GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 12GB System

Play the Highest Rated Game Library Including PlayStation's Exclusive Award-Winning AAA' Games like Gran Turismo, God of War and Uncharted. Stream your Favorite Entertainment Apps like Netflix, Hulu Plus and Amazon Instant Video for Free*. Watch Movies come to Life with the Built-In HD Blu-Ray Player. All on the PlayStation®3 12GB System for $199. *User is responsible for internet access fees
Average Customer Rating:
7.333
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 out of 967%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
think about it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
bigmannnnn
Location: stone mountain, ga
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For $199.99 you get 12gb with the playstation 3 vs $199.99 you get 4gb when you buy a xbox 360. Plus you get the blu ray player, divx player, along with all the other features you would normally get with a ps3. Dont let that 12 gb scare you, you can upgrade the size of the memory by adding a internal hard drive. I believe it is a great deal.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
36 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kingdomheartsforever112
Utah
 
Please wait while more information about Kingdomheartsforever112 is loaded.
Additional information about Kingdomheartsforever112 could not be loaded.
Question to those who have purchased this product
Posted 10/25/13
Do any of you know if this specific system is backwards compatible?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Great Offer, but should have been released sooner
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
Electoblaze
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First of all, this is a pretty good deal if you're a casual gamer who plays a few favorite game discs outside of school or work time, who is thinking of trying out PS3 and not needing a full 250GB+ HDD. I personally fall into this category, and I wish this was available sooner so that I could save a little money and not have to buy a 250GB PS3 Super Slim that's currently only 8-10 GB full of disc-related data. Remember, the PS4 is coming out very very soon, so people buying a PS3 less than a year ago are probably doing it just to get started with Sony Consoles and "test the waters". This offer is great for people who just want to try out a different console until PS4 comes out. Plus, as you may already know, many upcoming popular PS3 games, like Battlefield 4 and CoD: Ghosts, have this feature that allows you to transfer ALL your information (profiles, unlocks, even premium membership for Battlefield 4) to your new PS4 when you eventually buy it. So buying this 12GB PS3 now and trying out some of these popular games before transferring over to next generation PS4 won't be as expensive now as you may have feared.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
wooooooooooooooooo
three springs pa
 
Please wait while more information about wooooooooooooooooo is loaded.
Additional information about wooooooooooooooooo could not be loaded.
want it and price
Posted 8/29/13
I want this so bad I just sold mine 2 get a xbox but it is faster but all my friends are on psn so awesome deal sony.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Worth it if...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
SheriffSpooksy
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is worth it considering that with Playstation 3 Sony lets us swap hard drives. So if you have any lying around, or if you go and buy one, this could be a 500GB or 1TB PS3 for a fraction of the price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Worst Ps3 ever made.....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
vincentrob11
Location: Savannah, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this ps3 and used a hard drive for it. It was a good start and then it malfunctioned and was not working ever since. I would never recommend or buy this type of system ever again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/13
hamhamfreak
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
awesome for the price worth every penny love the design id recommend this to anyone who likes gaming and can upgrade harddrive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Worth it?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/13
SomeDinDin
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I'm happy there is a cheaper system out there, but that 12 GB HDD is looking more like a Microsoft move. With Sony driving towards more digital content, there is little reason to pay for this system when there are bundles out that have playstation plus, games and larger HDDs. This may be a good value if you have exactly $200 (before tax) to spend on a console and you don't mind that you'll have to frequently decide what content you want to keep on the HDD. I would think a fair price would be more around $170.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Not enough memory
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
StanSmith
Location: California, California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
People say don't let the memory make you not buy this because you can upgrade the HDD. The downside to that, is it will cost you about the same to just buy a new PS3 with a larger capacity. I kind of feel bad for getting this for my neighbor, I believed the reviews. A single game can take up to half of this capacity, for $40 more you can just get the 250gb console(the same as a new HDD, actually less in some cases). I should have gotten the GTA V bundle, though. $70 more, yet has MUCH more value.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
ForbiddenSword
 
Please wait while more information about ForbiddenSword is loaded.
Additional information about ForbiddenSword could not be loaded.
Some people don't need the extra memory
Posted 8/27/14
I don't need more than about 12GB, as my Xbox 360 4GB still hasn't run out of memory. I play lots of games too. This is worth it if you follow these tips.
1.Make sure you buy and play games that you are absolutely sure you will play. That means no playing it for 1-2 days and then leaving it in your closet forever.
2.Once you return a game, erase all it's data from the hard drive.
3.you can always buy a bigger hard drive.
4.DON'T MAKE TOO MANY SAVES!!!Make sure to your previous save once you've saved your game.
Customer Avatar
TheRealDMac
Mississippi
 
Please wait while more information about TheRealDMac is loaded.
Additional information about TheRealDMac could not be loaded.
Should I really skip this?
Posted 3/8/14
I don't get all the hate for the 12 GB either. With like 30 games I'm just now reaching the limit of my vintage 2007 20 GB Xbox 360. One game takes up half the memory? Really? Does the PS3 force you to fully install every single game you play on the hard drive? If so then the 360 was a superior system, hands down, no contest. But somehow I get the feeling that if I'm just willing to deal with loading times I can play more than 2 games.
Customer Avatar
ConsolesGamer
Tx
 
Please wait while more information about ConsolesGamer is loaded.
Additional information about ConsolesGamer could not be loaded.
Some people...
Posted 11/4/13
I don't get the hate for this console having only 12 gigs of memory. When you buy this system you should already have a larger harddrive in mind ready to purchase because this system is a steal. Sony should of came out with this long ago, however it's still an excellent replacement for those who have had their console YLOD on them and they don't wanna spend a lot of money to replace the system. So remember people don't buy this system if you're not willing to buy a bigger harddrive.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
Choice way to go.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/14
LanceP2011
Location: Lafayette, La
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1st Freedom of choice is very good of end user one of the rezones I hate seeing thing's like Netfixs perinstalled with no uninstaller. With Western Digital selling 2TB laptop USB drives for $80 you can add a lot of hard disk for less money. The 2nd since PS4 will not play PS3 disk games and you don't have an PS3 as long you only do the PSN Downloads on PS4 you have the best of both worlds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 12GB System
I really like it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
SiCVoltage
Location: Charlotte NC USA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off what a great buy. You get 3 times as much memory then you do on the basic 4GB Xbox 360. I really like it. I got for Christmas. I would recommend this product as it gives you the best of gaming right out of the box.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Phenom7934
PR
 
Please wait while more information about Phenom7934 is loaded.
Additional information about Phenom7934 could not be loaded.
Good Price
Posted 2/7/14
I went and got one and bought a 900gb for it and the total was $280.00 give or take while the 250gb ps3 is $250.00 without tax
Comments (1)
Comment (1)