GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Strategy Guides or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide

Average Customer Rating:
5.037
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
5
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
2
12 out of 2744%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Review 1 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Save your money/This one is incomplete
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
BornofOsiris
Location: Fayetteville, NC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
AS many other people are commenting, this book doesn't have a list of every pokemon in the game or their locations, Their megastones, or Every TM and their locations. The book comes pre-wrapped so I couldn't tell what information was inside it. I believe they did it on purpose, otherwise no one would really buy this book. It's incredibly incomplete, and I'd stay away from this guide. SAVE YOUR MONEY
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Could Of Done Better
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/13
MetallicJesus
Location: Norwalk, Ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this guide hoping that it would have a pokedex and complete details on the game like the other pokemon guides, and when i opened it, i was quite disappointed and im guaranteed not to buy another guide. just buy the game and look up serebii as a guide and pokedex, its better than this guide
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Good for strategizing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
ShadowHawk5000
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this because I know so much has changed and been added and wanted to know what I was getting into. This guide really helps it goes into detail on the new game features and has a complete walkthrough of the main game. My only complaint would be that it doesn't give an in depth description of the gym leader's and elite four"s pokemon they only give us their levels and weaknesses.
And for anyone who wants a pokedex the second part to this guide comes out on January 22nd
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Useless
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/13
GTRogan39
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This book was useless. No pokedex. No Item list. Only goes up to the Elite Four and champion. I paid $20 for a fancy screen cleaner cause the book never leaves my shelf.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Pretty Lame
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/13
sfaspell97
Location: West Hartford, CT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It only gives guidance through the story. I suppose it's helpful, but the post game has a bunch of secrets that I was hoping it'd help with. Overall, this game is fairly straightforward compared to other Pokemon games, and thus I don't think it needs a guide. Plus, it was hard to read because it is the size of a regular hardcover book, not the large paged guides we've come to know and love. Because of this, it wouldn't stay open on a page I was looking at. Because of this, I am selling mine because since I've finished the game, it's literally of no use to me.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Overall Review
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/13
MrMetzen
Location: North Dakota
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This book does go into detail about certain things. This is a good book if you are going to use for just getting started with the book. However, after you beat the Elite Four & Champion, this book is now useless. They need to create a second book, which needs to show the entire pokedex, complete lists, and what to do after you reach the point of beating the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 7 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Good and worth it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
Jissu
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Most of the people who bought this are complaining about it not having the Pokedex in it. There are always two different strategy guides. The first one that comes out never has the Pokedex in it. Than the later strategy guide comes out and says "FULL POKEDEX INCLUDED"
This is the first one, just like all the others, and it does not have a Pokedex. However, for what it is worth, everything else about it is good and worth it, but if you want one with a Pokedex in it, wait for that one instead.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
17 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Really Disappointing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
AllProJaycub
Location: Millers Creek, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1. The guide wasn't released until 2 weeks after the game(s) 2. There is no Pokedex what so ever. 3. No locations of hard to find things, Ex: mega stones, berries, TM's, HM's, etc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Detail: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
good guide, same format as previous titles
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
scurry13
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
not sure where some of these other reviewers have been the last couple games, but it has been a long time since there was a pokedex included with the base guide. why people are crying about it now when that has been the norm for at least since diamond/pearl, if not before. back when NP was making the guides (which were much superior), i believe they even stopped adding them on the last one.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 10 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Useless
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
OkamiVentris
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As other reviews state I agree this book is a waist of money. It has a good walkthrough but it could be better. When it comes to catching the pokemon before you beat the game,! It has nothing no index no recommendations nothing. The book has maybe one or two uses. It does explain in detail special features of the game and in game mechanics. It's also got a nice cover and comes with. Few extras. Worth the money? I say no.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 11 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Great Walkthrough
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/13
x7hatchetman7x
Location: Evansville, IN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i love the guide just for the walkthrough i thought it was pretty good untill i started using it you have to pretty much crack every page just for it to stay on the page i guess cause the spine is so thick so doing that causes the pages to pull and i have a few pages almost falling out so a few people that i asked said there falling out cause who ever made the book did a terrible job but it works for what i needed it to so yea there is no pokadex and some of the pokemon just have blank pokeballs for there picture and my guess is because they didint want to show all the pokemon untill people got to play it cause there were only a few pokemon pictures leaked so they didint want to give it away but i dont know but it is still a good book and i recommend it if its what your looking for
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 12 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Not worth it No Hidden Info
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
ReubTube
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I Found better help online. This guide doesn't tell you about legendaries or anything end game no megastones an incomplete hm/tm list. it doesnt even list all rare pokemon that are in the grass. Barely differentioates between the x and y. incomplete pokemon gymleader info. im am very disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Not what you think
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
Fraaank
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There's NO Pokedex with Pokemon locations, item locations or mega stone locations, and there's an incomplete TM section. This is pretty much just a walkthrough for a pretty linear game. Almost useless...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Detail: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Accuracy: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Satisfactory
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
Cougars19
Location: Oxnard, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This strategy guide is acceptable but NOT remarkable, the information is very specific and clear about any problems you may encounter in the game. HOWEVER, I was a little disappointed that the Kalos Pokedex wasn't added in it!! Cause in the past I've always purchased Pokemon strategy guides that ALWAYS had a portion of the the Pokedex, but this time there wasn't one to be found in this edition!!! Overall, it's still a nice looking book that's available in hardcover!!!!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Detail: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Accuracy: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
THIS IS NOT A POKEDEX
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
BlitzzFrank
Location: virginia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
all the low reviews here are because the users were expecting what has always been a separate publication in with the 'adventure guide' which is just that. This covers all storyline and locational and item information, but if you're looking for the giant national list with moves learned etc of all species, wait for it to come out. AGAIN, THIS IS A GUIDEBOOK, NOT THE POKEDEX LOL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Detail: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
No Pexedex!?!?!?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
lunafox
Location: north bend, wa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off the guide itself is good, for an experienced player who knows what the pokemon are. It's detailed on where to find items, even those that I somehow managed to miss on my first little play through. The screen cleaner is awesome, and the map tells you where everything important is. That said I am not completely happy with it. There's no pokedex, the tm list is incomplete and the post game content isn't there. The main reason to purchase these guides, the main reason i've purchased every pokemon guide that I have is for the dex, and the move pool, the locations, a full list of tm, hms, and items. Serebii will have to be my main information but unfortunately even their dex is incomplete. I would suggest buying it for your first run through especially if you're a stickler about getting all the items and pokemon at the place your at. If you're looking for a pokedex and post game content than Serebii is the place you need to search
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 17 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Not Worth the Price
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
Javs
Location: CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The walkthrough part is pretty decent, by what i have seen so far, but i pre-ordered the guide along with the game but the guide was not available until almost a week after the game's release date. With that in mind, by this time the average player would have already made it to the elite four and defeated them. The only thing left to do is to catch them all and train an amazing team but because this guide DOES NOT INCLUDE A POKEDEX it is useless at this point. Waste of money.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 18 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
Probably not what you want...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
PokemonGamer000
Location: Georgia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The main reason I usually get these Pokemon guides is pretty basic. Besides learning what I need to do next, I wanna know everything about each Pokemon in the Pokedex. What they look like, their typing, the moves they'll learn, when/how they'll evolve, and where I can catch them. Unfortunately this guide does not show the Pokedex with all that information. I flipped through each page, back and forth, with no luck finding a Pokedex! I didn't even find an Items Guide in the back of the Guide like there usually is. If you really need this to stay on track of what to do next in game, then you might want this. But if you really wanted it to see all the new Pokemon and learn about them, don't buy this, just look them up online.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Detail: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Accuracy: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
pokemontrainercharlie
 
