GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Thief

Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron's Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach.
Average Customer Rating:
6.396
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
13
8 stars
14
7 stars
10
6 stars
12
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
9
1 star
5
51 out of 9156%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Thief
Review 1 for Thief
Stealth is key to being a great thief
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
joecorleone
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To clear this up for all the bad reviews saying the combat sucks. Umm its called Thief, not M.M.A. If you play the game like a thief its fun, if you want to play it like God of War, yeah its going to blow.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
34 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Person21
 
Please wait while more information about Person21 is loaded.
Additional information about Person21 could not be loaded.
Why all the Hate
Posted 3/29/14
I personally have loved this game so far. The immersion is real good, and the fighting if done right is not as bad as everyone says. I mean I'm no thief in this game, I get caught often, but I use the fight methods very well. I can say it is not meant to be a fighting game, but the fighting works for the purpose intended. I love this game, it personally is more than I could hope for, I didn't know it would be RPG which was awesome. I thought it would be a "follow the story" game like Dishonored. A real good game 8.5 out of 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Thief
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/14
Hops
The videos made this game look really cool, however it simply wasn't fun to play. It was sort of open world, but then every time I tried to get to a new target there would be a wall or gate and I'd have to backtrack through 3 other sections to go around. The more you play it the less open the world feels. I thought I'd enjoy the stealth because I like Deus Ex and Splinter Cell, but somehow this game just didn't pull it off (and I can't quite put my finger on why). The sound and touchpad functions were the only real standouts for me. Your inventory is fully accessible on the touchpad. It takes a few tries to get used to, but once you do it's very quick to change weapons or access other things. If you're interested at all in this game don't buy (even at reduced price), rent it first. I disliked this game so much that I traded it in without finishing it. I rarely do that, but this one had to go! I rarely write reviews too, but I wanted to save anyone reading this time and money...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Thief
Just to clear up some confusion...
Posted on:1/4/14
Lekar
No, this game is not a Dishonored copy, Thief has been out since 1998 and this game series reboot has been in-dev since 2005-6. Also, Garrett isn't a Robin Hood-type guy, he steals for his own personal gain and to set the wealthy in their place. I really hope this game lives up to the standards and enjoyment as it's previous successor, Thief: Deadly Shadows
38 of 42 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TheTruthHurtsYou
Earth
 
Please wait while more information about TheTruthHurtsYou is loaded.
Additional information about TheTruthHurtsYou could not be loaded.
Copy Cat
Posted 2/22/14
I already have Dishonored, so no need for this game. Yes this is EXACTLY Like it, reason it didn't come out til later is because they took the Dishonored's game engine and completed it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Thief
Quality Next Gen Title!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Jrod115683
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Just to give some background, I have never played a thief game and it's definitely a top-tier stealth game! There are many aspects of the game that I enjoy and only a few that I don't. One thing that isn't that greatest on the PS4 version, is that you may experience a slight lag between cut-scenes and the framerate, because it runs at 1080p, can sometimes drop at random points during combat and running through the city. The game itself is very challenging and I had a hard time putting it down. Overall though this is a high quality game and looks great on a next gen machine. I definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys stealth games!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Thief
If you like Stealth, You'll Like THIEF
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/14
Casimir
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I do NOT understand all the hate this game gets. I mean, seriously, this game is called Thief. You must be stealthy and use tactics / range, there is not very much option to go guns-blazing. Although, later in the game once you unlock all tools / weapons if you have the skilled advantage you could walk around 'The City' as if nobody is a threat to you & still have a blast! I personally, thoroughly, loved this game. The setting, known as 'The City,' was beautiful to me and they captured the lighting very well. The combat, albeit takes a bit getting used to, is very fun and can be engaging too. There is an excellent checkpoint system as well, so you can gauge your plan and execute accordingly. If there is a hiccup, simply restart from checkpoint. This game gets so much right, it's easy to over-look the negative combat aspects, the lackluster characters, and the (sometimes) poor level design. This game, to me, is fantastic and I loved the various settings / elements of the game. The characters were interesting for the time period it's set in. 8/10 for me and that's NOT being generous.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Thief
Something different!
