GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ryse: Son of Rome

Ryse: Son of Rome plunges you into the chaos and depravity of the late Roman Empire. Through the immersive realism made possible by Xbox One, you'll become Roman Soldier Marius Titus and embark on a perilous campaign to avenge the death of your family and restore honor to Rome. You'll engage in brutal combat and lead your forces into massive battles to save Rome from threats to its very existence. Xbox SmartGlass integration provides curated help and hints at any time with a context-sensitive guide. In MultiPlayer mode, become a gladiator and enter the coliseum to fight side-by-side in dynamic environments against an ever-changing array of enemies.
Average Customer Rating:
8.356
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (118 reviews)
10 stars
44
9 stars
36
8 stars
13
7 stars
8
6 stars
5
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
99 out of 11884%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ryse: Son of Rome
Review 1 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Seriously!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
CoreyPowersLumbertonNc
Location: Lumberton , Nc
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game has all the good stuff. I like the graphics. Its a real true Exclusive for the Xbox One. Its definately a must have. Game is kinda short but I love it !!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
CoreyPowersLumbertonNc
Location: Lumberton , Nc
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great game !!. Its a must have . Get it !!!!! I love how the praphics and and gameplay mix in and it compliemnts together =)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Incredible graphics, Quick to complete game...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/14
chips0701
Location: St Louis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Compared to other games currently out on the Xbox One this one tops them in terms of graphics. It shows you where the game devs are and where they can be in the next year or two in terms of graphics. The game is a typical hack and slash with the occasional option to throw a spear making the game easy to master. MAJOR problem for this game is that anyone could rent this and pretty much return it the same day. The story to the campaign is captivating but short lived.
Online play is mildly entertaining but matchmaking is terrible unless you have a friend to play with. The arena mode is easily completed on solo mode though so if you just want to go through round after round of beating bots then this is the game for you. If you are looking to play player v player gladiator style fights you will not find that in this game.
Overall I would recommend playing this game but I would be think twice before spending 60 bucks on a game that loses its luster after the second time through the campaign.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Paid Reviewers are outta touch
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
WiseCrusader
Location: Pittsburgh. PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is simply awesome. It has a really good story with high quality cinematic events. Game is sick I'm constantly trying to improve my combos and setup sick executions. Also PLEASE try Gladiator mode it is setup like the Ancient Coliseums were where historic events were recreated. You can upgrade your Gladiator gear and such via doing the different kinds of missions. You earn gold then you in turn by booster packs with the gold ranging from bronze to gold. This game has solid replay value. Reviewers giving this game less then a 7 should be ashamed. Its like half god of war and half arcade fighter & I think the problem was these reviewers were rating it on a complete god of war thought which if they were was a huge mistake.
I implore everyone to try this game out somehow which ever way you can. It's got so much potential as a franchise but I fear reviewers will scare away the support this game needs and deserves for a sequel.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SFPITCHBLACK8
Kansas City MO
 
Please wait while more information about SFPITCHBLACK8 is loaded.
Additional information about SFPITCHBLACK8 could not be loaded.
i am with you.
Posted 11/28/13
WiseCrusader this game was amazing i am with you a great story line the fighting is sweet the picture is amazing i think this game should have got a 9 or a 9.25 a amazing game you get this game and you will love it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Gladiator the game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
DudeBrah
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've always been a fan of Roman history, both factual and fictitious. I, like most, was blown away by the graphics when I saw the first trailer of Ryse. But then all the first impressions came out stating it was nothing but QTEs and dull combat. Action games tend to rely on QTEs nowadays, so you might want to get on board or avoid the genre. That being said, I found this to be my first true next gen experience. The story is epic, with great settings and characters (you will HATE the true villains). The graphics are absolute gorgeous, the motion capture is fantastic, and the executions are awesome. Gameplay is smooth and responsive and combat is very fun, especially on higher difficulty levels. Multiplayer in the arena is fun solo or co-op, with various arenas and challenges to face (definitely try the Wicker Man with a friend). Despite negative reviews, I urge you to give this one a try and see for yourself. Many have predicted this to become a cult classic, and I can safely agree with that assumption.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Blown away.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/14
Xbox098
Location: Houma, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was not expecting this game to be as good as it is. I seen videos and it didn't impress me at all until I finally decided to buy the game myself. The graphics sure do show what next gen consoles can put out, my dad came in the room from the noise saying "What movie are you watching?" The gameplay flows perfectly and I wouldn't say anything is wrong with it. The ONLY problem I have with the game is that the enemies all look alike. You can tell the different enemies by their identity, with a next gen game you'd think the enemies would have at least different faces or facial hair, but nope. BUT don't be discouraged because you will barely ever notice that because the graphics of the entire game are just awe-inspiring. Please give this game a chance, it is definitely worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ryse: Son of Rome
The Low Reviews Shouldn't Be Trusted
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/13
StokedRider
Ryse is without a doubt the benchmark for which all next gen games should strive for in terms of graphics. It's absolutely incredible to see this game in motion. Crytek has created something that feels distinct enough while remaining similar to other games. They've created a game with combat more akin to Arkham Asylum and Arkham City, but they've made the combat much more challenging overall. While it's true that it's essentially a one trick pony in gameplay and does get a little repetitive, the combat is so satisfying, visceral and challenging, that it's easy to enjoy. And like I said, the graphics are the best of the best. The scenery in this game will leave your jaw dragging on the floor long after you finish playing.
