GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox One Wireless Controller

Experience the action like never before with the Xbox One Wireless Controller. New Impulse Triggers deliver fingertip vibration feedback, so you can feel every jolt and crash in high definition.* Redesigned thumbsticks and an all new D-pad provide greater precision. And the entire controller fits more comfortably in your hands. With over 40 innovations, it's simply the best controller Xbox has ever made.
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
4
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
14 out of 2070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Review 1 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
It's Good (for nothing)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/14
JohnBondDon
Location: South Carolina
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Don't get me wrong, these controllers feel, look, and function great. That's all well and good, BUT if they don't last, then none of that matters. I'm on my third, yes third controller, the other two I've had to get replaced. Apparently , the left analog stick is faulty. With games like Forza and FIFA that require heavy use, the sticks get stuck, and apparently something inside the controller breaks off. And I'm not the only one. Xbox message boards are littered w/ the same problems. Seriously, if I was in the market for an xbox one, I would wait until two things happen: 1) They finally get HBO Go. 2) They address this obvious manufacturing flaw. Anyway, I'm going to get back to playing some more FIFA, while I still can.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
KingsFan
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Xbox One has left me speechless.Especially with this new controller.Its everything I have ever wanted in a controller.Its comfortable,the triggers,joy sticks,and bumpers are absolutely AMAZING!It looks really nice too.Its definitely a pleasure to play with this controller.Oh,and the D-Pad on it is WAY better than the 360 D-Pad.The new one is more responsive and has more of a click than the other one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Compared to the Xbox 360...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/14
sportsguy
Location: D.C
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Xbox 360 controller was my favorite controller until I used this one. At first, the controller felt very awkward, but after about an hour or two, my hand just seemed to fit around the controller very well. The shape is very well designed so that you actually grab the handles, instead of just kind wrap your hands around it and hope it doesn't slip. The triggers never seemed problematic to me on the 360 controller, but after I used the Xbox One, I realized how poorly designed the 360 was. They are shaped to rest your finger on it, rather than just having the tips of your fingers holding onto the triggers. The bumpers are one of my only two complaints with this controller. They are very large (even compared the the 360 controller) and the do not fit well into the controller. This is easily Microsoft's biggest design flaw with the controller. You have to push the bumper in just the right place or it wont work; about 60% of the bumpers are deadzones. And even when you press it in the right place, it doesn't give that 'click' feeling or sound to satisfy you. My next complaint, which is more of a personal preference thing, is that the joysticks have no resistance. As a person who mainly plays FPS games, this kind of hindered my aim until I got used to it, and even now, I still wish they had added at least a little bit of resistance. But I do like that the joysticks themselves are a it smaller, and their shape/design is easier to use. Other than that, the controller works very well, and pretty much the same.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
durability
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/14
WNxthatdude
Location: somewhere somewhere
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I would say that this controller design definitely improved on the xbox360's controller design, it feels comfortable in your hands and, it's almost everything they said it would be. Almost is the key word because you have to be very careful with it. While I was talking to someone my little cousin got ahold of my controller and dropped it. He is only 2 years old so the max he could've dropped It from is maybe a foot and a half, maybe. Anyway my left thumb stick gets stuck so when I'm playing battlefield 4 or killer instinct it gets stuck and I run out into the open or jump for no reason
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
COMFORT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
intrudingcat
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
IT IS PRETTY COMFORTABLE BUT NOT LIKE HOW THE 360 ONE WAS BECAUSE THIS ONE IS A BIT SMALLER AND TENDS TO CRAMP MY FINGERS MORE QUICKLY THEN THE OLD ONE DID AND THE BUMPERS ARE KINDA TO CLOSE BUT OVERALL ITS A AMAZING CONTROLLER NUN THE LESS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Improved in some ways and downgraded in others
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
MooseManChubsa
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Firstly the controller is smaller than the Xbox 360s. This isn't necessarily a problem for me because i don't have big hands, but i do have relatively long fingers and the way the trigger buttons are placed make it very uncomfortable for me while playing. Instead of comfortably resting my index fingers on the triggers, i have to curl them up to be able to push the trigger buttons effectively. With the 360 controller I can just lay my fingers on the buttons and use them without any problems, but the Xbox One's triggers are uncomfortable for me. They could easily be perfect for someone else, just not for me. The analog sticks are smaller but are shaped like the sticks of the Chrome Xbox 360 controllers. They do not have the four bumped dashes but instead are concave and fit your thumbs nicely. The D-Pad is SO MUCH BETTER than the one of the 360 (which has been described as a quarter sitting on top of a pea) Microsoft made some needed changes to the controller but for me it isn't comfortable and luckily I didn't purchase the Xbox One but only used it at a friends house for a day.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Oh No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/13
