GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 2DS - Blue

The new Nintendo 2DS system gives anyone looking for their first portable gaming device the chance to experience the full library of Nintendo's biggest titles. At the low suggested retail price of $129.99, Nintendo 2DS plays a huge library of over 2100 Nintendo DS and Nintendo 3DS, and Nintendo eShop games in 2D. Designed for your family The new Nintendo 2DS system gives you all the features of the Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo 3DS XL, minus 3D viewing. And the price makes the world of Nintendo games even more accessible.
Average Customer Rating:
8.821
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (64 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
4
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
25 out of 2889%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Review 1 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
The Perfect Handheld
Posted on:9/3/13
Zephern
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Level with me for a second: the idea of a handheld system without hinges seemed like a dramatic and unnecessary change, that would only inconvenience the players. Let’s take a step back and realize for a second that regardless of the hinges, this thing is rocking the size of the original 3DS screens, not the XL, giving it a smaller form factor, allowing things to fit in the pocket simpler.
I’ve never been a fan of a single 3DS design over another, I simply chose the XL over the original because my fingers were going to give me carpal tunnel if I played on the original. While that seems like an obvious choice not to pick, the original had an incredibly sharper screen due to its size, which is a big deal for me. I dislike stretched resolutions, I think it’s sloppy, lazy, and outdated and only reasonable for users with bad eyesight.
Now let’s talk ergonomics. Again, the main reason I bought the XL was due to the smoothed edges and button surfaces. Now that I’m seriously looking at it, it’s incredibly improved over the original. It operates almost the same way you would a regular GBA, or even a steering wheel.
I’m not even gonna get into the loss of the 3D aspect, it’s something that was never needed and they finally dropped thankfully.
$130. Smartest choice Nintendo has made in 2013.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FreckleFreak
 
