GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Watch Dogs

Play as Aiden Pearce, a brilliant hacker, whose criminal past led to a violent family tragedy. Now on the hunt for those who hurt your family, monitor and hack all who surround you by manipulating everything connected to the city's network. Access omnipresent security cameras, download personal information to locate a target, control traffic lights and public transportation to stop the enemy...and more. Use the city of Chicago as your ultimate weapon and exact your own style of revenge.
Average Customer Rating:
7.548
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
17
8 stars
10
7 stars
12
6 stars
7
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
59 out of 8470%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Watch Dogs
Review 1 for Watch Dogs
Not worth your time
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/14
somedudearoundthecorner
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Watch dogs is fun, until you beat the story. Once you've done the story there really is just about nothing else to do. All of the side missions together take about three hours to complete. It doesn't have the major problem of repetitive content like the Assassin's Creed series, Watch Dogs problem is the near complete lack of additional content. The story is short and fairly predictable, and the most interesting characters are rarely seen so that they can focus on the usual character archetypes. the most expansive bit of side content is the privacy invasions, of which there are 30; but each of them takes about five minutes to finish and the only ting you're rewarded with is a bunch of lazy vulgar jokes.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Bowling for Watch Dogs. This is just about all there is to do after you've done all the single player content
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for Watch Dogs
Great game, GO BUY IT!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/14
StanwoodGamer
Location: Stanwood, Mi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I haven't been this hooked on a game in a long time. I'll admit that it does copy game play elements of other games but who cares? Fun is fun and this game is fantastic to play. I won't post anything that might spoil anything for anybody but the story is great, the setting is great, the game play is top notch. Ubisoft has actually came close to delivering on all the hype surrounding this game. If you think this game fits the style of game you like do not hesitate to buy it, even if it isn't your cup of tea, buy it anyway, I would be willing to bet that you will find something in the game that interests you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
victormitchell
chicago
 
Please wait while more information about victormitchell is loaded.
Additional information about victormitchell could not be loaded.
Great game lots of fun
Posted 7/8/14
Watch dogs even though there isn't any dogs i say buy it i got for my xbox one its great the missions are a challenge and tons of hacking and free roaming fun.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Watch Dogs
Absolutely Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/14
DraK2014
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is absolutely fun! I mean if you dont pay attention to the bugs or a lack of luster on the graphics this game can be extremely fun with a group of friends! If you dont have friends then im sorry. Yes we were promised better graphics and a breakthrough of gaming history but this game does just fine. Im impressed because first of all its better than most xbox one games out there at the moment! I mean titanfall got too repetitive, Son of Rome got boring fast, BF4 was a complete let down compared to its previous installments, and Forza 5 cant keep ones imagination going. I dont praise this game but i do have to say that it is better than most of the ones out there and if you dont like the Assasins Creed series then you dont have much of an option haha. Im not sure if its worth the 60 just yet but wait for like a $10 cut and you wont regret it. So take my advice and try this game out because it sure adds fun to the same boring repetitive games we get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Watch Dogs
Not Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/14
Flaless
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is good and all but they blew off the multiplayer. They had so much potential and they screwed it up. The story was also very short.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for Watch Dogs
Boring after a day
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/14
Axiium
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not as great as talked about. Lasts a couple days. Graphics are good and gameplay is smooth for the most part.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 6 for Watch Dogs
Over-Hyped
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/14
mitchinator
Location: Portland,Oregon
Watch Dogs is a game that was hyped up an incredible amount, and similar to Titanfall, disappointed almost everybody. Watch Dogs tells a story that has quite a good intro, but as it is dragged out, becomes less and less interesting, to a point that I began to skip cutscenes. There are some interesting characters, such as Jordi Chen, your partner in crime who gets way too little screen time. As for the protagonist, he's a one dimensional person and a batman want to be. The graphics in the game are solid, however the huge graphics downgrade and horrific lighting make it hard to enjoy the free roam, which is very barren. The gameplay is a definite strong point, for you can pull out your phone at any time, and hack into many different objects in the environment, which is very cool at first, but gets repetitive by the five hundreth time you do it. In short, Watch Dogs could have been incredible, but is instead just okay. I would not recommend you purchase the title, and rather buy Grand Theft Auto V when in comes to this generation of consoles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Watch Dogs
Its no GTA, BUT ITS STILL A GOOD GAME.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/14
WarningDOnotBUY564189
Location: New Castle, DE
