, a fish moving wasnt as impressive as we thought it would be. BTW average player online for ghost is 20,000 average for BO2 is 130,000 today in Jun 2014
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
The Call of Duty Franchise is on Life Support
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/14
rlivez1
Location: Whiteford, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a Call of Duty fan since World at Word, and was a huge fan of the Modern Warfare series. Since Black Ops 1, I have felt like Call of Duty has been slowing declining. I have always preferred Call of Duty over any other first person shooter franchise. This game is terrible and activation has shown that they would rather make money than deliver a good experience. I run 40-100 mb/s depending on how many devices are hooked up to my internet, yet I still experience terrible lag, that makes the game unbeatable. The weapons are completely unbalance slimming your choice to 3 weapons (Honeybadger, FAD, TAR). Extinction mode is pretty good, but I have to say that this game is not WORTH YOUR MONEY. I went to Battlefield 4, and I wish this Franchise wasn't dying. I even spent the time to send this company a weapons list, with the break down of the physics behind the stopping power and recoil, yet they ignore any input. The fans complain about guns such as the ACR, SCAR-H, MP7 and now the most advance weapons on the market are off of the game. They don't even spend the time to make specific reloads for the guns, instead they just recycle the aspects from the previous games.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Shy to competitors
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/14
DarkAssassin97
Location: Alabama, AL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is overall fun but its online is about the same as any other cod game but the campaign i found to be very enjoyable. i recommend this to people who want to casual game but if your a cod lover then def get.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Ghosts
Same old song and dance is still a fun dance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
Type95Killer
Location: Portland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Coming from previous CoD games, you bring a some form of expectation with each new installment. The one problem you continue to battle within the shooter category are the players who base their judgement on just the multiplayer side of the game. As a gamer, a member of the MLG, and a stickler for details; looking at the game from all aspects is what I do.
The campaign for the Ghosts installment of the Call of Duty franchise brings a new breath of fresh air to the community. Following the surprise success of Black Ops 2, you're welcomed back to a semi-current state of chaos. From the crumbling streets of California to a satellite in orbit, each location brings a new challenge to the player. Buried deep within the main story, are multiple smaller achievements to be unlocked, from finding intel, to picking off a sleeping guard during a descent down a skyscraper; there are numerous hidden trophies to unlock. Die-hard FPS players can breeze through Normal difficulty, or for a real challenge they can take on the Campaign on Hard mode. Visually the game is stunning. Having the chance to play on PS3, PS4 and Xbox One, the levels of detail in the newer systems is amazing. The PS4 version is a sight you have to see to truly admire.
In regards to the multiplayer, gamers are introduced to a few new modes and game types, as well as the new point system for their loadouts and new weapons. The Marksman class rifles are a great fit for those who want the accuracy of a sniper rifle without the loss of movement and speed of an assault rifle. From new attachments to a slew of new creative perks and killstreaks, your arsenal has never become more personalized. New to the franchise is the create-a-soldier feature, allowing you to change details from head to toe. With this new system, players finally have the opportunity to play as female soldiers, change their uniform styles to suite their style of play, and even play as classic legends such as Captain Price and Vladimir Makarov.
Along with the many new pieces to multiplayer, you can now play as a customized squad and battle other squads. The Squad mode plays similar to multiplayer but allows you to play against other gamer's squads whether they're online or not, as well as against your friends. Perks, rewards, weapons, and soldiers move between Squads and Multiplayer mode, so whatever you earn in one is available in the other.
Much like the success of zombies in the Black Ops series, Ghosts introduces the world to a new breed of craziness. In Alien Extinction mode, you play as a member of a 4-person squad in charge of eradicating an alien swarm destroying the planet. Loadout styles vary from the Multiplayer style, being replaced by 4 main classes with their own unique set of perks. Your choice of class will benefit your squad as well, so variety is key when playing with friends or the online community. If you can survive the waves of aliens attacking you and plant the explosives at your goal, you then have to escape the area before the bomb goes off. The story has expanded and continues to expand with the new DLC drops in this season of content. New maps, new challenges, new aliens, new terror.
All-in-all, if you step back and enjoy the game for what it is, the game is fantastic. We all know the Call of Duty franchise is going to make another shooter game that requires you to defend someone and eliminate some group... we know their games will have new gadgets and will be compared to every Call of Duty before it, and every other shooter on the market. Take the time to play the game for what it is, a new story and enjoy the experience.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>