GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds

Everything you love about Nintendo 3DS-only bigger!
Average Customer Rating:
9.667
9.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 18100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Just traded my Animal Crossing Pop Tart for this
Posted on:10/30/13
PHAILTAR
Location: Vancouver, WA
I am beyond excited, I absolutely love zelda. I have the zelda wii u, and this system looks epic. THE INSIDE IS GOLD!! I preordered it and paid it off already; and so should you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
TAZ87
 
Please wait while more information about TAZ87 is loaded.
Additional information about TAZ87 could not be loaded.
I'm excited
Posted 11/15/13
I'm also selling my ugly pop tart for this beauty. I knew a Zelda edition was coming out, but I went on and brought the pop tart. I realized I'm not a big fan of white consoles. Good bye pop tart…Hello beauty. :D Lol
Customer Avatar
PHAILTAR
Vancouver, WA
 
Please wait while more information about PHAILTAR is loaded.
Additional information about PHAILTAR could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 11/10/13
I still think it's worth it. After all, what's the difference? one is digital that you can't trade in. So what? why would you want to trade this game in?
Customer Avatar
CountNIS
Lawndale
 
Please wait while more information about CountNIS is loaded.
Additional information about CountNIS could not be loaded.
Downloadable copy? BOOOOOOO!
Posted 11/2/13
Seriously Nintendo, I am beginning to get really upset at this "Download" only games stuff, and it's making me NOT buy your products. This is a great-looking system with one flaw... downloadable game. I was gonna buy this set until I saw this. It's unfortunate.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The 3DS XL I've been waiting for!!!
Posted on:10/30/13
TradeMark
Location: Prescott, AZ
I currently have a aqua blue 3DS, but ever since I first saw the 3DS XL, I have been aching to get one. I just told myself to wait until it becomes cheaper, or it comes in a color/special edition that I really want. Well, looks like I don't have to wait anymore, because this is exactly the XL I've been clamoring for.
The design is better then I could have hoped for. It is such a simple design, so much that it borders on elegant. The gold and black halfs with respective gold and black Triforces represents ALBW perfectly, and is rather genius if I do say so myself. I have been kicking myself for not getting the Zelda 25th 3DS that released two years ago, but with this, I won't feel like I missed out anymore.
The only gripe I have about this is that the game is just a download code for a digital copy, and isn't a physical copy, but oh well, I can live with it. This is still a perfect 3DS XL for those planning on getting ALBW, or are just huge Zelda fans in general! To reiterate a simple truth "Good things come to those who wait."
23 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TobasaurusRex
 
Please wait while more information about TobasaurusRex is loaded.
Additional information about TobasaurusRex could not be loaded.
Amazing In Every way!!
Posted 12/31/13
As soon as I took this thing out of its box, i was hooked. I had really wanted a 3ds for a while, but there really wasn't a title out there yet that i wanted to get (excluding pokemon X/Y and fire emblem awakening). I was always hoping for the special bundle, and since i'm an avid fan of the legend of zelda as a whole, it was twice as amazing!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Oracle of Seasons?
Posted on:11/15/13
TentacleChow
Location: Philadelphia
Hey Gamestop - is is there any chance folks who pre-order this system can also get the Oracle of Seasons download code that you're offering to those who pre-order A Link Between Worlds? I mean, I *would* pre-order the game if it didn't already come with this bundle. Hook us up.
85 of 86 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Humtek
 
Please wait while more information about Humtek is loaded.
Additional information about Humtek could not be loaded.
Posted 11/22/13
I just picked up the system and I didn't get any code for oracle of seasons.
Customer Avatar
pbsub6813
CT
 
