GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition

Everything you love about Nintendo 3DS-only bigger!
Average Customer Rating:
9.44
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
8
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
24 out of 2596%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
The only review you'll need.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
Akuhei
Location: New Jersey
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'd read my review before anyone else's. Firstly, if you're in the market for a 3DS or 3DS XL and are willing to spend up to $200, then this is for you. The pictures show a matte finish, like the normal 3DS XL's have. However, this is not the case. This special 3DS has a glossy finish to it's front and back, so it's a finger print magnet. The pictures on the front and back are extremely detailed, easily complimenting the finish. Either color you get, it'll be like this, though the red looks better. It functions like a normal 3DS/3DS XL, just with a special pattern. I'd buy this before it runs out, because then you'll have to spend so much extra to find and get it. I bought it for myself, since my purple 3DS was too small, and the L shoulder button wasn't working properly. My advice, get this for a pokemon fan, and they'll love you forever.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Want a bundle
Posted on:9/4/13
ptyerkz
Location: PS
The DS's look very nice. I really like how they look, but I would rather a bundle instead of the separate purchases.....
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
10 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ForeveraGhost
Nowhere on this plane
 
Please wait while more information about ForeveraGhost is loaded.
Additional information about ForeveraGhost could not be loaded.
Posted 9/30/13
in that case i saw walmart has the bundle all you do is choose which system and the game.
Customer Avatar
Aldinelk
 
Please wait while more information about Aldinelk is loaded.
Additional information about Aldinelk could not be loaded.
Quick Question
Posted 9/10/13
anyone know where I can get some basic pokemon themed decals for my 3ds?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Fantastic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
Chip6007
Location: Georgia
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just a gorgeous paint scheme. The pictures on the web do not do it justice. Obviously large screen that actually makes 3D viewing much easier on my eyes than the smaller model. Great value for everything that you get: Larger screen, 3D, WiFi, paint job. If you were waiting to get an XL, this is the perfect reason to get one. Just a beautiful machine. Very pleased.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Something to Consider
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/13
Flakerdoodlebops
Location: MN
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The System looks great! It functions like a 3DS XL should... Making my Youtube review though I had WAY to many buts... Being someone who has owned far to many DS systems over the years this one to me feels like it is the cheapest made one of all! Opening and Closing the system it snaps when it hits its locking points. The Stylist is way to tight a have to force it out where on my other systems they come out with ease! And another thing the Analog stick feel fragile, I feel that if I play Mario Kart on this System it would break! All in all its another 3DS System yes it looks awesome the fact that its shiny versus matte like the other XLs is cool but that shiny finish is also tacky or almost "sticky"! If you are buying your first 3DS System I would say go with an Classic 3DS XL theres better quality and it does the same function. If you are thinking of trading in your 3DS XL for this Special Edition System Think hard I wish I still had the $216 that I spent on this still...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
masqie
 
Please wait while more information about masqie is loaded.
Additional information about masqie could not be loaded.
Posted 9/29/13
It is the exact same system as the regular XL, other than the glossy finish, which is just a small annoyance.
By giving this a 4/10, you're really giving every XL a 4/10. Perhaps you got a faulty DS, but it's honestly no different other than the design/finish.
Customer Avatar
SafetyPotato
 
Please wait while more information about SafetyPotato is loaded.
Additional information about SafetyPotato could not be loaded.
Posted 9/28/13
Isn't this the same thing as a regular 3ds xl but with a different design? Do you have a 3ds xl to compare it to?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
It's pretty awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/13
MastaTGT
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was reluctant to spend the money to get this but I did and I don't regret it. I have the Nintendo 3DS already so after upgrading to the XL, I think it was worth it. The games look a lot better. It's more comfortable to hold. There are actual buttons for the "select,home, and start" buttons. Lastly, the stylus is on the side instead of by the cartridge. Of course it's like that for any Nintendo 3DS XL, but this IS a limited edition. I would not recommend going out to purchase this if you either don't care for pokemon products or if you already have a 3DS XL. If you're a collector, you should get it. If you don't have any Nintendo 3ds's, this would be a good one to buy since it is a Limited Edition. If you like pokemon and have the extra cash to spend, it wouldn't be a waste because this device is beautiful. It's also got a glossy finish as oppose to the matte finish of a regular 3DS XL. I agree there should have been something exclusive for the game or something that comes along with it, but the only difference from any of the other XL's is the limited edition device. I guess that's all i can say about it, thanks for reading :x
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
FINALLY
Posted on:9/4/13
AnguishedOne
I've been holding out getting another 3DS to see if they would announced a pokemon 3DS and I'M GLAD I DID. THIS LOOKS AWESOMEEEE. Seriously. I'm going to sell my 3DS XL just to get this, not to mention I never liked the blue anyway. I'm throwing my wallet at the screen but it's not coming any faster.
23 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
This 3DS XL is a thing of beauty.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/13
ThePunslinger
Location: Zanesville, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Pokemon X and Y 3DS XL is a great console. The design is beautiful overall. I was slightly disappointed that is was in gloss instead of matte because of the fingerprints that drives me crazy. People told me not to buy it because it didn't come with the game but it isn't a big deal to me. As a passionate Pokemon fan who has only had a DS Lite since Diamond and Pearl came out, I thought it was the perfect time to upgrade since X and Y were drawing near. I'd recommend this to any Pokemon fan looking to upgrade for X and Y without question. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PLEASERESPONDTOQUESTIONS
 
