GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.911
8.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
13
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
40 out of 4589%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Close to perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
KingBruce
Location: KC, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin's Creed Black Flag is the greatest of the series to date. Not only because of the release on next-gen, but because of the sandbox effect that is well presented. In Black flag you gain added replay value do to the constant respawn of community based objectives. This allows you to compete with friends to see who can get there fastest as well as encourage you to keep exploring even after you finish the story. The best way to increase the value of your experience here is to play this game to complete, not just to beat. Take plenty of time exploring and treasure hunting and pirating in between the main story line and you will find that you are striving to get rich and complete the game and find every secret, and that it doesn't seem like an after game perfection task but rather your main quest which perfectly goes hand in hand with this installments character Edward Kenway. Every now and then you come across a free running glitch but given the size of the world it doesn't happen enough to even be noticed. Multiplayer has been revamped and now single player awards for multiplayer help fuel the strive for exploration and perfection. The sounds of the sea and battle are unmatched in any game I've came across to this day. The soundtrack compliments this nicely as I thoroughly enjoy the shanties that you can tell your crew to sing as you sail about looking for treasure or your next prize. Simply put. Loved it.
-KingBruce
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Even if you haven't played the previous titles...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/14
NinjaCasey
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great for the casual gamer. There is only an online competitive mode for you hardcore gamers, but the single player mode is very relaxing especially after a long day of work/school. Even if you haven't played the previous titles, that's OK. The storyline does not have much to do with any of the previous titles. You play a pirate who comes across an assassin's equipment, which all of a sudden gives you his abilities as well? They didn't really explain that part, which is the only reason I did not give this game a 10. If you like the idea of being a pirate, taking over towns, upgrading your ship to combat other ships, and even commandeering a ship with your crew, then this game is for you.
The graphics were incredible, the map was huge, and the side missions almost overwhelmed you with wondering what to do next. Do I want to take over a castle by the sea for my own army's use, play the main storyline, or run a casual side mission like hunting sharks/whales/animals or go deep see diving to find treasures. You can even rally up crew and fellow assassins to fight for your selfish cause of getting rich while in the cities. There is so much to do it is hard to get bored of this game. I gave the sound a 10 because not only was the music good, but they added in over a dozen songs that your sailors will sing, if you choose, while you are sailing the open seas.
Pro's: Next Gen Graphics, Ship battles, numerous side missions, large open world map, smooth gameplay engine, YOU ARE A PIRATE!
Con's: The storyline. A: They do not explain how you all of a sudden have assassin powers. B: It doesn't seem to be linked to the previous games, if you were hoping it was, you will be disappointed. C: The protagonist (main character) is selfish and greedy. I would go as far as lable him an anti-hero. He kills people for money, hunt endangered animals, and you don't really feel good about some of the missions during the game. If you liked the GTA characters, or like playing a bad guy, you may like this one.
If you are new to the franchise, and like the idea of playing a pirate, I recommend getting this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
LQQKs AMAZING!
Posted on:6/24/13
Dracu1a
Story line is incredible! I could actually watch the previews again. However, I am surprised there is no special edition available. Regardless, looks like a proper game. Definitely pre-ordering this one for the Xbox One.
23 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HARMR
UK
 
Please wait while more information about HARMR is loaded.
Additional information about HARMR could not be loaded.
NOT AMAZING, WORRYING
Posted 7/3/13
ughh it looks awsome, but if its more naval than not, gonna be terrible. Cant get much worse than Revalations. But this could be epiclly, bad!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/14
Keegan117
Location: smithfield, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an amazing game. There is so much to do. The pirate theme is perfect for an assassin's creed game. Highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Pirate of Nightmares!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/14
mattisagamer
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ubisoft delivers another powerful game in the legacy of Assassin's Creed. However, this game is not without flaw, but to highlight the positives first: While it may have seemed awkward at first to go backwards in time line rather than forward (especially the way how AC3 eneded), this is positive of a game as it is the first unorthodox Assassin experience in the franchise; taking the time line to where pirating was famed in the early 1700s onward creates this unorthodox experience. Edward Kenway is a privateer turned pirate turned Assassin. While some may have qualms of his transition to Assassin, it's only a minor detail of the game that soon fades as you further into the story.
