GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze

Donkey Kong Country: Tropical Freeze: The first Wii U installment in the franchise comes from Retro Studios. The side-scrolling platformer has beautiful HD graphics that show fine details, such as Donkey Kong's fur. Dixie Kong joins the adventure, which features the Kongs swimming underwater and moving from the foreground to the background. This time, the camera changes perspective on certain levels to enhance the sense of motion and to deliver new experiences.
Average Customer Rating:
9.182
9.2
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
10
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 out of 2295%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Review 1 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Donkey Kong country Returns... In HD
Posted on:8/4/13
Location: Fairfax VA
Yes, everyone, this is the first Donkey Kong game in HD, and it looks great so far. this game has a lot of unique worlds, like a jungle level, an ice level, a water level... WAIT A MINUTE, A WATER LEVEL! NOOOO!!!. just kidding, it's nothing like the water levels from most games, (the sonic series), Donkey Kong can't drown and he can swim. The gameplay, It's almost the same as Donkey Kong country returns, it's your basic side scrolling platforming, you know Nintendo platforming. this game's story, is very small, basically, a group of vikings scare away the people of Donkey Kong island, and donkey Kong, with the help of Diddy Kong of course, need to travel through 5 islands, all different from each other. this game looks like it will be one of Nintendo better games, the gameplay looks great. the story, (while not much of a story) is original, and everything else looks perfect.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
blarghafrlargh
 
Please wait while more information about blarghafrlargh is loaded.
Additional information about blarghafrlargh could not be loaded.
Drowning
Posted 9/30/13
they are adding drowning sadly
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Yo can drowned a Monkey!
Posted 8/9/13
I find the watter levels to be very relaxing & enjoyible in Donkey Kong game. Plus as every one know's it's a fact that Monkey's can breath underwatter. :D:):)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Great addition to the DKC series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
Location: Clemmons, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Donkey Kong Country was one of my first SNES games and one of my first video games in general. It's one of those games that tell me why video games are awesome. Its two sequels did the same justice as well. When I heard about DKCR in 2010, I went NUTS. It was my top priority for video games that year. And after beating it, I realized how well it brought back memories of playing the original DKC on SNES. In 2013, I was somewhat letdown that Retro Studios' first Wii U game wasn't a new Metroid, or even a new Star Fox (hey, let a gamer dream.) But in reality, I was more than happy that fans were getting an HD DKC game. Now, many gaming sites criticize this game for being too hard. Honestly, after beating this game, I thought this was just about the same as Donkey Kong Country Returns, in terms of difficulty, and that's not a bad thing. Now for the full review: Gameplay - 9/10 - Although DKC: Tropical Freeze's gameplay is roughly the same as DKC Returns', there are some nice additions and modifications. One, the slightly tedious blowing mechanic from DKCR is replaced with a plucking mechanic, making the flow of the levels less interrupted. Two, for the first time in the Donkey Kong Country series, you have three different buddies to choose from to work alongside with DK, rather than just one. And three, you have the option for traditional controls like the Pro Controller, rather than the Wii shake controls. And four, water levels (which were in the SNES games) return. Overall, I'd say DKCTF's gameplay is an improvement over DKCR's. Graphics - 10/10 - I could go on and on about the graphics, but needless to say, the HD visuals really bring the levels to life in this DKC game. The Kongs' fur looks so dang good as well. You have to see it on the TV to believe it. Sound - 10/10 - David Wise (composer of the original SNES games) returned for DKCTF (wasn't involved with DKCR) and let me tell you, he's literally brought some of the best music since DKC2 (heck, you'll even notice some awesome remixes from that game.) Oh yeah, and this game is also in 5.1 surround, and it's pretty sweet. Lasting Appeal - 8/10 - In my books, DKCTF is gonna be a classic just like DKC2. It has an unlockable Hard Mode, Time Attack, and loads of extras to earn in the Extras gallery. Unfortunately, this isn't the game the Wii U needs at this moment because it doesn't show off the Wii U GamePad's potential. Still, if you're hardcore and love the Donkey Kong Country series, get this game. One of my favorite games of 2014 right now.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Not my video (Uploaded by piplupwater). One of DKCTF's best tunes right here.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Mario & Luigi Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
9.2 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK blasts into an all new adventure
Posted on:6/12/13
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
Donkey Kong is thrown off his island and needs to get back. Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is an all new adventure in the Donkey Kong Country Franchise. In this game there will be tons of new enemies, bosses, and features. Donkey Kong must stop evil vikings from taking over Donkey Kong Island. But he won't be on his own as he will be joined by Diddy Kong, Dixie Kong, and another yet to be revealed companion. This will be DK's first game in HD, and from what has been shown off, it looks absolutely gorgeous as the game designers put in tons of detail from the background, all the way to his fuzzy looking hair. Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze will be an amazing plat former and a day one purchase for me and hopefully you too.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Nintendo Wii U 32GB Deluxe Set
9 out of 10(236)
 