Please wait while more information about PLEASERESPONDTOQUESTIONS is loaded.
Additional information about PLEASERESPONDTOQUESTIONS could not be loaded.
Posted 1/19/14
Is it sold out yet?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Awesome!
Posted on:9/4/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
If you don't have a 3ds yet, than this is the perfect edition for you! Unlike Japan, it doesn't come with X or Y preinstalled but it does come out a couple of weeks earlier than the games. The system looks great and if I didn't have a 3ds already than I'd so pick this one up!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Great Improvements!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/14
xxtgzxx
Location: Dallas,TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok the 3DS XL has tons of improvements (1) Beacause of bigger screens it's more comfortable to hold if you big hands (i have two monster hands lol) (2) 3d is much easier to see without the double pictures (you don't have to move your head much now) (3) No longer glossy so you don't get grease, sweat,and ect so easily on it now (4) And what I love the most -> The longer battery life! (5) Now the final Improvement! You no longer have to reach the back of the 3ds to get stylus, simply go to the side and tada you got your stylus! (6) This is a must get, even if you have the original 3ds this is a still an worthy upgrade!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Looks better then the pictures.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/13
koggx
Location: Connecticut
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just grabbed this Red X & Y 3D XL this morning and i gotta say it looks better then pictures that have been seen thus far!
Coming from an original Cosmo Black 3DS ambassador status and all this seems like a very worth while upgrade. So if you have a normal 3DS or maybe even an XL should you really want to get one of these limited edition ones it could be worth considering.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
GREATTTTT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/13
Myungie
Location: Arlinton,Virginia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love it~ butt i hate the gloss and it scratches too easily. OTHER THAN THAT, IT IS FREAKIN AMAZING. GET IT BEFORE THERE'S NO MORE.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
YESSSS
Posted on:9/4/13
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
I was waiting for this~ i wanted specifically a red 3ds with only Yveltal on it, but this is just as good~! and the fact that it does not include the game installed is actually a big plus for me, cause i prefer having a physical copy.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lumberjack
Miami
 
Please wait while more information about Lumberjack is loaded.
Additional information about Lumberjack could not be loaded.
I agree with you!
Posted 9/27/13
There's just something about having a hard copy that makes it feel more rewarding in a way. Digital is ok, but the tangibility of a hard copy always wins out for me. I probably wouldn't have bought this if it came with Y preinstalled.
Customer Avatar
MajesticDragon88
 
Please wait while more information about MajesticDragon88 is loaded.
Additional information about MajesticDragon88 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/24/13
Game is not included in this edition.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
words cant express things and this is one of times
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
DarkIsolation
Location: new jersey,nj
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This is good but I thought it would come with Pokemon X or Y as its first release but it turned out to be a remarkable design of a 3DSXL with a picture of the two main Pokèmon Xerneas and Yvetzel in its presental letter form.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
Cougars19
Location: Oxnard, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I saw online pictures of this device and I must say that it's a lot beautiful in person!!!! I once had a regular Blue 3DS XL and I traded it in towards this beauty!!! I highly recommend getting one if you're either a Pokemon Fan or are just looking into getting an XL for the first time!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Great!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
stealthy327
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my first 3DS and I love it! I haven't played Pokemon since yellow and thought now would be a good time to get back into Nintendo. The paint and color is awesome. (Does get finger prints on it but that doesn't bother me). Should have came with the game but I bought Pokemon Black to hold me over :) The actual system seems of decent quality. The D-Pad is a little loose and I wish the screen didn't have different lock positions. I wish the screen was more like a laptop screen for as positioning. Overall I'm very happy with me purchase and can't wait to play some Pokemon Black Version!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
So glad theyre doing one in red!
Posted on:9/4/13
ApexIccirrus
Location: Dublin,VA
When I saw the blue one revealed in japan I was nearly sold on it,but seeing as Im getting Y I wouldve rather had a red one,and here it is! Heres hoping for a trade up deal on these.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Neonixforlife
 
Please wait while more information about Neonixforlife is loaded.
Additional information about Neonixforlife could not be loaded.
Is it worth it?
Posted 9/8/13
Wow, I bought a 3ds for nothing. Like a year ago i bought one. Is it worth buying another one. I know it's special edition and I have to admit my mouth was drooling rainbows when I saw this. However im not sure buying another 3ds is worth it even if it is special edition. CAN SOMEONE TELL ME IF THIS THING IS WORTH THE PRICE!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
really excited
Posted on:9/15/13
kokoloco
I'm really excited about both the console and the game. My only issue is the employees at my local gamestop told me if I pre-order the 3DS X and Y console, it will come with either Pokemon X or Y (depending on the color i order) pre-installed. It was weird for me because the game won't come out for another 2 weeks after i pick up the 3DS. I'm not sure what to believe, if anyone could answer and verify this for me that would be amazing. Either way, still very excxited for the release!
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gameguy966576
 
Please wait while more information about gameguy966576 is loaded.
Additional information about gameguy966576 could not be loaded.
Well...
Posted 9/24/13
...right on the page it says "Does not include game". But I'm not sure what to say. Employees of GameStop will try and get you to pre-order things very often. So I think it won't be bundled.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
no GAME
Posted on:9/5/13
ESPIRITU
Location: NY
WHY not 3DS XL with the game bundle i was sure that the ds was coming with the game ______________--
4 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Beautiful, Glossy, 3ds XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
Umbreonz
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The system looks amazing. When i ordered it i thought that it would have the matte finish like other 3ds xl's, but it was glossy like the original 3ds. I liked the glossy 3ds's and now being the first glossy 3ds xl's is cool. The system doesn't come with a game, which is ok because I have the money. In my opinion this was worth the money and will be put to use for years to come.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Pokemon X&Y Red Edition
Great Limited Edition
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
K00L9
Location: youwishuknew
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The finish on the console is spectacular, the system itself I think is well made. I Own every single version of the ds since the original and this 3dsXL is slimmer then the DSIXL and the screen is alot better. The 3d viewing angles are alot better then the original 3ds and im excited to be able to play my pokemon games and legend of zelda games on this console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>