GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag

It is 1715. Pirates rule the Caribbean and have established a lawless pirate republic. Among these outlaws is a fearsome young captain named Edward Kenway. His exploits earn the respect of pirate legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built.
Average Customer Rating:
8.842
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
10
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
33 out of 3887%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Review 1 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Close to perfection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
KingBruce
Location: KC, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin's Creed Black Flag is the greatest of the series to date. Not only because of the release on next-gen, but because of the sandbox effect that is well presented. In Black flag you gain added replay value do to the constant respawn of community based objectives. This allows you to compete with friends to see who can get there fastest as well as encourage you to keep exploring even after you finish the story. The best way to increase the value of your experience here is to play this game to complete, not just to beat. Take plenty of time exploring and treasure hunting and pirating in between the main story line and you will find that you are striving to get rich and complete the game and find every secret, and that it doesn't seem like an after game perfection task but rather your main quest which perfectly goes hand in hand with this installments character Edward Kenway. Every now and then you come across a free running glitch but given the size of the world it doesn't happen enough to even be noticed. Multiplayer has been revamped and now single player awards for multiplayer help fuel the strive for exploration and perfection. The sounds of the sea and battle are unmatched in any game I've came across to this day. The soundtrack compliments this nicely as I thoroughly enjoy the shanties that you can tell your crew to sing as you sail about looking for treasure or your next prize. Simply put. Loved it.
-KingBruce
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
LQQKs AMAZING!
Posted on:6/24/13
Dracu1a
Story line is incredible! I could actually watch the previews again. However, I am surprised there is no special edition available. Regardless, looks like a proper game. Definitely pre-ordering this one for the Xbox One.
23 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HARMR
UK
 
Please wait while more information about HARMR is loaded.
Additional information about HARMR could not be loaded.
NOT AMAZING, WORRYING
Posted 7/3/13
ughh it looks awsome, but if its more naval than not, gonna be terrible. Cant get much worse than Revalations. But this could be epiclly, bad!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Excellent Graphics, Keeps You On The Edge
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
AH717
Location: Simi Valley, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag is one of those generation games that has been forged throughout cycle’s of video game consoles. Franchises that are well known have adapted over to the Xbox One and Playstation IV. Assassin’s Creed has stepped forth into the next generation console era with Black Flag. As the main character, Edward Kenway manages to steal a Pirate ship and aspires to live life in the luxury with his maiden lover by his side. The details to the landscaping and background to the game, which changes as you progress through the game, is outstanding. Assassin’s Creed game is set in the Caribbean. Wonderful visual effects abound in the game and are found in the landscapes that are shifting from islands to docks of congested cities as the gamer sails in giant boats across the ocean’s tides. Game play moves with fast pace, making any player feel bad’ass when taking out multiple guards with ease. Animals scurrying around islands to hunt for upgrades in supplies, but immerses the character into a realistic environment. Steering boats or engaged in sea battles is frustrating until understanding the controls. Set voyage beyond the Caribbean Sea and become an entitled ‘Assassin’. Great game – Allen Harrison
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
awsome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
INSANEwhales196
Location: Kentucky, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
assassins creed black flag is a great game this is the only game i have ever played where i really loved the story line. also the freeplay makes it so much better the only thing i will say is kind of annoying is if your on a really hard mission lets say you have to take out a brig but you never upgraded your ship instead of being able to leave and upgrade you would have to beat the mission and this is very frustrating. its not like it really matters but the sound is really glitchy when in sword fights like its REALLY messed up. but besides those downsides over all assassins creed black flag is a great game i reccomend any one to buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Best assassin yet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/14
fordman
Location: Syracuse my
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Usually I like the serious at first then get bored.and quit. I love this game so much I find my self singing the shanties my self. Who wouldn't love to be a pirate
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Worth every penny
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
JawMini
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've played ALL the AC games & i got to say this one in my opinion was the best. At first i wasn't to excited about the pirate ship aspect but i got to admit its more thrilling than riding a horse. Story is long i'd say took me about 2-3 weeks to beat & even so i don't have everything. The graphics in this video game are stunning & really makes you feel like you're in the Caribbean part of the world. As for online I haven't really played but i noticed theres this new co op game mode which i think is a great change. Overall if you are looking where to get more bang for your buck & want to know what it takes to sail into the Caribbean & love exploring, this is the game to get.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
It's the best AC game buy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
XboxOneGuy
Location: NYC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It is a great game, but still I don't suggest if for anybody under age 12. But if that is problem than can turn off the blood under options. I think that it's better than any of the others. And I thought it was really stupid in The others were when you knocked somebody into the water they would just drown but now they swim back. In AC3 you had reload your gun and stuff even though you only fired once but now you can shoot multiple times before reloading. But the pirate theme I don't like because I don't like riding ships on AC games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Simply Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/13
Dburns621
Location: Lafayette, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is addicting unlike all the other Assassins Creed. Theirs is a unique genre to the game that allows you explore so much more content then all the other Assassins Creeds. From Island to Island it's a mystery and you will become hooked on the fact of treasure hunting (which is only one of the addicting factors of this game). The story of the game is just simply amazing and the game never ends once you complete the full story mode. For me it’s rare to be beat a game and still have the enthusiasm to keep wanting the play the story mode. This game by far blew my expectations of me wanting to keep pirating, exploring, and not be bored of the same repetitive game play. I strongly recommend anybody that wants a game to kill time, this is your game by far. I mean who doesn’t like grand theft auto in the Caribbean’s, also seeing how old school warfare was back in the day at first hand.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