Kingbach
Location: GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got one thing to say.PLAYSTATION CONTROLLER BETTER.don't even buy the xbox one with this controller because xbox one console sucks too
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Best Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/13
ThisGuy360
Location: Atlanta,GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
From far away the Xbox One Controller can be mistaken for the Xbox 360 Controller, but don't let its asymmetrical sticks and button configuration fool you. This is a proper refinement of what many gamers consider to be the best controller of the last decade. Upon holding it for your first time the first thing you'll notice is the materials feel luxurious. While still made of plastic, its balance of weight, outstanding build quality, and matte black finish give you the sense that it's something special. It helps that it's absolutely gorgeous, too.
In operation, the Xbox One Controller is remarkably comfortable to hold. The shape makes no compromises; your hand comfort is its utmost priority. The grips are shaped to facilitate well-being during long game sessions no matter what size hands you have. The trigger buttons are hooked so that when you hold them down your fingers feel secured to the controller. The centimeter or so of travel also give you some leverage for throttle control in racing games. Most noticeably, the battery pack has been integrated into the center housing. You won't have to worry about your fingers feeling uncomfortable now that the back if flush.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Best Next Gen Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/13
TheBattlefieldPro97
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Much much better than the PS4's lousy small bug, the controller has over 60 innovations, no more battery packk coming in the way when gaming
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
A solid upgrade
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
Tearlessdeath
Location: Santa Cruz, ca
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Microsoft did a solid upgrade to the controller the new rumble triggers are very nice and the d-pad was one of my biggest problems with the 360 but I have one major problem with the amount of money you put into the controller R&D what's with still having AA Battery.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
xbox one garbage
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
SuperTDSmith
Location: pitt
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this xbox control is garbage the buttons are bad the grip is bad the sticks are bad everything is bad buy a playstation 4. playstion 4 is the best console you can buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Cheaply Built
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
shadow197
Location: Depew, New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
overall design of the controller is a decent upgrade from the 360 feel is good BUT the controller feels cheaply made less than a week after receiving my XB1 the L trigger is sticking and it overall just feels weak. I will say that it was easy to submit a support ticket with Microsoft but now I need to send in my controller in order to receive replacement1?!?! SO I suppose I have no choice but to buy a second (which I would have eventually done anyway) in order to keep playing during the turnaround time.. Great...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Good but some drawbacks
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
kingplaty
Location: ABQ, NM
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is a solid controller with a good overall design. They either burn through batteries extremely fast, or I just have bad batteries. My left thumb stick has something wrong with it and I am still waiting for an answer from Xbox about returns. It still functions but there is definitely something wrong with it. Other than that, the feel is good, it is very light, almost too light, and all the new vibration features are fantastic. The thumb sticks are smaller than the 360 but still work well. I would say it is a huge improvement to the 360 controller, it just should have a little more weight to it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Best gaming controller around!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/13
TDUB95
Location: Burien, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
What I love about this controller is that it does not feel like different controller from the Xbox 360, but a better and more improved one. It is lightweight, smooth, and very comfortable in my hands. I can't wait to play my new Xbox One with this controller tomorrow!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
The Best Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
JoeJoerson
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best controller I have ever held , it feels like it was made for my hands. I own a 360 and ps3 and preferred the xbox controller slightly due to the left stick being higher making fit better in your hand. I didn't think the could improve it that much but they did. The triggers make no sound and are molded for your fingers. Also, the analog stick are slightly smaller which gives you a better grip. The D-pad also has a much improved feel to it. If you are buying an xbox one you will be more than pleased.
