GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost

Sophisticated traffic shaping engine intelligently manages your Internet connection using a combination of device and application as well as Crowd Sourced profile creation. Coupled with a Cloud Based updating system, the DGL-5500 expands its library of detected applications over time. App not detected? That's ok, Streamboost can still classify the traffic from a non-detected application, ensuring the very best experience. Intelligent control of bandwidth resources, means the DGL-5500 Gaming Router AC1300 provides a lag and stutter free gaming experience.
Average Customer Rating:
6.667
6.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
3
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 1250%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Review 1 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
PURE FACTS
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
Engetsu
Location: California
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Let me explain a few things. The router itself from their website and personal experience only does:
867 Mbps wireless AC 5 GHz
300 Mbps wireless N 2.4 GHz
The full speed of the router only works on wireless AC 5Ghz like every other AC router. Why on this website does it say up to 450mbps in N mode i'm not sure. When the D-link website list the correct speeds.
The PS4 does not support wireless AC, only N, sams as the XBOne (PS3 supports older wireless G). This means you will be restricted to N speeds, not AC.
Most TVs don't even support wireless AC, even my new Samsung 2013 model maxes out at wireless N 5ghz and N 2.4 ghz. My Plasma is 1 model under the highest 2013 version. This router is only backwards compatible to wireless N (which means the PS3 would not be usable wirelessly or anything under N).
The router is fast on a PC because those you can buy an AC wireless adapter and just plug and go. Anything that can be upgraded to AC speeds which currently, only a computer. Stream boost works well, it focus the wireless signal to the unit. Also download speeds vary. My max signal on cable is 57 mbps down, I may not get the full speed advertised by my router, it still shifts the information rapidly and on your computer, you can see the speed it connects to.
Another review said it depends on your downloads speed. This is true, but wirelessly you lose more signal and a router that can shift those speeds will ensure a solid connection even HD streaming. So even buying a router that advertises 850 mbps down will have a more solid feel and connection not directly connected. If you are buying this for an XBOne or PS4 be warned, they do not support wireless AC only N which is maxed at 300 mbps down on this unit.
Don't believe me? check the D-link website with the same model number. Considering gamestop is more re-known for consoles, none of the next gen support wireless AC which is the MAIN REASON for getting an AC router.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
EmmAVee
 
Please wait while more information about EmmAVee is loaded.
Additional information about EmmAVee could not be loaded.
Posted 10/16/13
but even those the xbox one and ps4 dont support ac. wouldnt users still be able to utilize the benefits via ethernet cable? doesnt a hard wired setup run more smoothly over wifi regardless?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Don't Buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/13
Flapper
Location: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this router and its going straight back. I was trying to upgrade my router from a netgear n900 to this and boy I was shocked how bad it was.You have to stand right next to it to get any speed and if you want to go into the room bam!!!!!! Your running at 54 per sec to 128k per second. I Would totally hold off untill they fix this router
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
17 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DLinkCommentator
Fountain Valley, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DLinkCommentator is loaded.
Additional information about DLinkCommentator could not be loaded.
Don't Buy
Posted 8/21/13
Please make sure that you are testing your network download/upload speeds both externally from the router and internally within the DGL-5500 and are entering those settings into the Streamboost settings panel and you have checked the box that states "Enable Streamboost Bandwidth Control" and most importantly that you have clicked on the box which states "Save Settings" so that information is stored in the router and utilized to enhance your network performance. Once bandwidth is optimally determined it is prioritized by application and device to automatically control internet bandwidth and adjust it dynamically to where you need it most. If you have properly setup these settings and are still having issues, please contact D-Link technical support at www.dlink.com/support for further assistance.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
EASY TO SETUP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
cowboynwo
Location: seguin , tx
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This router was easy to setup I just had to hook it up and use my pc to do majority of the setup it has not given me one problem with the internet it has awesome speed no problem with the wifi it has not kicked me off at all the shape is cool and different I say once when you get over the price and buy this you will like this like i do filling out this review using my router
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jerry123playwithme
 