Ryse is a game every fan of video games should have in their collection. It's not without its issues, however the pros far outweigh the cons in the beautiful introduction to the next generation of gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JAdan
 
Please wait while more information about JAdan is loaded.
Additional information about JAdan could not be loaded.
Awesome game
Posted 1/2/14
This is a must play for XBOX ONE. I do agree it can get repetitive quick, but the graphics and the story are awesome! I love the execution scenes.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Review or Ryse Son of Rome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
Bryanmark17
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Graphics 10/10. It visually is quite amazing, you almost feel like you’re watching an epic bloody violent Ancient Rome movie .............................
Story 9/10. I might be a little biased because I love anything from Ancient Rome. But to me the story seems fantastic. Epic war with Barbarians, treachery, deceit. And did I mention, IT TAKES PLACE IN ANCIENT ROME. Also its only 8 chapters, but each are fairly long and if your one of those guys who really likes the game or plays through it again for achievements then you’ll get a lot of extra time in the story .........
Gameplay 8/10. Some would argue that the quicktime events make Ryse a very boring game, but im very far into it and am loving it, I don’t mind quicktime events at all, and the great graphics and great story sorta makes you forget your playing a quicktime game .........................................
Multiplayer. 8/10. The Gladiator arena mode is very fun, it would have been even more fun if players could fight each other instead of having to team up with each other, but its still very fun and will keep you entertained for many extra hours
Overall it gets a 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Great graphics
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/14
SP4RT4N
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Love the graphics in this game, a lot of neat angles and the surroundings look amazing. The concept of this game is rather original considering you're a roman soldier on the warpath (almost has that 300 appeal working for it, just as a roman). The voice commands are alright if you're into it. Sometimes they are just annoying though, when you have to keep giving the commands over and over again "FIre Volley"! Also, this game can become rather repetitive, in the sense that you just keep moving forward without any real objectives, just keep pressing X and then Y while you are executing barbarians, which by the way is always awesome. It provides that extra cinematic feature of the next-gen. gaming. Along-side the cinematic executions they have incorporated a new way of using button sequencing, where your enemy flashes a color as oppose to the little button flashing on top of the head of your enemy. All and all i am enjoying playing through this game but as fore mentioned it can be a little repetitive.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 10 for Ryse: Son of Rome
It's a ok game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/13
therealdarktick
Location: Huntington, WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I normally don't write reviews but there is to many people putting 10's on this and it is not. 10 is the rating you put for one of the best games you've ever played and this is not it. I've got all 3 new systems plus several of the older ones. The graphics on this game is beautiful but it is nothing that couldn't be done on the ps4. The story is very good but kind of feels like a lesser God of War mixed with sparticus. The gameplay is fairly smooth but does have bugs in it. It fails with the linear gameplay that doesn't let you do much but going forward. The really villian here is a bad camera angling several times I had to fight with it because my guy was behind something and couldn't see to fight. It's not the worst I've played but for a next gen it should be smoother game playing. It is a solid game, great cut scenes and a good story line but it's not great or mind blowing. The game is a solid 7 at best not one to spend the full $60 on and keep but good enough to rent and enjoy then return it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/14
NateyNate7
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has probably the best graphics I have ever seen, it is definitely worth the money. I love the fighting overall, its so fluid and just plain cool. I wish the story was a bit longer but its still an awesome game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Excellent Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
SupaHype
Location: Fortress of Solitude
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Picked up the Xbox One and had enough to grab 1 game. Was deciding between this (Ryse) and possibly Call of Duty Ghosts. I decided to go with this. EXCELLENT CHOICE. I love this game to death. I figured that this game was a different experience and most of the other launch games have similar ones on the 360. I still have alot of games to get through on the 360 so...