Naval combat has become more challenging and at times can be difficult rather than enjoying. While you spend a lot of time on the sea sailing, more often than not will you find a schooner or brig you can board for a break off the seas while obtaining material to upgrade your ship. However, it can get repetitive after the first 30-40 ships, especially when it comes to material hunting. Speaking of upgrading and material, building your ship to become a worthy vessel takes time and requires plans to perfect your ship. The added customization of your ships with features such as the sails, wheels, and figureheads gives the player to make the Jackdaw their own. The environment is very aesthetically pleasing, given that the game takes place equally on land and sea. The movement of water (though many might find this meaningless) impact the maneuvering and combat ability of the ship with environmental forces of rogue waves and water sprouts. This increases the difficulty of some forts/naval battles you'll encounter as you have to be maneuver smarter while focusing on combat and defense.
To move on to Kenway combat, typical AC controls still are implemented: B=Counter, A=Break Defense, X=Death; nothing much has changed. The addition of having the ability to carry four pistols and dual wield swords makes combat slightly more interesting. The killing animations though took a long time and requires no skill to defeat enemies. Maybe Kenway likes to mutilate his enemies as a pirate, which is sort of justifiable. It may even be on par with or regressed from AC3. I wish they'd bring back High/Low profile combat, rather than mashing the buttons to get chained kills as combat is too easy.
Now to move on to Kenway himself: he portrays characteristics of the Anti-Hero. The player may start to generalize his character as greedy and selfish, but develops well throughout his story as a good person. This complex character of Kenway transitions well throughout the entirety of the game smoothly as the player progresses further in the story. They are able to understand and experience the struggles of Kenway himself through drunken flashbacks with his love Caroline. While some may not care for the paramour of Kenway, it is what drives him throughout the entire story. He may commit evil actions, but has good intentions. I would go in-depth with his character, but that may lead to spoilers. Perhaps the biggest question that may be skipped in this long review is (if you're reading this, I applaud you for sticking with me): How did Edward have the skills of an Assassin with no formal training? From this, it is explained in the story that he's been on seas for three years, so he likely has some sort of experience in climbing and combating to survive on the seas, so at least there is a start in understanding his Assassin abilities. Kenway is not an average person dawning the Assassin robes, he has purpose and meaning (riches, love, etc.) and experience on the seas that may develop his Assassin abilities. However, this is not a good reason to support the question, just an opinion based on facts in the game, but at least Kenway did have experience prior to putting on the robes (irrelevant to the review, but many people have asked that question. Just stating my opinion is all). Overall, his path of redemption is what makes the story unorthodox as I've said before, giving an interesting twist in the AC franchise.
To speak of the famous pirates and figures of the game, they truly make the game interesting and the story riveting. In short, the appearances of historical figures such as Blackbeard and Mary Read are well integrated into the story to their historical counterparts through which Kenway experiences first hand. In my opinion, the band of characters and how they are portrayed in the game are the most enthusiastic and interesting cast I've encountered since I've played Mass Effect. To speak of the story, it is well written and intriguing from the first scene to the end. For half of the story if not more revolves around piracy and obtaining riches, which is self evident. The first main game without Desmond Miles, the player is a research analyst of Abstergo Entertainment researching for "Pirates of Nightmares". The outside world of the Animus is first person, which is an interesting approach in contrast to Miles' third person. I assume the idea of first person is to make the player the actual person who is doing the research. There isn't much to do outside of the Animus other than hack computers/play mini-games, collect sticky notes, and admire your action figure collection, but a couple of the missions in Abstergo Entertainment slightly reflect Kenway's story which are quite interesting. You might also meet a couple of familiar faces outside the Animus to bring remembrance of the past games too.
Side missions and activities: A neutral addition to the game. These missions/activities do not contribute to the story progression, but are an OK addition to the game. Templar hunts were, in my opinion, the only side mission worth doing, mainly because it felt like a mini-DLC with 4 extra missions and the ability to unlock Templar Armor (not much of a spoiler here). While I will say it isn't a positive or negative aspect of the game, it's there for replay value and adds to the environment of the time period to bring the liveliness of the game. Multiplayer and Co-op continues as it carries over well from AC3. With Discovery Mode added to Wolfpack in AC4, it is a small story integrated with the game mode and allows easier transition into MP by learning the basics of the game if the player has never played before. Overall, it is your typical AC MP experience, but is still a great addition in the game.