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good game, its no GTA 5, but still a very good game. Definitely a BUY GAME, once you start playing WATCH DOGS, you will KNOW EXACTLY WHERE YOU PLAYED THIS GAME BEFORE, it is the same exact game as SLEEPING DOGS, it has the same style of gameplay, driving, and graphics as SLEEPING DOGS, the only difference is that it takes place in DETROIT, instead of CHINA. I was a little mislead cuz Sleeping Dogs was made by Square Enix, and this game was done by UBISOFT. Needless to say I was a little disappointed cuz I felt like I already played this game, but its still a good game, cuz you have way more control using your cell phone. So if are still hesitant on buying this game, go play SLEEPING DOGS, and you will know exactly what kind of gameplay you will be using. LOL, I should have know cuz each title had DOGS in it, so I guess it did try to warn us. Sleeping Dogs was a good game, and so is Watch Dogs. Its NOT GAME OF THE YEAR, but its still a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 8 for Watch Dogs
Pretty fun game, but expected a lot more!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/14
Asianguy3001
Location: Alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been waiting on this release for so long, and I've got to say I was expecting a lot more. The driving is horrible and you are most likely to wreck everytime you hop in a vehicle. Nothing like gta 5 driving, nor is there any customizing of cars..no garages either. I hate the fact that you can't change the camera zoom of your 3rd person, so you have to deal with him being super freaking close to the TV all the time. Overall the game is pretty fun, a change from gta 5, but I did expect a whole lot more, especially with them delaying it several times. I can see it getting old quick because you basically do the same stuff over and over, and you gain a lot of money easily...but a few guns and different outfits is all you can use your money for. Definitely not worth the 59.99 price, as you can see used pro price is already 49.99. Hope this review helps and FYI it was done on my cell so it's not going to sound like the most intelligent review out there!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 9 for Watch Dogs
Great Game but Repetitive
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/14
dirtybirdy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall this was a great game and I had been looking forward to it for a very long time. I love games that are open world and that I can go exploring. I wish though I could have explored more of the world for example: inside houses, inside building in the city, etc.
Overall the story was pretty good. It did not take long to beat however which is a downside. I think I completed it in approx. 20 - 25 hours and I am not an avid video gamer by any means.
The side missions were eh at the best. Everything just got repetitive. You always did the same thing. Hacked someone, kill someone, etc.
I would recommend this game however. It was a fun story but once you beat it I suggest selling it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 10 for Watch Dogs
Chicago at its peak
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/14
Blast3400
Location: West virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Watch dogs is not GTA, it's not saints row, So what is it? Well, It's watch dogs basically. You're Aiden Pearce and Intelligent hacker you could say. The story isn't all that, it's actually lack luster throughout the campaign. You might find yourself hearing less about the good stuff and more of the boring stuff. You got skill trees. From hacking to combat, to driving and explosives, some are rather pointless but don't take away the fact that your hacking skills can be amazing. Occasional glitches are about of the game perhaps online where you might run into a few online matches glitches which could be ignored. The free roam in the game is slightly crazy! You got your side missions, criminal convoys which are basically stop this guy from doing a crime. Or do you want to be the criminal like in most games, but it affects your reputation and you will be reported when seen on sight or heard about, pick carefully on your rep. This game is a great game, I found it better for the free roam. But despite the no jumping and lack of hand to hand combat, it's still worth the shot and other mishaps.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Watch Dogs
Great Game but not lasting appeal
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/3/14
Omy1kenobi
Location: Eastvale, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I initially started playing WD I was disappointed because of how slow the game moved. But I did not give up on the game and kept on with the story line missions. It has kept getting better. I really love the open world, which is very similar to GTA. This game is a lot less filthy than GTA which I was happy about. (profanity mostly so far) The missions are involved because you have to figure out how to get into closed off areas and on some missions you cannot let yourself be detected. The hiding behind walls, crouching, etc works really well. The vehicles are great but the horn and engine sounds were a little reverby and synthetic. I do wish you could punch and physically attack pedestrians, but that is not an option. Cop chases are difficult but fun, very similar to GTA. Love how you can hide in your vehicle and try to ditch the cops. Weapons are great, very dynamic and large variety. Story line is great and very in-depth with great movie like playability. Overall, I think this game will not disappoint whether your a hard core gamer or a casual. Buy it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Watch Dogs
Very nice
Posted on:9/1/13
CoolGamer86
Location: SC
now this game is gonna be fun. you play as a guy, got no superpowers or incredible climbing abilities, that can hack into all sorts of stuff in a city. The multiplayer function looks like fun, having someone invade your world to hack you or to help you in someway. Looking forward to playing this.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Watch Dogs
Ignore bad mouthers. This game is beyond awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/14
TravisAKAWolf
Location: Ocala, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't see the point nor reason behind those who gives this game low reviews. The graphics is realistic and awesome looking. The audio in the game is incredible.. Now there was maybe once, twice tops, when the voice wasn't matching the subtitles. As in they spoke and than 5 seconds later subtitles popped up. But only happened once or twice. Wasn't a biggie and only happened during a police chase. The story is a bit short, I beated it with 25 hours of game play but that's including doing a few side quests and a few random moments when I went away from the console to do stuff such as a store run, food, etc. There is different side quest missions that are like small stories to their own. Than their are points in the game that ignites a small video of his past. The game has high replayability. You even get to choose how you go about the game...Playing it as a good guy throughout the game or as a bad guy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Watch Dogs
