GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rocksmith 2014 Edition

Rocksmith 2014 Edition is the fastest way to learn guitar. Plug in any real guitar or bass and join over 1 million people who have learned with the award-winning Rocksmith method. The all-new Rocksmith 2014 Edition is bigger, better, and faster than ever. Rebuilt from the ground-up, you'll experience vastly improved features, a new look, more flexible practice tools, new techniques and tunings, over 50 new hit songs, and much more. With the revolutionary Session Mode, Rocksmith 2014 Edition takes guitar-learning to the next level by allowing you to play guitar with a virtual band that follows your every lead.
Average Customer Rating:
8.5
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Review 1 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
So much better than the first
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
SpruseJohnson
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought the first Rocksmith game a while back and completely hated it. The set up and gameplay (if you can call this series a game) for that one as a total joke. This one on the other hand is by far heads and tail better than I could of ever expected. Like I said calling this series a game is a stretch because it is really a teaching tool compared to an actual video game. If you are new to playing the guitar like I am this is the best way to go. It builds you up slowly, allowing you to work on what you need help with while offering improvement options for you to work through to get it down. Unlike the other one, this year's version allows you to chose your own songs you want to learn and how you want to do it. I have only been playing it for a short period of time and the improvement I can see is dramatic. If you have ever wanted to learn how to play the guitar, whether that is 6 string or bass ya gotta grab this because it is the best way to learn and it makes it fun while still busting your butt.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/13
SpaniardDude21
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game actually helps you helps you learn guitar, the layout is great, the songs are great, and the session mode is lots of fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Rockband with a real guitar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Cyggy
Location: Lewiston, ME
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is like playing RockBand with a real guitar. You actually learn how to play. I have improved a ton since I got it. I use it for Bass Guitar and love playing the Rush tracks. If you are like me and actually picked up a real guitar after playing RockBand then you can't go wrong with this.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
The easiest way to learn guitar, hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
JTM1292
Location: Mean Streets, Connecticut
After having the game for about a week now, all I can say is I love it. The gameplay is awesome and extremely easy to learn. I've never played guitar before and I'm already learning new songs and improving tremendously. If you've ever wanted to learn to play the guitar, or bass, this is the way to go!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Great way to learn guitar
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/14
snowboarder2014
Location: Kent, WA
I picked up this game/learning tool because I've always wanted to learn how to play the guitar and haven't been successful trying to teach myself through movies and lesson books. When I first heard about this game I thought it was just another take on rockband or guitar hero. This is nothing like those games it's a legitimate learning tool. Unlike rock band and guitar hero, you use a real guitar or base instead of a cheap fake plastic guitar. There is a package that you can buy that includes a guitar and if your on a budget is a good option, although from other reviews I've read the guitar is pretty cheap and not that well made, but will get the job done. If you can afford or already have a decent guitar that's your better option. You will need the special real tone cable to plug the guitar into your devise. You can purchase the game with or without the cable depending on if you already own one from the previous game or not. Now to the game/learning tool itself. This is a great way to learn guitar or even improve your skills if you already know how to play. It is important to use all the tools in the software to really learn especially if your a beginner like me, especially the lessons. Many people just jump right into learn a song and get overwhelmed or confused then give the game a bad rating as a learning tool. This game will work to teach you if you use all the tools and have patience and determination. The game clams to be the fastest way to lean the guitar and this may be true but you still have to put the time in for practice and repetition. It will NOT make you a rock God over night. Learning any instrument is hard and takes a lot of work and practice. What this game dose is provide a different way of learning. For me this is working better then trying to teach myself. In just three days I've learned more in the months I spent trying to teach myself. I still think thereis no substitute for real lessons by a real accomplished guitar teacher, but not all of us have the time or money for that. Also real lessons can be boring and still have to practice on your own with no feed back if your doing it right. For the price of about one lesson from a human I was able to pick up this software so it's a much cheaper option. And since its still kind of a game it makes leaning much more fun. The repetition exercises are presented in an arcade game setting. Playing these makes the boring parts of learning feel like a game instead of a chore. All in all I think this is a great product for anyone wanting to learn guitar asa beginner or even those wanting to better their skills as an already existing guitar player. I highly recommend this game as a new approach to learning guitar or base.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Cable problems
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/13
Keef
Location: Boise, ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This review applies to the original Rocksmith but since it uses the same cable as the 2014 version it is valid. My son and I rocked out to the game two times and had a blast, but haven't been able to play since as the game won't recognize the guitar. We have tried a Les Paul and a Fender Strat and neither work. All my inquires to Ubisoft have gone unanswered. Anyone else have problems with the cable? I don't want to waste any more money on a replacement cable if there is another fix. To bad the publisher won't respond. Awesome game......when it works.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
9 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LilTiffy
 
Please wait while more information about LilTiffy is loaded.
