GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds

Everything you love about Nintendo 3DS-only bigger!
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
One of the best things for my Zelda collection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
Cantthinkofanickname
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a really great limited-edition console I have ever got. I like that there is a triforce on it and that since its limited-edition, I feel special when I play it. I would recommend this to anyone and I feel like everyone should play Zelda.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
3DS XL is a fantastic system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
watts300
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought a grey/black 3DS back in February 2011; one of the original launch systems. It's great. My son and I have enjoyed it ever since. But my son is a Zelda fanatic, so as a gift I bought him the Link Between Worlds 3DS XL edition. It's amazing. I find myself playing it, too. Functionally, it's the same as any 3DS of any size and color, but the fit and finish of the XL is far and away superior to the original size. It's more comfortable in the hands, the buttons (under the touch screen) are easier to manipulate, the stylus is in a better place, it comes with a more appropriate-capacity SD card, and it doesn't look like it has three layers when you look at it closed from the side. Specific to the Zelda edition, the gold theme is very attractive. And of course the inclusion of the game itself is great. New from retail, A Link Between Worlds is typically $35-40. A regular-color 3DS XL is typically $200. So the savings of this bundle is also appealing. I would highly recommend a 3DS XL to any one looking for a portable gaming console, and I'd emphatically recommend this Zelda edition to any long-time Nintendo or Zelda fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The 3DS I have been waiting for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
InkedDemocrat
Location: Fort Knox Ky
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Zelda special edition products continue to deliver on multiple levels. The increased size from the previous standard model is a winner. Additionally the quality of the gold finish and tri-force on the product is top notch. The addition of a 4GB SD Card and digital copy of A link between worlds only increases the economic value of the deal. This product compliments ones childhood by bringing back all those games we have come to love over the years while integrating new chapters that are refreshing in a familiar way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Reliable system!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
Smoothbottom
Location: Pa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A good, reliable system with great exclusives. The games i played so far are great. A good system to pick up if your in the market for a system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The cons you may have heard aren't really cons.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/13
isack
Location: murica
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i heard many people saying that the idea of renting items in the game was bad. and in your first play through it may seem so. but during hero mode, you find a challenge never before available in a zelda game. in the older games you always had the items even after death. but now dying in hero mode wont be so easily overlooked. death means loss of your items making it so your skills are that much more important. the system itself is amazing. it didnt get a 10 for value only because the game is a download, so i had to wait 2 hours before actually getting to play it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Tons of fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/13
minimuffins
Location: My House
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I finally decided to buy a 3ds after a couple of my friends got ones and I saw them playing the new Pokémon games. And I have to say it was a good idea to buy it. And it was also completely worth it to buy the special edition XL. Why? Because: 1. The design is pretty cool.
2. The XL has a longer battery life that the normal 3ds. 3. The larger screens are truly worth more money. 4. It comes with A Link Between Worlds but it is only a game which I wouldn't prefer but is fine just the same. So even though it is no PS4 or Xbox one it is still a lot of fun and I'm very satisfied with it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
EXCELLENT COLORS & DESIGNS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/13
Kent12525
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1st off, I'm a HUGE fan of gold colors and this system hits the jackpot. I thought it's gonna be glossy finish like how they've did to pokemon X & Y bundle, but it isn't. It's matte finish which I absolutely love (SAY NO TO FINGERPRINTS). Overall, I'm impress with my purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Nothing but value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/13
TheAlaskin
Location: Mattituck NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is such a beautiful console, I would recommend it to everyone who is thinking of getting a 3DS XL. Link between worlds is phenomenal, and what a better way to celebrate it, other than a shiny gold console.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
An unbelievable product!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/13
Viera
Location: Hayward, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great buy if your a true fan of Zelda series! You will be amazed the moment your playing your 3DS system!