Back to RYSE - This game is a unique experience as far Is i understand. I would describe this game like "playing the movie 300". Its is VERY entertaining. If that sounds interesting to you, then im sure you will like this game. I did hear that the game is not really that long. For me that was fine, I have alot of games I still need to play on 360, but what is here, is great.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Fast and Furious!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/14
SharkBit
Location: Where Blue Angels Fly
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ryse is great game! Though, short in the story line, it makes you feel like you're really in Ancient Rome....The fighting is intense, often difficult and bloody! After a while the game is somewhat repetitive when it comes to fighting and counter acting an attack...As far as online goes, I haven't played it yet...The graphics in this game are fantastic, lifelike and seem pretty true to the real outfits...I hope that cryengine makes a sequel to this game soon!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Ryse: Son of Rome
i love this game!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/14
SONNYCORLEONE93
Location: SPRING HILL, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ryse:Son Of Rome is such an amazingly detailed game. the graphics are so realistic, even down to the facial expressions and fighting sequences. this has to be the best swordplay game out there. overall I love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Ryse: Son of Rome
What i always wanted
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/14
gamesRules
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My older brother and i always wanted a gladiator based game, and ryse is just want we were waiting for. This game has some of the greatest graphics in gaming. I just really love this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Simple & Enjoyable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/14
Robren911
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
No game could possibly live up to the beach storming "Saving Private Ryan" looking announcement trailer of this game. But what you get is a fun game for casual gamers with a simple although repetitive control scheme.
This game plays a little like the last generation Marvel game that played with various combinations of super heroes. It's simple but it's fun. There is nothing revolutionary about this game. It's not particularly historically accurate but it's a fun way to kill time. And at the end of the day most games should just be a fun way to kill time. It doesn't have the depth of Mass Effect, it's control scheme make it a simple button masher & yet it still manages to be worth the $40 I paid for a new copy. I haven't tried any multiplayer mode so I can't comment on them. But this game is a fun and simple way to kill time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Ryse: Son of Rome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/14
Qonscience
Location: Winchester, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I enjoyed my time with this game and it was definitely worth the rent from Gamefly, but I'm not sure I would've spent $60 or even $40 on it. The storyline is cool and it offers a lot visually, but the replay value just doesn't seem to be there. The combat system is great. Destroying enemies in brutal fashion was a sure plus. I think this game was a good choice for the starting lineup of the Xbox One. It isn't anything too groundbreaking, but it is a cool game and you will have fun with it. I wouldn't suggest buying it unless you are some kind of history enthusiast and you are just dying to have it for an extended period of time. If that doesn't sound like you then you should probably just rent it or borrow it from a friend. That way you will be satisfied with what the game has to offer without having to drop a significant amount of money on it. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Great First Gen Story... Gameplay gets old fast!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/13
Ringothegreat
Location: Savannah, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I bought this game at launch and it was cool at first but it gets so repetitive very fast with the combo executions. the fighting in the game was very stale and I was just ready for the game to be over. But the story was great! I really enjoyed the acting and the cut scenes. Really looking forward to the sequel to see how they will develop the game. Now on to mulitplayer. you are a gladiator playing with another player that part was cool just the combat gets so old fast. I would recommend getting the game pre owned and save some bucks.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
17 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
0094
ventura
 
Please wait while more information about 0094 is loaded.
Additional information about 0094 could not be loaded.
???
Posted 1/26/14
a sequal wouldve been great if the main character didnt die at the end
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Ryse: Son of Rome
A reason to get a XBOX ONE!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
sawdogg
Location: Chicago
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Some of the best graphics I have seen in a game. I never get tired of doing the executions just wish they had a better variety of enemies and its kind of short but this is to be expected for a new launch game on a new launch system. One of my top three pics along with NBA 2K14 and Forza 5.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Forza Motorsport 5
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ryse: Son of Rome
Beautiful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
50shadesofSPARTA
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The combat flows alot like the batman games. I love it for this reason and I highly recommend it to everyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>