GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 2DS - Red

The new Nintendo 2DS system gives anyone looking for their first portable gaming device the chance to experience the full library of Nintendo's biggest titles. At the low suggested retail price of $129.99, Nintendo 2DS plays a huge library of over 2100 Nintendo DS and Nintendo 3DS, and Nintendo eShop games in 2D. Designed for your family The new Nintendo 2DS system gives you all the features of the Nintendo 3DS and Nintendo 3DS XL, minus 3D viewing. And the price makes the world of Nintendo games even more accessible.
Average Customer Rating:
7.9
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Review 1 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Not worth 5% of the price
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/14
MrFun
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Jesus, I cant say enough how awful this is. I got it for my son and he hated it. He complained that it was slow and laggy, and that he wishes he got the ATARI more than this junk. Just my opinion, don't get the 2ds.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Nintendo's best idea yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
Doggirl33
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned almost every form from the DS family, from the original Ds to the Dsi XL except the 3DS.
When the 3DS came out, I really wanted it because of the game selection, but I was a little skeptical, especially since I am blind in one eye. I even tried using a 3Ds in stores and it gave me an almost instant headache.
There are quite a few 3ds games that I wanted so bad but were only available for the 3Ds family. And I honestly wasn't ready to waste $150 on a 3Ds. Soooooo Glad I waited for the 2DS! I can finally play the 3Ds games I wanted and not get an instant headache! The system is extremely comfortable to use and is definitely a step up from my old Dsi XL. Some of the new apps and settings are a little hard to get used to but totally worth it! And the 2Ds can play EVERY 3Ds and Ds game out there! Many reviews said that the 3Ds couldn't work with all Ds games. For only $130, it was a steal! I highly recommend!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Great Deal and Awesome System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/13
DudeInSoccer
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this the first day it came out. I was very happy to notice that it functioned exactly as a 3DS buy didn't cost as much or have the 3D effect. The price is low and totally worth the money I paid for! Thanks so much Nintendo!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Great job Nintendo and smart move! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/13
JoyBoy45
Location: Gaineville, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well my mom bought the Nintendo 2DS for me and Pokemon x on the same day, and i have to say what a remarkable job Nintendo did again. I like how they made it flat and compatible with both 3D games and regular non 3D games. For people who cant afford a 3DS, well here you go a less cheaper and nice looking gaming system. When the 3DS came out my mom didnt approve of it because she told me that if you play games in 3D its bad for your eyesight, which is true but after the 2DS came out she said of course. So if i where you i would suggest on getting the 2DS and not the 3DS. so hope you thought of it well and see you next folks! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
It does what it says it does.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/13
SGTkoopa
Location: Texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its a 2d 3ds and it works. The system plays ds games and 3ds games which is amazing. the system itself will be smaller than you think at least it was for me. it takes about 30 minutes to find the right spot to place your fingers comfortably, but when you do it is really easy to play games for hours. the only con i can think of would be the d-pad, its a bit to mushy for my taste(ps vita has the best). Other than that the analog pad is nice and smooth, R and L are very comfortable and easy to reach. I would recommend for someone looking to get their kids a nice handheld system for a decent price, and just someone that wants a brand new 3ds for a low price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
For those who don't want 3D.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
TheSpycrab
Location: Lawrence, KS
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have an astigmatism and the 3D really jacks up my eyes. If I play the 3D for longer than 10 minutes or so, I get a splitting head ache. I didn't want to pay 200 bucks for a system where I wouldn't get to use it's most proclaimed feature. So when the 2DS came out I was very excited, a console where I can play 3DS games but costs 70 bucks less!
The exposed screens have held up so far. I mean, come on guys. Nintendo has done exposed screens before, they know how to do it right. As long as the flat design doesn't bother you, this is perfect for you.
All-in-all, this system was perfect for me. I can play all the new DS games (including the new Pokemon game, which is awesome), while saving money.
10/10 for the 2DS.
10/10 for Performance. Performs exactly like a 3DS.
Wish I could put more than 10/10 for Value, because this truly is an awesome value.
9/10 for Functionality just because of the lack of the Clam Shell design.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Why skimp
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
Dragongear
Location: Gilford,NH
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Why make a 2ds with a battery that isn't much better, can't close it to protect the screen, and a mono speaker. Another way to make money on an unnecessary ds system. Should have been an XL with stereo for that price. First a weak WIIU now this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Nintendo is Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/13
Eragon51
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The 2ds looks amazing not only is it cheaper than the 3ds its basically the same thing I plan on buying this and pokemon Y
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Suprisingly a Great Handheld
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
wphs2012
Location: Centrailia
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this machine for one reason and one reason only, Pokemon X. I was worried about it though, I mean the thing looks like and excuse me for doing this the "Nintendo Door Stopper". It is actually one of the most comfortable handhelds I've owned ever! The only downside is not having the 3d, but I think I will live. It's a good cheap solution and well bring many hours of fun! Make sure to pick up Pokemon with it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Awesome bang for the buck
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/13
TexasTitan
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just jumped into the DS market for the first time and a 3DS was just too pricey for me. The 2DS was an an awesome cheap alternative just minus the 3D. $70 difference allowed me to purchase a game and still be cheaper than a 3DS XL. The battery life so far is decent and it does everything a 3DS does. I think this is also a good choice for kids, or older guys like me. I think Nintendo answered a market area they hadn't before.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
2DS, a new portable gaming console
Posted on:10/11/13
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
younger gamers -- especially those under 7 who are warned off gaming in 3D on the cover of every 3DS game -- this less expensive ($130) no-frills gaming handheld may be just the ticket. Add in Nintendo's kid-friendly, decade-strong gaming library dominated by Pokemon, Mario, and Donkey Kong titles, and you've got an electronic babysitter that's cheaper and more durable than an iPod Touch or even a "real" 3DS.
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
I cant wait!
Posted on:10/7/13
doodleman
Location: reno
I love the idea that Nintendo is doing being able to play the 3ds and ds in 2d and cheaper than the 3ds.
Review 13 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
WANT IT!!!
Posted on:9/22/13
spock1313
Location: california
i want this product, its the exact same as 3ds but with no headaches from the 3D. im most likely gonna get this and pokemon x!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GamerManSD
San Diego, California
 
