GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G

Sophix 7" tablet (Tab-740G)
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
18 out of 2186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Review 1 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Getting What You Pay For...And That's Not Bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/14
JoeSchmoe717
Location: Clinton, MA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased this tablet using gift cards I had collected so essentially did not pay anything out-of-pocket. All I can say is I couldn't be happier with this purchase. This tablet is not going to blow anyone away by any stretch of the imagination, but is solid enough to get the job done. I use it primarily as an eReader and some light gaming. Battery life isn't anything special so expect to be charging this at least once a day (with moderate use). On the plus side, a full charge can be achieved within a few hours. Contel support has been great as well - they have released a firmware update upgrading this to Android 4.4.2. This has made a HUGE difference in the overall usefulness of this tablet and I definitely recommend if purchasing, update the firmware following the instructions from the Contel website. If you're looking for mind blowing amazingness then this is not the tablet for you. But if your just interested in having a tablet for the sake of having one - you can't go wrong with this device.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
ON SALE AND AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
zombieboy22
Location: Spencerport, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
first off this was on sale for 69.99 and i had a 10 dollar off coupon from my power up rewards account and let me just say this thing ROCKS! lol its not the best quality as far as camera and resolution but for the price of a new game I LOVE IT! its perfect in horizonal holding and in landscape mode while holding aswell it fits my hands very well the thickness is JUST RIGHT the battery was better than my ipod and its got a bigger screen i wasnt looking for top of the line tablet i wanted something for facebook, you tube, and browsing the web and this is PERFECT! there are a ton of games FREE and paid aswell to play with there are also quite a few FREE FULL GAMES! NOT DEMOS! there are full free games and paid ones aswell its a great little device and the gamestop employees say they sell a TON of these they are perfect for younger kids or adults like myself who just need a nice cheap tablet they wont be on sale for long deffinitly pick one up ASAP!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Better! Faster! Slimmer!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/13
Gigglies
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I purchased the TAB-730G last year while on sale and had a few issues and felt it was slow. This model is much better! Decided to purchase this for my son's (ages 4 and 8) and they love it! The tablet runs faster and doesn't freeze when using Apps such as Angry Birds, Candy Crush and others. I am also loving the new slim design because it fits so much better in one hand! Loving this and recommend to anyone looking for a budget tablet!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
kids love this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/13
digidesing
Location: miami fl
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I love this tablet for my kids so they can watch Netflix and play different games on this tablet.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Purchased SPECIFICALLY for commander app
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/14
TagsxA13
Location: Milwaaukee, WI
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
That's right, I ONLY bought this so that I could download and use the Battlefield 4 Commander app. I am happy to say that this humble tablet runs the app perfectly! I'm completely floored by how powerful this little bad-boy is. I strongly suggest this tablet as the most value-heavy tablet on the market.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Piece of Junk!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
Marcuslds1
Location: Hermiston
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this a year ago and within 20 mins the glass separated and over heated took back to gamestop and they gave me another one and again same thing so I called the Manufacturer and they said there was no more left but I could send it in and they would replace it after 3 months waiting I got it back and GUESS what did the same thing NOT WORTH YOUR TIME spend the extra money to purchase a nabi tablet
 
My Product Recommendations
Nabi 2 7" Tablet for Kids
8.5 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
11 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Well, it was nice while it lasted.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
Persoda
Location: Nevada
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I'm a GameStop employee, and when I see something really good come up on a sale that I want, I usually buy it as quick as I can. That's where this tablet came into the mix. I was working on Black Friday, and I looked through the ad to see what was on sale. I saw this tablet, and I grabbed one because I really did need one. Opening it up at home, I knew deep down it probably wasn't going to be a good tablet, considering the $70 price tag. When I first held it my hands, I could already tell it was cheaply made. I didn't like it at all. But turning it on, and playing around with it for awhile, it did everything I actually wanted it to do. I was worried games like Cytus or Deemo wouldn't run properly, but they did. I was blown away actually. From there on, I knew that I would hold onto it, so I needed to give it some protection. I went to Walmart and bought some screen protectors, and a case. It all looked nice, and I was very satisfied. That is, until three days later, it broke. Now, it broke entirely at my own fault. What happened was it was laying next to my bed while I was playing my new Xbox One. I got bored, and watched some Netflix afterwards. The controller had been sitting next to me, and when I shifted my body, the controller fell off of my bed, and landed right on the Sophix tablet. I heard a nice "crunch" when it landed too. When I turned to pick up my controller, I noticed the screen on the tablet was cracked in a few places. I was okay with a few cracks, because my iPhone has a small crack in it. When I grabbed it to turn on the screen, all that showed up were colors, and noting else. It was broken beyond repair. I couldn't believe a controller that weighed less than a pound could do that. From there, I returned it to GameStop when I wasn't on schedule. I was originally just going to swap the broken one with a new one (and this time purchase the warranty) but they ran out. So, they gave me my $70, and I spent another $100 to get the Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7 inch tablet. So far, it's much sturdier, and faster than the Sophix one, but I won't get on to that one much, because most likely you're reading this to know if you should buy the Sophix tablet or not. So overall, I liked the Sophix tablet for the brief three days that I owned it. It did everything I needed, for a cheap price. If you're careful with your electronics (I am too, this was just a freak accident), Go ahead and pick this one up. You'll like it, for the price. If you're worried about it breaking, buy something a little bit better. I hope this review helped someone out there.
 