Overall, I enjoyed well over 40+ hours of AC4 and enjoyed every single aspect of the game. From plundering ships to learning the ways of the Assassin through Kenway's adventure, this is a definite must buy for anyone who is a fan of the AC franchise or is new to it. Hopefully this review helped in some way shape or form into your decision to play this great installment in the AC franchise leading into the well anticipated AC Unity.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Another great AC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/14
Assassin07
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have loved Assassins Creed more and more each new release. Minimum glitches in the graphics except one part. The sound and gameplay is awesome. I will remember all AC games for years to come.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best Game I Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/14
neomargate
Location: Margate, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this among other games for my new XBox One and this so far has been my favorite. It took a long time to finish it and then finish all the assassination and naval contracts. I didn't think I would like the ship battles but after a few times I got the hang of it and realized I could buy things to improve my weapons and boat. I found it very addicting and fun. I also liked Laura Croft Tomb Raider and Call of Duty Ghosts but I didn't like Titanfall or Theif. Battlefield 4 and Need for Speed are next.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Simply Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/13
Dburns621
Location: Lafayette, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is addicting unlike all the other Assassins Creed. Theirs is a unique genre to the game that allows you explore so much more content then all the other Assassins Creeds. From Island to Island it's a mystery and you will become hooked on the fact of treasure hunting (which is only one of the addicting factors of this game). The story of the game is just simply amazing and the game never ends once you complete the full story mode. For me it’s rare to be beat a game and still have the enthusiasm to keep wanting the play the story mode. This game by far blew my expectations of me wanting to keep pirating, exploring, and not be bored of the same repetitive game play. I strongly recommend anybody that wants a game to kill time, this is your game by far. I mean who doesn’t like grand theft auto in the Caribbean’s, also seeing how old school warfare was back in the day at first hand.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Simply Stunning
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/14
ExplodingCatX
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been a hardcore AC fan since AC1, and I can easily say this is their best game thus far. The graphical reward of climbing a huge tower is worth it, seeing a bustling town or an island with a variety of animals. The Naval combat is amazing as well. Raiding a Naval Convoy as looting all of their reales (R) is so satisfying. Best game I have seen so far on the XB1, but it is heavily dependent on the campaign. There are plenty of side quests and objectives, but they are tedious. I would definitely recommend this to a friend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excellent Graphics, Keeps You On The Edge
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
AH717
Location: Simi Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag is one of those generation games that has been forged throughout cycle’s of video game consoles. Franchises that are well known have adapted over to the Xbox One and Playstation IV. Assassin’s Creed has stepped forth into the next generation console era with Black Flag. As the main character, Edward Kenway manages to steal a Pirate ship and aspires to live life in the luxury with his maiden lover by his side. The details to the landscaping and background to the game, which changes as you progress through the game, is outstanding. Assassin’s Creed game is set in the Caribbean. Wonderful visual effects abound in the game and are found in the landscapes that are shifting from islands to docks of congested cities as the gamer sails in giant boats across the ocean’s tides. Game play moves with fast pace, making any player feel bad’ass when taking out multiple guards with ease. Animals scurrying around islands to hunt for upgrades in supplies, but immerses the character into a realistic environment. Steering boats or engaged in sea battles is frustrating until understanding the controls. Set voyage beyond the Caribbean Sea and become an entitled ‘Assassin’. Great game – Allen Harrison
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Looks Awesome!