Please wait while more information about FreckleFreak is loaded.
Additional information about FreckleFreak could not be loaded.
???
Posted 9/7/13
No hinges is a smart idea since they could break easily, besides its meant for kids so they don't break it and its cheap.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
a awesome cheap way to play 3DS games.
Posted on:9/30/13
pokemaster77
Location: Dalton, Georgia
first off i like the 2ds design. i never liked the folding design. i was afraid that i fold it back too far and brake it or making the screens loose. don't have too worry about that with the nintendo 2ds. i don't care that it only has one speaker and has mono sound. if i want stereo i have headphones. it maybe targeted for kids 5-7 but i'm an adult i love it. when i saw 2ds on gamestop.com the next day i ordered one with my copies of pokemon x and pokemon y at gamestop. also i'm glad the 3D is gone it made my eyes blurry and gave me a headache. when i get mine i'm going play the heck out of it with my pokemon games, nintendo 2ds is going to be a awesome system and the price is unbeatable.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
A great system for them who can't get a 3DS. :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
iLoveNintendoFlo
Location: America
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The Nintendo 2DS is a 3DS with out 3D. It can play the same games as the 3DS just only in 2D. It can also play DS that nice. The 2DS has all of the same great apps & features as the 3DS such as the eShop, YouTube App, Nintendo Video, ect. It can even take 3D pictures even though you can't see them in 3D. I guss you can still share them with friends via Swapnotte's StreetPass. Speaking of StreetPass it's a great feature that let's u exchange gaming infomation highy scores coustomisation or message's with other gamers. It's kinda like Blue tooth in the way it works. And if u take your 3DS/2DS to a Nintendo Zone u will get streetpasses with the last 6 people who where thare. I could go on for a long time about this feature but u must exprence it your self it makes you feel connected with other users and reminds you its a small world after all. My biggest problem with the 2DS is it only has one speacker! God give us to ears for a reason. And 2 speakers help you hear where the in game sound is coming from. It also just sounds better. But u can still exprence sround sound in both ears just put in ear plugs. Over all the 2DS is a great system for little kids or any one who can afford a 3DS. I am glad it hope's up the world of Nintendo to more people. And I really do hope you all enjoy awesome 3DS/2DS games like. The Legend of Zelda A Link Between Worlds ;), Super Mario 3D Land, Mario Kart 7, Metal Gear Solid Snake Eater 3D, and the upcoming Kirby game! :D God Bless happy gaming. Try to get some StreetPasses and Happy Christmas season. Miiverse for 3DS & 2DS is coming soon it maybe out by the time your reading this.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Good old Kwing! :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Why I Buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/13
NeonBlitz
Location: Denver,Co
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is kind of uncomfortable gripping it but it wont break as easy as a 3ds.The 3ds is expensive and the 3d makes me have bad hedaches and motion sickness.Not with 2ds!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Pokemon X & Y Official Strategy Guide
5 out of 10(42)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
A Deal
Posted on:9/27/13
Jrky
Location: Missouri
This is a great remedy for those who get headaches from the 3D, children to young to use the 3D, or for people like me whose eyes make it physically impossible to see the 3D. PROS: a less costly system for those who can't use, or don't want, the 3D gimmick. Built to be sturdier (lack of hinges means no wearing of hinges or breaking in the center.) Plays all 3DS and DS games. CONS: screen sizes are equivalent to the standard 3DS. Mono sound (stereo with headphones). Lack of screen protection while carrying (not an issue with those of us who grew up with the gameboy generations. We know how to take precautions. Also fixable by purchasing a case.) Some are saying wait for the XL model that has not even been hinted at in the media. It may happen, but the way the screens sit in relation with the controls, it would probably add a whole level of awkward when trying to reach the bottom half of the touch pad.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Best handheld for the money, period!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
Gooch0
Location: GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I saw the great library of games coming out soon (Nov 2013) for the 3DS and began shopping around for a handheld. I did look at the PS Vita as well, but the game library is lacking. I'm actually not attracted to the 3DS because of the flip feature. The device is plenty small, I want it to be comfortable. Even the xl leaves much to be desired. I happened to notice the 2DS by chance, saw it wasn't even out yet (at the time), and thought it looked comfortable. And it is!
If they happen to release a 2DS xl in the future I will buy it, but even the current 2DS is plenty big for me. I don't care for 3D, its a gimmick to me anyway, so a lower priced, more comfortable, and slightly better batter life device hit all my needs. The buttons are in just the right place and it's surprisingly light.
Let the game mags, sites, and review knock the device for its shape, couldn't care less. I found since researching the device that anyone that knocks the 2DS....hasn't actually tried it yet. Even IGN stated they had negative outlook on the device, and then they tried it and liked it, minus the fact it doesn't fold.
It may be marketed for the 7 and under crowd, but this man-child (28) loves this device!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
28 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
For those holding out for a 3ds
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
Gameplaydude2011
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ill be honest i was waiting for a 3ds price drop for the longest time and was actually going to go ahead and spend the $200+ for one. I just wanted to be able to play the great 3ds games out there and thats all but didnt really want to spend alot so when the 2ds came out I decided to look for review but couldnt find any great ones so I went ahead and bought one for myself. First off dont let your eyes fool you, its feels great in your hands. It may feel awkward at first especially if your used to the old form with the hinge but after long periods of time it didnt bother me at all. Second it is exactly what they say it is, a 3ds without 3d so if you dont need that and just want to play games then your set. The screen is great and the battery life it great. It does feel a bit cheap from being made from all plastic but it gives it a kinda old school Gameboy advance/ Gameboy color feel which i like. My only gripe is that the screen size it the same as the regular 3ds and not the xl. If you just want a cheap alternative to just play games then I highly recommend the 2ds!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Great for those of us who can't use the 3D
Posted on:9/1/13
TNAXDivision
Location: Bowling Green, KY
I am blind in one eye, and thus unable to view any form of 3D, so I will gladly take a cheaper model without a feature that does me no good. anyways While the design could be better, for the price difference I will gladly live with it. For those saying just buy the 3DS and turn the 3D off, for that $40 extra I could use it to purchase a game, and for those of us that are on a tight budget, I will take every extra dollar I can get. If you have an extra $40 to blow on a feature you have no intent on ever using, more power to you, but for those of us on a budget and no interest in the 3D, this is a great option.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
203 of 215 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Jrky
Missouri
 
Please wait while more information about Jrky is loaded.
Additional information about Jrky could not be loaded.
Posted 9/29/13
(In response to the question about transferring games) I don't exactly know about transferring download games, but this is the same system as the 3DS minus the 3D. You can play all 3DS games as well as Ds games on this handheld. Since you have a 3DS, there really is no need to trade in for this one.
Customer Avatar
Jagy
 