Please wait while more information about Jerry123playwithme is loaded.
Additional information about Jerry123playwithme could not be loaded.
Posted 8/23/13
It looks like a can of soda
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
semi good
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/13
mackaveli
Location: philadelphia pa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
okay product but i noticed most people who wrote good reviews lived in open places like Texas and Washington and people who lived in cities like ny wrote bad reviews . i think the quality of the product is based on location
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
solid router, streamboost seems cool
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/13
Stryder787
Location: Cali
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the streamboost thing seems to improve netflix and gaming. bought this to replace a older dlink.
my main complaint is the testing part of the streambost is kinda lame ot use and it's expensive.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
crazy LAG With highest tier of Internet speed
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/13
Jamaal80
Location: Brooklyn
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Like Jimmy Mcmillan says the price is too darn high. It is the same price of a console. The speed is nice but most devices and consoles only support Wifi N at the most the shape is weird and hard to place a router should be hidden out of sight it looks ugly with all the wires hooked up to it .......I have the highest tier of Internet speed opt ultra 101mbps down and it fine with my older router switched to this "can of beans" and it's diherretic....yes it's that disappointing, intermittent, Lag , lost signals, a headache get something else
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DLinkCommentator
Fountain Valley, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DLinkCommentator is loaded.
Additional information about DLinkCommentator could not be loaded.
crazy LAG With highest tier of Internet speed
Posted 8/21/13
Have you properly set up the DGL--5500 by logging into the router and navigating to the Setup menu and then to the Streamboost panel and initiating a test of your current network speed. Once this information has been verified you may enter those settings into the Download/Upload speed setting and save those settings then check your network connectivity levels. Please note that the DGL-5500 is a sophisticated Traffic Shaping engine that will dynamically manage and control bandwidth to be segregated and disbursed to the applications and devices that need it most, when multiple devices are in use at one time on your network.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Great Product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/13
gamer254
Location: Tx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Very easy to install. There product is very fast and StreamBoost is amazing! My download and upload speeds have dramatically increased! Best router I've ever bought. Have been waiting for this router for several months and don't regret it at all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
this is not true. no way
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/13
Gamerseller
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this item is the true. your it all depend on the internet provider and how much MB dose your provider let you use. THIS WILL NOT BOOST ANY GAME EXPERIENCE. Let say your provider let you use 25 Mbps, and you have 5 device connected, and they are all been use at the same time, you mostly divide the device by the connection. which it will be 5 Mbps per device. this device wont enhance any speed this the internet provider wont let you use more.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DLinkCommentator
Fountain Valley, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DLinkCommentator is loaded.
Additional information about DLinkCommentator could not be loaded.
this is not true. no way
Posted 9/23/13
We appreciate your comments as we truly value your feedback. Please note that when you test your bandwidth download and upload speeds and accurately enter them into the router settings or check the box to turn on Enable Auto Bandwidth Estimation to allow this feature to enter this information for you automatically then StreamBoost will dynamically allocate bandwidth resources to the applications and priority devices you have listed in your router configuration settings. The integrated StreamBoost QoS engine intelligently prioritizes bandwidth to make lag and buffering a thing of the past.
StreamBoost will manage your connections automatically, as it appropriately routes more bandwidth to a
specific activity or even to a specific device based on priority intuitively creating optimal allocation to all your network connected devices. What that means to you is lag free gaming, crystal clear
FaceTime calls, and ultra smooth HD streaming for your entire network. If you need more information please visit www.dlink.com. Thank you for choosing D-Link.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
"BOOM BOOM"
Posted on:8/4/13
ghostdog
Location: mass
it looks like my kicker box ...I think this is cool but i'll wait for the price to drop( :-).....(-:)
7 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DLinkCommentator
Fountain Valley, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DLinkCommentator is loaded.
Additional information about DLinkCommentator could not be loaded.
"BOOM BOOM"
Posted 8/28/13
The DDGL-5500 router delivers Dual Band Technology for intelligent, versatile, interference-free bandwidth. Allowing you to check your email and surf the Internet on the 2.4GHz band; or game, make Skyp calls and stream HD movies to multiple devices within your network, using the cleaner, interference-free 5GHz band. In addition you get to engage the new feature, StreamBoost QoS engine, which intelligently prioritizes bandwidth to make lag and buffering a thing of the past so watching HD videos and online gaming appear seamless.
Customer Avatar
gammer63
ia
 
Please wait while more information about gammer63 is loaded.
Additional information about gammer63 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/13/13
dose it work for really slow internet like out in the country?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
why do we need this
Posted on:8/4/13
xboxuser13
Location: minnesota
i think if it helped as much for your console as it said would they would have made one of these before now, it does not seem very important to buy but maybe i would consider it if it got positive reviews but the price is way too expensive
6 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
DLinkCommentator
Fountain Valley, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DLinkCommentator is loaded.
Additional information about DLinkCommentator could not be loaded.
why do we need this
Posted 8/28/13
Please take note that there is a new enhanced feature just released in the DGL-5500 which is the integrated StreamBoost QoS engine, which intelligently prioritizes bandwidth to make lag and buffering a thing of the past.
StreamBoost manages your connection automatically, and gives you the power to manually route more bandwidth to a
specific activity or even to a specific device if you desire. What this means to you is lag free gaming, crystal clear
FaceTime calls, and ultra smooth HD streaming of video content to multiple devices within your network. Making constant manual management of your network a thing of the past as StreamBoost will direct you the much needed bandwidth to whichever application or device needs it the most, automatically!
Customer Avatar
bettrthnU
 
Please wait while more information about bettrthnU is loaded.
Additional information about bettrthnU could not be loaded.
You would be wrong
Posted 8/6/13
The reason they have not made this before is because they are using new technology that wasn't available before. Up until now(even now it is still in beta) there was no AC wireless technology, we only had N as our fastest. Now with AC we will have much, much faster speeds in our houses. Routers that will not restrict our connection speeds.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Great Product & Easy to Set Up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/13
Goofi
Location: Bothell WA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this and to tell the truth i was a little worried because all the reviews i was reading on here were kind of bad, but i still went with my gut feeling and I'm happy i did the router turned out to work great and i do feel a difference in my connection on my xbox 360 and the range is a plus thumbs up to d links
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
GOOD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/13
totalgamer38754
Location: Mansfield MA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
i would love this if my xbox was laggy but its not this looks helpful and works good and my friend used to have a bad xbox and now its perfect cause of this so yea its helpul
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Great product this far.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/13
Wraith6750
Location: West Virginia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this router for about two weeks now and it has been awesome! Hooking it up is very easy. D-Link has the best gaming routers offered by any company today. It may be a bit expensive, but it is worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for D-Link DGL-5500 Gaming Router Wireless AC1300 with StreamBoost
Good Quality
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/13
Stealthbomb3r9
Location: Milford, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It was pretty good. The speed could be better but overall it was good. The range of the WiFi was far enough.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
youngthugs330
Canton, Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about youngthugs330 is loaded.
Additional information about youngthugs330 could not be loaded.
Question
Posted 10/2/13
if you live in OHIO is this a good router for playing cod black ops 2 on PS3 so you don't lag out so much because i have belkin wireless let me know anyone please
Comments (1)
Comment (1)