Posted on:2/1/14
JayPeeZee77
Location: Beaverton, OR
I'm excited for this title as I've recently discovered that running around and shooting people in one of the countless FPS games out there gets very boring, very fast. One year of daily CoD/BF3 and I don't know if I'll ever think of kids the same after hearing what they are capable of saying from the safety of their parents' homes. That being said...this game looks like a perfect direction in which to go now that I've had my fill of brainless running and gunning. Bring it on! And parents...please don't buy this for your children...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Thief
Terrible Game!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
kingshnae
Location: three rivers, mi
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is terrible. The fighting is bad all you do is keep on press r1 the whole time it is annoying. They rest of the time you use the bow and press r2 the whole time there is not other weapons besides these two. There are different arrows but there a waste of time. When your not sneaking around (the only good part of this terrible game) you are opening draws and trucks the whole time it gets old really fast. I would be alright with this if the story line was so predictable and pointless. The acting from the people in the game didnt match the people that well at all. The game lags alot and white stricks would come in the screen out of nowhere. The people will talk and there mouths would not even move and when they where done talking they would its sucks. They made this game as fast as possible and didnt take their time at all to fix these bugs. Sometimes when you are jumping up to new areas the button would not responde after you press it over 3 time which gets anoyying fast. This game is not good at all it is not worth 60 dollars.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Thief
Why it's so good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/14
Thief4
Location: New Hampshire, NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game makes the last of us look bad. The ending to this masterpiece was fun, memorable and sad. It made me cry. I got so emotionally attached to the characters. The graphics are amazing, there's some really scary chapters (I love scary stuff). But the reason I first bought this was for the gameplay. The parkour and combat is unbelievable. Square Enix is the best.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 9 for Thief
Honors the Thief Legacy; Incredible Achievement
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
StokedRider
As someone who loves both Thief and Dishonored, in addition to Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory, I think this reboot of Thief is impeccable.
For whatever reason, this game is getting reviewed like it's terrible or something, which I find, quite frankly, more than a little absurd.
Given the quality of graphics, the nicely detailed animations for Garrett's interactions, the solid gameplay, the immersive environments, the nicely done story-telling and voice work, I think Thief deserves more respect than it's being given.
Sadly, my friends, it seems like the gaming community has experienced a collective butt-hurt, where they're all trying to pretend like they're actually knowledgeable when it comes to the Thief franchise. For example, many of these same Thief fans once hated Dishonored because they thought it was a "Thief clone," yet for being such diehard Thief fans, these people didn't seem to know that Harvey Smith worked on Thief before working on Dishonored. Whatever, it ultimately doesn't matter, but the whole sheepish mentality in gaming communities is pretty silly. I find a lot of the knee-jerk reactions to be way over the top.
Whether Thief lived up to your expectations or not, it's a nicely built game. especially when played on higher difficulty settings, giving it a really core Thief vibe.
Pay no mind to the knee-jerk hive mentality, give this game a look for yourself and see if it's something that interests you. I expect a lot of "Why did this review so low" and whatnot reviews in the future when it comes down in price and more people try it out instead of taking some exaggerated reviews to heart.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Thief
a really good game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
lucasmyrick123
Location: gadsden
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game might be getting some bad rep but i found it to be really enjoyable it has really good graphics, a great storyline, and plenty of stuff to do.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Thief
This is a fun Stealth game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/14
Starfreak
Location: Brentwood, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ignore the overall rating of this game if its below 8 out of 10. Everyone who gave this stealth game a low rating were playing it wrong. Its a stealth game not a fps or a fighting game. Play the demo or rent it to try it and then buy it if you like it. Please Write an outstanding review so this game gets the rating it deserves.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Thief
Great game on higher difficulty levels
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/14
HOGWASH
Location: NC
I do not understand the negative reviews for this game. It is by far better than a 6.4. I guess all people want is a point and shoot. Sure the game has a problem or two. Loading between areas could have been approved and travel from point to point takes awhile but that is part of the challenge of not getting caught. The facial animations and character detail are just average but lighting is great. To me this game was far more enjoyable than Assassins Creed Black Flag. If you try to remain unseen on mid to high difficulty levels and actually complete the challenges, the game presents a challenge. If you want a shooter, do not buy it because you will die! If you want to think a little, buy the game. I experienced none of the controller problems nor frame rate problems I read about in a few other reviews and the load times for me are very short. I noticed many reviews are before the game was even released?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Thief
Lots of potential, doesn't live up to it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
