GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thief

Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron's Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach
Average Customer Rating:
7.625
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
6 out of 875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thief
Review 1 for Thief
Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I personally really enjoy playing this game. It does have some issues but it's still fun to play. The biggest problem it has is the sound. The very first time I ever started up the game the sound just cut out completely which made me have to restart the game. But thanks to an update that has been fixed. Also the enemy AI is not the best. Other than that I haven't found any other problems. Now on to the good stuff. The stealth in this game is very well done and forces you to stay in the shadows. If you try to face a bunch of guards in battle you're going to lose. You can take out a single guard one-on-one, but anything more than one you should stay clear of. The best part of the game of course is the stealing. I love going through a building and picking locks on doors and chests to see how much loot I can find. This is what makes the game so much fun and I recommend this to anyone interested.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Thief
Honors the Thief Legacy; Incredible Achievement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
StokedRider
As someone who loves both Thief and Dishonored, in addition to Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, I think this reboot of Thief is impeccable.
For whatever reason, this game is getting reviewed like it's terrible or something, which I find, quite frankly, more than a little absurd.
Given the quality of graphics, the nicely detailed animations for Garrett's interactions, the solid gameplay, the immersive environments, the nicely done story-telling and voice work, I think Thief deserves more respect than it's being given.
Sadly, my friends, it seems like the gaming community has experienced a collective butt-hurt, where they're all trying to pretend like they're actually knowledgeable when it comes to the Thief franchise. For example, many of these same Thief fans once hated Dishonored because they thought it was a "Thief clone," yet for being such diehard Thief fans, these people didn't seem to know that Harvey Smith worked on Thief before working on Dishonored. Whatever, it ultimately doesn't matter, but the whole sheepish mentality in gaming communities is pretty silly. I find a lot of the knee-jerk reactions to be way over the top.
Whether Thief lived up to your expectations or not, it's a nicely built game. especially when played on higher difficulty settings, giving it a really core Thief vibe.
Pay no mind to the knee-jerk hive mentality, give this game a look for yourself and see if it's something that interests you. I expect a lot of "Why did this review so low" and whatnot reviews in the future when it comes down in price and more people try it out instead of taking some exaggerated reviews to heart.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Thief
Sound problem
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
bfrancis89
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game itself is amazing and the graphic quality is outstanding. The problem im having is with the sound, the sound during cut scenes and even during gameplay skips. Is anyone else having this problem
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheGear
 
Please wait while more information about TheGear is loaded.
Additional information about TheGear could not be loaded.
Posted 4/2/14
I've also had a sound problem with theif.One moment the sound is perfect next it turns off during the cutscenes. But graphics are amazing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Thief
OMG About Time!
Posted on:9/28/13
LeSabre
Location: Virginia
I haven't played Theif in years, well sense it was on the PC. Though it's deffinetly not one game you can forget. In a way to me it was like a starter game many years prior to well Assassin's Creed, almost the same things you do sneak around, not always killing. But anyways I'm so psyched they've come out with a PS3 game and the story and graphics look awesome, along with some very familiar tools Garrett has used in the old PC version.
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thief
Great Stealth Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/14
Cursti
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Despite having never played a game in the Thief series previous to this reboot, it has quickly become one of my favorite games. I have always been a fan of stealth oriented games, especially Dishonored and the Assassin's Creed series, and I wish I would have stumbled upon this game sooner. The game has detailed animation, smooth play, and a solid story line that I quickly became immersed in. I am anxiously awaiting a sequel. This game made you feel like you were a thief, especially when playing on the higher settings. I hate seeing such low ratings on such a great game. This game deserves a chance!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Thief
use the game guild..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/14
squirrelsquad13
Location: rancho cordova
i found this to be a vary fun game.. i play alot of styles of games from lunar silver star from ps1 to bioshock and l.a. noire and many others and i found this to be a good game.. the thing with the game world now is people that dont like this style of game will play it and bash it.. you have to think and thats whats wrong with games these days is people are more into smashing stuff and not thinking that games like this get cheated out of good reviews.. if you wana be like that stay on your call of duty games and leave the thinking games to those that like to play a wide ringe of games.. thank you
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Thief
update when you buy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/14
windwaker
Location: nelsonvill oh
update the game. if not then the sound might cut out as you play, but the game is fun over all. the graphics are great plus who never wanted to be a theif in their life.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thief
Is it 2004?
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
soulburn
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
High hopes that this game would be as awesome as its preview and stills.... and its not. Would this game have come out in 2004 it would be a terrific game. Im saying its 10 years too late. Gameplay is too repetitive and becomes boring, it feels like you're in a prison and there are only two options to get out. Graphics are below par and there are some annoying rendering glitches (background and lighting) through the game. Sound stutters like crazy when loading. I tried and tried to like it but at the end I had to return it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thief
Thief Thoughts
Posted on:1/24/14
GamerGirl1990
Location: Batavia, OH
I'm not much into PC games unless it's hidden object so I've never heard of this game but from what I've seen of the trailer, it looks pretty AWESOME!! It definitely reminds me of Assassin's Creed and Dishonored both of which I enjoyed. The graphics look pretty good and the character's look realistic. Not much into stealth games. I like going in and shooting and blowing everything up! Lol. But this looks pretty good so I think I'm going to give it a shot!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
VegasAce
Las Vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about VegasAce is loaded.
Additional information about VegasAce could not be loaded.
original was awesome!
Posted 2/25/14
both Assassins creed and Dishonored came well after the original version of this game I played the first thief on PC around 2000 was incredible!!
Customer Avatar
NightNinja
reno nv
 
Please wait while more information about NightNinja is loaded.
Additional information about NightNinja could not be loaded.
This looks bad ***!!!
Posted 2/7/14
not only is the graphics killer, but its also made by square-enix?! heck yeah sign me up!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Thief
Would be a great game five years ago.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/14
bigmangoose
Location: Minneapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I recently purchased this game, and I think it's the worst PlayStation game I've played that wasn't made for the history channel. With lacking graphics, choppy cinematics and one dimensional levels and story, this games screams cheap.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thief
Looking great
Posted on:10/6/13
MKDante
Location: Seattle,WA
should be good was great on the PC years ago... New version on conlse should be good, wonder whats new in Thief?
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Thief
Come on Feb 25th!!
Posted on:2/7/14
GamerInformerFreak
Location: Gainesville FL
I haven't played this game before but it does look great. I don't usually play back in the day games or assassins creed or anything, but this to me catches my eye somehow. I love what he's wearing. I like the fact you can climb up things go invisible for a few seconds, it just looks over all hella good. So hurry up Feb 25th I am anxiously waiting!!