GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 2DS - Red

The new Nintendo 2DS system gives anyone looking for their first portable gaming device the chance to experience the full library of Nintendo's biggest titles. At the low suggested retail price of $129.99, Nintendo 2DS plays a huge library of over 2100 Nintendo DS and Nintendo 3DS, and Nintendo eShop games in 2D. Designed for your family The new Nintendo 2DS system gives you all the features of the Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo 3DS XL, minus 3D viewing. And the price makes the world of Nintendo games even more accessible.
Average Customer Rating:
8
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Review 1 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
The people who underestimate this device are ignor
Posted on:8/29/13
SystemEquality
Location: Durham, NC
What most people get is that this is a cheaper version of the 3ds without the 3d or hinges. What people DON'T understand is that it's made for children ages 1-6 and people who think the 3d doesn't matter to them but they like the games. I don't understand why all these people don't like this handheld. In my opinion I think it's a brilliant idea and they'll make a fortune from it. Parents who didn't buy their kids 3ds' because they didn't want their kids to suffer from eye damage or buy something that they'll probably brake in 3 days. This is designed in a blocky manner with no hinges, can't snap it in half and it's extremely durable. From what I've seen in hands on videos, it looks surprisingly comfortable. I think this will be my first gaming system buy before the Wii U and PS4. I hope my personal opinion helped.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The reveal video for the 2ds. Most of the people who hate on it are people who didn't do their research.
26 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JPGamerZone
St.Louis
 
Please wait while more information about JPGamerZone is loaded.
Additional information about JPGamerZone could not be loaded.
AWESOME PRICE! $130.00
Posted 8/29/13
Looks Like nintendo is done it again and this time with the low price. YES Awesome look like a DS but not close or open.And It's release the same day when they release Pokemon X and Y, CAN"T WAIT!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Genius Nintendo
Posted on:8/31/13
slyfan107
Location: Richmond, Virginia
With the new 2DS,. Nintendo basically made it where anybody can afford a 3DS. Yes the 2DS is a part of the 3DS family. For only $130, that's the popular selling price of the DS a few years ago. The 2DS can play 3DS games in 2D, and can play all DS games as well. The 2DS still has built in wireless, to play games online or purchase games off of eShop. The 2DS will be releasing on the same day as Pokemon X/Y. And releasing one month before The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. The 3DS has a huge library of games already out, like Super Mario 3D Land, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, Luigi's Mansion, Fire Emblem Awakening, Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance, and more. While the 2DS is aimed a lot at the 5-7 years olds, who don't need 3D, and won't be able to break the hinge. The 2DS is still great for any age for people who are on a tight budget, or just want the most affordable handheld to enjoy 3DS games. Overall, I see the 2DS with a lot of success of this Christmas, and moving forward.
37 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Deck the Halls with bounds of awesome games
Posted 10/2/13
fa la, la, la, la, la, la, tis the season to get a 2DS(Mine got stolen thanks a lot)fa la, la, la, la, la, la, la. don we now great games of 2014(such as professor Layton and the Azran legacy and Mario Kart 8)this is gonna be a great holiday season yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, happy new year Wii U (Yes this is a new version of deck the halls)
Customer Avatar
TheWiggler
Johto
 
Please wait while more information about TheWiggler is loaded.
Additional information about TheWiggler could not be loaded.
I'm getting it
Posted 9/17/13
call me an idiot, call me a sheep but I never got a 3ds and now that all my friends have one this is a great chance to get a much cheaper model and animal crossing new leaf so thanks nintendo :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
For those who don't want 3D.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
TheSpycrab
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have an astigmatism and the 3D really jacks up my eyes. If I play the 3D for longer than 10 minutes or so, I get a splitting head ache. I didn't want to pay 200 bucks for a system where I wouldn't get to use it's most proclaimed feature. So when the 2DS came out I was very excited, a console where I can play 3DS games but costs 70 bucks less!
The exposed screens have held up so far. I mean, come on guys. Nintendo has done exposed screens before, they know how to do it right. As long as the flat design doesn't bother you, this is perfect for you.
All-in-all, this system was perfect for me. I can play all the new DS games (including the new Pokemon game, which is awesome), while saving money.
10/10 for the 2DS.
10/10 for Performance. Performs exactly like a 3DS.
Wish I could put more than 10/10 for Value, because this truly is an awesome value.