Please wait while more information about GamerManSD is loaded.
Additional information about GamerManSD could not be loaded.
Fantastic Console
Posted 12/29/13
This was a clever idea. My 6 year old daughter loves it and so do I. As an advanced gamer I like this better than the 3DS, I can't use the 3D anyways as it bothers my eyes. The placement of the controls are better than the 3DS, the L1 & L2 buttons are much better as well. The sound is great and I don't miss it in stereo. I had read reviews bashing this console and I still purchased it anyways, glad I did because those reviews were so far from the truth. Plus it came with a 4GB SDHC card, what more can you ask? I just hope they come out with a 2DSXL and I will snatch one of those too.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Very Interesting
Posted on:9/13/13
piratesofthecaribbeanguy
Location: Colorado,CO
This is very interesting. At first I thought it was the stupidest thing nintendo had thought of. But now that I'm seeing more of it, I'm seriously considering buying one. I just wanna know how much the little case costs. But if you want good games that are only for 3DS, but don't want the 3D, buy one then pick up some of these while your at it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 10/2/13
$15 Totally worth it I am getting one because my 3ds was stolen and I didn't really care about the 3D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
so worth it
Posted on:9/4/13
DarkOneUnDead
Location: Gary,IN
This is a nice idea makes it cheaper for us and JUST in time for Pokemon X and Y(I pre-ordered it also) had Nintendo NOT made the 2ds i would not have been able to afford to pre-order Pokemon and have a proper system to play it on
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Genius Nintendo
Posted on:8/31/13
slyfan107
Location: Richmond, Virginia
With the new 2DS,. Nintendo basically made it where anybody can afford a 3DS. Yes the 2DS is a part of the 3DS family. For only $130, that's the popular selling price of the DS a few years ago. The 2DS can play 3DS games in 2D, and can play all DS games as well. The 2DS still has built in wireless, to play games online or purchase games off of eShop. The 2DS will be releasing on the same day as Pokemon X/Y. And releasing one month before The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds. The 3DS has a huge library of games already out, like Super Mario 3D Land, Animal Crossing: New Leaf, Luigi's Mansion, Fire Emblem Awakening, Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance, and more. While the 2DS is aimed a lot at the 5-7 years olds, who don't need 3D, and won't be able to break the hinge. The 2DS is still great for any age for people who are on a tight budget, or just want the most affordable handheld to enjoy 3DS games. Overall, I see the 2DS with a lot of success of this Christmas, and moving forward.
37 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
bunnyboy4ever
Brandon, FL
 
Please wait while more information about bunnyboy4ever is loaded.
Additional information about bunnyboy4ever could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Deck the Halls with bounds of awesome games
Posted 10/2/13
fa la, la, la, la, la, la, tis the season to get a 2DS(Mine got stolen thanks a lot)fa la, la, la, la, la, la, la. don we now great games of 2014(such as professor Layton and the Azran legacy and Mario Kart 8)this is gonna be a great holiday season yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, happy new year Wii U (Yes this is a new version of deck the halls)
Customer Avatar
TheWiggler
Johto
 
Please wait while more information about TheWiggler is loaded.
Additional information about TheWiggler could not be loaded.
I'm getting it
Posted 9/17/13
call me an idiot, call me a sheep but I never got a 3ds and now that all my friends have one this is a great chance to get a much cheaper model and animal crossing new leaf so thanks nintendo :)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Seriously considering it...
Posted on:8/31/13
Inuboy1000
Location: Maine
I do not and have not purchased a 3DS. I was going to a few weeks prior but the Steam sale, Valve sale on Impulse, GTAV and Arkham Origins preorders came up lol. Now I heard about this cheaper 3DS called the 2DS. Originally I was gonna get an XL, but now, why bother? This machine does all of the things the 3DS and 3DS XL can do but it way cheaper. Nintendo weren't kidding when they said value. For the price of the XL I can get a 2DS and a 16GB SD Card. Awesome. I also think removing the 3D isn't a big deal, admittedly I never cared for the 3D. Besides that's one feature vs. every other feature. This is gonna be a great system.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
not really needed
Posted on:8/31/13
whitemonster89820
although nintendo has thought of its younger gamers and made the 2ds, its not needed. i mean you can already adjust the 3d depth slider so theres no 3d, plus the parental controls allow parents to completley turn off the 3d function. to me, i think nintendo just waisted alot of money on this one.
6 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
2DS
Posted on:8/30/13
Firedragon989
The way this system is designed is mainly for kids under 7 because the 3DS 3D feature messes with their eyes so nintendo is still thinking of the younger gamers
Review 20 for Nintendo 2DS - Red
Whatever
Posted on:8/30/13
Iwashere1
Location: kansas
On any 3ds a person has a choice on how much 3d they want from none to 100%. So other then price there's no need to make this system. I've owned nearly every gameboy for the last 25 years multiples of some. as far as break-ability the openface handhelds seem to break first the screens are more vulnerable then the hinges of the clam shell. Someone mentioned that 3d might be bad for children under 6 years old and that's fine I suppose but hopefully the screens are tougher if that's the case. Of course if you want the real reason Nintendo made this system it's most likely because they just lost their current court case about the 3ds screen but that's just my opinion.
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>