GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.654
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (96 reviews)
10 stars
34
9 stars
22
8 stars
12
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
70 out of 8186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Think twice before making this purchase...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/14
ibm9610
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I became a fan of Assassin's Creed shortly after playing AC3 (Which I loved, to the core). AC4 looked like it would exceed it's predecessor. But that's just the thing...it only looks good. When you're watching the E3 gameplay or the exciting cinematic trailers, it looks amazing. But when you play it...it falls very short of expectation. The story was disappointing to me. After sequence 5 it felt rushed, and poorly put together. There was a mission shown off at E3 last year, and when you play the same mission in the final product, it is COMPLETELY different. The graphics are great for an entry level next-gen game. But after installing the update file, there is noticeable flickering and dragging (when the characters move, it's almost like an "echo" trail is left behind them so you can still see the outline of the person, after they've moved. It's extremely annoying and bad) at first I thought this was a hardware issue and foolishly restored my PS4. After reinstalling the game I discovered that it was the update file and I am extremely upset. Every time you remove data from the hard drive, it does damage little by little. I've already noticed lag, and freezing on my console which should be an easy fix with a new hard drive. Anyway, this game is not worth your time & money if you were expecting a AAA experience. My advice: Don't buy this game now, wait a few months until the price drops and get it used. Until then, satisfy your time with games like Call of Duty, Battlefield, Knack or any of the free-to-play games. I'd also recommend waiting for new games like inFAMOUS Second Son, Thief, and Watch_Dogs.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game
Posted on:10/30/13
nyman9
Location: Atlanta,GA
I am looking forward to buying this game and I think that it will be a great hit . I have also I have noticed that the detail has improved incredibly.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Disappointed, too much time spent on "boat"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
Pepperzine
Location: New York
So I got this game for Christmas, I really enjoyed the previous assassin's creed games in the franchise however I was greatly disappointed with this one. The combat and parkour in it are excellent as usual with assassin's creed games, and if they had focused on that I would have given them a much rating.
However, upon playing into the game I became to realize how much of an emphasis was on the naval combat instead of what I enjoy in Assassin's Creed. Riding around on a boat? zZzZz Upgrading your boat? zZzZz Finding another island that looks vaguely similar to the last four islands you went to? zZzZz Taking forever to sail from one place to another instead of free running through more cities instead? zZzZz
I wish they would have focused on being a pirate, the combat involved, and made the boat/ship feature of the game less pivotal to the game. The naval combat itself was terribly simple and lack luster to say the least.
Save your money and purchase the game when the price is reduced to $30 or less.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Keeps Getting Better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
AngelsBlade
This Assassins Creed is way better than the 3rd one and the other ones in my opinion. They really expanded upon the naval exploration and did an amazing job with the amount of customizing that you can do to your ship. Naval combat is really fun and thrilling while also being challenging during a storm. I must say the ability of being able to use 4 pistols at once really make matches fair when your outnumbered. The multiplayer is the same as before and is really fun too! If you want a game that is worth your money than this is the game to get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
A Treasured Booty.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/15
78RoseTA
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics update to this game is certainly a welcomed and gorgeous addition. The environments are lush and verdant. The water is crisp and clean. The whales are large and noisy. After playing this on the PS3 and then immediately on the PS4, it's a very appealing upgrade.
The biggest issue is still the free running system. I absolutely hate when Edward just randomly climbs something or jumps into something while pursuing someone. If we could get that little work-around in motion then this would be an absolutely perfect game.
The Naval Warfare is the pinnacle of fun in this game. Nothing is quite as thrilling as listening to your crew sing their shanty and then blow a schooner to bits moments later. Never has a pirate game made you feel like you're truly pirating until you shiver some timbers, murder a crew, and steal some rum.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