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox One Day One Edition
7.8 out of 10(105)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/13
gamer777777777
Location: waiting till release
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was skeptical at first of this controller because it looked like a copy and paste of the last one. I loved the 360 controller don't get me wrong, I've never used anything better, until now. Everything I loved about the old one is back along with tons of cool new features. The triggers feel better, the matte finish and grip on the thumbsticks not only look cool, they also provide a great feel that's very fresh. And most apparent of all is the new D-Pad (the only questionable thing from the last controller) which is great and extremely functional. I'd highly recommend this to everyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
Ryse: Son of Rome
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Awesome controller!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/13
jcoe0723
Location: Plant City, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well, they've done it once again. The 360 controller was always referred to as THE gaming controller and all around best controller for gaming. The Xbox One controller takes what they had for the 360, and improves upon it EVEN MORE! The textured grip around the thumbsticks is AWESOME! The rumble motors in the trigger, while at first skeptical, are amazing as well. You have to experience them in a game in order to realize how much of a game changer this is. Overall, this controller is definitely worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
The best gaming controller ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/13
SpartanI043
Location: Peralta, NM
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked up an extra Xbox One controller today, and simply put, the Xbox One controller is the best gaming controller I have ever held in my hands. Now, before I continue, I just want to say that I have been playing video games almost all my life and I have held various types of gaming controllers including: SNES, N64, Gamecube, Wii, Playstation 2, Xbox, and Xbox 360. I am a huge Xbox fan, but I sincerely tried my best to be as honest as I could with this review and give as much information as possible. Begin the review...now. When I became the owner of an Xbox 360, the Xbox 360 controller became my favorite controller of all time. It was precise, it was well built, and it was comfortable to hold in my hands. Well, Microsoft basically took the Xbox 360 controller and made it twice (if not more) as good. The Xbox One controller is so well designed, built, and comfortable, that I almost wonder if I shall enjoy the Xbox 360 controller nearly as much as I used to. So, what makes the Xbox One controller so much better than the already awesome Xbox 360 controller? Well, to begin, the Xbox One controller is lighter than the Xbox 360 controller. No, this isn't bad. This is actually quite good. After holding the controller for a while, it almost feels as though you aren't even holding anything in your hands and in my opinion, it only further enhances the experience. Secondly, the analog sticks are smaller and more comfortable than the previous controller. I have heard some complaints about the size of the analog sticks and the so called "sandpaper" outskirts of the controller, but I personally don't feel too much of a difference in size and texture and I enjoy the feel of them more than the original analog sticks. My hands are somewhat small, but even if you have bigger hands, I think that the analog sticks would still be comfortable. I have also heard some complaints about the analog sticks being too "loose" and moving all over the place. I don't really think the analog sticks are "loose." They feel normal and don't feel that delicate. In fact, I think they are quite satisfying in terms of navigation and mobility. Next, we have the triggers and bumpers. These are probably one of the best features about the Xbox One controller because they make virtually no noise when you press/squeeze them and they feel very smooth to the fingers. They are also much closer together, and thus, they are very easy to use and doesn't require too much effort to access. Next, we have the D-Pad. Like the triggers, the D-Pad has been modified greatly. I didn't care for the D-Pad all that much on the Xbox 360 controller because it didn't feel right and was too much of a hassle to navigate menus with it. However, with the new Xbox One controller, the D-Pad actually feels like it has a purpose and it feels like it will be far more useful for navigating menus on the Xbox One (if you choose not to use the Kinect). Finally, the last major improvement I see on the Xbox One is the removal of the battery casing on the back of the Xbox 360 controller. Instead of having a cover for batteries on the Xbox One, the batteries are actually in the controller and allow the user to have a more natural grip on the controller. When I was holding the Xbox One controller, it felt so good knowing that there was no battery cover on the back of the controller and because everyone has a slightly different grip, I think it will enhance overall gameplay considering you have much more freedom on the back of the controller. No, I have not played any games with the controller, but I don't even think it matters. Why? Because this controller is so well built. I just know it will be an amazing piece of equipment when you are using it for your entertainment purposes on the Xbox One. Well, that is all I have. I hope I was able to give some helpful insight to those who do not yet have the Xbox One controller. I can assure you that you have absolutely nothing to worry about. Microsoft has always been a reliable company and they have certainly not stopped proving that they have what it takes to bring us gamers an awesome experience. Now, go forth stress free and have fun with your Xbox One! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
Xbox One Day One Edition
7.8 out of 10(105)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SuperNova1186
CT
 
Please wait while more information about SuperNova1186 is loaded.