Please wait while more information about Jagy is loaded.
Additional information about Jagy could not be loaded.
I need info
Posted 9/27/13
Ok, so the 2ds is cool and all, but can you transfer the 3ds sd card to the 2ds? And can I bring in my 3ds and trade for a 2ds?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Don't let Nintendo fool you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/13
pmw1985
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had a 3DS, and I traded it in. BIG MISTAKE. Well, I noticed the 2DS was out and I could get it and a game for cheaper than a refurb 3DS alone so I thought, 'why not'. You know, for all the gamers out there whining about the design, have you actually held it and played with it? For an adults big hands, it is GREAT! I can actually play for hours now without my hands cramping because of the new slate design. I never used the 3D feature so this is perfect for me and for my wallet.
Oh, I've also dropped it twice on a hard surface. Not a scratch. Very durable!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
34 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Stop complaining.
Posted on:10/8/13
xkcarpenter13x
Location: Chicago
This is perfect for somebody who does not want to pay the extra money for the 3DS if you know you will NEVER use the 3D function. Yes, I realize that you can turn the 3D off. As does anybody that anybody with a functioning brain and know anything about the 3DS knows. If you already own a 3DS there is absolutely no reason for you to post a review bashing something because you think this is inferior. It is obviously not being marketed toward people the currently own the 3DS. This is for parents to buy for small children, or people late in the 3DS game because they knew the 3D was a useless function.
23 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
anon10
 
Please wait while more information about anon10 is loaded.
Additional information about anon10 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/9/13
To your credit, I'm part of the latter. I played the 3DS before it was released at a demo booth and almost immediately turned 3D off, and honestly had no intentions of getting it until there was a *major* price drop *and* a redesign, because I just didn't like how it looked or felt. I ended up getting a Vita (which I do not regret in the least and still can point fingers at those who said it was going to be a permanent bomb), but more importantly. I can get exactly what I wanted, which is a 2DS that plays the 3DS games without that incredibly straining and battery-killing 3D nonsense. So, good review, because you're right, for those who said "Screw this, I'm not paying for a feature that I'm going to turn off, anyway", this is the thing to get. I look forward to picking one up when the December sales start going insane, and this thing gets to be under $100. (Happened with the Vita going to $160 *very* briefly, no reason to think it won't happen with this.)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Fantastic Idea
Posted on:9/2/13
VeryGoodLooking
This is a fantastic marketing strategy by Nintendo, a handheld that is made for younger gamers (>7 years old), but with a price that makes it appeal to older gamers as well. As a college student thats always wanted to play 3DS games, but never cared about the 3D feature, this is a product I definitely intend to buy.
31 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Great Product at a Great Price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/13
DeadinSpace
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I felt pretty compelled to write a review for this product after using it. I was hesitant at first because of the awkward shape lack of a flip screen. After playing it though, it far exceeds what I thought.
First to note, there is no 3D switch for use. This may be a make or break for some. Being part of the marketing for the original system, it is funny that they now take it away and lower the price a great deal. However, I myself hardly ever used the 3D switch. It hurt my eyes and honestly only improved a few games (namely Zelda and Luigi's Mansion). Otherwise, most games were better without. When you consider the large price difference, I think it is a steal.
The fact that it's one solid body reminds me a great deal of the Gameboy Advance, and it's good nostalgia. The wedge is nice and comfortable for you're hands, and the fact that everything is kind of shifted up the body makes it so you don't get cramps when playing, which was something that bothered me when I played for a long time.
The screen is sharp and clear, the battery life is great, and it lacks no other features compared to it's 3D counterpart.
All in all, if you're looking for an affordable handheld gaming experience, I would highly recommend this to anyone. The 3DS, in my opinion, has shown great strength and has released some great titles. Go for it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
A 3DS for the rest of us
Posted on:8/29/13
Mark25
Location: Chicago, IL
This will be a great system for those people who don't prefer 3D and still want to play all the great 3DS games. The 2DS will come at the price of $129.99 and all the new 3DS coming this fall like Pokemon X & Y, The Legend of Zelda, and Mario Party will make it a great gift for anyone who wants to the into the portable gaming world. Best part is it still plays all the DS games!
23 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Posted 9/30/13
Nintendo has said it plays most of the DS games so i would have to guess it dose not play all DS games
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 9/22/13
thanks for pointing that out I had the hinge breaking problem with my original DS
Customer Avatar
TheIronDruid
 
Please wait while more information about TheIronDruid is loaded.
Additional information about TheIronDruid could not be loaded.
But
Posted 9/7/13
But this is cheaper and doesn't have hinges that will break easily.
Customer Avatar
Junkher0
 
Please wait while more information about Junkher0 is loaded.
Additional information about Junkher0 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/30/13
You do realize that the 3DS has the ability to turn off the 3D, right?
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 14 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Great idea
Posted on:8/30/13
shrapnelgunner
Location: Honolulu, HI
So from what i've seen about the 2ds, its a great idea. No 3D for the younger audience and the olders ones who don't care about 3D, a low price and no hinges. This will be a great purchase, its built to last for a longer time than its 3D counterpart. I'll definitely buy this system.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
shrapnelgunner
Honolulu, HI
 