Please wait while more information about pbsub6813 is loaded.
Additional information about pbsub6813 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/21/13
I contacted Gamestop...they informed me that if you preorder the Zelda 3DS bundle, you will get the code for Oracle of Seasons.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Loved It
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/13
PlaystationBoy
Location: Keesler AFB
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Now I don't know if anyone else is going to experience this problem and I'm still praying it fixes itself. But I bought this immediately the chance I could get it which was about 3 days ago, and I played on it for around 16 hours. Now I had to store this somewhere safe and since I'm stuck living in the dorms on this AFB only safe spot to place it was my wall locker. Now I happened to leave it on sleepmode for 12 hours since I had lessons. Then finally once I got back it became unresponsive, this being the touch screen, the second one that you use the stylus for. Everything else works fine and dandy, and I take care of my stuff, no scratches, dings, or smudge marks anywhere on this device. So I've no idea what the problem is. Now once I get the chance I'm going to try and get some help if things don't fix themselves. Now it's quite frustrating knowing that I've only had this for 3 days and now it's thanksgiving so I'm quite saddened. First console I ever bought that stopped functioning.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The best system on the market!!!!
Posted on:10/29/13
NintendoHistory
Location: Mushroom Kingdom
The 3ds XL is an amazing video game system. I've had both the XL and the regular version since launch and I personally am in love with the system. This special Zelda themed edition looks absolutely gorgeous with the top being gold with the triforce, the bottom being black with the triforce, and the inside being all gold! The game library for the 3ds is also very strong with titles such as Kid Icarus Uprising, Pokemon X&Y, Fire Emblem Awakening, Luigi's Mansion: Dark Moon, and so much more outstanding games to keep you busy for months! If you can get only one video game system this holiday season than I highly suggest you get this bundle. The 3ds is perfect for everybody and I guarantee you won't be disappointed!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
20 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
A must have for any gamer.
Posted on:10/30/13
LinkLithium
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Nintendo is really doling out some excellent merchandise this year and I highly recommend picking this one up. To start off with the console, I would say it is one of the most beautiful Legend of Zelda LE consoles I have seen so far. It does not cost too much more than a standard 3DS, so you really aren't paying any extra for this bundle. It looks amazing with the black half to contrast the gold and even if you already own a 3DS, it would be a nice system to add to your collection.
I have only seen previews of the gameplay, but for a handheld, it looks stunning. The previous Zelda game, Spirit Tracks, looked weird. There really isn't a way to describe it without playing the game yourself. Ocarina of Time 3D on the 3Ds had a different tone and look than that of the console version. Here, the graphics and gameplay look smooth, easy to use, and identifiable as they should. In this new adventure, the game is a sequel to A Link to the Past, which is arguably one of the greatest Zelda games made.
Overall, if you are new to the series, a Legend of Zelda collector, or someone who has just recently been introduced to the series, I highly recommend picking up this bundle.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
A Link Between Consoles
Posted on:11/13/13
Sinclair
Location: DFW, TX
When I was seven years old, my parents got me a gold (not silver, but actually gold) Gameboy Advance SP for Christmas. The console came with The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past, which had been a remake. I have been vying for a 3DS for some time now, and so I am very excited that there is a bundle that is not only gold, like my very first console, but also contains a Legend of Zelda game that takes place in the same world as A Link to the Past. This is truly a remarkable coincidence, and when I'm confident in my funds I will be purchasing this bundle post-haste.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The long awaited followup to my favorite game ever
Posted on:10/29/13
JohnTheGeek
Location: South Bend, IN
I don't even own a 3DS, and Nintendo's "Mario saturation" has had me fatigued lately, but the announcement of this game, and now this console, has me running with money in hand to the 3DS ecosystem. I can't wait to play this game.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Dont miss out!
Posted on:10/29/13
JinHR999
Location: Florida
This is it, finally a special bundle for the XL that looks awesome! it quite literally reflects the game in more ways then one such as the game is about Hyrule and Lorule, two opposite dimension similar to the game's previous installment, Link to the past in the way it had two parallel worlds. This is reflected in the 3DS XL's design as it sports the golden triforce, and a reflected black triforce as to reference the games two worlds. its a clever design, not too complex not too basic and manages to appeal to the eye. I for one own a Red 3ds XL, which was a replacement for my amabassador black standard 3ds for the bigger screen is much worth it. and even now, this bundle is worth yet another swapout for a newer, limited edition zelda design. It is definantly a real treat for fans of both the 3ds and the zelda series who want a 3ds or want to upgrade from a standard to an XL. and lastly you save $20 with this bundle! Well worth it!
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
3DS XL is a fantastic system.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
watts300
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought a grey/black 3DS back in February 2011; one of the original launch systems. It's great. My son and I have enjoyed it ever since. But my son is a Zelda fanatic, so as a gift I bought him the Link Between Worlds 3DS XL edition. It's amazing. I find myself playing it, too. Functionally, it's the same as any 3DS of any size and color, but the fit and finish of the XL is far and away superior to the original size. It's more comfortable in the hands, the buttons (under the touch screen) are easier to manipulate, the stylus is in a better place, it comes with a more appropriate-capacity SD card, and it doesn't look like it has three layers when you look at it closed from the side. Specific to the Zelda edition, the gold theme is very attractive. And of course the inclusion of the game itself is great. New from retail, A Link Between Worlds is typically $35-40. A regular-color 3DS XL is typically $200. So the savings of this bundle is also appealing. I would highly recommend a 3DS XL to any one looking for a portable gaming console, and I'd emphatically recommend this Zelda edition to any long-time Nintendo or Zelda fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Legendary Bundle
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/13
Noka
Location: Atlanta Ga
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
About a month ago when the Pokémon X/Y 3DS XL released I missed out on it, I was bummed out on missing out on a sweet designed 3DS XL but then I saw this.
The design is honestly one of the best, out of all of their 3DS/DS/DSI systems this one was the one that stuck out as a true attempt at a beautiful system and it worked. The Triforce design is not only awesome but it also represents the game, A Link Between Worlds.
Overall the system it's self is amazing, the only downside is actually the game. Not that it's bad because it's not! Downloading the game is just not the same as having a cartridge version, Nintendo wants it to be cheaper and that's understandable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Here!! Take My Rupees!!!
Posted on:11/8/13
Megaman1982
Location: Moorpark, CA
I found out about this system about 2 months prior to it being leaked on the internet and am so happy that they did indeed release it in North America! I couldn't imagine why someone wouldn't want to pick up one of these bad boys. The details on this system are beautiful and also have a purpose to them. The Light and Dark Triforces symbolize the light and dark worlds of "A link between worlds" They're also known as "hyrule" and "lorule".
I also own the original Zelda Ocarina of Time 3ds system and this will make a great companion to that! I wish we would have had the special edition of the Link between Worlds game come out here instead of only in the UK because we missed out on the musical chest pre order bonus. I do like our DLC bonus better than theirs but don't know why they copped out on the chest for the US release.
If you haven't preordered this yet, GO GET ONE! They will not last!
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Yay!
Posted on:10/30/13
Rhiann
Location: Las Vegas, NV
I've been stalking this since the EU release confirmation and I'm glad to say I've already preordered mine the moment it was available online. I have the special edition regular 3DS and this will make a fine partner to it.
Oh how I wish it was November 22nd already.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Trade In my ugly 3DS XL for this beauty
Posted on:11/10/13
GameMasterJABHG
Location: El Paso, Texas
When gamestop announce the zelda 3DS XL on their website i ran that moment to trade in my old 3DS XL , i have the zelda ocarina of time 3ds, now need the zelda 3DS XL console for Majoras Mask :3.
Preorder now before its gone!!!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
One of the best things for my Zelda collection
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
Cantthinkofanickname
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a really great limited-edition console I have ever got. I like that there is a triforce on it and that since its limited-edition, I feel special when I play it. I would recommend this to anyone and I feel like everyone should play Zelda.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
So gonna get It!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/30/13
kingofzeldagames
Location: Ohio,Oh
Wow a link between worlds 3ds xl bundle. so gonna get it. I already have a 3ds but can't miss out on this. I've never gotten a special edition of a game. I'm going to sell my 3ds and start saving up money for this. Can't wait!!!!!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FabKail
Long Island NY
 