killerkingtato
Location: niagara falls
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me say the graphics are awesome and the game play is great, its almost like skyrim i love open world games great game everyone must have this game, happy hunting a ha lol.....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Adamantium
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you are a fan of the series then you will love this game. The Xbox One version has insane graphics, and game play. There are plenty of missions to keep you busy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Was Not Impressed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/14
XboxeDPlayerHashassins
Location: Mountlake Terrace
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was good to play to finsih the rest of the Desmond story, but left me dissatisfied and left wanting, Assassins Creed lll was better than this, It had it's fun moments of the new features you may do. but the things that left me most upset was how little the Assassin's were valued in this Game Like they were worthless and less Educated/knowledgable with their Creed unlike Altair and Ezio they were plain and boring and their hideout seemed way too exposed and obvious to find, Edward annoyed me for some reason, FYI people he's not considered an "Official" Asssassin just like Ah Tabai said and no where in the book does it say you can wear the robes and consider yourself one. Also upsetting was wanting to know who you're playing as once you're out of the Animus, You're Definetly not Desmond for sure IDK I didn't like this game out of all the AC'S People are already going to be "Butthurt" just by reading this but this is what I saw and thought of this game, If you can agree to some of these great, if you can't and want to start a chat war be my guest but I won't reply (Only if you need to be corrected to the most obvious things). I hope next Assassin's Creed doesn't dissapoint and has more to it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
Warzone
Location: Cincinnati
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It has pirates, pirate ships, booty, and assassins. Assassin's Creed IV is an excellent game. Has tons of replay value, and lot's of thing to do after you complete the story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Makes you feel like a pirate
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
WickedJester
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: party gamers
The guys at Ubisoft have always been amazing at creating a historical fiction atmosphere in Assassins Creed and they certainly deliver in Black Flag. The way they connect your plundering to actually history is incredible. They really do make you feel like you're in that time period. They stepped up their game when it came to combat and sound. Your assassin's character moves even better when fighting with cooler combos than pervious AC. The thing that impressed me the most in this game is the sound throughout; swimming and especially running through water sounds amazingly real. Sword swipes and fighting sounds are on point. If you have ever been to the Bahamas you will appreciate how well done the graphics are. Bottom line, what couldn't you enjoy about plundering, killing, stealing, and increasing your reputation among the sea?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
ASSASSINS CREED GOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
CBEAR465
Location: Monroe Township, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since the release of assassins creed 2 there really hasn't been a good assassins creed game in a while, UNTIL NOW !!!! This game was god, the gameplay was amazing, the graphics were out of this world, the sound around you was straight up amazing to listen to and to hear the animals run in the grass or when a jaguar pounces at you was just excellent. The story was compeling and I couldn't wait to get to the next mission fast enough. The online is still as its always been but for some reason I'm having more fun with this one than the others. This game hasn't left the inside of my Xbox one yet and I 98% completion for this game. For all you assassins creed fans out there get this game because you don't want to miss the awesomeness that it holds in store. GET THIS GAME .. it also tells you what assassins creed 5 is going to be and 6
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
AwsomeBoss99
Location: Atlanta,Geogia
This game is truly amazing. The one problem is the sound is not the best it is good but not great. This is a must buy. It is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
AC just keeps gettin better and better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/14
oHIELOo
Location: Minneapolis,MN
This by far is one of the greatest AC games, if not one of the greastest games ever made. Almost everthing is awesome,from the garphics to the story.It has gottin better since the last game when some of the stuff you did as far as your village really didnt do much Vs. now it effects/benfits your game.Also they brought back amor.Only thing i wish there wash more of is customization and more crafting and weapons and suits. Add all the good random stuff of the 1st AC2 and I also felt like it was easy to get everthing and making it a bit dull and nothing really to work 4 other than finishing what is a awesome game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Fantastic game, even after you beat the story!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/14
Nbuffs24
Location: Tacoma, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm really loving Assassin's Creed 4. The story was a great follow-up to previous games in the series, and many new aspects were brought into the story as well. The campaign was short, as it only took a couple of days to beat, but it was wonderfully entertaining nonetheless. The game manages to stay entertaining long after you beat the story as well. There's still so much to explore, still so many more upgrades to acquire, and adventures to have! The game performs well from what I have seen so far. I haven't had any major glitches, and it has never crashed on me. I would definitely recommend this to anyone. Fantastic game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
Keeney
Location: Frederick,MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love everything about this game, impressed me from the start. Every friend who has seen me play it has purchased it and love it the same as me.. Graphics are unreal and battling in the seas is fun but boarding the ships everytime does get old
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
good but not for everyone
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played the first Assassins creed several years ago and loved it. Since then I've become very picky about games. I tried playing the second on but lost interest. After seeing the videos for this game, I had to try it. I expected the 360 to not have as good of graphics as the videos I saw that were recorded on Ps4/xbox one, but they aren't even the same ballpark. On the next gen they show how even beaches have coral reafs, fish, plants, etc. On 360 they have none of the above, at all. It's just sand.