Posted on:9/29/13
wukongJR
Can't wait to play this game on my new Xbox One! The visuals look fantastic, the gameplay looks solid, and the story is killer (no pun intended)
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Makes you feel like a pirate
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
WickedJester
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The guys at Ubisoft have always been amazing at creating a historical fiction atmosphere in Assassins Creed and they certainly deliver in Black Flag. The way they connect your plundering to actually history is incredible. They really do make you feel like you're in that time period. They stepped up their game when it came to combat and sound. Your assassin's character moves even better when fighting with cooler combos than pervious AC. The thing that impressed me the most in this game is the sound throughout; swimming and especially running through water sounds amazingly real. Sword swipes and fighting sounds are on point. If you have ever been to the Bahamas you will appreciate how well done the graphics are. Bottom line, what couldn't you enjoy about plundering, killing, stealing, and increasing your reputation among the sea?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
ASSASSINS CREED GOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
CBEAR465
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since the release of assassins creed 2 there really hasn't been a good assassins creed game in a while, UNTIL NOW !!!! This game was god, the gameplay was amazing, the graphics were out of this world, the sound around you was straight up amazing to listen to and to hear the animals run in the grass or when a jaguar pounces at you was just excellent. The story was compeling and I couldn't wait to get to the next mission fast enough. The online is still as its always been but for some reason I'm having more fun with this one than the others. This game hasn't left the inside of my Xbox one yet and I 98% completion for this game. For all you assassins creed fans out there get this game because you don't want to miss the awesomeness that it holds in store. GET THIS GAME .. it also tells you what assassins creed 5 is going to be and 6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Was Not Impressed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/14
XboxeDPlayerHashassins
Location: Mountlake Terrace
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was good to play to finsih the rest of the Desmond story, but left me dissatisfied and left wanting, Assassins Creed lll was better than this, It had it's fun moments of the new features you may do. but the things that left me most upset was how little the Assassin's were valued in this Game Like they were worthless and less Educated/knowledgable with their Creed unlike Altair and Ezio they were plain and boring and their hideout seemed way too exposed and obvious to find, Edward annoyed me for some reason, FYI people he's not considered an "Official" Asssassin just like Ah Tabai said and no where in the book does it say you can wear the robes and consider yourself one. Also upsetting was wanting to know who you're playing as once you're out of the Animus, You're Definetly not Desmond for sure IDK I didn't like this game out of all the AC'S People are already going to be "Butthurt" just by reading this but this is what I saw and thought of this game, If you can agree to some of these great, if you can't and want to start a chat war be my guest but I won't reply (Only if you need to be corrected to the most obvious things). I hope next Assassin's Creed doesn't dissapoint and has more to it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
great serious amazing game
Posted on:11/3/13
mickey9568
Location: vancouver wa
Honest review, i have played all the assassins accept this one, i beat 1,2,and brotherhood, was not really into revelations and 3, brotherhood in my opinion was the best. so what do i think about black flag? honestly your in highly good hands a great company with a lot of talent, the have made a successful serious i mean what game makes it for this long , this game is well worth 60 and will be a hit i am very happy to be picking it up and i hope your excited as well , this is a top notch game and made with time and skill, enjoy your gaming
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Longer campaign
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
XDeadGolem78X
Location: Georgia
The campaign needed to be just a little longer but it was a great game other than short campaign. So gg to this game just GG.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awsome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
INSANEwhales196
Location: Kentucky, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
assassins creed black flag is a great game this is the only game i have ever played where i really loved the story line. also the freeplay makes it so much better the only thing i will say is kind of annoying is if your on a really hard mission lets say you have to take out a brig but you never upgraded your ship instead of being able to leave and upgrade you would have to beat the mission and this is very frustrating. its not like it really matters but the sound is really glitchy when in sword fights like its REALLY messed up. but besides those downsides over all assassins creed black flag is a great game i reccomend any one to buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Worth every penny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
JawMini
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played ALL the AC games & i got to say this one in my opinion was the best. At first i wasn't to excited about the pirate ship aspect but i got to admit its more thrilling than riding a horse. Story is long i'd say took me about 2-3 weeks to beat & even so i don't have everything. The graphics in this video game are stunning & really makes you feel like you're in the Caribbean part of the world. As for online I haven't really played but i noticed theres this new co op game mode which i think is a great change. Overall if you are looking where to get more bang for your buck & want to know what it takes to sail into the Caribbean & love exploring, this is the game to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC4 is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
iluvassassinscreed
Location: Excelsior Springs, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just flat out an amazing game. If you've ever played the other assassin's creed games you enjoyed any of them, then i stronlgy recommend getting this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
good but not for everyone
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the first Assassins creed several years ago and loved it. Since then I've become very picky about games. I tried playing the second on but lost interest. After seeing the videos for this game, I had to try it. I expected the 360 to not have as good of graphics as the videos I saw that were recorded on Ps4/xbox one, but they aren't even the same ballpark. On the next gen they show how even beaches have coral reafs, fish, plants, etc. On 360 they have none of the above, at all. It's just sand.