All in all a Fantastic Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/26/14
thespartanluke
Location: LARGO,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First of all, let me say that I have all the AC Games and this one ranks among the best. I don't really need to say much about the graphics because on the ps4 this game is incredible. I spent most of my time on side missions, hunting, mayan relic collecting,naval missions etc. and I couldn't put this game down. I have 82 % on the trophies and I still want to play eventhough I completed the main and side quests. Although I have almost positive things to say about this game, the reason I gave it a 9 out of 10 is for two reasons. and Im not sure if its just me but I really,really hated this part of the game and I hope they don't continue this into the next AC Game.. But there are far..to many following missions. I was about to call it followers creed.. follow this guy..listen and follow these guys..blah blah and it usually ends in some failure due to the controls or some strange occurrence..it was extremely frustrating and repetitive..however the overall experience of this game was great and I enjoyed my time on the open sea.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great game, it Changed my mind about the AC series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/14
BellTower72
Location: Vancouver, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The only Assassins Creed I've played, was the first one. I didn't care for it. But I came across a YouTube video of it AC4 and it looked great. It has a long, LONG story line. Which is good. I've been playing it religiously the last few days and I'm only at 14%. This game has changed my mind about the AC series. Now I will definitely be picking up the next one. The reason I recommend this to hardcore gamers is because of how challenging it is. I'm very fond of gaming, I spend much time playing my ps4, and I have a hard time not putting down my controller and quitting while trying to beat a mission that I keep failing over and over again. This game takes much persistence, (in my opinion) it's not easy, and frustrating. But it is a great switch from playing the regular COD Ghosts. This is one of the funnest games I've played to date. So go pick up your own copy!! I haven't played the multiplayer, and don't intend to. Doesn't look interesting.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Next Gen Title So Far!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
Kyle77
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've seen every game that is out for next gen in person (except FIFA) and it's the best looking next gen title out there. This is a must buy in my opinion. Even if you never played an AC game, go look up AC in 5 mins and you'll be caught up enough. I've played all of the assassins creeds (except for the 1st one) and I really didn't think they could top the experience of 2 and brotherhood. When I heard pirates at first I was kind of disappointed, and I wasn't so keen on Edward until I played the game and right away I started to like him. He was much better than connor ( I didn't mind connor) but Edward was a lot more greedy which eventually changed but you saw growth in him. I could never predict what Edward would do next which was also interesting. The naval warfare was simply amazing. 3/4 of the game is spent on a ship, but don't get me wrong you are on land a lot as well if that is a concern. I couldn't find a flaw with this game at all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The best assassins creed yet..
Posted on:9/16/13
wardog8u2
Location: Hoboken, NJ
first I have to say thank you ubisoft for making this game,. I have the collectors edition preordered for ps4, I cant wait to sail the seven seas,
this is the game I have always dreamed about when I was playing pirates legend of black kat game or risen 2 dark waters which were great games for its time but now I can play a proper pirate game, as for where I would like to see the series go, I would love to play in roman times or as a Greek, or perhaps even as a myan assassin warrior lol.
11 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Explore the Seas
Posted on:7/31/13
AnHiLaToR
Assassins Creed. When you hear the name you think assassins, templars, cities. In AC Black Flag we can think of the Carribean we can explore. With the new installment of the AC series you can free roam the Carribean in any way you want. Looking for treasure is just a taste of what it's about. Now you can take down ships, explore caves and islands, take down forts, harpoon, and much more. AC for me was starting to get boring but once I knew you could explore in open waters as the new Master Assassin Edward Kenway (Conor's grandfather) the AC series sounded fun to me again. Black Flag has made the AC series even better. What do you think Ubisoft will do next with AC games? What would you like to see? Leave a comment saying what you want to see with the next AC games?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
steel1342456457575
 