My Product Recommendations
Samsung Galaxy Tab 3 7.0 - 8GB
9.3 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Really good gaming tablet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Anonymous
Location: Moncks Corner, SC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I first got this tablet I noticed a couple of things, there were scratches on the screen out of the box for some reason, and it was really good for gaming (its able to run GTA;SA, Mass Effect, and even COD:Strike Team). But after about a week a bad download slowed it up and almost bricked it, so I went to their website and found some help on how to reflash it, but the download for the drivers was bad so I had to find them myself, it then reflashed correctly. all in all its a great budget tablet that I would recommend to almost anyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Better than apple
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
hhhhhaaaha12875418275o874
Location: freehold nj
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is better then my ipad mini that i bout when it came out and better yet this is only 70$ if it had sucked o well not that big of a deal not like it will make your life horrid.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
It's a Good Gift
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
Mduran14
Location: Sheridan Ore
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I giving it to my wife for x-mas i opened it up to make sure it work yep dose its job . just remember to get warranty for it
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
My son loves his new tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/14
Mountainman
Location: New Castle, Pa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
My son kept saying he wanted an Ipad we didnt have the money for one so we looked into tablets. We went to our local gamestop and found this particular tablet. We bought it for him for Xmas and we set it up so it would be ready when he opened it. We were amazed at what a great tablet it was and all of the features it had. For the price you wont find anything better. My son loves his new tablet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Not bad...for the cost
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
blhuff
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This tablet is great for surfing the internet and occasional app usage. The battery life is great and it includes a SD Card to expand the storage capacity. I do have an occaional issue with the wireless feature picking up approved networks. Typically, I have to turn off the wireless switch, then turn it on again and the network is restored. Other than that, great tablet for the cost.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Great for the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/14
Jefb
Location: Carrollton, Ga
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this for my wife and she loves it. We've not had any problems with it. It would be nice if the included usb charger cord was longer over all so far it's been a great little tablet. If it had the HDIM connecting port I would rate it a 10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
EXCELLENT tablet !!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/14
ancientfire
Location: new york
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My mom bought me this and its a good tablet it runs fast got android 4.2 jelly bean good OS only bad part is that you can't get asphalt 8airbourne game beside that you can get grand theft auto games so that's good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Good Tablet!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
PokemonLover2
Location: Lincoln,NE
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Really cheap tablet, really good for kids like me and you should really get this. I love it it has Android 4.2 and if you want you can update it to Android 4.3 Kit Kat
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Great tablet for the price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/13
Longhorn
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My husband gave me this tablet for Christmas. It works great! No problems with the WiFi at all. Great for email, Facebook, browsing, music, games, apps for the boy, etc. I love this thing! My only issue is finding a case... I highly recommend this for the price!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/14
gutwrench
Location: Va
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This tablet was given to me for Xmas. Its does everything I ask of it. Screen is clear, runs apps fast. Would definitely buy another one. Only drawback is finding a fitted case for it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Works good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
Teddiebear75
Location: Prineville or
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought two for my older kids to have something and they love it. I am going to buy two more for my younger ones so they have something they can do everything on it that they wanted to do they love them.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
Great Tablet!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/14
PrinnyEdna
Location: New Mexico
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Tons of things to do on this tablet! I just don't know how to set my SD as card as my auto download space.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Sophix 7 inch Tablet Tab-740G
The screens are very fragile
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
spence8227
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I purchased 5 of these tablets for family and every screen has cracked without being dropped or hit. I don't know what is wrong with them but I was very upset.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>