Just Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/28/14
dlssmit4
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this game for the Xbox One yesterday when it was released. I was already excited as I watched the trailers and reviews of this game. Playing the game is a whole different experience. If you go into playing the game thinking it's another GTA you will be disappointed, it isn't GTA even though it is a open world with endless possibilities. I felt comfortable with the controls, you can change the controls if you aren't comfortable with the default controls. The graphics are amazing, the story line is amazing, the missions aren't boring; so much fun. I have seen negative reviews and the people that are mainly giving it negative reviews have yet to play this game because they don't want to spend $60.00. I haven't been this excited about a game since GTA V (which is another amazing game that I own and love).
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SmokeyTheKidAG
 
Please wait while more information about SmokeyTheKidAG is loaded.
Additional information about SmokeyTheKidAG could not be loaded.
Great game but not a must get game.
Posted 6/25/14
The game has a somewhat kind of personality. But it cannot be compared to Grand Theft Auto. The story can be completed within 24 hours and it makes me sad because most missions where just about saving someone or stealing data. And Multiplayer is really bad when I try to connect it wont connect because theres nobody in my area that is on multiplayer. Not only that but when I join online races it lags every second unless your last or first and far away from other players. All in all this is a great game but not a must get kind of game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Watch Dogs
Loving it!!!
Posted on:6/14/13
R1cky
Location: NY
This game looks awesome the graphics are amazing. LOL my friend told me that the PS4 has an exclusive for this game I laughed on the inside cause we have smart glass we can use our cell phones and our tablets to help us through our games the PS4 doesn't have that.
27 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hexz
 
Please wait while more information about Hexz is loaded.
Additional information about Hexz could not be loaded.
Posted 7/19/13
Did you not hear Ps4 has that to
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Watch Dogs
super excited
Posted on:6/12/13
XBOXONE4LIFE
Location: Virginia
The E3 trailer was incredible, looks much better on the XBOX ONE. The amount of smart glass use was very cool too. The kinect will be used, another edge of Sony
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox One Ryse Bundle
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
32 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nessmess500
 
Please wait while more information about Nessmess500 is loaded.
Additional information about Nessmess500 could not be loaded.
Wii U version for life
Posted 7/29/13
Now, I might buy an Xbox One just because I want too, and no doubt SmartGlass is a cool feature too, but to those of you who support the use of Xbox SmartGlass in this game but lol tough fact for you guys the Wii U version of this game (which I'm going to buy) has that automatically built into it with the Wii U gamepad. Anyways, the Xbox One still looks amazing!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Watch Dogs
what?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/14
AnHonestReview
Location: South Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was not impressed with this game. If you bought a next gen system you are probably expecting next gen graphics. I bought this game for the PS4 and visually it looks about on par with Grand Theft Auto 4; which should not be the case, this game should not have last gen graphics. If I wanted last gen graphics I would have bought a last gen game. I wanted next gen graphics so I bought a next gen game. Since we are on the subject, This game is basically Grand Theft Auto with the ability to hack some electronics. The combat system, specifically taking cover and moving around feels like Gears of War except less polished. The way the story is developed in the beginning is poorly executed. They really didn't make me care about the main character. I wasn't hooked on the plot like I should have been; there were no attention grabbers.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Watch Dogs
Very Fun Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/14
neomargate
Location: Margate, FL
I am almost done with the campaign and it has been a fun game to play. It takes a long time to complete all the side missions such as the Fixer Contracts, Gang Hide Outs, and Criminal Convoys. I like the open world concept of being able to travel on a map and the story is good. I did a lot of the side missions early which earned me lots of XP- which earned me lots of skill points. I used my skill points to get most of the hacking skills first and some crafting for explosives which made things easier. I recommend getting the "helicopter disable" skill when police chases get too hard because that helicopter will sniper you while the cops are chasing you making it very hard to get away...Also, there are skills for extra batteries for your smart phone- get them because the bridges and road traps you trigger uses battery juice fast and you will end up in a police chase with a dead battery lol... I'm not sure which one is my favorite but Laura Croft Tomb Raider and Assasins Creed Blag Flag were good too. Didn't like Titanfall or Thief but Call of Duty Ghosts was a fun but kinda short game story and not open world.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Watch Dogs
Incredibly Lackluster
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/14
stev0griffin89
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First things first: I was REALLY looking forward to this game. I tried to keep an open mind with all the shenanigans (the massive delay, the graphics downgrade debacle, the not full HD capability, etc.) that had come up over the past year or so.