 
 
 
 
 
25 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Wait a minute
Posted 9/20/13
Isn't this the sequel to Donkey Kong Country returns? because it looks like about a year after the volcano erupted Vikings invaded Donkey Kong Island.
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
More fun than a barral full of monkeys oh wait.
Posted 8/9/13
I am looking forward to this game as well. I love Nintendo & this game looks better than DKCR on Wii,
Customer Avatar
JaxonH
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about JaxonH is loaded.
Additional information about JaxonH could not be loaded.
Best Game Of the Year, BAR NONE
Posted 7/12/13
Anyone who has never played a Donkey Kong Country game is really cheating themselves as a gamer. Not only were the original 3 excellent, but DKC Returns for Wii was quite possibly the best platformer of that generation. But this game? It's looking like it has further ambitions, and from what I've seen might make a running for the best platformer of all time. DKC Returns was SUCH a fun game; if this game is even half as fun as its predecessor, we Nintendo gamers win. But I think it'll be better....
Customer Avatar
legoland1324
you don't need to know
 
Please wait while more information about legoland1324 is loaded.
Additional information about legoland1324 could not be loaded.
Looks OK
Posted 7/2/13
In my opinion, Donkey Kong is one of my favorite Mario characters. Although I can't say that I'll be running like The Flash to my local Gamestop (TM) to get a copy of this game. It looks just like Donkey Kong Country and Donkey Kong Country Returns. I don't see the real purpose in getting this game. I might get a copy of this, but there's a good chance I'll trade the game in.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 4 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
awsome! Cant wait.
Posted on:8/30/13
Location: atlanta,ga.
Im 40 years old and im getting this. Brings back great memories DC Country. What a great game that was.
23 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NowhereMan37
 
Please wait while more information about NowhereMan37 is loaded.
Additional information about NowhereMan37 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/19/14
It's good to see that there are people your age who understand video games. There are some people even younger than you who just don't understand, and have pre-conceived ideas about video games being "just for kids". Their loss. I am 34, and the Donkey Kong Country games bring back great memories for me as well. They have always had creative level designs (which is what I like best about them), and this one looks like it could be the best one yet.
Customer Avatar
coollobo29
 
Please wait while more information about coollobo29 is loaded.
Additional information about coollobo29 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/24/13
cant wait
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Makes you smile.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/14
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze may not be what we expected or wanted from Retro Studios this time, yet Tropical Freeze is a fantastic contemporary rendering of Donkey Kong and his comrades. Graphics and visuals are stunning, rivaling Super Mario 3D World and presents itself as a 2D platform that looks like a larger 3D environment. Game play is smooth and Donkey Kong performs well along with his cohorts and their respective abilities that complement the level design and challenges very well. One thing indicative of Nintendo is their ability to create infectiously catchy soundtracks, and Tropical Freeze is no exception. Don't be fooled, as this is a challenging platformer, and you will find yourself falling off cliffs many times over, yet it's the challenge that keeps you coming back for more. Level design is well done, beautifully designed, and loaded with secrets to find. Having played the original Donkey Kong Country series as well as Donkey Kong Country Returns, Tropical Freeze is an excellent sequel that I believe raised the bar of the series comeback. As someone that has grown up with Nintendo since the days of the NES, you won't be disappointed with the quality of Tropical Freeze.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
What a Wonderful Legacy You've Got There
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Location: Zanesville, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Why so negative?
Oh, the game is beautiful.
The music is great and catchy and all that.
But the controls feel so mushy I can barely stand to play it.
It literally feels like they've pinned a Donkey Kong game over what was mistaken for a "modern" physics engine.
I spent the weeks up to release playing the old games attempting to relive the magic before charging headfirst into this title.
But this is just unplayable:
Bouncing off enemies is wrong.
Momentum is wrong.
Jumping can sometimes feel right if the stars align. But, as you never jump the same distance twice, jumping is also wrong.
Level design is atrocious. Obstacles will get thrown at you at random and you will either figure it out immediately or you won't. Then that gimmick is gone, never to be seen again (sometimes thankfully).
This game literally makes me want to sell my WiiU and only even think of Nintendo when the next Pokémon gets released on their handhelds.
God knows they've driven all sense of charm out of every other once-beloved series they have to their name...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Retrio stodio's presents DK Tropical Freeze
Posted on:7/19/13
Location: America
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze is a Wii U exclusive action platformer from Nintendo & Retrio Stoudio's. The graphics at first glance look a bit simple but they are lot's of little detales like being able to see Donkey Kongs fur and the little animations and details and on all of the Animals looks great. I really like the Nature feel of the game. Also awesome news the music is done by the same guy that did the SNES Donkey Kong games to I can't wait to see what he can do now with full octrated music! The level designs that were at E3 looked amazingly fun & the levels seem to be much bigger than in past Donkey Kong games! The camra is looking amazing as well aways letting you see what your doing and following you to make the game even more exciting to watch. Perficed controls and smooth 60 fps the game plays very well and they added a lot of interesting new things. Every one is happy to play as Dixiey Kong for the first time sence Donkey Kong Country 2 on the SNES, But I am exsiced for the bad guys the vikking look much cooller than the lame Tiki guys from the first game & I can't wait to deafet them at get my jungle back when this awesome game comes out. See ya on Miiverse. :):):)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
DKC Tropical Freeze.
Posted 8/9/13
Thanks for reading my pre-view. Happy to hear your looking forward to this.
Customer Avatar
ds33
28311
 
