GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thief

Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron's Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach.
Average Customer Rating:
7.933
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
4
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1567%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thief
Review 1 for Thief
The master thief meets survival/horror.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/14
skateinferno
Location: Niota ,TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I think of this game's flaws, none immediately come to mind. This game, for me at least, excels in almost every aspect. Although the free-running doesn't always work the way you want it to, you can have a lot of fun if you use your thieving tools the right way. Another (extremely small) issue I have is that the enterable windows are not clearly labeled to tell you if it leads into a house full of loot, or another part of the city. If you play, expect plenty of creepy creatures (they first appear near the end of the asylum mission) near the end of the game, which are created by primal stone exposure. If you remember the regenerators from Resident Evil 4, they look like those, but a lot skinnier. Overall, I absolutely loved this game, and even the prologue was excellent.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Thief
Not what I expected
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/14
WatchmanEleven
Location: Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Overall, this was a decent game but I was expecting a game based on exactly what the name implies: thievery. Something sort of realistic with a great number of ways to get around the city in an open world format. However, the supposed 'open world' seemed far more linear in that you usually only had one path you could go to get to almost any objective. Because of this, it was difficult to recall the exact route you were supposed to take to get to every single spot and there was no fast travel. The map wasn't particularly helpful because of how you sometimes had to go through hidden paths to get to a location.
Despite these issues, I was still enjoying the game but it becomes increasingly clear that it is not a realistic setting that you are in. It seems like they couldn't decide on if they should go for realism or fantasy when creating this game.
Once I finished the storyline and side quests, I had no desire to replay any of the missions. It just doesn't have any replay value whatsoever. I wouldn't recommend buying this game but if you can rent it or borrow it from a friend then it is worth the play. However, I would say you shouldn't buy it unless it's on a huge sale.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 3 for Thief
Huh...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/14
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, where to begin? When I first heard about this game I had no idea it was a remake and just thought it looked cool. After playing it I have a new view on the game. While the graphics and voice acting is done very well, I couldn't get past the linear levels and how everything looked the same. I get its supposed to create a dark setting and feeling, but everything thing almost felt gray with some black mixed in here and there. The story wasn't bad, but I didn't feel like it really captured you in the beginning. I mean you just watched your friend go into a vortex of doom and not 5 minutes later in the game you act like you aren't even phased. While the gadgets are cool there wasn't much else I cared about. Honestly it just felt like a thief version of Dishonored and I wasn't a fan of that. So in the end this felt like a game more for the fans of the original than the newcomers, but keep in mind the storyline doesn't last that long.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Thief
To thief or not to thief?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
GamerChanger
Location: Williamsburg VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
YES!! I am an old school thief fan. YES!!! Thief 1 and 2 are the best in the series. And YES. The thief reboot does fall slightly short when compared to those games. Now that that's over with. I still love this game. And feels to me like it's an upgraded version of Deadly shadows. It's more akin to deadly shadows atmosphere than it is to the originals. To me, the graphics fit the mood of the game perfectly and the controls do work quite well. I am a little miffed over there not being a jump button and I wish I could use rope arrows on any Wooden surface. I would feel more at home if that had kept the hammerites and the keepers in the game. It's not the thief reboot I was hoping for but it is a great entry in to the series and I'm hopefully that more thief like changes will be made when making a sequel
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thief
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/29/13
oldfan
Location: plainfield, il
This has been a long time coming and it looks like it was worth the wait. Played all the others and got hooked.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KazeKanpai
 
Please wait while more information about KazeKanpai is loaded.
Additional information about KazeKanpai could not be loaded.
Posted 10/13/13
After trying to be sneaky in Elder Scrolls, this game comes out exactly made for it! So awesome!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Thief
good for the most part
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
amadeus0arkham
Location: brownsboro, tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is an awesome game, but when you get stuck on a part, you are stuck for days. overall great if you are patient
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thief
Not worth the time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/14
RyanCB
Location: Arizona
I had pre-ordered this game on the 360 and picked it up the day it came out expecting a quality game from Square Enix. What I instead got was a buggy, half finished game, with poorly developed characters. The first cinematic cutscene wouldn't play without skipping and lagging every few seconds - to the point where I completely replayed the opening of the game hoping it was just a one time thing, but nope, that's just how it plays. I even had the disc installed to my system and even that couldn't help the cutscenes and even the in-game dialogue from being completely off from the characters mouths. The gameplay can be fun at times, but is terribly simplistic. By the end of the game all I was ready to do was take the disc out and trade it in before the price dropped too low. I would not recommend this game to anyone, if you are looking for a fps stealth game - stick with Dishonored.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thief
Epic Game By Far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/14
MasterOfStealth
Location: Clackamas,Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Probably the best stealth game ever made in my opinion, Great graphics and stealing style is amazing. Glad they re-made the original Thief game into something so epic!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Thief
Love it!
Posted on:1/12/14
fireemblemftw
Location: vienna,virginia
I have played all of the Thief games, and I have to say, this seems that it will be the best. I am so excited that they are bringing back the overworld that you can move around in from Thief 3, because that is half the fn of these games. All in all, Thief appears to be a game that will top the previous entries in the series by far.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thief
Not Sure
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
CerealBoy
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had not played the first thief games, so I started without much expectation. I just figured I would play a interesting stealth game maybe like Dishonored. Though I have not quite finished the game yet, it is decent enough. The story isn't too strong and the gameplay is a bit repetitive. The art style of the game is something I really like. The atmosphere is very dark and sorrowful and the characters are the same. So far it is pretty fun and I got what I expected. Not great, not terrible.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thief
STEALTHY !!!
Posted on:11/8/13
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
Thief, looks like, Dishonored, with a little Assassins Creed, even a little Tomb Raider, AWESOME. It's all about the SHADOWS, Robin Hood or not it's all about the SCORE.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bmp4
Kenosha
 