Please wait while more information about FabKail is loaded.
Additional information about FabKail could not be loaded.
Paid in FULL
Posted 11/10/13
I pre-order and paid off this bundle already. I do't really mind that it comes with a download code and not a physical game. I am so ready to play this next Zelda adventure and this is actually my first 3DS, I didn't have money for one when they first came out, but that worked out just great, cause now I'm getting one that is so gorgeous. The gold color isn't at all cheap looking like I feared it would be, its actually quite stunning.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Very Excited
Posted on:11/5/13
Jordanduhh
Location: Tempe, AZ
I had a red 3DS XL that I traded in to get some PS3 games. I wasn't playing it too much and my girlfriend has the Pikachu Edition, so I figured I could play on hers whenever Pokemon X&Y were released. Then, I saw this. I knew immediately that it would be mine. I wasn't really into the Pokemon X&Y 3DS XL's and knew something better would come out eventually. I also saw that it's being released a week before my birthday. Sure enough, my girlfriend preordered it for me. Really looking forward to getting this in my hands! I haven't played a Zelda game on the 3DS yet so I'm really looking forward to having the chance to do that. The system looks fantastic, the game looks fun. My only complaint is that the game is a download... I prefer my hard copies and I wish Nintendo would stop doing that.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
Man....
Posted on:11/18/13
Vyconis
Location: NH
I got the Cosmo Black 3DS at launch and the Fire Emblem 3DS when that came out. For a while I was looking to upgrade to an XL, but did not like any of the base models. When Pokemon X and Y came out, I was interested in the Gold system that Japan was getting. Alas, we didn't get it so I got the Red Pokemon XL system. A couple weeks later, news of this bundle came out and I was mad, lol! I was teetering between getting it or not... In the end, I loved the original A Link to the Past and decided, why the heck not? Can't wait to be playing my 3DS games on this system as well as A Link Between Worlds! ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
The 3DS I have been waiting for
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/13
InkedDemocrat
Location: Fort Knox Ky
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Zelda special edition products continue to deliver on multiple levels. The increased size from the previous standard model is a winner. Additionally the quality of the gold finish and tri-force on the product is top notch. The addition of a 4GB SD Card and digital copy of A link between worlds only increases the economic value of the deal. This product compliments ones childhood by bringing back all those games we have come to love over the years while integrating new chapters that are refreshing in a familiar way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Gold and Black with The Legend of Zelda: A Link Between Worlds
awsome system awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/13
captxena31
Location: usa
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
omg can you say AWSOME The system was an super early Christmas from my mom I can't wait to play in it but going to wait in till Christmas day or eve or I also got the hard copy of the game which I am playing on my red3DSXL I got the hard cover guide book which is awesome I also own the animal crossing new leaf 3DSXL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>