GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kinect Sports Rivals

The best-selling Kinect franchise is back, made exclusively for Xbox One. The all-new, unparalleled Kinect technology captures your likeness as a champion and thrusts you into sporting events against friends, rivals and the entire world. Skill matters. Precision is rewarded. Small movements make big impacts. With online tournaments, head-to-head rivalries and a world full of competitors, sports are reimagined to ignite your competitive spirit. The game learns how you and your friends compete, creating an ever-evolving network of rivals in the cloud. There's a competitor in each of us just waiting to come alive. It's You vs. the world.
Average Customer Rating:
7.083
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
8 out of 1267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kinect Sports Rivals
Review 1 for Kinect Sports Rivals
The demo for Rivals is awesome!
Posted on:11/25/13
RevanLuxa
Location: Houston, TX
If you have an Xbox One you can play the demo of this game right now. Just go to the Xbox store and download it. The jet ski segment was way better than I had imagined. You can sit down 4 to 6ft. from your t.v. and use your hands as if you are steering a bicycle. It takes 5min's or so to get use to but by halfway through my very first race I found myself hitting ever trick off every ramp and landing a 1st place finish.
The gestures that the Kinect 2 can see are much more subtle than it's predecessor. This means you won't wear yourself out anywhere near as fast as a similar title on the 360. The game looks great so far and everything from the hum of the motor to the realistic wave physics pulls you into the experience.
The demo is free and you can actually unlock some cool gear and jet skis for the full game when it is released next year. It also appears that each month they will open up new trials with their own unique unlocks all the way up to the game's launch.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Joker150
 
Please wait while more information about Joker150 is loaded.
Additional information about Joker150 could not be loaded.
Terrible!
Posted 4/28/14
It's already discounted $10 off. It's horrible!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Stay away
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
msweat21
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is potentially the worst game I have bought in quite sometime. Do not waste your money. Xbox or Gamestop should offer full refunds for anyone who bought this piece of garbage...especially being the 1st real "Xbox One Kinect" game.
*Loading games take forever
*Cannot skip past cut scenes
*You are required to train for every sport. I have gotten through three of them in two nights...more because of the cut scenes and loading.
*Rock climbing is basically moving your arms up and down
*Pistol shooting is just aiming your hand at the screen
*Soccer is awful and misses most of your movements
*Wave racing is lame
I am hoping Tennis and Bowling are good.
I cannot believe they actually released this and charge $60. Xbox One needs to step it up. I have been an Xbox person forever and this is by far the worst game for all the build up.
The original Wii sports is better and Kinect sports for Xbox 360.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Next best thing!
Posted 6/29/14
Nintendo is coming with a retail version of Wii Sports Club!
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
More proof Nintendo is the king of 1rst part games
Posted 6/3/14
You wanna know what can help Wii U sales. Nintendo making Wii sports 3 to be bought by Xbox One owners who bought this horrible game. (Microsoft might as well make a Kinect 2.0 bundle with this game to increase software sales)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 6/3/14
Another reason Xbox One has yet to surpass the Wii U as far as total sales goes.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Great Game That Arrived Too Soon
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
ShadowMD
Location: Towson, MD
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a great game, HOWEVER I don't think the Kinect is advanced enough for a game like this. Some motions go undetected and it's a hassle on the sports like climbing, and its hard to maintain accuracy on shooting with the cursor wobbling on the screen.
I'm not a soccer player, which might be the reason why I have so much trouble with this sport (passing the ball and scoring direction), but I am a tennis player and I think they did well with this sport (spins, placement depend on your movement which for this sport is picked up pretty well). The wake racing is solid, and same with the bowling.
Once again great game, just the Kinect device has trouble picking up certain movements. With that said I feel the technology is to blame, not so much the actual Kinect Sports Rivals game.
I also feel the need to mention that though I hated the long (forced play) introduction, it was a good way to learn the movements of each sport and what the game has to offer.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Very fun, no problems like others have mentioned
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/14
Mariner24
Location: Manhattan, KS
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I held off on buying this game because of the negative reviews about issues people were having with the kinect not responding well. Many reviews mentioned frustrating glitches. This was not the case for me. I played every sport several times this weekend and never had any problems once I tilted my kinect into the correct position. Great game and a lot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kinect Sports Rivals
GREAT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/14
ToothydaGAMA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I went to a microsoft store and played this and it worked fine!! All the people that say its bad are wrong. You just need to calibrate the kinect and get it in the right spot in your room. Id say its a great game overall and you should definitely buy if your in to Kinect games! PS Take breaks every 20 so minutes because this game can make u cramp! IM SOLD!!!!!!!!!!! #1
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Great Game, must use kinect correctly
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
EMSCali
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Xbox One Kinect works great with this game, as well as all games that use it. You must have enough room and follow setup for each game. I have been able to sit in a chair for the jetski mode. Its a quick learn.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 6/3/14
And people think Nintendo is doing bad.
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 5/28/14
It's sad that sales for this game not being good meant Microsoft recently layed off 16 people. Dropping Kinect with the price cut is definetly not gonna help sales.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/14
LordIllidan84
Location: Anderson, IN
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I didn't have problems with this game at all. While it is annoying not being able to skip cut scenes, lots of games do that and it's really not that bad. You just need to be sure that you follow the instructions/tutorial for all the games. My wife had some issues with the wave runner because she would always over-correct, but she eventually became a champ once she got the hang of it. It isn't a naturally easy game, but its a great way to move around while enjoying gaming. Would highly recommend to anyone who doesn't mind getting up from the couch (though some of the sports can be played on the couch if you so desire).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Very buggy, Terrible Intro you can't bypass
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
Kev75
Location: Philly
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Bought this game because I loved it on Xbox 360. There was far too tedious of an intro which they won't let you bypass. All I wanted to do was play a sport with my daughter and it is almost impossible to do. It requires you to play through a kind of extremely ill-conceived story mode to unlock the games. You can't just play the sport you want. This game should be an easy to use family game but is is NOT that at all. Do NOT buy till this gets fixed. Please get rid of that horrible mandatory training garbage.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BaLLiSTiK
 