Please wait while more information about Bmp4 is loaded.
Additional information about Bmp4 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/22/13
Thief has been around far longer than any of those games, I have played the 2 previous thief games for computer and i loved them so i can't wait for the release date and Gavins return
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Thief
Fun Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/14
Wisty
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love picking locks, pick pocketing, knocking out people and sneaking around in this game. I got it last night and I am already really far in because I cannot stop playing. BUY THE GAME!!! Hope u like it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 13 for Thief
Thief - You'll be lost in the city often
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/14
TravisH
Location: South Dakota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Thief is a bland, dark gray and gloomy first person adventure in a somewhat open world. You basically can run around the hard-to-navigate city doing side tasks and looting, but the core story events are in specified places that you must find your way to. I find the storyline only somewhat interesting, because it really just isn't that drama-driven and doesn't spark a whole lot of interest, although there is a couple bigger events that might almost make you care. There tends to be a lot of talking about the same thing, and guards around the city literally only use like three lines that you will hear over and over again. Maybe they'll get lucky after their shift though.... (play the game, you'll understand this statement). Gameplay actually is pretty fluent but you have to know where you're going or you'll get yourself in a bad predicament. If you plan on trying to climb somewhere, you better make sure you have a rope arrow or two and possibly a few tools to help deal with traps. You can actually move around pretty swiftly though and avoid danger so long as you don't make a sound by stepping on broken glass or scaring birds or dogs. Throughout the game you gain coins for every item you steal, and they can be spent on supplies or upgrades if you find a merchant somewhere within the city. You also gain focus points throughout the game which can be spent on advancement of your skills. I was able to complete the story mode without any side missions in around 9 or 10 hours, and I did it without killing a single person. (There's an achievement for it.) This game takes a bit of problem solving and thinking to get through, and I was happy to have it finally completed. After the story was done, I then went back to do some side tasks within the city and since I had completed the no kill achievement, only then began to slaughter people in my way. There is no multiplayer in this game, just side tasks to do during the game and a custom challenge setting to make a replay of the game harder.
Pros
+Fluent motion
+Challenging stealth
+Game can be done without a kill
+Multiple path options around objects
Cons
-Boring characters
-Lots of load screens
-Terrible lip syncing
-City is horribly hard to navigate
-Very dark, can be hard to find things
Final verdict. If you're a patient person and are up for a dark and gloomy stealth challenge in a hard to navigate city, this is the game for you.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thief
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
NateyNate7
Location: Texas
I will say that this is not my type of game, i didn't realize that this was a sole stealth game, i thought it was gonna be more like Dishonored, so those of you that are more into shoot em ups i wouldn't recommend this for you. However, that doesn't mean that its a bad game, the graphics are actually very good and the gameplay is still fun even to people like me who like to charge in and kill everyone lol
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Thief
Stealthy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/14
Person67
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best game I have ever played in my life. I played a lot of games before but this was the one. If you don't even like stealth games I'd try still. This game is fun, scary, and shocking. The graphics are amazing, too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Thief
just....Wow....Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
cookarooo57
Location: salinas, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was one of the best games i have ever played in a LONG time. the story line is amazing and i love the graphics and gameplay..i do think you could let us enter more houses and what not though other than that its a perfect game and i will definetley be recomending it to people!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Thief
Different yet Good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
ColassalKiller3
rented this game to try it out to see if i would like it. I did. the graphics are not the best, I have seen a better display of human imaging. The story line is fun to play threw. Hiding in the shadows provides a unique gaming experience with different types of adventures and obstacles. Overall the game is great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Thief
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/21/14
ColassalKiller3
I rented this game to see if i liked it before i committed to it. i was pleased and it is fun. the graphics could be better especially with the human features. other wise the stealth game play style provided for new and different objectives and challenges.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Thief
So excited!
Posted on:2/21/14
Sliptheflitch
Location: Stone Mountain, GA
This is the fourth game in the Thief series, so if you haven't played the others, you should definitely try to play Thief: Deadly Shadows first. Very fun play, good story, I've been looking forward to this game for a while!
Review 20 for Thief
Robin Hood, Assassins Creed,and Sly Cooper
Posted on:9/28/13
CODFANBO21a
Location: New York, NY
This game I'm not saying is going to be good, or bad, but it looks like a mix between Robin Hood, Sly cooper, and Assassins Creed.
Overall this game looks great. I'm getting it.
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
robciu
 
Please wait while more information about robciu is loaded.
Additional information about robciu could not be loaded.
Cant wait
Posted 2/13/14
i can't wait it looks like sly cooper but in human form
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>