Please wait while more information about shrapnelgunner is loaded.
Additional information about shrapnelgunner could not be loaded.
@Darkonefilms
Posted 9/10/13
You do realize I said "and the older ones who don't care about 3D" which means that I was talking about the older audience who wouldn't give a darn about 3D functionality. "WHY DON'T YOU GET A 3DS AND DISABLE 3D" Well the 2DS is cheap and more durable. Make sure to read my comment next time.
Customer Avatar
Darkonefilms
 
Please wait while more information about Darkonefilms is loaded.
Additional information about Darkonefilms could not be loaded.
Really
Posted 8/31/13
I like the 3d better but i will get this just so i can say i have one but 3d is better ..just saying
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
2D is 4 Me! (Puns)
Posted on:9/27/13
BigD66
Location: Saint Louis, Missouri
Seriously though, I had no desire to have 3D. The whole thing annoys me. It's not the 70's, so I wasn't too jazzed about the 3DS. This on the other hand is great. I can play 3DS games (lookin at you Pokemon X and Y!) and DS games. (Lookin at you other Pokemon Games!) So beyond Pokemon, I'm excited to see how this works. Nintendo has always has my heart when it comes to handhelds and I don't see that changing anytime soon. So long live Nintendo and the Game Boy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Ignore the negative comments if they put you off!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/13
musicfanatic
Location: Sumrall, MS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I've seen some pretty negative and uneducated comments like "lol this is so stupid whats the point of this the games are supposed to be for 3d". Not necessarily true considering the fact the majority of 3DS owners don't even use the 3D functionality. 3D just lowers the battery life. With a lot of customers who don't need the 3D (those who are disabled, too young for 3D, or, like my sister, can't see 3D), this is a great product. It's a great idea since its very inexpenive for a new handheld and has a great selection of games. Business wise it was a great move because what they don't sell of the 3DS and the XL will be made up for with this. It is a great product for those who want a cheap, but good product for a game on trips or waits. The only negatives are the ugly shell and the unprotected screens, but those can be okay with a case!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Great Addition
Posted on:8/31/13
MarvelGeek805
I don't care what people think about this, I think it's awesome and it might not appeal to you, but it does to some people since it's meant for the younger children. I'm 21 myself, but I'm also a collector. I love adding new material to my collection, which is why I'm going to buy this. I'm most likely going to use this a couple of times as well since I think it's a neat idea.
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
No hinges? EXACTLY.
Posted on:9/25/13
Cally
Location: New York, NY
I'm bemused how many people are confused over the fact that the 2DS has no hinges. The lack of hinges was most likely the point; kids tend to BREAK the hinges, and then the parents have to pay for either a repair or a brand new 3DS. As for the lack of 3D on a 2DS, there are many kids and adults alike who get ill from watching or playing anything with 3D, and as others have said, why pay the extra $30-$50 for a full 3DS that they can't use the 3D for anyway? This system is PERFECT for kids, those that get ill from 3D, or those who don't care about the 3D.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Great
Posted on:8/30/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
This is what I been waiting for I hated the 3d on the3DS even though you could of turned it off I just never used that feature I eventually sold mines about a year ago but now a lot more games came out that look fun I would defiantly be buying this the only downfall is I don't think this folds like all the Ds's do
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Darkonefilms
 
Please wait while more information about Darkonefilms is loaded.
Additional information about Darkonefilms could not be loaded.
3D is better
Posted 8/31/13
3D is better..just saying
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Nintendo 2DS - Blue
Not a fan
Posted on:9/5/13
zeldalover125
Location: Cleveland, OH
Here me out. I love the 3ds system. I own the xl. I think it is a fantastic system, with an awesome gaming library. When I first heard about the 2ds, I was happy because the people who didnt like the 3d could now get one. I was happy until I saw the way it looked. Lets be honest, it is going to be very difficult to play games with the touch screen itself. Not to mention my #1 reason for not liking it. It is the 3rd member to the 3ds family and it still does not have a right circle pad! But if you look at the 2ds, there is no way to even make a circle pad pro. And what is the point of putting 2 cameras on the back of the 2ds if they cant display the 3d pictures. I would have rather seen them super glue the 3d dial off then have them come up with this. Like I said, I am not a Nintendo hater, but I think they should have put some more time into this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>