9/10 for Functionality just because of the lack of the Clam Shell design.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Nintendo's best idea yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Doggirl33
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned almost every form from the DS family, from the original Ds to the Dsi XL except the 3DS.
When the 3DS came out, I really wanted it because of the game selection, but I was a little skeptical, especially since I am blind in one eye. I even tried using a 3Ds in stores and it gave me an almost instant headache.
There are quite a few 3ds games that I wanted so bad but were only available for the 3Ds family. And I honestly wasn't ready to waste $150 on a 3Ds. Soooooo Glad I waited for the 2DS! I can finally play the 3Ds games I wanted and not get an instant headache! The system is extremely comfortable to use and is definitely a step up from my old Dsi XL. Some of the new apps and settings are a little hard to get used to but totally worth it! And the 2Ds can play EVERY 3Ds and Ds game out there! Many reviews said that the 3Ds couldn't work with all Ds games. For only $130, it was a steal! I highly recommend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Major Improvement.
Posted on:8/29/13
Nickasaurusrex
Location: Brick, NJ
In my opinion, this new model of the Nintendo is better than the previous models of the DS. This one will be a lot better in my opinion because it's more tablet like , and most of all, you don't have to worry about the top half of your DS being dismantled from the other half.
18 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Seriously considering it...
Posted on:8/31/13
Inuboy1000
Location: Maine
I do not and have not purchased a 3DS. I was going to a few weeks prior but the Steam sale, Valve sale on Impulse, GTAV and Arkham Origins preorders came up lol. Now I heard about this cheaper 3DS called the 2DS. Originally I was gonna get an XL, but now, why bother? This machine does all of the things the 3DS and 3DS XL can do but it way cheaper. Nintendo weren't kidding when they said value. For the price of the XL I can get a 2DS and a 16GB SD Card. Awesome. I also think removing the 3D isn't a big deal, admittedly I never cared for the 3D. Besides that's one feature vs. every other feature. This is gonna be a great system.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Great Idea! going to wait for XL though
Posted on:8/30/13
SharpenedPata
Location: Tacoma WA
A 3ds, without the 3d? Sounds great to me. The 3d mode on the 3ds bugs my eyes, so if I got a 3ds, I would simply never use the 3d mode. Plus, it looks more solid, and durable than any previous DS model. I only hope that the screens are durable, because while the casing itself looks tough (and due to nintendo's long history of tough products) I wouldn't be too worried if i dropped it, unless it fell on the screen.
A cheaper, tougher-looking version of the 3ds, with a more natural spacing of the start and select buttons. I really, really am looking forward to this product! ....In XL version. the normal DS screens are too small for me.
Though, my only question remains: where is the volume control?
Hope my opinions helped
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
its looks great and hase a great price.
Posted on:8/29/13
iLazlo
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL
Nintendo is being smart by launching it on the same day as pokemon. If you're like me and dont have a 3DS and want the new pokemon game this is great for you. It has almost all the same features as a 3DS except the 3D part. Like the other person sad its more tablet like which is a good thing because everything nowadays is tablet like.
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
2DS, a new portable gaming console
Posted on:10/11/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
younger gamers -- especially those under 7 who are warned off gaming in 3D on the cover of every 3DS game -- this less expensive ($130) no-frills gaming handheld may be just the ticket. Add in Nintendo's kid-friendly, decade-strong gaming library dominated by Pokemon, Mario, and Donkey Kong titles, and you've got an electronic babysitter that's cheaper and more durable than an iPod Touch or even a "real" 3DS.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Fantastic Nintendo Product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
GameSeeker14
Location: Dr. Halsey's Laboratory
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Nintendo has always been the company that produces the best consoles and games in my opinion. The 2DS lives up to those expectations and brings more to the table. With a sleek tablet-like design, the 2DS looks nothing like its other handheld family members. The non-foldable DS restricts portability but is much easier to hold for extended periods of time. It also has a sturdy feel to it. The applications are all there from the orginal 3DS so you don't need to worry about that. The sleep button is now on the bottm and the stylus has a new design. I am pleased with my purchase.
PS: The 2DS plays all 3DS and DS games in 2D.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Great move!