Please wait while more information about pokemontrainercharlie is loaded.
Additional information about pokemontrainercharlie could not be loaded.
pokemon STRATEGY GUIDE!
Posted 10/28/13
helloo it says STRATEGY GUIDE! NOT OFFICIAL HANDBOOK! well you still have a point though. and thnx for postin
Customer Avatar
Lucario2020
oxford ms
 
Please wait while more information about Lucario2020 is loaded.
Additional information about Lucario2020 could not be loaded.
complaint
Posted 10/26/13
people are complaininh because the most impostant thing every guide book has ever had was the pokedex of general pokemon which is needed above everything is even if it doesnt show the national dex the regular pokedex should be a requirement in any guide book i would have been fine if i would have gotten at least that much not the other useless info that the game itself tells u already
Customer Avatar
BlitzzFrank
virginia
 
Please wait while more information about BlitzzFrank is loaded.
Additional information about BlitzzFrank could not be loaded.
INCORRECT EXPECTATIONS
Posted 10/19/13
Every single generation, a guide has been published, and A SEPARATE full length pokedex has been published. I'm not sure why so many people are complaining about what's to be expected.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 19 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
new pokemon manual has most of what I want
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
Positude
Location: Bay area, CA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The only thing is the "Pokedex Issue"... but that is a bonus which is OK to get later. When I remember all of the older pokemon games this one has many of the features I love and cool new graphics. This is a great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Detail: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Accuracy: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
everything u already know
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
Zevler
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The book covers just the pre-game. None of the post-game so if you were hoping for that, do not buy this. it would help anyone who does not or have not played pokemon x or y but if you have played it, you probably know everything this book has to offer. Also its written in a part one of 2 way for the sole purpose to make money. It literally says that the post game is a story for another time.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Helpfulness: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Detail: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Accuracy: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Bang for Your Buck: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>