Also the map is misleading. All of the water space yes you can sail every foot of it. However all of the land mass is not accessable. For example a lot of medium sized islands have cliffs around all sides, meaning they aren't accessable, but they will have a small beach portion of the island with maybe one item of loot/treasure, that's it. In other words, some islands you look at can be 2000 feet wide, but only a roughly 80 foot wide beach will be playable. So if you research this game and see the map in a video, don't think "that's a huge map" consider that a notable percent of that land is inaccesable.
The gameplay is roughly the same as AC2 (not sure about games since then cause i haven't played them). It's the same pounce your targets when they are off their guard, pull an enemy into a bush while stabbing them, the same prompt to counter attack which is also a finishing attack, etc. The guns do offer a SLIGHT change from the throwing knives, but not much. The throwing knives could be retrieved, the bullets can't. The bullets do have slightly more range, but thats' the only notable difference. and by slight i mean maybe 50ft vs 80ft. not much at all.
The world has come a long way since AC1-2. It feels a lot more natural jumping from buildings, to trees, to buildings, etc. Where as it used to be just building. Also climbing some cliff sides, ruins, etc is fun.
The only thing I really cared for in this game, is the ship. The naval warfare is excellent, great mechanics, animations, etc. However it gets repetitive. Taking down your first ship is a great feeling, upgrading your ship is fun, however after killing 50 ships, it seems more of a chore that you do to power level, then an actual thrill. Example when you destroy a ship you can board it (require you to kill a certain amount of the crew, destroy certain items on the ship (flags or something) etc), or you can simply sink it, and only get half of the ships loot. When you board you get to repair your ship which is invaluable after a good naval battle, where as not boarding it you get no repair. So you will most likely board every time. It gets exhausting. Especially when you are leveled/experienced enough to take on multiple ships at once. When you take on a convoy of 4 ships, it's exhausting going ship, to ship, to ship. They should've included some sort of "auto board" feature that has a mechanic that takes into consideration how much crew you have, how much hp your ship has, and how successful you have been in naval warfare, to say something like "board with only 5% risk to your ships hp" and if your stats suck maybe it says "board with 40% risk to your ships hp" or something.
I've always felt the biggest thing that AC needs is a good leveling and customization system. Something like Skyrim. Not nearly as extensive as Skyrim, but along those lines. Black flag attempted this, but it's more of a level system, not a customizing system. For example the ship has upgrades, and you can't get 19 cannons until you buy 17 cannons (the upgrade just before 17) etc. the only customization is color of sails/flags (think there are 4 choices) color of the wheel (think there are four) and the front of the ship (think 4 again). They released dlcs for more variety to nickel and dime us, but I'm not willing to pay more for what should've been included into the game. It should've been more stuff like "add more sails/larger sails to make the ship faster", "Paint jobs on the side" "battle scars" etc. Same with the character. I mean there are a few upgrades to weapons, ammo pouches, etc, but i think as far as customization, there are less then a hand full of options. It'd be cool to choose heavy armor that takes more damage but slows you down, light armor that is the opposite, colors of armor, designs of armor, etc.
The story is solid, i haven't seen all of it, but I've seen most. That's the only thing that keeps me coming back.
There are misk/side quests you can do which are fun, but again they become repetitive. Things like fishing large fish (sharks, whales, etc), assassin contracts, etc. All are fun at first, until you realize they all use the exact same scenario/mechanics as the others.
co op is a bonus to this game, however it falls short. I wanted to be able to co op in naval warfare, then dock, run up and slaughter whoever we wanted, do quests, mission, have a sandbox co op to do whatever we can think of. Instead the co op is like a challenge mode. Think COD zombies modes. You have waves of enemies, that you fend off, on foot, in a town that is cut off from the rest of the world via a red barrier. So yes co op does have value, but not nearly what i was hoping for.
Multiplayer i don't know because i haven't played, so i can't say if it's good or bad, though i have heard good things about it.
I recommend this mainly to the AC hardcore fans, or those that are new to AC. If you have tried AC and got burnt out on it, then don't waste your time. Also get this on the new gen consoles, the graphics are breath taking on them.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag
LEFT WANTING!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/13
Leighton
Location: Bedford, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The gameplay itself was as fun as any other assassin's game (the only reason I gave that such a low rating is there is no section present for rating just the story). The series is my favorite series, however, this particular installment really didn't take you were it should have.SLIGHT SPOILER: this assassin wasn't even an assassin and with definately no excuse as to why he had such a high level of training. There was almost NO story in this game other than the tapes of desmond talking. The lack of a story and no actual assassin make this installment a bust.....That being said, I would have highly recomended this game if the present day aspect was cut and the game be renamed for what it really was...PIRATES CREED!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>