 
My Product Recommendations
The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds Collector's Edition Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Absolutely stunning! Great deal
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
Cleandome
Location: Fort Myers
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
No pictures or videos on the web do this console justice. You really have to see it in person. The design is so elegant even my apple fanboy brother had to admit it was gorgeous. The game is extremely fun and I've only begun playing. I don't get the big fuss about the download. The game plays just the same.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
awsome system awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
captxena31
Location: usa
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
omg can you say AWSOME The system was an super early Christmas from my mom I can't wait to play in it but going to wait in till Christmas day or eve or I also got the hard copy of the game which I am playing on my red3DSXL I got the hard cover guide book which is awesome I also own the animal crossing new leaf 3DSXL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Boss!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
WingZeroElite
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought it because it was Gold its so pimp plus it comes with Zelda talk about going plus the second best 3DS XL is the Pikachu get this before its gone
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Loved It
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
PlaystationBoy
Location: Keesler AFB
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Now I don't know if anyone else is going to experience this problem and I'm still praying it fixes itself. But I bought this immediately the chance I could get it which was about 3 days ago, and I played on it for around 16 hours. Now I had to store this somewhere safe and since I'm stuck living in the dorms on this AFB only safe spot to place it was my wall locker. Now I happened to leave it on sleepmode for 12 hours since I had lessons. Then finally once I got back it became unresponsive, this being the touch screen, the second one that you use the stylus for. Everything else works fine and dandy, and I take care of my stuff, no scratches, dings, or smudge marks anywhere on this device. So I've no idea what the problem is. Now once I get the chance I'm going to try and get some help if things don't fix themselves. Now it's quite frustrating knowing that I've only had this for 3 days and now it's thanksgiving so I'm quite saddened. First console I ever bought that stopped functioning.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The best 3DS XL to date out there.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/13
EighthGenForTheWin
Location: United States
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The gold matte finish is stunning. I just LOVE it. Everything about this 3DS XL stands out above others. It's covered with the Triforce in golden and a sleek black, representing Lorule & Hyrule. I don't have a review of the game or the actual 3DS, but I can assure you the game is a great challenge with 9/10 replay value. The 3DS itself is an amazing console and I recommend you purchase it right away if you haven't.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Best Birthday Present!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
Stephee
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been waiting and thinking long for a 3DS system. When I heard about this bundle, I had to pre-order it. Regardless there isn't a purple XL version (even if there will be in the future), I love the colors and felt excited about the new Legend of Zelda game.
It's been almost a week and I love it. The game is amazing, the system itself incredible and so far I have no complaints.
It's a birthday gift for myself and I love every bit of it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Legendary Bundle
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
Noka
Location: Atlanta Ga
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
About a month ago when the Pokémon X/Y 3DS XL released I missed out on it, I was bummed out on missing out on a sweet designed 3DS XL but then I saw this.
The design is honestly one of the best, out of all of their 3DS/DS/DSI systems this one was the one that stuck out as a true attempt at a beautiful system and it worked. The Triforce design is not only awesome but it also represents the game, A Link Between Worlds.
Overall the system it's self is amazing, the only downside is actually the game. Not that it's bad because it's not! Downloading the game is just not the same as having a cartridge version, Nintendo wants it to be cheaper and that's understandable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Works really well and looks fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
ShackledFury
Location: Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I thought that maybe the gold would become annoying and really bright, but it's not in any way. It's got a shine to it, but it is still subtle. I'm not sure if the other 3ds XL's are really smooth and slippery, but this one is. Took a little bit of getting use to, but it's no longer a problem. I would highly recommend this for anybody.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Great Deal. Totally Worth Getting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/13
fatdude128
Location: White Lake, Michigan
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Everything that's included plus the system itself is incredible. Great size and likable, also familiar style, bundled with a fair price and nostalgic reboot make this the product to have for all Zelda fans old and new.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Man....
Posted on:11/18/13
Vyconis
Location: NH
I got the Cosmo Black 3DS at launch and the Fire Emblem 3DS when that came out. For a while I was looking to upgrade to an XL, but did not like any of the base models. When Pokemon X and Y came out, I was interested in the Gold system that Japan was getting. Alas, we didn't get it so I got the Red Pokemon XL system. A couple weeks later, news of this bundle came out and I was mad, lol! I was teetering between getting it or not... In the end, I loved the original A Link to the Past and decided, why the heck not? Can't wait to be playing my 3DS games on this system as well as A Link Between Worlds! ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Glorious!
Posted on:11/17/13
Neymar
Location: Pennsylvania
From my first glimpse of the system i knew it was a must have. The Triforce design on the 3ds xl makes it look beautiful. I am already a current owner of a 3ds but its so beautiful im purchasing it. also the fact that it comes with the game makes the deal better. I would rather it be physical copy, but what can you do. If you are planning on getting a 3ds nows the time to get one!
1 2 3 next>>