However, after the install, I wasn't terribly impressed by what was presented to me. The graphics, (while I didn't expect them to be outstanding due to Ubisoft acknowledging that the original demos were done on a super PC rather than a next [ current ] gen system) were pretty disappointing. The voice-acting didn't at all lure me into the game. The story, while I realize it can be interesting, I found to be monotonous and bland.
No, Watch Dogs is NOT the game Ubisoft promised us years ago. It is NOT the game Ubisoft swore it would be. It is a game that Ubisoft wanted to market as the definitive next-gen IP. Sadly, it just doesn't deliver.
Firstly, the graphics. Again, I knew that it wasn't realistic to expect what they were showing off. Ubisoft's acknowledgement also didn't help in that boat.
The graphics don't even touch what Rockstar had established last year with GTA V. It becomes apparent rather quickly that Ubisoft delayed Watch Dogs in order to not have such massive competition with Rockstar and GTA V. Watch Dogs doesn't run at full HD (on either PS4 or XB1), nor does it get a solid 60 f/s. The day time graphics are ok, at best. Very similar to the Saints Row series. However, when night time or the rainy weather kicks in, it actually looks pretty wonderful. Maybe not quite up to par that people would expect, but it does look very nice under those circumstances.
Now on to the gameplay.
The controls are rather clunky, which is off-putting considering that it's developed by the same people that created the Assassin's Creed series. In those games, the free-running is smooth, quick, and intuitive. In Watch Dogs, however, the controls are rather odd. You hold RT to run, much like the AC series, but to climb, you use B. And only some obstacles are able to be climbed, while others allow you to kind of bounce off of them in a humorous way. The shoot outs can be entertaining, but when you realize how many enemies there seem to be at all times, it becomes tiring. The AI of enemies and police is also mediocre at best, and that's a bit of a let down.
The biggest let down however, is the driving.
It feels like a cheap, arcade styled racing game from the late '90s. Everything is slippery. You have very little control of the vehicle and if you begin to take a corner too quickly, you'll end up running over pedestrians and light posts alike. I do appreciate the fact that bigger cars accelerate more slowly, and that the sports cars kind of take off, but that's about the end of my praise for the driving.
Over all, Watch Dogs may be worth checking out if you REALLY want to see how this massively marketed game came out. But honestly, in the end, I feel that it's going to sit around with Wolfenstein, Titanfall, The Amazing Spiderman 2, and Thief in a pile of games that could have been WONDERFUL titles for the Xbox One, but don't quite deliver.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
23 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
rikb53
houston
 
Please wait while more information about rikb53 is loaded.
Additional information about rikb53 could not be loaded.
Pales when compared to GTAV & LOU
Posted 5/28/14
I just read stev0griffin89's review and have to concur. this just misses the mark. not intuitive at all - story weak - characters - weak - action weak. but i'm gonna play it b'cuz it's new & as soon as it's done i'll pop the Last of Us or GTAV back in for the ump-tenth time b'cuz they are great. I know they delayed this to make it the best it could be, but, now I have to wonder what it was like before that!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Watch Dogs
Not what I expected.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/14
NonMexicanJuan
Location: GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have to admit, I was super excited for this game. This was something relatively new and I've never seen someone else do something like this. When I got it, I was instantly disappointed. The graphics don't compare at all to what we saw at E3 in 2012. Also, many people predicted the game would be a next-gen experience on a last-gen console. This was not the case. After that is out of the way, the game was way over-hyped and under delivered. After a well-done story mode is done, with great voice acting btw,there are a ton of side missions to do, but they are repetitive after a while. Overall, great gameplay, decent graphics, good game overall. It was fun while it lasted, but I think I'll be trading it out soon.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>