Additional information about SuperNova1186 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/4/13
I can't believe you took the time to write all that stuff that Xbox One owners already know...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
Tried it with demo game at show.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/13
battlefield321
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Best controller. Comfortable, better than 360 controller, vibration feedback and good design. Overall a well made controller. Xbox one will be awesome! 15 or more exclusive.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Xbox One Wireless Controller
100 million dollars of research down the drain.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/13
Pseudo99
Location: TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked up my pre-ordered controller today (they're not street dated, apparently), Before I go into this review, let me make a few things clear. My console of choice over the last two generations have been Xbox. I currently own all released systems of the past few generations. I'm more of an Xbox controller fan than a DualShock fan. I've spent a couple thousand hours playing games with the 360 controller. I rarely enjoy using third party controllers. Those things being established, let me get straight to the point: The analog sticks are too loose. They just don't have that first party premium "feel". They remind me of analog sticks on a third party controller - cheap and something's not quite right about them. To add insult to injury, the surface of the analog sticks are smaller. On the more recently redesigned 360 controllers, the analog stick surfaces had a perfectly round circular shape, concave with a smooth rubber feel. On the Xbox one controller, imagine if you reduced the whole surface area by 20-30%, kept the smooth rubber concave part, but then roughed up the outside with sand paper. The 360 sticks are rubberized and grippy. The One sticks are rough and uncomfortable. Now that the surface of them are reduced, your average sized thumbs spill over the outside of the sticks, instead of nicely fitting in the curved area of the 360's sticks. As far as the rest of the controller goes, there should be no complaints with the d-pad, it feels like it can be direct and responsive to any type of movement, even fighting games. I do miss my spongy transforming d-pad, but I can see how this might be a little more accurate. The triggers are the one thing that I can truly say have a premium feel to them - a perfect amount of resistance surrounded by a "padded" feel that pretty much eliminates any noise. On a 360 gamepad, when you push your triggers all the way down quickly, you get audible noise and plastic-on-plastic feel. On the One controller, it's virtually silent, and it feels like there's some sort of nice inner bumper that eliminates that. My fingers also curve around the triggers a bit more on the One controller, so there's a bit more comfort there.. When holding a PS3 controller in one hand, and the One controller in the other, the analog stick resistance feels identical. If you enjoy the looseness of the DualShock 3, you'll probably like the One's analog sticks. Strangely enough, when I hold the DualShock 4 in one hand, and the 360 controller in the other, the analog sticks feel equally tight. It's strange - this generation Sony tightened up their controller's sticks, while Microsoft loosened theirs. Before you chastise me about reviewing the controller without actually playing a game, consider this: Have you ever picked up any brand controller and said, "No, I just don't like the feel of this, something's off?" That's the exact feeling you get when you hold this for the first time. It wasn't just me, either. I opened up the controller in the store, so everyone around me could spend a minute or two fiddling with it. At the time, nobody could say exactly what the problem was, but everyone around (about 8 of us including the employees) agreed that something was "off" about it. Despite the ergonomic feel of the rest of the controller, your analog sticks are the heart and soul of your console gaming experience. It's the reason I've preferred the Xbox controller over the DualShock up until this point - I've always felt that Sony's design was too lose. Overall, I can't understand how Microsoft releases a video bragging about how they spent 100 million dollars redesigning the 360 controller to get to this. They themselves admitted to having the "perfect" controller with the 360. I guess when you're at the top, there's nowhere else to go but down.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 27 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>