Please wait while more information about steel1342456457575 is loaded.
Additional information about steel1342456457575 could not be loaded.
perfectly fine
Posted 12/7/13
in my opinion I think that they cant to do much more, it is(in my opinion) already good enough
Customer Avatar
Darkagemarvel
Tx
 
Please wait while more information about Darkagemarvel is loaded.
Additional information about Darkagemarvel could not be loaded.
A CHANGE INDEED
Posted 10/16/13
I would love to see a western, futal Japan, even Egyptian. Also would like to see some of the other assassins out there, skip modern time no NY city or Miami they have been done to death. They should have some guy wake up in 2550 or somthing and he has been reliving desmonds memories, but love the series and I'll play no matter where they go.
Customer Avatar
poe3200
 
Please wait while more information about poe3200 is loaded.
Additional information about poe3200 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/25/13
Absolutely agree with you, ubisoft has an awesome knack for bringing the glory to games. the open world gameplay with the Jackdaw is going to be my favorite thing ever! i'm gonna make the crew sing a nice shanty while we sail through a raging storm. as far was what's next I think a western type assassins would be interesting. Maybe run around with billy the kid and could maybe incorporate a hat into the iconic assassins look
Customer Avatar
jkla
California
 
Please wait while more information about jkla is loaded.
Additional information about jkla could not be loaded.
HERE"S WHAT THEY NEED
Posted 8/20/13
they to in a way restart the franchise make something new and unexpected to the fans this one is going to be awsome no doubt but i think they need more .AC3 in my eyes was a COMPLETE failure this new game seems to have new additions in it but they need more than what they're giving us in order to stay afloat in the game in my opinion. for the next game they need to shock give us something we'd least expect in the story. Im still a fan and always will be but i think they really need to start thinking outside the box.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Top Tier Assassins Creed Game (Makes Up for AC3)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/14
Casimir
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was blown away by this game in regards to just about everything. Gameplay is the most refined Assassin's Creed yet, even with the utilization of the naval combat and transportation. Open world with reason to actually explore, unlike previous games. Lots of fun side quests, collectibles, and missions to do outside of the main linear quest line. *SPOILER* You are free to roam the world upon completion of the main quest line. This is helpful for OCD gamers like me who must finish the main quest line prior to exploring the remaining sections of the game. I was just a little disappointed at how hard it can be to upgrade the JackDaw (ship). Can be very expensive & hard to obtain the parts needed, and the JackDaw needs to continually get upgraded in order to compete with other ships such as the Man o' War you encounter sailing the open seas. All in all, the gameplay, story, sound, voice acting and graphics are all incredible, giving this game a solid 9/10 for me. I've played all the Assassins Creed games, and without any bias I found Black Flag to be the best!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Superb
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
Doddykinz
Location: Annapolis, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wouldn't call myself a hardcore Assassin's Creed fan who has played all of the games in the series and side, however, afterplaying ACIII and now IV, there are comparable differences. Black Flag is amazing, that is all I can say. The designers have added so much more to this game as far as what you can do and the amount of gameplay hours compared to ACIII. ACIII was amazing but I feel like adding the interactive gameplay to the game switching from a privateer back in the 1600's to present is brilliant. ACIII was interactive in the present but the first person interactive in Black Flag kind of makes the gameplay more personal to the player and I love it. I recommend this game to any AC fan and all those who are looking for a fun and interesting fighting game. This game has so much to offer and lots of potential for a future of more AC's. I love you Ubisoft and game designers, keep this trend going!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Good
Posted on:6/11/13
Promethesus
Location: Ontario, CA
Looks good but will there be the pre-order dlc for the PS4 version?? Cause if now that's really messed up.
 
My Product Recommendations
PlayStation 4 Battlefield 4 LE Bundle
10 out of 10(47)
 
 
 
 
 
 
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
DecurionBifrost
 
Please wait while more information about DecurionBifrost is loaded.
Additional information about DecurionBifrost could not be loaded.
The PS4 version Black Island?
Posted 7/14/13
I was checking the AC4 versions (Windows, PS3, PS4) and noticed that the PS4 version doesnt have the Black Island dlc pre-order bonus... Can you clear that up? If there is no pre-order bonus id rather wait some time and get it later when the prices are lower...
Customer Avatar
DARKMASK
El Paso,TX
 
Please wait while more information about DARKMASK is loaded.
Additional information about DARKMASK could not be loaded.
Yes
Posted 7/8/13
Yes there will be
Customer Avatar
TheDeity
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Please wait while more information about TheDeity is loaded.
Additional information about TheDeity could not be loaded.
Black Chest Collectors Edition??
Posted 6/18/13
I want to pre-order the Black Chest Edition of this game but I can't seem to find where to do that....will I be able to get the PS4 version of the collectors edition??....can somebody please help me out
Customer Avatar
justletmepostalready
 
Please wait while more information about justletmepostalready is loaded.
Additional information about justletmepostalready could not be loaded.
you can preorder
Posted 6/16/13
I pre ordered for ps4. I just walked in and said I wanted to pre order the game for ps4 and he said ok. He wouldnt give me a release date on it though. You would think its a launch game since it comes out earlier for current gen consoles and cause you can buy a ps4 bundle with it.
Customer Avatar
raven28690
 
Please wait while more information about raven28690 is loaded.
Additional information about raven28690 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/13/13
I agree with Promethesus. Nothing is made mention of preordering for the Gamestop "The Black Island Pack" for PS4 or Xbox One like it is on the Xbox 360 and PS3 page.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Reserved Excitment
Posted on:6/24/13
revanvssora
Location: Virginia
I've been a big fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise since the first game. At first I was skeptical about the quality of this game due to Ubisoft's yearly release policy. But after seeing the E3 gameplay demo, my confidence for this title has increased. It looks to be a solid addition to an already great franchise, and I don't think franchise fatigue has set in for me just yet. I'm pretty excited for it. The graphics looks very good, and I think next-gen can do wonders for this franchise. The gameplay I saw looked solid. Hopefully, this game can live up to my lofty expectations for it.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vrod1996
 