Detizo
Location: Portland, OR
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There is so much potential with this game and it just falls short. The repitition gets old early on. The load screens are annoying and feel lazy. The story builds up to something potentially really great just...well, ends. No conclusion to any of the main plot points that they built up so well. It's disappointing. The good things: Graphics look pretty good. Nothing overly awe inspiring but well done. Controls are smooth and precise. But these things don't make up for the negative things. I leave disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Thief
Immersive Gameplay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/14
scorpionjlc
Location: Jacksonville,Fl.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Many hours of loot searches, Can u find it all? I suggest the Strategy Guide! Lots of puzzles to solve. This is a game of Stealth and strategy.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Thief
Fun and challenging without being infuriating
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
MattD
Location: Melbourne, Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't get why this game seems to have gotten a lot of bad press lately. I bought the game on Tuesday and have barely put it down since. The graphics are great, the story is compelling and the game is just plain fun. There are a few gripes; it would be nice to have a dedicated jump button and there are still moments when you want to yell at the screen to just have the character reach up and grab something rather than wander through the level to find a ledge and drop down, but that is common in games. Also the sound has a few bugs like hearing a conversation between two people you left around 3 corners. But these gripes are minor. I gave lasting appeal a 6 because I haven't really delved into the Challege missions and other extras to know how much replay there is, but just the fact you can complete and play mission in multiple ways adds some replay value. Overall I highly recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Thief
Mediocre at best!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
leelee619
Location: Oceanside, CA
I gave this game such low ratings, although it is a somewhat fair game. The ONLY thing that was great about this game was the graphics. However, it still falls short ... you will heavily notice sound glitches left and right, a drastic lag when it comes to the cinematics, which is a HUGE disappointment! As for sound glitches it was very annoying to hear some weird type of overlay of the same person talking and the same conversation. Gameplay was okay with sneaking around or attack head-on, depending on your play style, but becomes very repetitive. As for side missions there are really low incentives as to doing them, esp just even trying to find the location for what ... 40 G. What can you even do with that. When I ever play a game side missions area always worth it, just not in this game. I would not suggest getting this game at all until the price drops in the $20 range if not lower than that. Definitely not a must have. I mean, for a game that was supposedly "in development" since 2005-2006 there was not much to show for it. ESPECIALLY with the rushed ending and poor done credits!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 17 for Thief
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
Banes
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So far this game has been really fun and different. The reviews do not give it much justice. I am sure most FPS people will not like it. If you are a fan of the old Thief games you will definitely enjoy this.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Thief
A good, but flawed, stealth game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
Zahntarr
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If your a fan of stealth games you should definitely give this game your attention, as the stealth gameplay is extremely well done. It's tense, in-depth and quite fun (especially If you play with a custom difficulty.) But it has it's fair share of problems. The story isn't very good, with iffy voice acting and lip syncing in cutscenes. It mainly serves as a reason for the main character Garrett to go someplace and steal everything there, and the hub world isn't very well laid out and is broken up by constant loading screens (Which is more annoying than it sounds). Despite those flaws, though, I still really enjoy playing Thief because of the great stealth gameplay, with diverging paths and plenty of thieving opportunities. Completing the game with all of the side quests done took me about 16 hours on the normal difficulty. If you like stealth games, definitely pick this one up.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Thief
Thief :)
Posted on:2/12/14
AlamoVampire
Okay, first off, I have 1 single reservation about this game, and its the voice actor doing Garrett's voice. I have seen plenty of footage from the game, and his voice seems alright, but, I will hold back my judgment on his voice till I play it myself :) Okay, that said, I am overjoyed the game franchise has come back out of the shadows, and it looks like its going to be an awesome game! I cannot wait to get back into the Bank mission, it was and is MY FAVORITE from Thief 2 the Metal Age! Looks to be a great game in all honesty. So, lets go taffing about shall we?
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Thief
Disappointed, but not terrible
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/14
NYRangers88
Location: NY
I was looking forward to this game for a long time, but in the end I couldn't even bring myself to finish it. The graphics are decent, but the sound and cut scenes were very choppy. The story itself was cool, but the gameplay was really lacking. First of all, the fighting engine is terrible. I know its a stealth game, but when you needed to fight, it was very hard and frustrating. Too many times I died and found myself turning the game off. It was very hard to navigate the city and getting around between missions is impossible because the guards detect you everywhere. Overall, Dishonored is 10x better. I would recommend this game only if its $20 or under.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>