Also the map is misleading. All of the water space yes you can sail every foot of it. However all of the land mass is not accessable. For example a lot of medium sized islands have cliffs around all sides, meaning they aren't accessable, but they will have a small beach portion of the island with maybe one item of loot/treasure, that's it. In other words, some islands you look at can be 2000 feet wide, but only a roughly 80 foot wide beach will be playable. So if you research this game and see the map in a video, don't think "that's a huge map" consider that a notable percent of that land is inaccesable.
The gameplay is roughly the same as AC2 (not sure about games since then cause i haven't played them). It's the same pounce your targets when they are off their guard, pull an enemy into a bush while stabbing them, the same prompt to counter attack which is also a finishing attack, etc. The guns do offer a SLIGHT change from the throwing knives, but not much. The throwing knives could be retrieved, the bullets can't. The bullets do have slightly more range, but thats' the only notable difference. and by slight i mean maybe 50ft vs 80ft. not much at all.
The world has come a long way since AC1-2. It feels a lot more natural jumping from buildings, to trees, to buildings, etc. Where as it used to be just building. Also climbing some cliff sides, ruins, etc is fun.
The only thing I really cared for in this game, is the ship. The naval warfare is excellent, great mechanics, animations, etc. However it gets repetitive. Taking down your first ship is a great feeling, upgrading your ship is fun, however after killing 50 ships, it seems more of a chore that you do to power level, then an actual thrill. Example when you destroy a ship you can board it (require you to kill a certain amount of the crew, destroy certain items on the ship (flags or something) etc), or you can simply sink it, and only get half of the ships loot. When you board you get to repair your ship which is invaluable after a good naval battle, where as not boarding it you get no repair. So you will most likely board every time. It gets exhausting. Especially when you are leveled/experienced enough to take on multiple ships at once. When you take on a convoy of 4 ships, it's exhausting going ship, to ship, to ship. They should've included some sort of "auto board" feature that has a mechanic that takes into consideration how much crew you have, how much hp your ship has, and how successful you have been in naval warfare, to say something like "board with only 5% risk to your ships hp" and if your stats suck maybe it says "board with 40% risk to your ships hp" or something.
I've always felt the biggest thing that AC needs is a good leveling and customization system. Something like Skyrim. Not nearly as extensive as Skyrim, but along those lines. Black flag attempted this, but it's more of a level system, not a customizing system. For example the ship has upgrades, and you can't get 19 cannons until you buy 17 cannons (the upgrade just before 17) etc. the only customization is color of sails/flags (think there are 4 choices) color of the wheel (think there are four) and the front of the ship (think 4 again). They released dlcs for more variety to nickel and dime us, but I'm not willing to pay more for what should've been included into the game. It should've been more stuff like "add more sails/larger sails to make the ship faster", "Paint jobs on the side" "battle scars" etc. Same with the character. I mean there are a few upgrades to weapons, ammo pouches, etc, but i think as far as customization, there are less then a hand full of options. It'd be cool to choose heavy armor that takes more damage but slows you down, light armor that is the opposite, colors of armor, designs of armor, etc.
The story is solid, i haven't seen all of it, but I've seen most. That's the only thing that keeps me coming back.
There are misk/side quests you can do which are fun, but again they become repetitive. Things like fishing large fish (sharks, whales, etc), assassin contracts, etc. All are fun at first, until you realize they all use the exact same scenario/mechanics as the others.
co op is a bonus to this game, however it falls short. I wanted to be able to co op in naval warfare, then dock, run up and slaughter whoever we wanted, do quests, mission, have a sandbox co op to do whatever we can think of. Instead the co op is like a challenge mode. Think COD zombies modes. You have waves of enemies, that you fend off, on foot, in a town that is cut off from the rest of the world via a red barrier. So yes co op does have value, but not nearly what i was hoping for.
Multiplayer i don't know because i haven't played, so i can't say if it's good or bad, though i have heard good things about it.
I recommend this mainly to the AC hardcore fans, or those that are new to AC. If you have tried AC and got burnt out on it, then don't waste your time. Also get this on the new gen consoles, the graphics are breath taking on them.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>