Please wait while more information about vrod1996 is loaded.
Additional information about vrod1996 could not be loaded.
iffy but excited
Posted 7/27/13
Im excited about the game like and also looking forward to it however im iffy about it now that everything is going to change and by that i mean the storyline so lets see how it goes
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Gameplay but story falls short
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
john654
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Assassin's Creed IV I consider it to be my favorite game of the series, followed by AC 2. Playing as Edward Kenway, a pirate in the Caribbean was a very enjoyable experience, navigating you're personal ship through the enormous map, able to visit the Cuba, Jamaica, Dominican Republic and vast number of islands, my god can the game get any bigger ?! (why yes it can), but it's better if you find that out by yourself. But besides the game being a complete and amazing adventure, the story doesn't stick. It actually felt like if Ubisoft fell short on ideas, but I enjoyed the humor that was added in the story, something very unusual to see in an AC game. To my conclusion, if you wanna be a Pirate and be awesome at it, this is the game. The game looks great, the gameplay is amazing, well you're a Pirate of course it's awesome, but don't expect an overwhelming story.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
The Fourth and Still Not Final Chapter
Posted on:9/27/13
ronniedonnie719
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Black Flag is seemingly turing out to be a pretty solid title coming our way. It may still be a matter of years before we see the (most likely epic) conclusion to this strong series. A must-buy of avid fans of Assassin's Creed.
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Super open world action!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
WiiURulz
Location: kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What awesome graphics on the PS4. The missions are really fun. Plus you can do side missions. Just roaming is entertaining in itself. If you never played AC before, don't worry. You don't need too. It is like a free roam like SR3 or GTA5, but 1700s. The way it teaches you each thing to do is simple for the newbie, and a nice refresher for old pros.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Better on PS4? I think so.
Posted on:8/15/13
lwhit6
Location: Fallon, NV
People have been talking a lot lately about what console is better and why and not meaning to add to the console war, but I truly think the PS4 version of this game will be better. Heres a few reasons why. First of all the exclusive content that you get for the PS4 (the Aveline missions). This may be somewhat miniscule of course but it still improves on the experience.
Secondly, THE DS4 TOUCHPAD. Now, ive been reading lately that the DS4 will end up being just a gimmick or developers wont really use it. According to ACIV Black Flag, nothing could be further form the truth. If you've played any assassins creed game you know how troublesome it is to navigate through the actual map and how annoying that can be. With the DS4 however, that problem is gone. Being able to navigate with a few swipes of a finger and pinch zoom and clicking on what you want is going to be so useful and effective in so many ways. Lastly, I think that DS4 controller is more of an Action Adventure oriented layout than the Xbox Ones mainly FPS controller.
The face buttons (x,o, triangle and square) are closer to the right thumb making it easier to jump to them in a situation where snappiness is needed. And the xbox has had a history of a horrible d-pad, while the playstation has had a history of a phenomenal d-pad, meaning that when switching to your weapons in a speedy manner will be easier and more responsive on the DS4.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jkla
California
 
Please wait while more information about jkla is loaded.
Additional information about jkla could not be loaded.
ASSASSINS CREED FOR LIFE!!
Posted 8/20/13
ok for me personally AC3 wasn't the best AC ever and i think some would agree . But This one seems like it will top all the rest .To me it seems like AC3 was the teaser and now there giving us the main event , this game could be a game changer in the AC franchise . However i don't like the fact that they only used conner for only one game ,i thought that was a bit odd but to be honest conner was O.K he doesn't get down like Altair and Ezio did .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
My Honest Summary
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/14
BaconDude
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start with that I was very excited for this game and very much enjoyed it for a while (once I got past the boring beginning missions). I will start with a positive of this game- the most important being the open world. Fighting and exploring with your pirate ship can be a lot of fun. I was surprised at how rewarding it was to upgrade your ship, as well. The only problems with the open world are that I felt some of the locations were unimaginative and that I wanted some actual side mission stories. Aside from that, the open world is amazing. The graphics are also amazing; though to me, this game illustrates the fact that graphics aren't everything. The gameplay is mostly fun when you are in your ship, although it eventually gets underwhelming after awhile. I was very unimpressed with the most of the story gameplay. There are so many unimaginative "follow that guy missions" or "eavesdrop on that guy missions". The stealth is also pretty bad when you compare it to games like far cry 3. Furthermore, the fighting mechanics seem outdated. At this point, what could save the game? -a good story. The story is awful and the missions just add to it. To me, they should've stayed clear of the AC storyline and just made a game about pirates. There are tons of forgettable characters and a confusing, boring plot in general. To add to this, trying to get a platinum trophy for this game is also terrible. The side objectives degrade each mission even more and the collectables are unimaginative (it's a pirate game, really?!). Unfortunately I cannot recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best One Yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/14
gettosanta
Location: Carlisle,PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played every single assassins creed game on consoles & handhelds ( vita, psp,ds,mobile ). They only seem to add more features and get better and better each installment. Black Flag was my first game on PS4 and i couldn't have made a better decision. The game is jam packed full of content and on top of that comes with a additional hr of content on ps4 and ps3. It also has a separate dlc stand alone for 14.99. It adds new features such as improved naval combat, underwater exploration, dual wielding, blunderbuss, etc. I love the assassin's creed franchise and I hope with Unity they take it the same way they did this one and add a new bunch of new activities and features to make the game new, exciting, and fun.This is a must for assassin's creed fans and people who love open world games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>