Please wait while more information about ds33 is loaded.
Additional information about ds33 could not be loaded.
I can't what
Posted 7/29/13
This is going to be my first donkey game
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK is looking good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/15
Location: MD U.S.A
Donkey Kong is looking good on the Wii U. The game was challenging for me. You have to play with precision. Dixie Kong and Cranky Kong join the adventure to add more options and combinations. Each stage is a bit long but they are more dense and packed with action. The ability to swim underwater makes a return so this adds more variety and possibilities to the courses. I am a bit disappointed that no new animal buddies existed. I was hoping for an animal with some of the underwater courses. The picture is very good and it is much more detailed than Donkey Kong Returns for Nintendo Wii. David Wise returned to write the music for the soundtrack. There is new music and some remixes, which is good because you do not want another game with the same music rearranged. There are also more opportunities to challenge yourself once you play through the game once. Highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Peeled Back to the Roots
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/15
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Tropical Freeze reminds us that Donkey Kong Country was once a great series. Though the game may seem very basic they (Nintendo) has made necissary changes in order to make this series popular again.
If you're a fan of platformers or old school Nintendo this is a great game to pick up and a must have for Wii U owners.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Have to have
Posted on:10/16/13
Location: Buffalo,New York
I've been a die heart DK fan since I was little. It is my childhood game so this game screams nostalgia. I prefer DK over any other Nintendo franchise including Mario. Now the next generation of gamers will be able to enjoy the same way I did 15 + year ago. I played the WII version and love it, challenging, unique levels. Expect the same but only more, have to have.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK is still a classic in my book
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a fun game as of right now. It kinda has the same layout as the DS game. This is a different game through and through. Just the layout is kinda the same. The levels are kinda the same but the compact is different. Different emetine sand all. This is a fun game. If you ever played the DK from the Super Nintendo days then this would be a surprise of how far it has come from then. Good game so far.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
HIGHLY Recommended! Super platforming fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/14
Location: San Francisco, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best 2d platformer I've played in quite some time. The game is comprised of 6 islands each with its own theme - palm beach, woodsy forrest, african safari/plain, etc. Each island is comprised of about 5 stages and ends with a cool boss battle.
Each stage creatively incorporates some sort of environmental (wind, fire, water, etc) and some sort of vehicle (cart, barrel rocket, etc) element into its gameplay. It's hard to describe just how well these elements come together to create some truly rewarding gameplay... For example there's a flappy-bird-esque portion in one of the stages where you pilot a barrel that turns into a rocket-ship-thing. The vehicle moves forward automatically, but you have to keep on hitting A to give it gas and maintain verticality. And so you have to control how high or low the vehicle goes to avoid various obstacles like nets full of fish and giant sea monsters!
The graphics are bright and beautiful, and the soundtrack is suprisingly awesome. My favorite being the underwater theme and the strangely epic scorch n torch level them on the third island.
Anyways, highly, highly recommended.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
CAN'T WAIT!!
Posted on:9/9/13
Location: Ponce, PR
I want this game, can't wait for it. This is one of the reasons I bought a Wii U, and so many others.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TiniTinyTony
Bloomsburg, PA
 