Posted on:8/29/13
ZeroxlxTolerance
Location: Battle Mountain, NV
Nintendo has actually made a smart move bringing a more affordable version of the 3DS into the mix for those who can't afford the other pricier models, and with it releasing when X and Y do, that alone should move a few more units! Might even get one myself! :3
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Very Interesting
Posted on:9/13/13
piratesofthecaribbeanguy
Location: Colorado,CO
This is very interesting. At first I thought it was the stupidest thing nintendo had thought of. But now that I'm seeing more of it, I'm seriously considering buying one. I just wanna know how much the little case costs. But if you want good games that are only for 3DS, but don't want the 3D, buy one then pick up some of these while your at it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Posted 10/2/13
$15 Totally worth it I am getting one because my 3ds was stolen and I didn't really care about the 3D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Good Idea, but....
Posted on:8/29/13
tallsan
Location: Nashville, TN
I think the idea of making the 3DS system cheaper by taking out the 3D feature is a good idea. However, the design and look of the new 2DS is terrible. It looks like an old GameBoy system. I imagine since 3D mode "may cause vision damage for children under 6," it will be also aimed for younger users. The new design is MUCH less child-friendly. If one were to drop it (and it didn't break all together) what's to stop the screen from getting cracked or shattered? I am definitely NOT getting one. Why would I? I have a 3DS xl and I ADORE the 3D feature. So yeah, I'm not convinced.
4 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Not worth 5% of the price
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
MrFun
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Jesus, I cant say enough how awful this is. I got it for my son and he hated it. He complained that it was slow and laggy, and that he wishes he got the ATARI more than this junk. Just my opinion, don't get the 2ds.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
WANT IT!!!
Posted on:9/22/13
spock1313
Location: california
i want this product, its the exact same as 3ds but with no headaches from the 3D. im most likely gonna get this and pokemon x!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GamerManSD
San Diego, California
 
Please wait while more information about GamerManSD is loaded.
Additional information about GamerManSD could not be loaded.
Fantastic Console
Posted 12/29/13
This was a clever idea. My 6 year old daughter loves it and so do I. As an advanced gamer I like this better than the 3DS, I can't use the 3D anyways as it bothers my eyes. The placement of the controls are better than the 3DS, the L1 & L2 buttons are much better as well. The sound is great and I don't miss it in stereo. I had read reviews bashing this console and I still purchased it anyways, glad I did because those reviews were so far from the truth. Plus it came with a 4GB SDHC card, what more can you ask? I just hope they come out with a 2DSXL and I will snatch one of those too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
It does what it says it does.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
SGTkoopa
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its a 2d 3ds and it works. The system plays ds games and 3ds games which is amazing. the system itself will be smaller than you think at least it was for me. it takes about 30 minutes to find the right spot to place your fingers comfortably, but when you do it is really easy to play games for hours. the only con i can think of would be the d-pad, its a bit to mushy for my taste(ps vita has the best). Other than that the analog pad is nice and smooth, R and L are very comfortable and easy to reach. I would recommend for someone looking to get their kids a nice handheld system for a decent price, and just someone that wants a brand new 3ds for a low price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Great job Nintendo and smart move! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/13
JoyBoy45
Location: Gaineville, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well my mom bought the Nintendo 2DS for me and Pokemon x on the same day, and i have to say what a remarkable job Nintendo did again. I like how they made it flat and compatible with both 3D games and regular non 3D games. For people who cant afford a 3DS, well here you go a less cheaper and nice looking gaming system. When the 3DS came out my mom didnt approve of it because she told me that if you play games in 3D its bad for your eyesight, which is true but after the 2DS came out she said of course. So if i where you i would suggest on getting the 2DS and not the 3DS. so hope you thought of it well and see you next folks! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
not really needed
Posted on:8/31/13
whitemonster89820
although nintendo has thought of its younger gamers and made the 2ds, its not needed. i mean you can already adjust the 3d depth slider so theres no 3d, plus the parental controls allow parents to completley turn off the 3d function. to me, i think nintendo just waisted alot of money on this one.
6 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Whatever
Posted on:8/30/13
Iwashere1
Location: kansas
On any 3ds a person has a choice on how much 3d they want from none to 100%. So other then price there's no need to make this system. I've owned nearly every gameboy for the last 25 years multiples of some. as far as break-ability the openface handhelds seem to break first the screens are more vulnerable then the hinges of the clam shell. Someone mentioned that 3d might be bad for children under 6 years old and that's fine I suppose but hopefully the screens are tougher if that's the case. Of course if you want the real reason Nintendo made this system it's most likely because they just lost their current court case about the 3ds screen but that's just my opinion.
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Nintendo is Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
Eragon51
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The 2ds looks amazing not only is it cheaper than the 3ds its basically the same thing I plan on buying this and pokemon Y
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>