Additional information about LilTiffy could not be loaded.
Cable
Posted 12/28/13
I've had some problems with the cable as well. The thing that I found helped when trying to get it to recognize my guitar was turn the volume (on the guitar) up and down and it found me eventually. I'm not sure if that was just my guitar but it might help you too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
THE best way to learn guitar!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
ultimatemachine
Location: Walden, NY
I've always wanted to play guitar ever since I saw my father play his guitar in a band. But in my mind I always thought that it would take forever and there would be better things to do.
I'll have to admit that I am a gamer and I've always liked playing games like COD, Need for Speed, and Guitar Hero. I remember this one time when I was playing Guitar Hero and I thought to myself, "What if there was some way where you could actually play with a real guitar instead of the plastic controller that comes with the box?" That's when just recently I discovered Rocksmith.
I actually got it for Christmas and I've been playing it FOR HOURS. It's addicting and its something I've always dreamed of. I've been playing the game for just 3 days and already know 3 songs by heart! (which include playing the power chords). My dad tried it out was ultimately shocked with all the cool features. The game even helps you tune your guitar before the start of a song!
The software is designed around you. In fact, it asks you questions about your experience with playing guitar, the type of guitar you use, etc before you even start the game! The concept is simple, the first few times you play it are the easiest, then it will start to get harder as you master a section of a song. Open strings to single notes to power chords just like that! They also include what is known as a Riff Repeater so you can go over a tricky part of a song at your desired speed and difficulty.
Sound is fantastic partly because the sounds coming out of your guitar change for ever song. For example, Heart Shaped Box by Nirvana is played in an E Drop while other songs have E Standard. This makes your guitar sound like your actually playing with the band! It's crazy!
The only problem that I have experienced with it is that the game has froze on me twice. For me, it isn't a big deal just simply restarting the game because I would imagine that the USB cable is trying to track every sound coming out of your guitar along with the game playing so I'm not complaining.
Overall, this is by far THE best way to learn guitar (coming from my stand point as a gamer) This game resembles the same mechanics as Guitar Hero but now your just playing with a real guitar. If your dedicated to it, you will have no problem mastering a song or two within the first few weeks of using it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Amazing game with amazing graphics, some problems.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
Nunezbg
Location: Cedar Park, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Excellent game, better than i was looking for in the learning tool, but one thing that was quite annoying was the amount of times the game has frozen on me, and to where it deleted/corrupted my save.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rocksmith 2014 Edition
Rocksmith 2014
Posted on:6/11/13
IAMTHETABLE
Location: dont have one
This game is going to be cool one it will have guitar bass drums and the keyboard in case no one saw the selection of instruments you could pick. It will have alice in chains which will be good so maybe some disturbed or metallica good bands And session mode seems to be cool
3 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alexious
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Alexious is loaded.
Additional information about Alexious could not be loaded.
This is not Rock Band
Posted 9/19/13
This will not have any other instruments other than Guitar or Bass. No drums or Keyboard. This is more of a learning tool rather than entertainment piece, but it is also entertaining. This can be a replacement for anyone that has the first Rocksmith. Rocksmith 2014 requires the use of the "Hercules" adapter, a USB cable that connects to the standard 1⁄4 in (6.35 mm) output jack of most electric guitars and basses.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)