Please wait while more information about TiniTinyTony is loaded.
Additional information about TiniTinyTony could not be loaded.
Delayed - February 2014
Posted 10/3/13
Per the latest Nintendo Direct (10/1/2013) this game has been pushed to February 2014.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Platforming at It's Greatest
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/14
Location: San Jose,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When thinking about a game to buy for the Wii U (if you have one, because god it's not selling and I don't know WHY!!!), this is a game to buy. It is one of the greatest 2D platformers in the Wii U. It has great music, beautiful graphics(you can see Donkey Kong's fur!), and isn't afraid to give you a challenge. Multiplayer isn't a problem, well if you have a good partner. One problem (which is in most Wii U games) is how it doesn't use the game pad.....at all. It is pretty much just a control. They could have used the game pad like how Rayman Legends did. But overall, it was a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
DK is an amazing platformer
Posted on:2/10/14
Location: MA
Donkey Kong country on the snes was one of my favorite platformers. This game looks to bring back all those fun levels and music of the original. David Wise is composing the music for this one,he did the original games.
The platforming in this game is one of the best in the industry if not the best.The game looks like a Saturday morning cartoon graphic wise. This is the type of game that can only be found on wiiu and no other system has it. This is the reason for my purchasing a wiiu,it will be an amazing platformer.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Dat Fur
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/14
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let's jump right to it; Here are 7 reasons to get Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze! 1. Soundtrack- Personally the soundtrack for Returns wasn't amazing, but this game has top notch themes that will get you into the mood to play. It's really important that the soundtrack fits the game as it emerges you into it, and Tropical Freezes soundtrack does just that. 2. HD Glory- This is the firs time we get to see DK in an HD adventure, and it looks glorious. The environments really make the graphics shine and all the characters look amazingly detailed (DK's FUZZY FUR!!) 3. Difficulty- We can all agree that over the years Nintendo has lost their title of having tough games. Luckily much like Retruns, Tropical Freeze is a very tough game. I'm not saying that it's impossible, but you will loose the occasional life. 4. Partners- In Returns you could play along side Diddy Kong, but in this title you can play as Dixie Kong and Cranky Kong as well. All three partners have their own unique skills, such as Dixie's very usual hover and Crank's super jump using his cane. 5. Level Diversity- Each level in this game is completely different from the last. For example, One level you'll be riding though a saw mill factory and the next you'll be in a beautiful savannah with music that sounds like it came strait from the Lion King. Retro Studios went all out on creativity in ALL of the levels in this game. 6. Enemies and Bosses- To put it shortly I didn't like the enemies in Returns. In this entry, I love all of them, from a fat fire breathing pig all the way to a sniping penguin. As for the bosses, they are pretty difficult and are much better than the ones in Returns. You will remember these fights and will most likely cry during them... I did... 7. Long Lasting- With every Donkey Kong title, there will be tons of collectibles in order to 100% the game and Tropical Freeze is no exception. You will need to search every nook and cranny to find all the Kong and puzzle pieces in each level. This brings a huge amount of replay-ability. Now that I'm done with my 7 reasons, your probably wondering if this game is worth buying a Wii U for. The answer to that question is... Yes. This game is incredible and is an extremely good time! Every Donkey Kong and Nintendo fan should play this game. You will have no doubts after you do so. Retro Studios has completely outdone themselves and I'm glad that I got to play this amazing game and you should definitely play too!
 
My Product Recommendations
Mario & Luigi Wii U Deluxe 32GB Console
9.2 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Classic challenging platforming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/15
Location: Indiana
Stellar Nintendo platforming, cranked up in difficulty compared to Rayman or Super Mario Bros. Another classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Master piece, but challenging
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/14
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is nothing short of a master piece. I bought for me and my kids to play (3, 4, and 6yrs old) and have enjoyed every minute of it. As a veteran to donkey king country games I have been waiting for this for years now.i have been playing video games since I was 2 years old. I'm now 26 but do have to say it is a bit challenging. My kids can't get past the first 1-etc chapters. Let alone boss fights. Which is a little odd for me since I figured this game would appeal to the younger generation. But all in all it's a great game with the whole kong gang and old scenarios like riding the rhino, mining kart, etc. def a must have for old school gamers but be warned for new generation gamers I feel they will struggle right off the start
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
under rated game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/15
Location: los angeles, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
beautiful levels and creative levels. high difficulty. they say wii u's for kids, this game says otherwise. yeah kid friendly looks, but great hardcore level gameplay. cod players that have a hard time will have a harder time with dk. for more creaive gameplay, check out pikmin 3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Donkey Kong Country Tropical Freeze
Great graphics, fun, challenging.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/14
Location: Albuquerque,NM
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've always been a fan of the Donkey Kong Country games, so I was excited to hear that there was a sequel to Donkey Kong Country Returns. First off, this game is extremely fun. There are so many fun and challenging levels that you can put many hours into. This is also the best looking DKC game to date. The HD graphics on the Wii U make this game absolutely beautiful. Warning: this game is not for the casual gamer. The later levels are very hard and frustrating. If you are like me, you will love these levels. Overall, this is a must by for any DKC fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>