Please wait while more information about BaLLiSTiK is loaded.
Additional information about BaLLiSTiK could not be loaded.
Posted 4/17/14
Bud... There is a quickplay mode. I played this yesterday. It has all the game modes. The story mode is one player. Yes there is that intro.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kinect Sports Rivals
don't waste your time
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/14
Philliesfan12
Location: Pennsylvania
Bought this game today excited to continue playing my favorite motion gaming series. Turned it on to be greeted by a long and far too tedious of an intro. It requires you to play through a kind of extremely ill-conceived story mode to unlock the games. You can't just play the sport you want. The controls have been further dumbed down from the 360 counterparts, which is hard to believe given the superior nature of the Kinect 2.0. This game needs another year in the development cycle. It's incomplete at best.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Mushroom Kingdom
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 6/3/14
It's no wonder Microsoft had to lay off employees but getting rid of Kinect with the price cut will not increase software sales.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Great game for family's
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/14
marshmalloman2
Location: Philadelphia, Pa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Not as bad as playstation fanboys that wrote reviews said it was. Easily the best motion game out there right now. Has great gameplay and great graphics and the soundtrack is fantastic. I would highly recommend this to any person that wants to have fun with their family or friends.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Kinect Sports Rivals
OMG! Looks AMAZING!
Posted on:6/10/13
assassin0946
Location: Woodlawn, TN
Watching E3 I saw a game, beautiful graphics, excellent and gory combat that brought me to the edge of my seat. Ryse: Son of Rome is definitely a game to get. The bad part though is that it seems to only be for X-Box One which is disappointing because I'm a Playstation man. But for you X-Box lovers, this game seems legit.
11 of 38 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Looking Forward To It.
Posted on:6/12/13
Redwolf2003
Location: Asheboro, NC
I personally am looking forward to this game. I have always been fascinated with Ancient Roman History. This game looks like it gives you that as well as extremely immersive gameplay. I also like the way you can apparently play the game from a multitude of aspects. Cant wait to get my hands on it as it was one of the day one release titles I reserved when I ordered my system from my local store.
4 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
WiseCrusader
Pittsburgh. PA
 
Please wait while more information about WiseCrusader is loaded.
Additional information about WiseCrusader could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Posted 3/24/14
Thumbs up anyways!!!!
Customer Avatar
PanthersFanSteve
Oak Ridge, NC
 
Please wait while more information about PanthersFanSteve is loaded.
Additional information about PanthersFanSteve could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Wrong game
Posted 6/27/13
Believe this is meant for Ryse, not Kinect Sports.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Very Fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
TheLivonator
Location: San Diego, CA
All events are fun and not too physically demanding for those that feel they might not be able to handle it.
Need good lighting, but for space I was able to work in 6-8 feet of space without any issues - and I am 6'5".
The digital make up of you Champion is great. The character looks exactly like me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Fun yes, great no
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/14
Locowhtdat430
Location: Mount Dora FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Good game, great graphics especially on the wake racing. Must say that the control system is infuriating and could use some help. Not a bad purchase as my kids are enjoying it but i expected more from the Xbox One Kinect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kinect Sports Rivals
ok
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/14
ravenpurple
Location: Dover PA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
not a good jump from the xbox 360 to the xbox one....i wanted better games. I think this game was rushed out. I feel that the first two games were better than this one on the xbox1
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 16 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Generic as Usual
Posted on:6/23/13
Drewski954
Location: Lauderhill, FL
Looks decent even though I never like to see these generic (player) kinect type games. Unless they're for children. If this is next gen show it and prove it. Looks like an Xbox 360 game to be honest. I keep veering more and more toward #PS4 especially with all that hardware power they are packing graphics should be above X1.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 117 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
carsonccc
 
Please wait while more information about carsonccc is loaded.
Additional information about carsonccc could not be loaded.
Posted 3/28/14
Your comment is pretty biased. That's great that you love the PS4. However, it's obviously not applicable to a game for the Xbox One, and if you paid close attention by playing a demo version of Kinect Sports Rivals then you would see that there actually is a definite difference in graphics compared to the 360.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Kinect Sports Rivals
Looks great
Posted on:6/10/13
Clazo
Location: San Francisco
Cant wait to see what it looks like. Maybe a clash of titans type game. No video or photos are available.
0 of 10 found this review helpful.